2020 Non-Crows AFL Discussion

dude316

giphy.gif

That reminds me of this old Western Gif I made a long time ago:

Looks like we're a road team all year

What a ****ing moronic decision! What was the point announcing the ground could hold half capacity if they aren’t allowing any teams to actually travel here?! Why can’t they quarantine for 2 weeks and play? How are players getting tested twice a week and staying in quarantine any danger to the safety of the public?

That is just bizarre especially if you could allow say for Collingwood/Geelong to comeback from WA.

If you thought our performances were bad now, you’ve seen nothing yet.

Are the players going to get an opportunity to comeback at all to see families? Seems a bit cruel otherwise.
Thinking about it, he just says there won’t be a hub, but does he rule out teams coming through here after spending 2 weeks outside of Victoria beforehand? The SA Government surely don’t want the AO to just sit there all season with no games and making no money?

That’s a general rule for anything at AO and 50% capacity at all venues. Having hundreds of Victorian AFL players based here is entirely different.
Hundreds? How are players getting tested twice a week and staying in a hotel any danger to the public?

What a ******* moronic decision! What was the point announcing the ground could hold half capacity if they aren’t allowing any teams to actually travel here?! Why can’t they quarantine for 2 weeks and play? How are players getting tested twice a week and staying in quarantine any danger to the safety of the public?
Only applies to Vic teams doesn’t it? Or teams that have played Vic teams.

Happy with that call, don’t want anything or anyone that’s had anything to do with Vic anywhere near our state

The only way we will see a Vic team is if they want to quarantine for 2 weeks prior to the game. Seems unlikely but not impossible.

We've played the Qld teams, Sydney and will have played Freo by the weekend.

I reckon we might play some games in Darwin

What about once all Vic teams have been out of the state for 2 weeks? They are getting tested twice a week, if all tests are negative in that time theyre not a threat to the health of residents in this state.

Border rules still apply though. I think I heard Marshall say yesterday that once they'd quarantined in a different state they could play here.

So let's say Carlton and St Kilda go to Noise which is suggested. They'd be free to play here after the hub games.

Hundreds? How are players getting tested twice a week and staying in a hotel any danger to the public?
The hotel security guards are the real danger

Border rules still apply though. I think I heard Marshall say yesterday that once they'd quarantined in a different state they could play here.

So let's say Carlton and St Kilda go to Noise which is suggested. They'd be free to play here after the hub games.
Border rules? Once they’ve been in any of WA or Queensland or even NSW (borders rumoured to open up earlier than July 20 with them) for 2 weeks, then they would be free to enter still? It just sounds they’ve ruled out them being able to play while in quarantine like WA.

I think I’ve found the figures.. all up we’ve played 321 away games for 132 wins and 2 draws and 187 losses.

definately room for improvement.
I remember checking out these figures after the 2017 Grand Final. My memory is that the winning percentage for a team travelling interstate to play a team located in that state was around 35%. We were better than average, winning just over 40% away games.

To accurately track home state advantage you need to remove the Showdowns (although they are 50/50 so don’t change the % very much). Similarly remove matches between two Vic teams at the MCG or Docklands etc.

The interesting stat will be teams playing at a “neutral” venue (e.g. Crows v Freo on the Goldie). The stats would suggest that there is a huge ”homeground” advantage for Hawthorn and Kangas playing in Tassie but this is also influenced by those teams playing mostly non-Vic teams. The advantage for teams playing home matches in the NT is more questionable.

Whilst the Crows and the Pear will be hugely disadvantaged if they play their last 16 games in a hub, I suspect some of the Vic teams will spit the dummy if they are outside Covictoria for more than a month. We need to keep chalking up early losses 😁.

Border rules? Once they’ve been in any of WA or Queensland or even NSW (borders rumoured to open up earlier than July 20 with them) for 2 weeks, then they would be free to enter still? It just sounds they’ve ruled out them being able to play while in quarantine like WA.
I think that's correct yes

What concerts?
No international acts would be coming for awhile.
No but they can. It stuck with me because I thought it was an odd annoucement given things are as you say.

What a ******* moronic decision! What was the point announcing the ground could hold half capacity if they aren’t allowing any teams to actually travel here?! Why can’t they quarantine for 2 weeks and play? How are players getting tested twice a week and staying in quarantine any danger to the safety of the public?

Are you seriously questioning a decision that puts the health and safety of the state over footy.
Come on mate.

Plus the more we play away the better chance of getting pick one.

Are you seriously questioning a decision that puts the health and safety of the state over footy.
Come on mate.

Plus the more we play away the better chance of getting pick one.
It’s a moot point anyway, six teams will hub in Queensland (just confirmed) and then after 2 weeks would be able to fly in and fly out of SA like anyone else can. Same with teams that hub in WA or NSW.

What I don't understand, don't they have to 2 week isolate in QLD and WA? What is the difference. Why do they go there but not here?