Unofficial Preview 2020 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter HeHateMe

Small forwards need to be on the agenda this draft, just as much as key position players and midfielders.

Breust isn’t getting any younger, Wingard needs to play in the midfield, Minchington and Moore are likely to be delisted and Hanrahan isn’t an AFL standard player.

He’s been mentioned here regularly mate.

JUH getting bid on very early will make sure the Bulldogs stockpile enough points, the more he ‘slides’ the less they will pay. This is where their first round pick potentially comes into play.

We will look to try & get another pick in before we think Downie will be bid on.

Very risky - can just see DoDo bidding on Downie, so if we traded for pick 12 and they bid on him at pick 10 than it's a wasted trade

How many priority picks do we get now that Adelaide have belted us? I'm thinking 1x start of first round and 1x end of first round would be fair. Maybe make that end of first round a start of second round pick instead.

Alternatively the AFL could just give us Matt Rowell. Gold Coast have performed better than us without him so logically it follows we're in more dire need of his assistance.

Callum Twomey got his early draft list on AFL site with videos.

Downie's at 25 and given he's an NGA for us I had a look.
What do is see in the highlights of him as a possible inside mid.
Doesn't mean he a superstar in waiting just some qualities compared to our players in the same role.

He's a left footer who would kick further than any inside midfielder (outside too if you leave out Smith) we have by a fair way and seems to be pretty precise in hitting targets.
He can ping goals outside 50m off a step (don't worry unfortunately we will beat that out of him so he kicks to the square like everyone else)
He is faster than any of our inside mids also by a mile. He can also run down players defensively (only JOM is a hope in hell of doing that)
He is taller (hopefully grows a bit more) than our inside mids and already probably stronger than most of them.

So he has qualities that would genuinely help us improve and that we just don't have atm if he can transition them to senior footy.

Very risky - can just see DoDo bidding on Downie, so if we traded for pick 12 and they bid on him at pick 10 than it's a wasted trade
Wouldn't put it past him, but he'd be a fool to play that game with us again up that high in the order. Showed last time with Mozzie that we weren't bluffing. If both clubs value him less than (for example) pick 12 then it's a poor strategy to use pick 10 to try and force us to use a less valuable pick to match. Sure, they'd be reducing our total haul slightly but arguably hurting themselves more if we didn't match - and if we're willing to trade in an extra pick at that spot in the first place then it will be because there is indeed a player we rate highly enough to go there.

The problem with Bruhn is that like Hollands the injury history along with not really getting a chance to show his wares this year.

Someone mentioned Kemps sliding earlier and that might happen to Bruhn. Less likely to happen to Hollands because unlike them he was a potential pick 1 not top 5 also we got to see the maximum out of him last year.

And personally I think performance last year > performance this year because of covid.
No chance he's sliding past Geelong sadly- they're all over him especially as he's a Falcons lad. He's incredibly highly rated from what I've heard, and I think realistically if we're looking for a mid and Hollands/O'Driscoll are gone/not who we're looking at I hope it's him.

KM has Phillips at 3, Bruhn at 5, Tilthorpe at 6!
DGB at 15.
KM has a hard on for Phillips. Also very reactionary to a few talls they bounce up and down his list like ping pong.

DGB will go early if a club is desperate for a KPD interceptor. But I think most clubs realise you can find those types really late in the draft with some luck. So that's effecting his ranking in power rankings regardless of how well he is performing against his peers.

Tilthorpe at 6 is fair tbh. He is that bloke you pick if all your other targets are gone in the top 5. Just has all the tools you only find high in the draft. From our perspective I'd want us to grab him if Hollands, JUH, McDonald, Campbell are gone and before Bruhn and Phillips because of injury and needs concerns.

Agree re key defender. But not RE key forward. Be thrilled to get McDonald. Our forward line and marking in general is also a disaster.

I think like most the idea of McDonald or Hollands hold most appeal. But they are unlikely to reach us unless we drop to 17th or at least 16th
I think North have a monopoly on pick 2 now. They're terrible and tanking to boot...Pick 2 is theirs. Finishing pick 3 could work out really well for us. We need some cards to fall our way...Firstly Brouch can't net Adelaide pick 2...That's absurd that its even being speculated on but the AFL fix things to suit their agenda all the time and if they want the crows back up the ladder its conceivable. If we finish 3 we need to get in the Swans ear and say we'll be bidding on Campbell. Give us something to swap picks (their next years first) and don't take Hollands if he's still on the board. If Hollands gone and we're not all over Bruhn or O'Driscoll we should split our picks with Cats. We'd still get 2 quality players at 11 & 15 (one of McRae, DGB, Perkins)...We have an early second rounder , we get our NGA pick and we have a good hand for the following year...We'd have done well but still much water to go under the bridge...Finishing 16th is critical for us.. The tank is on. Sad to support losing but that's the system. You don't play the game, you lose.

We need to tank like all hell the rest of the year and possibly cop a few beltings to get that 3rd pick- It’s a must get. Keep playing Stratton, Ceglar and Frawley for all I care- do what needs to be done. Make sure our percentage drops below the Sydneys.. it’s not about pride at this point.. that was lost weeks ago...

This will allow us to bid on Campbell and force the Swines to match (**** those tanking pricks we can’t let them keep abusing the system to get two top 10 players)

Then we need to grab Elijah Hollands with the 4th pick. He’s easily the best fit for our midfield - tall, big body, hard, classy, penetrating kick and can go forward in the Bontempelli/Fyfe mould.
I’ll back our medical team to get the ACL recovery right..

Just have to hope that North and Adelaide don’t bite with pick 2/3 after the JUH bid but I’ve got them taking Tilthorpe, McDonald or possibly Phillips at this stage..

Someone mentioned last night that we just have to take our medicine the rest of this season. Its clear now that the cue has finally been put in the rack and outside of our last game against the Suns which likely be a farewell for some of our club greats I reckon things are going to get pretty ugly for us.

Now for those that think where still a chance to drop below the Swans with now just a .3 percent difference between us and them I still don't like our chances in that happening. Outside of the last game for the season for both clubs, all of their remaining games fall after ours so if they are in fact tanking they will always know exactly how much they need to lose by to remain below us. Could very well come down to the last game when we play at the same time (12am).

[TABLE=alternate]
[TR]
[TD]Hawks (remaining games)[/TD][TD]Swans (remaining games)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Rd 15 vs Crows (Tuesday 5.40pm)[/TD][TD]Rd 15 vs Demons (Thursday 4.40pm)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Rd 16 vs Saints (Sunday 1.05pm)[/TD][TD]Rd 16 vs Blues (Tuesday 8.10pm)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Rd 17 vs Bulldogs (Sunday 3.35pm)[/TD][TD]Rd 17 vs Lions (Sunday 6.10pm)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Rd 18 vs Suns (Saturday 12.00am)[/TD][TD]Rd 18 vs Cats (Saturday 12.00am)[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

I think North have a monopoly on pick 2 now. They're terrible and tanking to boot...Pick 2 is theirs. Finishing pick 3 could work out really well for us. We need some cards to fall our way...Firstly Brouch can't net Adelaide pick 2...That's absurd that its even being speculated on but the AFL fix things to suit their agenda all the time and if they want the crows back up the ladder its conceivable. If we finish 3 we need to get in the Swans ear and say we'll be bidding on Campbell. Give us something to swap picks (their next years first) and don't take Hollands if he's still on the board. If Hollands gone and we're not all over Bruhn or O'Driscoll we should split our picks with Cats. We'd still get 2 quality players at 11 & 15 (one of McRae, DGB, Perkins)...We have an early second rounder , we get our NGA pick and we have a good hand for the following year...We'd have done well but still much water to go under the bridge...Finishing 16th is critical for us.. The tank is on. Sad to support losing but that's the system. You don't play the game, you lose.
Gonna be a hard sell to blackmail the Swans into giving us their future 1st then turn around and ask for good faith in leaving Hollands for us..

If we can find finish below swans we can really play hardball with threat of bidding on Campbell (assuming we actually rate him in top 3-4 and would be happy if swans didn’t match) as would stop them getting two top 5 kids - what’s that worth? Our pick 3 for swans pick 4 + a future first?

Draft tampering, AFL wouldn't ratify it.

We just need the pick. The tank is on massively.

Spot on!

Atm, Sydney, can in theory, take Hollands at pick 3 then Campbell at pick 4 (NGA).

Sydney has secured three first-round picks via its Academy in the past five years (Isaac Heeney, Callum Mills and Blakey) and will add another two this year (Errol Gulden, Braeden Campbell) - this is starting to piss me off, and in part why the AFL are re-adjusting the NGA next year.

Someone mentioned last night that we just have to take our medicine the rest of this season. Its clear now that the cue has finally been put in the rack and outside of our last game against the Suns which likely be a farewell for some of our club greats I reckon things are going to get pretty ugly for us.

Now for those that think where still a chance to drop below the Swans with now just a .3 percent difference between us and them I still don't like our chances in that happening. Outside of the last game for the season for both clubs, all of their remaining games fall after ours so if they are in fact tanking they will always know exactly how much they need to lose by to remain below us. Could very well come down to the last game when we play at the same time (12am).

[TABLE=alternate]
[TR]
[TD]Hawks (remaining games)[/TD][TD]Swans (remaining games)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Rd 15 vs Crows (Tuesday 5.40pm)[/TD][TD]Rd 15 vs Demons (Thursday 4.40pm)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Rd 16 vs Saints (Sunday 1.05pm)[/TD][TD]Rd 16 vs Blues (Tuesday 8.10pm)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Rd 17 vs Bulldogs (Sunday 3.35pm)[/TD][TD]Rd 17 vs Lions (Sunday 6.10pm)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Rd 18 vs Suns (Saturday 12.00am)[/TD][TD]Rd 18 vs Cats (Saturday 12.00am)[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
London to a brick book mark this!
If Sydney & us are on the same points & similar %. their game will be after ours 100%.
There is the bye before the finals right, so no disadvantage to the Pussies.
The AFL will allow the bleeders the opportunity to manage the result so they get pick 3 & hence 2 top 5-10 talents.

So if bids come at pick 5 and 16 for Sydney's academy players they would require 2447 points - after pick 3 they currently have 1509 points so a deficit of 938. Say they finish 10th next year that would move their pick from top 10 into the 30's.

Just on Hollands
His highlights look fantastic but the concern of course is the injury
Does this put the club off?
Of all the highlights I’ve seen he and Campbell look the standouts to me but it’s only based on the vision available
I’ve never been one to just go of the highlights because that’s all you see is ‘highlights’. If you have time go back and watch the games with these kids to see how they handle adversity, a hard tag or when they go head to head with another top rated kid. This IMO is how you can weed out how good they truely are.

Our list is in a position where we don't have the ability to bypass the best talent for positional needs. The reality is that we positional needs across the board.

We should also be looking to try and be strategic with our trading and aim to bring in another pick in the first round of this draft. It's probably been mentioned already but the picks I would be targeting are the Dogs pick and one of the Lions picks.

Our list is in a position where we don't have the ability to bypass the best talent for positional needs. The reality is that we positional needs across the board.

We should also be looking to try and be strategic with our trading and aim to bring in another pick in the first round of this draft. It's probably been mentioned already but the picks I would be targeting are the Dogs pick and one of the Lions picks.
I would've thought after such a supreme reign of the competition over the best part of 15 years combined with the fact that over a third of our list is out of contract that IF we're ruthless with our list cull and more importantly patient with maybe not having immediate success (thinking 2 years min) then there's no reason that things can't turn relatively quickly. FWIW my interpretation of immediate success is being a top 4 contender and with a bit of luck with the draft, trades and free agency (can never really count on this) then I could easily see us pushing for top 8 maybe not next season but 2022 if we're being realistic.

You'd think that 3-4 of Stratton, Burgoyne, Henderson, Frawley, Puopolo will be let go. I think it will be the three in bold but if I had my way I'd be letting Burgoyne play on and let Shiels go instead but I don't think the club will lean that way. Burgoyne offers versatility, leadership and so much more even at 38 years old. Frawley will stay on for another year and we'll roll with a backline of Hardwick, Frawley, Scrimshaw, Impey, Frost, Hartley and Day.

Depending on where pick in the draft you could maybe add DGB to that backline and move Day to a wing. Not too sure how far Kozzie is off making a debut but he's another to add to the mix. We really need to nail this upcoming draft and also the 2021 one as well and we'll be the baby Hawks again soon enough and the media will be whinging we need to add more experience 🤪