List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part II

• Thread starter Thread starter sammm

Then put me on ignore if you aren't interested in my comments regarding other peoples trade suggestions.
Ahhh, the P66 cover all. Just put me on ignore because I don't want to stop annoying other posters.

Well I'm not going to do it. I like you too much..

Billings shouldn't be on more than 450k

Hopefully Billings and Hill are the last flakey outsiders we pay big bucks

Paton and Ryder on half these cats moolah, gross

Happy to have them on the list, but would prefer to keep the big bucks for the mentally tough guns

This is all hyperthetical, we are talking about what we would do, not what the club would do.
If the club used him for currency, I wouldn't mind, reckon for a no.3 he is a disappointment.

Something is up with JB... had a fantastic first half of the year & then totally lost his mojo.

It would be madness IMO to trade a player like because he’s out of form during a year like this.

Yes I did

I saw the same old Seb i nearly always see.

I’ve gone as hard at Seb as anyone in the past & that is just way off the mark.

Was our best mid by a long way.

LOL @ trading Billings

One our young leaders setting standards at the club. One of the reasons Paton has excelled this year is off the back of shadowing Billings and living with him

You don't trade out guys like Billings, I wish we had 10x more Billings
Thought he lives with Coff & Hunter, no?

Something is up with JB... had a fantastic first half of the year & then totally lost his mojo.

It would be madness IMO to trade a player like because he’s out of form during a year like this.

Well you either trade him or halve his wage. He hasn't just stalled, hes gone backwards.

I’m fairly meh on the Billings discussion.
If we can turn him over for a higher output mid then it’s a no brainer.
However, I would like to see him play permanent hff and with Gresh on the other rotating through the middle for short stints. I don’t think he’s a natural winger.
Saying that, both our wingmen have had poor years and B.Hill is elite when he’s being fed the ball - so I guess we need to improve the mids (which we all know) before we can really rate Billings on a wing... which brings us full circle to potentially trading him for that improved mid.
Guess it comes down to him convincing the club he can have a higher output season over his potential replacements.
Headaches aplenty but of the good kind - I’d rather be in our inner group than the bombers right now

Yes I did

I saw the same old Seb i nearly always see.
One moment stood out to me... That shai Bolton goal. Seb probably could have stopped it if he tried but he just stood there and watched it. It's moments like these which create my frustration with him.

Well you either trade him or halve his wage. He hasn't just stalled, hes gone backwards.

He’s contracted so halving his wage isn’t an option until at least 12 months.

Hopefully being back in Melbourne will see the best in JB return.

It's a bit rough specifically dissing Kent, but we need an upgrade on his position (I still think Lonie has some upside). Kent is useful as a fringe player / depth but not as a best 22 pressure forward (who can kick goals).

Bris presumably need to manage their cap carefully if bringing in Daniher and I'd think a few performing players looking for paydays given their current success. Is there anyone we could prise out of their that plays Kent's role? Mathieson presumably would go cheap but he's a flog. Showed a little bit early and then has dropped way off; is it injuries or is he just not committed?

I was thinking along those lines. Looking at the other teams lists, small forwards who are good fore more than a goal or so a game are a rare beast these days.
I keep coming back to ...grab the best mid we can get, and play Gresham as a forward.
He's a very different kind of crummer to Butler, and I think the two of them would compliment each other.

Lonie is taller but lighter than Caleb Daniel, he'll probably continue to increase weight with each pre-season but its slow going. At ths same time that suggests that you are right , still an upside to him.
Here is a list of players on the 3rd page of the AFL's 2020 average goals per game stats. All with around 1 goal per game and 10 or so disposals.

Jake Aarts
Billy Frampton
Jayden Laverde
Alex Neale-Bullen
Steven Motlop
Charlie Spargo
Lochie O'Brian
Cam Rayner
Izak Rankine
Harry Himmelberg.

Now some of them you'd pay a fortune for , and they would look better, but over the course of the season they are doing the same as what Lonie does, and for us its far more cost effective to keep him than to get rid of him and try to trade someone else in.
The cold hard fact is that small forwards don't get 2 goals per game any more. If there was one who did , he'd cost a fortune.
Far easier for us to stick with Lonie, and get our midfield strong enough so that Gresham can play forward, where there is a chance he can be one of the best in the game.

He’s contracted so halving his wage isn’t an option until at least 12 months.

Hopefully being back in Melbourne will see the best in JB return.

Actually this is a bloody good post and something which I completely neglected in my musings.
The whole away from family/mates circle will undoubtedly affect different cats in varying ways and it wouldn’t surprise me to hear that Billings is happiest being close to that circle.
Excellent point W2L

Lol, I didn't mean Bruest as a mid, I meant as a small forward. The bloke is a jet. Absolute ice in his veins around goal. Puts anybody our forwards to shame as far as capitalising on chances.

I know that's what you meant, but the point is it sounds like we aren't in the market for small fwds at all, no matter how good they may be in that position.

The plan it seems is to turn gresh, butler and billings into 3 peak bruests (ie elite small fwds), instead of having them play the rest of their careers as 3 decent, but not elite mid/fwds.

Billings hasn’t stalled he has been overtaken by better players. He is no longer the big dog. Better, hungrier & mentally stronger players have come through. His next contract should reflect where he now is in the pecking order. For mine he’s behind at least 6 & in another 12 months he probably falls out of our best 10 players. That is no indictment on the bloke it’s just that our recruitment has improved & standards have risen.

Not overnight. He has been at the Saints 6 years and many are out of patience.

Just hasn't developed. Best game was against the Dogs 5 years ago.

Come on Joffa, channelling Richo, he's gonna be a rule bewdy. We just don't think he's quite there yet, but yeah, yeah, the young fella is gonna be a ripper.

How good did Hunter look around the ball last night. Was just so confident that he’d get something going if the ball went to him.

He’s going to be some sort of player

Put him on the Nat Fyfe training program & diet & the campaigner will be unstoppable.

Battle, King, Coff, Clark....would love to add Caldwell to that group coming through. Shades of early 2000s Roo, Kosi, Dal, Ball, etc.
its a great list of young guys
Add Paton and fingers crossed for Bytel & Byrnes

Battle, King, Coff, Clark....would love to add Caldwell to that group coming through. Shades of early 2000s Roo, Kosi, Dal, Ball, etc.

Said to my mates last night that I had real 2004 vibes. Outside of Hill, Hanners and Membrey, all of our core are 25 and under with a big part of that being 23 and under

Clark, Caldwell, Bytel is gonna be something to see, and Byrnes will be a player too.

It won't take long for them to gel and become a powerhouse, and from the sounds of it we'll be clearing the way to get them in the team.
There's some very enjoyable watching ahead for Saints fans this decade.

I know his year has been poor and can’t quite match it with the 22 but geewhiz I hate the idea of letting Matty Parker go. Somewhere in my dreams he’s kicking 3+ a game, taking hangers and being a pest for defenders. 🥺
I'd be stunned if they let him go.

There's plenty enough that will be out the door in front of him atm.