List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

It has to said regarding Winx!

Have taken the right brother or even the right path selecting him over other hugely talnted midfielders?

Ben to me always looked much stronger through the core and less leggy in his movement and running actions. I understand Max was flying until his injury but it is exactly that which worries me. Could we afford the risk after takinng Paddy @ 1 who had failed and then taking another huge risk @ 4 in the draft on a severely injured gangly kid?

It really worries me that with his body he is going to be another huge bust?
Or he could be great. Didn’t want him but I fail to see the point of worrying about something that hasn’t happened. And every judge had max ahead by a reasonable margin.

Still think the problem of him even thinking about leaving was easily solved. Don’t give him that option. You complain about our ceo. When you have had netters and Archie finnis is a superstar in comparison
Didn't we hesitate early in 2011 to extend his contract by side weren't travelling well?

At the time some were arguing the club did the right thing in waiting due to our win loss ratio. And he would be no good at a rebuild etc

What nonsense if you ask me.

You leave the door open and another club will walk through it.

Club should have sat him down after 2010 and worked through the next phase in terms of list and given him Two more years.

Stupid stupid management.

He had all the senior players on board.

So St Kilda...

You might need a refresher of 2009. Nearly won more games by more than our average score this year.

we are shit now, that doesn't mean he wasn't a defensive driven coach.

Didn't we hesitate early in 2011 to extend his contract by side weren't travelling well?

At the time some were arguing the club did the right thing in waiting due to our win loss ratio. And he would be no good at a rebuild etc

Club should have sat him down after 2010 and worked through the next phase in terms of list and given him Two more years.

So St Kilda...

He had them waiting at a press conference to do the signing and called to tell them he was on a plane to Perth. It was pretty low class.

Just out of interest why was the game plan harder to achieve in finals. We won nearly all of them in 09 and 10. Even Geelong was close both games. We actually got well beaten by the pies in home and away and drew the gf. Lyon was told to do what he could to win a flag and bugger the future. For a side that’s won one flag in 140 years even in hindsight I’m all for that.

If there is a trade off , bugger the future for sure.

In hind-site i still think the failure was in stupid drafting. Not just Lyon.
Lyon inherited a list of elderly citizens , with only 7 players from the last 6 drafts who would go on to help with the finals campaign.
That 7 had the odd gem, but it was also Raph, McQualter, Gwilt.

Then we started trading. The first one was a ripper. Like a gambler it must have seemed easy. Schnieder and Dempster a bargain compared to a draft pick , even if we'd got Levi Greenwood, he'd have been not much help for our finals years.

But...redrafting Brad Howard...how did that help our finals. There were ready made guys in that draft. One of them has a premiership medal.
Did the hardline strategy with Luke Ball help our finals chances?
Drafting Lovett? Hell he wanted to draft Cousins as well.
I can't help but be cynical that Winmar was a "feelgood" pick aimed at the supporters.
Ray....OK but we delisted Attard and Birss, while keeping Howard and getting Colm Begley. We delisted and redrafted Maguire, who went on to play another 71 games at Brisbane. HTF did that help our finals chances.
Newsflash...Birss was better than Eddy, certainly better than Begley. Jesus Fiora was probably better than Eddy. Couldn't run and spread i guess. Like Barlow.

He couldn't see past his run and spread, to the extent that he drafted people like Begley.

Again is that fact or a myth.

His own manager dropped him after he was waiting with the Saints board while Ross was doing his own thing. I think it's fact.

If there is a trade off , bugger the future for sure.

In hind-site i still think the failure was in stupid drafting. Not just Lyon.
Lyon inherited a list of elderly citizens , with only 7 players from the last 6 drafts who would go on to help with the finals campaign.
That 7 had the odd gem, but it was also Raph, McQualter, Gwilt.

Then we started trading. The first one was a ripper. Like a gambler it must have seemed easy. Schnieder and Dempster a bargain compared to a draft pick , even if we'd got Levi Greenwood, he'd have been not much help for our finals years.

But...redrafting Brad Howard...how did that help our finals. There were ready made guys in that draft. One of them has a premiership medal.
Did the hardline strategy with Luke Ball help our finals chances?
Drafting Lovett? Hell he wanted to draft Cousins as well.
I can't help but be cynical that Winmar was a "feelgood" pick aimed at the supporters.
Ray....OK but we delisted Attard and Birss, while keeping Howard and getting Colm Begley. We delisted and redrafted Maguire, who went on to play another 71 games at Brisbane. HTF did that help our finals chances.
Newsflash...Birss was better than Eddy, certainly better than Begley. Jesus Fiora was probably better than Eddy. Couldn't run and spread i guess. Like Barlow.

He couldn't see past his run and spread, to the extent that he drafted people like Begley.

The real issue was Matthew drain. Stuffed the cap up. Forced us to recruit cheap players.

So St Kilda...

thing is even if we did that, we would have sacked him and replaced him with richo. it would have removed the watters era but with the same outcome.

His own manager dropped him after he was waiting with the Saints board while Ross was doing his own thing. I think it's fact.
There was no one at a press conference waiting lol.

His manager dropped him because he negotiated his own deal behind his back.

His resignation was mid September. Club left the door ajar and Freo came knocking with a Godfather offer.

Club were only offering a two year extension from memory, and dragged the chain even then.

We blinked, we lost.

End of story.

mate its literally public knowledge. its been covered to death from books to docos and various news paper articles.

you seriously must have checked out from the fall out of that incident.
So we had a press conference and he didn’t turn up. Sorry can’t remember or didn’t hear it. Still doesn’t stop the fact that netters stuffed up much earlier

I think the intensity in finals goes both ways and you don't set the tempo like you do in home and away games. Sydney are the other ultra defensive side who protect humble leads and I would think they have suffered from it too. It's still effective, just not as effective. Freewheeling sides are open to exposure too but if you can pile on goals the psychological edge you get can win you the game.

That's fine, we went hard and didn't win though and are still paying for it nearly 10 years later. To the winners go the spoils as they say.

2009 we choked.
2010 Collingwood used our own game plan against us, but after topping up with good young players instead of :
SAFL player with a broken arm.
Fast guy who can't kick straight.
Defensive forward who hardly touches the ball.

Their team included :
Two top ten draft picks, a second rounder, a third rounder, and a pisshead rookie and a second rookie from the same draft as Armitage. We had CJ Eddy Geary.
A Rookie with a chip on his shoulder taken a year earlier.
A first round pick and a second rounder a late pick recycled player and a shortass rookie from the 2008 draft. We had Dawson

While Lyon was sticking band aids on the list the Pies managed to up and pass us, mostly using the draft and not specifically early picks.

There was no one at a press conference waiting lol.

His manager dropped him because he negotiated his own deal behind his back.

His resignation was mid September. Club left the door ajar and Freo came knocking with a Godfather offer.

Club were only offering a two year extension from memory, and dragged the chain even then.

We blinked, we lost.

End of story.

no one was there because the club had to post pone it after he didn't turn up to sign the paper work.

its incredibly poor form to agree to a deal with both your management and your club, whilst your busy securing the other deal behind their back.

It's pretty simple- we lost 09 and 10 as our forward line didn't do the job when it counted on both days. Again we have a sh*t forward line that can barely find the goals.

no one was there because the club had to post pone it after he didn't turn up to sign the paper work.

its incredibly poor form to agree to a deal with both your management and your club, whilst your busy securing the other deal behind their back.
You do love a rumour and then make it fact so I’m not sure what actually happened

It's pretty simple- we lost 09 and 10 as our forward line didn't do the job when it counted on both days. Again we have a sh*t forward line that can barely find the goals.

4 man forward line. And even by then Kosi was pretty much on par if he got one goal in a high pressure game.

It has to said regarding Winx!

Have we taken the right brother or even the right path selecting him over a number of hugely talented midfielders?

Ben to me always looked much stronger through the core and less leggy in his movement and running actions. I understand Max was flying until his injury but it is exactly that which worries me. Could we afford the risk after taking Paddy @ 1 who had failed and then taking another huge risk @ 4 in the draft on a severely injured gangly kid?

It really worries me that with his body he is going to be another huge bust?
I have not see a better prospect at our club since Riewoldt.

Have seen him live 3 times and TV once.

I reckon he would have taken Werribee apart if not injured, have never seen a forward make contested marks look so easy.

I like to think I am not one to overhype so take it FWIW.