2020 Draft and Trades Thread

OK, I make an exception just for you. SUNS will pre-select Gore :) On a second thought, you would like him to end up in Collingwood!
That's true haha. Pies do need a small forward crumber. I even told him this lol

And how many players like that exist now?
You can have all the footy smarts in the world but if cant chase down your direct opponent you are in trouble. Unfortunately athletes are preferred over footballers so everyone has to use them to keep pace
Cripps, Mitchell, Hawkins, Lyons, Greenwood, Gawn etc. are all slow as hell. I’d take all of them in our team without question

And how many players like that exist now?
You can have all the footy smarts in the world but if cant chase down your direct opponent you are in trouble. Unfortunately athletes are preferred over footballers so everyone has to use them to keep pace
IMO the coaches have a narrow mindset that excludes players like this and the game is worse for it. Just because it is the current trend doesn’t make it right, in my opinion at least

I would also say you don’t have to chase if you have the ball. We have some great runners that can’t hit a target And that’s why they need to run.
This is also why I think Brodie will come back to haunt us

IMO the coaches have a narrow mindset that excludes players like this and the game is worse for it. Just because it is the current trend doesn’t make it right, in my opinion at least

I would also say you don’t have to chase if you have the ball. We have some great runners that can’t hit a target And that’s why they need to run.
100% lva. Jarrod Lyons anyone!

Cripps, Mitchell, Hawkins, Lyons, Greenwood, Gawn etc. are all slow as hell. I’d take all of them in our team without question

Im not saying I agree with it at all. Its just the way football is going, athletes are much preferred over footballers as teams way over value athletic abilities over actual football skills these days

Disposal efficiency top 4 team players vs bottom team players .
Stats for debate . People keep talking about Neale Fremantle version vs Brisbane Version . What about lynch GCS version vs Richmond Version .
Brisbane won't paid to cross over for two first round pick if they think Neale Fremantle version is not good .

How many slow players have been stars in the past

Greg Williams (Brownlow)
Sam Mitchell ( Brownlow)
Robert Harvey (Brownlow x 2)

point I am trying to make is you can have all the speed or endurance in the world but footy smarts will win the day
Too fast sometime is not good spraying everywhere.

400k is the average AFL player wage in 2020.

He is average unless somehow Dewy can turn him into a gun....

Who’s spot is he taking ?

A left foot winger who can play back or forward and can kick long........ ring any bells?

Jordan flipping Murdoch

These two better not both be on 400k to rot in our 2s

400k is the average AFL player wage in 2020.

He is average unless somehow Dewy can turn him into a gun....

Who’s spot is he taking ?

A left foot winger who can play back or forward and can kick long........ ring any bells?

Jordan f*n Murdoch

These two better not both be on 400k to rot in our 2s
He is a much much better player than Murdoch ever has been. This guy averaged 22+ touches off a wing in a near premiership side.

I wish everyone would stop just rehashing the "Atkins is a spud" line that idiot football watchers trot out. He's a very decent wingman who plays that role to a tee.

I will happily eat my words, but I don’t know if Atkins is the player we need, especially on a 4-year deal.

I just don’t think he is consistent or reliable enough, something we desperately need out of our mature recruits at the moment. Is he even best 22 in 3/4 years time?

None the less, I wish him all the best with us. Hopefully he smashes it!

5 years for Atkins 😂😂😂. This club is funny
4 years mate firstly, secondly Carlton haven't been the pillar of recruiting or drafting success either, glass houses something something...

Thirdly, is this seriously all you came over here to say.

Can someone provide information on what he brings to the club? Who’s spot is he taking?
He plays on a wing. We have one good wing in Ellis and then a gulf. He fills a need. 400k is base level average.

Ellis playing reminds me how sorely we've actually missed wingers that know how to play the role. Having one legit winger helps, but we need two.

I hope I eat my words and Rory comes and plays well.
But he is so much of a headless chook when he is under pressure that it will drive me insane many many times. He is Harbrow like under pressure,
I hope to God im wrong and he proves me wrong but from what I've seen he will be a whipping boy for the majority of his contract

Look i'm not saying its the worst signing but i think he's slightly overpaid especially without any competition trying to sign him.

$400k/4years we better get at least 60 games from him