2020 Non-Crows AFL Discussion

They've done nothing but add talent. Lost no one of importance, added two quality mature players in Ellis and Greenwood then destroyed the draft.

They also got a full year of development out of last year's draftees.

I think they will struggle in the back end of the season but they are building nicely

They always look good at the start of the year, only to be down to 25 fit players by the mid year bye.

Having a poor physical performance program will stuff any side up, regardless of talent.

They always look good at the start of the year, only to be down to 25 fit players by the mid year bye.

Having a poor physical performance program will stuff any side up, regardless of talent.
The thing for me is their list has improved significantly since last year. They'll still finish 18th but a lot to work with

Rowell just fits straight into AFL. He's already big enough as well. I remember the days of thinking we might be a chance to get him.

They were good days. Pick 1 would have been such a great thing for this Club with the past two seasons we had.

AFL then ****ed us over giving GC and extra one and Melbourne tanking and we ended up trading down.

we should have given up whatever we had to get Rozee too and at the very least picked Durrsma over McHenry, thats looking like a Tambling Franklin esque stuff up right now

AFL then f’ed us over giving GC and extra one and Melbourne tanking and we ended up trading down.

we should have given up whatever we had to get Rozee too and at the very least picked Durrsma over McHenry, thats looking like a Tambling Franklin esque stuff up right now
Whilst i agree at this stage, everything ive seen in the SANFL says McHenry has it.

He just needs exposure.

AFL then f’ed us over giving GC and extra one and Melbourne tanking and we ended up trading down.

I've seen some overreactions in my time here but this is up the pointy end. Comparing Duursma to Franklin...... wow

Settle down Tambling Franklin esque fair dinkum.

Hamish has more or less said we were set to take Duursma with our then Pick 19 but Port nailed him with pick 18 hence when Carlton came knocking with their 2019 draft offer that was too good to refuse we accepted.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing re McHenry and Duursma but there's a hell of a lot of water still to go under that bridge just yet with the way it set us up for the 2019 and 2020 drafts.

How did he go I missed that game running family errands, Locked in for the Lions Round 1?
Serviceable. Mostly muscling in and getting the ball and handballing to an outside which looked like his job. Posters here always said he was slow but I always thought he was more of a loper giving the impression he was slow, but to me he’s carrying even more bulk and at times did look quite sluggish. Damn, he’s big though, and his size is something we actually lack on ball. Commentators were saying positive things about his performance.

I reckon he might get a gig round 1, given the role he seemed to be allocated. I can’t think of another Brisbane player better suited to that role...G Healy mentioned he was the big body the Lions needed on ball.

Yet the AFL gave them draft picks to help them off the bottom of the ladder. Talent has never been the trouble with them, it's always been off field.

It was obvious the AFL should have given them off field support through soft cap relief, even bring much heralded Darren Burgess up there on $1m year and load up on development coaches.

Draft picks does nothing in the short term to fix the issue. The goal shouldn't have been to give them a draft pick hand like GWS where they have 2 firsts for the next 10 years, but get them away from being non-competitive ASAP. If they had a fit team for most of last year, they'd would've been in the 10-15 range.

I've seen some overreactions in my time here but this is up the pointy end. Comparing Duursma to Franklin...... wow
I like Duursma, but to say he's better is a bit of a premature judgement. To compare him to Franklin is just hilarious

I don't think it was a comparison in the quality of the two sets of players, just the gap between Franklin and Tambling being like the gap between Brokenarrow and Ned...even though we really didn't have a choice of one or the other.

I like Duursma, but to say he's better is a bit of a premature judgement. To compare him to Franklin is just hilarious

Jones, Duursma and McHenry would have been a really nice draft haul.

The GWS pick swap last year is the one that might really come back to bite us, particularly if McAsey leaves.

Jones, Duursma and McHenry would have been a really nice draft haul.

The GWS pick swap last year is the one that might really come back to bite us, particularly if McAsey leaves.
If he leaves after a few good years we get a nice bounty.

those short nuggety guys that can tackle and have aggression, but dont have the skills or the class, how many of them actually work out to be elite mids?

Sam Mitchell is one because he could kick off both feet and short passing game was great and Caleb Daniel is ok but where are the other sub 180cm elite mids in this era of footy? Lachie Neale and that's about it, and we passed on him.

We need Cripps Fyfe Danger Martin type mids, we dont have any on the list that could even become that good.

we picked Jones who was short and he is going to be a great player, but to pick 2 short mids in super draft is a little misguided

I'm just not as negative as you haha.

In all seriousness though, we can't be losing the kid, at least not before 10 years and a flag or 2.
Agreed, but the point stands, we have to retain our younger better players, otherwise you just keep pushing back development out and out

those short nuggety guys that can tackle and have aggression, but dont have the skills or the class, how many of them actually work out to be elite mids?

Sam Mitchell is one because he could kick off both feet and short passing game was great and Caleb Daniel is ok but where are the other sub 180cm elite mids in this era of footy? Lachie Neale and that's about it, and we passed on him.

We need Cripps Fyfe Danger Martin type mids, we dont have any on the list that could even become that good.

we picked Jones who was short and he is going to be a great player, but to pick 2 short mids in super draft is a little misguided

At drafting time, wasn't McHenry sold as a small forward, with Ballantyne overtones and good tackling? I see the Ballantyne comparison as apt. Perhaps, Bicks can comment.