2020 AFL fixture released

The David Bourke Cup is always a highlight of the fixture ... we will try to honour it a bit more in 2020 than we did this year.

Benny Jacobs should be back.

Its absolutely no coincidence that your little run of form has coincided exactly with Ben Jacobs horror injury spell.

Bye bye Tiges.

West Australians who want to go home, how many eastern state born players want to come to Perth???
Everyone wants to play at a Melbourne club now, just listen to the AFL media sell a player coming to a big Melbourne club.

Time zone difference doesn't seem to bother the NFL/NBA, Channel 7 are just too cheap and lazy to send their so called Friday night experts across the country. There should be a Friday night Derby every year starting at 7pm WST, that is fair.

NFL Thurs/Sun/Monday night games always start at a suitable time for the US Eastern seaboard.

What financial benefit would Channel 7 get for airing a Friday night game that goes until almost midnight AEST??

Thats Tassies reason for having the. Its not the AFLs reason for sending them.
And if we are not happy with the deal.....Then hopefully the Tas Gov takes away the money and AFL lose money. Ignoring the fact that the AFL is also the governor of the game, losing sponsors, regardless of how little we are, is not a good thing. When we brought these games, certain expectations were that we have Victorians teams as a semi regular occurrence.

Look, we might continue the deal regardless. Who knows what wheels are turning in the houses of power. But there is nothing here to be excited for or to sell to the public. I love to see them try.

West Australians who want to go home, how many eastern state born players want to come to Perth???
Everyone wants to play at a Melbourne club now, just listen to the AFL media sell a player coming to a big Melbourne club.
Right, so West Australian players leaving Victorian clubs and moving home don’t count, but any player acquisitions by Victorian clubs are some kind of huge advantage? Despite the fact that local talent is spread across nine clubs instead of two?

You’ve attracted Chris Tarrant, Dean Solomon and Trent Croad who were all highly touted Victorians too, so surely the move to Perth can’t be that big of a barrier.

Whatname said:
Time zone difference doesn't seem to bother the NFL/NBA, Channel 7 are just too cheap and lazy to send their so called Friday night experts across the country. There should be a Friday night Derby every year starting at 7pm WST, that is fair.
A derby starting at 9pm at best AEST (or 10pm AEDST) is not going to give you access to that national audience base that you were whinging about the Victorian teams all benefiting from in the previous post.

The NFL and NBA are hardly analogous examples either, given both have multiple broadcast partners that compete for the rights to show particular games. Nor are they operating in a country where > 80% of the entire population are within half an hour of each other, yet catering to games commencing well after prime time as per your requested 7pm AWST start time.

Had they previously announced that Perth Sunday games are now going to start at 5:20 EST instead of 4:40?
Started this year.

Because Ch7 show WA teams even if produced by Foxtel, they started playing 3.20pm local time to get the same as we do here over the in the east (rush between game finish and news)

Even when Richmond, Carlton and Collingwood were crap they were still getting regular Friday night games.

The AFL media hate Freo, always have.
Richmond had 0 Friday night games in 2017 after a poor 2016. After only one 'poor' year where we didn't make the finals.

I actually mean this seriously ... can you possibly do another one for 2019 finals games won by 2020 opponents?

If you insist.

1572496419955.png

Genuinely didn't expect only 2 teams to be on zero in this table. This means almost every team plays one of the 5 teams who actually won finals last year. (Rich/GWS 3, Coll/Geel/WC 1) Also means no-one has both Grand Finalists twice.

Dogs always played in Tassie vs Hawthorn from around 08-15. We would not be new or any interest. It's only been in recent years they actually played a home at at the G vs us.
yeah, you stopped when you won the grand final. Funny how you stopped coming to Tassie after that happened....

North and you have Good friday(sometimes), so perhaps a bit hard coming down to hobart. But it would be nice to have a new team play down here. This is the 3rd year in a 4 that Melbourne will play a game here. Only the Saints(3), Carlton(1), Richmond(2) and of course Melbourne(3) have played here who are Victorian teams.

Still, at least we get Freo for the first time. The unofficial 3rd Tasmanian team.

2020 Fixture gets released October 2019 ….. "Team X has the easiest draw … how does that happen? What a joke". *angry face* *angry face*

Season 2020 starts …...

September 2020 … "Team Y had the easiest draw ever, how the hell does the AFL allow this to happen all the time? Competition is rigged" *angry face* *angry face*

Rinse and repeat every year.

2020 Fixture gets released October 2019 ….. "Team X has the easiest draw … how does that happen? What a joke". *angry face* *angry face*

Season 2020 starts …...

September 2020 … "Team Y had the easiest draw ever, how the hell does the AFL allow this to happen all the time? Competition is rigged" *angry face* *angry face*

Rinse and repeat every year.
Every team gets it easy or hard at some point. Yes some get some more then the others. Fans will just sook when its their turn to get an average draw, or find a way to sook about a team they don't like. Because they want it easy every time. Never mind the big grand "conspiracy" with x amount of games on certain grounds as well. Besides the hardness is all BS. Every year teams rise and fall. Last year fans were salivating getting Lions twice, and sweating over the Demons twice. Look what happened?

In the end who cares. Too many fans have this culture of wanting an easier draw to make finals, it annoys me. If your team is good enough to win the grand final, then it shouldn't matter who they face twice. If you need an easier draw to be relevant, then says more about a negative culture and mindset

Rounds 19-21 to be affected by the Olympic games. Will be interesting how TV Audiences hold up during those 2 rounds.

Financially this is a disaster but onfield very happy with this draw - five interstate plus China plus Geelong - only one MCG and 14 at Marvel.

How we hosts China and we should have played the Pies at home on the Friday night. I am disappointed to travel to Brisbane and Canberra, would have rather Sydney and another trip to Perth.

All those people melting over the fact they only got 1 or 2 prime time slots when freo haven't had one in 4 years.

I understand you've got to earn your place in the spotlight, but this "draw" just puts more fuel on the fire that the AFL is a money making venture, rather than a sporting fixture.

Earn your place in the spotlight ?, mmmmmmm I better re-think that ……………….. Carlton !!!.

If the AFL don't want to give their dual Brownlow Medallists a "leg up" for time in the spotlight, it is a sad state of affairs in footy. We want to see the best players.

Today is a good reminder for all the supporters of the 'bigger' clubs to shut their mouths in regards to equalisation etc.

Today you just got paid your annual payment for it.

as we should minnow. Don’t forget who underwrites your club

Nah belting Collingwood a few weeks later was the satisfying one.

As a small club you savour the wins over big clubs.

You blokes was just run of the mill.

have to agree with this. Frustrates me no end. Although sacking Scott to get the performance bounce against was a step too far IMO

CHAMPION DATA’S RANKING OF THE 2020 DRAW (HARDEST TO EASIEST)

1. West Coast Eagles
2. Hawthorn
3. Gold Coast Suns
4. Essendon
5. GWS Giants
6. Carlton
7. Richmond
8. North Melbourne
9. Geelong Cats
10. St Kilda
11. Collingwood
12. Western Bulldogs
13. Brisbane Lions
14. Port Adelaide
15. Adelaide Crows
16. Melbourne
17. Sydney Swans
18. Fremantle

Does anyone give a shit about the Olympics these days? The last Olympics TV ratings were dismal.
Considering the olympics will be on the main channel and the Football will be relegated most likely to 7mate, there will be large impacts on audience ratings for matches through the two week period.

CHAMPION DATA’S RANKING OF THE 2020 DRAW (HARDEST TO EASIEST)

1. West Coast Eagles
2. Hawthorn
3. Gold Coast Suns
4. Essendon
5. GWS Giants
6. Carlton
7. Richmond
8. North Melbourne
9. Geelong Cats
10. St Kilda
11. Collingwood
12. Western Bulldogs
13. Brisbane Lions
14. Port Adelaide
15. Adelaide Crows
16. Melbourne
17. Sydney Swans
18. Fremantle

Brisbane finish 5th and get the 13th hardest draw.

Hawthorn finish 9th and get the 2nd hardest draw.

The AFL is so inept. Just shorten or lengthen the season for ****s sake so each team can play each other either once or twice.

2020 AFL fixture released