List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

Report: Dockers keen to lock away defender as rival clubs circle
The 21-year old made a stunning return to the senior team last week.

Ben Cotton

EDITOR
June 21, 2019 - 10:36 am

GettyImages-1133516705-696x464.jpg

Fremantle are looking to lock away out-of-contract defender Griffin Logue as a number of rival clubs monitor the situation, according to the Herald Sun.

After battling injuries in 2018, the 21-year old made a return to the senior team last week to replace the injured Alex Pearce, collecting 24 disposals and taking eight marks.

The Dockers are reportedly “desperate” to keep Logue and see him as a key part of their long-term future.

However, several rival clubs, including St Kilda, are expected to come calling should he hold out signing a new deal in the second half of the season.

Logue is one of nearly 20 Dockers to come out of contract at the end of the season, in a list that includes Stephen Hill, David Mundy, Harley Bennell, Hayden Ballantyne, Aaron Sandilands, Shane Kersten and Cam McCarthy.

BOLD STRATEGY COTTON

I’ve heard a strong rumour that Ross Lyon will be coaching the Saints next year. He is apparently very keen to return to Victoria and we have dangled a lucrative deal in front of him that may be too good to refuse.

ross lyon is contracted until the end of 2020. freo aren't a well run organisation but they're not that negligent. they're not netters levels of ****ing dumb.

in any case throwing god father offers at coaches no longer works under the new football dept cap model.

He needs to get 50% fitter to play that high. Lets be honest, he struggles to run out 70% game time as a fwd pocket

He's only been on a senior list since late last year, hopefully 12 month in he'll be getting his fitness levels up to that of most others.

He was very highly rated as a junior, they must have got him with a high pick.
Who , Bold Cotton , nah he was always average ;)
opps I got the wrong Cotton

Who , Bold Cotton , nah he was always average ;)
opps I got the wrong Cotton

Fine Cotton. Didn't they paint a horse a different colour or something. Gaye Waterhouse has really done well out on her own with no outside input.

Yes that's the one i was referring too , She used to train a lot more winners many years ago , just like a few other trainers , funny how things change :think:

I’d be happy with Griffin Logue, but Griffin Logue would not be happy with us I imagine.

I actually think it makes zero sense unless we want him as a ruckman. The tall backs are not an area that is an issue. If we go after him and Ben King we have been overtaken by AFL double agents trying to run us into the ground for relocation.

Seriously we are in the era of the midfield and have had this stubborn refusal to actually go after them. We had some hair brained idea that we'd have an oversupply of guns that we could trade out and that free agency would make us flush with elite mids.

Alright, need some bigger, mature bodies around the ground with leadership and a bit of class or x factor through the middle. I'd like to see us go for;

Paddy Ryder, Jarryd Roughead, Matthew Kreuzer, Jack Martin, Stephen Coniglio (lol, I know). 1 of those given what we've shown on field would be a win. I'd like to keep our first round pick.

Roughy is done.
Remove him and add nicnat to the list instead.

Roughy is done.
Remove him and add nicnat to the list instead.

Roughy more of a coach/part-time player role I was thinking. Also the bloke has a few premierships and was part of the leadership group in a few premierships, think he could add something to our club.

I actually think it makes zero sense unless we want him as a ruckman. The tall backs are not an area that is an issue. If we go after him and Ben King we have been overtaken by AFL double agents trying to run us into the ground for relocation.

Seriously we are in the era of the midfield and have had this stubborn refusal to actually go after them. We had some hair brained idea that we'd have an oversupply of guns that we could trade out and that free agency would make us flush with elite mids.

I reckon tall backs are an issue for us; Carlisle is one tall back, sorted, gun. Nathan Brown is old and he can shut some guys down but doesn't offer much else, I hope we replace him soon.

So who have we got? Hugh Goddard was moved on, probably fair enough wasn't showing HEAPS. Darragh Joyce doesn't really look like a FB or CHB, more 3d tall/intercepting tall half back. Clavarino, geez, a lot on here love him but from what I have seen he's not great with ball in hand, and that's at VFL level, I've only watched 3 or 4 games of his this year but his disposal looked suspect. Logan Austin, he's injured but even last year didn't seem to offer heaps, seemed more like Darragh Joyce, not really suited to taking on the bigger forwards.

I think we should be looking to replace Nathan Brown next year, I don't think Griffin Logue is the mature body we need for that though, but I do think Fullback is an area we should look at trading someone in for.

Roughy more of a coach/part-time player role I was thinking. Also the bloke has a few premierships and was part of the leadership group in a few premierships, think he could add something to our club.

I reckon tall backs are an issue for us; Carlisle is one tall back, sorted, gun. Nathan Brown is old and he can shut some guys down but doesn't offer much else, I hope we replace him soon.

So who have we got? Hugh Goddard was moved on, probably fair enough wasn't showing HEAPS. Darragh Joyce doesn't really look like a FB or CHB, more 3d tall/intercepting tall half back. Clavarino, geez, a lot on here love him but from what I have seen he's not great with ball in hand, and that's at VFL level, I've only watched 3 or 4 games of his this year but his disposal looked suspect. Logan Austin, he's injured but even last year didn't seem to offer heaps, seemed more like Darragh Joyce, not really suited to taking on the bigger forwards.

I think we should be looking to replace Nathan Brown next year, I don't think Griffin Logue is the mature body we need for that though, but I do think Fullback is an area we should look at trading someone in for.

You forgot marsh and wilkie.

Team defence approach means having brown or marsh or wilkie or joyce or austin or carlisle at FB is good enough.

Our backline is the least of our worries- it's been holding up very well despite being under pressure from a horrifically leaky midfield and missing the likes of robbo, jake, gears and webster for large parts of the year.

Midfield fix is everything, we knew this even before the season started- we were cactus in the middle even before steven went AWOL.

Getting another tall back could improve us 1%.
Problem is we are 50% away from finals.

Getting gun mids is the only way to close that gap.

With the talk Brad Hill wants to come back to Melbourne, I hope we are desperately trying for him. Would compliment Billings and Gresham nicely. I know logic says he goes back to Hawthorn but they need some young talent so might not be their first priority.
Seems a strange one with Hill wanting be back to Vic after 2 years, would be a great get

This can't be true can it?

That's $425k a year over 4 years for a guy who hasn't played an AFL game, coming off an ACL and isn't a top draft pick.

You've also got Marshall playing well so why pay a likely back up ruckman so much money?
Because we really need mids and lots of them, just how we roll at Saint land