2020 Fixture Predictions

My hopes:

Thurs St Kilda v Greater Western Sydney
Fri Collingwood v Port Adelaide
Sat arvo North Melbourne v West Coast Sydney v Geelong
Sat evening Hawthorn v Gold Coast Fremantle v Western Bulldogs
Sunday Essendon v Melbourne Adelaide v Richmond Brisbane v Carlton

So that's 4 away games for the season (Gabba doesn't count)....how many WC/Freo/Adel/PA play? Given they can play at home?

The same? No the difference is GC plays an "away game" at a ground 100km from their home and 3000km from the oppositions home.
The Gabba is an AWAY ground. It is a ground that our blokes only see once a year when we play Brisbane that is it- no training, no matches nothing..

BTW maybe look at the fact that Adelaide play an away game at the Adelaide Oval vs Hawthorn where Adelaide Oval is actually their home ground..

as an aside, cant believe the long awaited q clash is a wed night game!!
100%- it is the long awaited Q-Clash probably the biggest Q-Clash of all time yet they choose to put it shafted in the middle of the week.. How about you put it on FTA on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night????!!! hopefully they let suns members purchase single tickets this time.

We knew we were going back to Queensland. Just wish they’d spaced the games out a little more.
You had to cop the bye out west because your state forced the two week quaratine. Having said that, every club has had a block of 4 games with no bye, most clubs have done it already. It's really not that bad.

It could be just me, but does every article that mentions the potential grand final date seem to very quickly and overly strongly emphasise the Cox Plate / Caulfield Cup dates.

Football and racegoers aren't necessarily the same audience, and also whilst they may be part of the Melbourne racing calendar, their relevance is partly based on the fact that from end the of football season to the beginning of cricket, there's basically a sporting vacuum, so the racing gets gets it's articles and lead up opinion pieces because they need to fill the sports section somehow.
To the wider Australian population the Cox Plate/Caulfield Cup isn't even on the radar of sports that matter.

I'm aware that ch7 holds the rights to both, so having stumped up the cash they don't want a clash, but if necessary, ch7 do have multiple channels, and the race literally goes for a couple of minutes.

I think the clash with the racing dates are being completely blown out of proportion.

It could be just me, but does every article that mentions the potential grand final date seem to very quickly and overly strongly emphasise the Cox Plate / Caulfield Cup dates.

Football and racegoers aren't necessarily the same audience, and also whilst they may be part of the Melbourne racing calendar, their relevance is partly based on the fact that from end the of football season to the beginning of cricket, there's basically a sporting vacuum, so the racing gets gets it's articles and lead up opinion pieces because they need to fill the sports section somehow.
To the wider Australian population the Cox Plate/Caulfield Cup isn't even on the radar of sports that matter.

I'm aware that ch7 holds the rights to both, so having stumped up the cash they don't want a clash, but if necessary, ch7 do have multiple channels, and the race literally goes for a couple of minutes.

I think the clash with the racing dates are being completely blown out of proportion.
What they could even do is extend the half time a little bit to show the full race on the main channel then shaft it back to 7mate

Totally, who gives a toss about those races apart from a couple of gambling addicted player flogs.

They only get such a big crowd very year because there is no footy or Cricket on.

Amusing seeing the birds plastered every year though

Couldn't agree more. Melbourne Cup, yes. The others, whatever

BTW maybe look at the fact that Adelaide play an away game at the Adelaide Oval vs Hawthorn where Adelaide Oval is actually their home ground..
Now that is having a laugh. How did that get scheduled. Hawks getting well done over here. Fortunately the Crows are a rabble and they should get over them.

Why complain about this? It's not the AFL's fault they can't schedule games in Victoria or Tasmania due to COVID.

The AFL had the chance to schedule Hawthorn as much home games as possible in Melbourne before moving all the Victorian club’s away into hubs and they didn’t do that. A home game at Etihad against an Etihad tenant? A home game against Adelaide at Adelaide Oval? Seems fair.

Racing doesn't interest me, but there is no denying that the spring racing carnival is a massive event, and these are major parts of it.

Vic government and Channel 7 both have major interest in avoiding such a clash and will doubtless be bringing their considerable influence to bear on the AFL.

I wouldn't be shocked if one of the Vic government requirements for allowing the GF to be moved was that it doesn't clash.

The AFL had the chance to schedule Hawthorn as much home games as possible in Melbourne before moving all the Victorian club’s away into hubs and they didn’t do that. A home game at Etihad against an Etihad tenant? A home game against Adelaide at Adelaide Oval? Seems fair.

Yeah they probably should’ve foreseen the Victorian outbreak coming :rolleyes:

The AFL were expecting Covid to be a non issue and Victorian clubs not needing to hub

What a joke. Brisbane and GC don't even leave QLD again? 2 away games all year??????? Why are they not at least to play in Adelaide or Perth against teams they haven't played yet???

Whats the difference between going to Adelaide to play vs going to Cairns? Roughly the same distance from Brisbane.

We were scheduled to go to Tas until their government pulled the plug. Not our fault the border situation worked out the way it has. If WA had open borders with QLD you can bet the Eagles would have had 8+ games at Optus.

Geeze, the fixture looks pretty ugly for Essendon. They play 5 of the top 6, have to travel outside Queensland 3 times and get no bye.

My heart bleeds. As in metaphorically, not as a literal side effect from being injected with goat testicles or other unknown substances.

Totally agree, couldn't GAF about horse races.

7 home games and 10 away games!!!

1 genuine home game (Round 1)
6 home games at neutral venues

:oops:

Awwww let's all feel sad for the team that gets home grand finals and **** all travel most years. Oh, sorry, you sold yourselves for a few 50 minute flights too.

Poor baby, do you need a hot choc?

2020 Fixture Predictions