List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part II

• Thread starter Thread starter sammm

The more interesting question is will we have pick 15 anyway.
The even interesting question is... will we cut harder into the Richo playing list legacy.

Personally I’m 100% ready to move on from:
Roberton
webster
Lonie
Dunstan

I don’t mind either way with Savage.

would prefer to keep unless we get an upgrade on Carlisle.

Am I the only person here who wants to keep Seb Ross? His second half of the season was quite solid especially towards the end.

The even interesting question is... will we cut harder into the Richo playing list legacy.

Roberton
webster
Lonie
Dunstan

You'd think Robbo is untradable that his massive contract... if we could we'd be actually saving $ by losing Robbo & bringing in Crouch.

I love Jimmy... I think people forget how good he actually was. Sadly it seems like he'll move on for opportunity.

Would prefer to keep Lonedog.

Happy to flick Dunstan.

I'm 50/50 on Carlisle. I really want to see Battle and Winx as our two headed monster up forward so getting in a quality CHB is a priority.

Roberton
webster
Lonie
Dunstan

I completely agree. Still would like to keep Webster. Think his best could be really good for us. But his injury history means he's probably not worth keeping

You'd think Robbo is untradable that his massive contract... if we could we'd be actually saving $ by losing Robbo & bringing in Crouch.

I love Jimmy... I think people forget how good he actually was. Sadly it seems like he'll move on for opportunity.

Would prefer to keep Lonedog.

Happy to flick Dunstan.

I'm 50/50 on Carlisle. I really want to see Battle and Winx as our two headed monster up forward so getting in a quality CHB is a priority.
My issue with Jimmy is that he effectively has missed an entire year of senior footy.

I just think moving on is healthy and a sign of growth. Lonie frustrates me. Whilst he is better then Kent, his size will always be a disadvantage and I would rather try something different

Am I the only person here who wants to keep Seb Ross? His second half of the season was quite solid especially towards the end.

I would have traded Seb as quick as look at him 12 months ago... now I reckon he's found his niche. Aside from the WC game I reckon he was our best mid behind Steeley after he came back into the side.

Definitely keep IMO. I reckon he's also one of the guys who's extremely popular within the group who's been fighting against the odds in shit teams. It's risky burning those type to bring in big $ big names from other clubs.

Yeh I don't mind Seb, especially in the role of lockdown player given we don't have anyone else I would want playing that role (and I am a big believer in the defensive mid against the guns).

"Free Agency" should either genuinely be a free hit, or it should be a "trade" based on points transfer rather than pick transfer.

Compensation, and in particular, compensation that creates picks out of thin air, does nothing but create disadvantages for the rest of the competition, and create a level of underhanded gamesmanship, both on the level of the individual clubs, and with the AFL itself.

You need look no further than ourselves, when we released Dal Santo from the final year of a contract, so he could get to North for free, and we got more than North would have been willing or able to trade us. Or the Frawley band 1 compo. Or Stephen Motlops compo, for Geelong to pay Gold Coast SOMETHING to get Ablett back.

Shenanigans upon shenanigans are what the current system brings us.

Too many clubs with massive space ahead of us (or behind us actually) to that unfortunately.
I wouldn't be bullied by them at any rate… it's pretty clear they don't want him.

A team that won it's first game in round 15 and it's best dozen players are fossils has bigger issues than a 5 pick upgrade.

Was very critical of Ross i the first half of the season. Once he started a run with role, he seemed to lift his game. Was still a bit loose (especially against WCE) but he was giving a lot more drive out of the guts and around the ground.

Think it also co incided with Jones being sat on. I don't know if Ross is great as a tagger, but if he is a bit loose it means both he and his opposite are playing the ball, and he seemed to back himself more. My opinion only.

We have to think about injuries. Hanners always a dodgey proposition, Jones missed a few, Gres was out, Dunny was out, we were lucky with Steele playing all games. Crocuh has a patchy history.
If we get a run with injuries, we will be happy Seb is still on the list. although I reckon he is still best 22.

Mate we are into a few , pointless saying who , have some idea because for every 6 you try for you might get 1.

The postive news is we are In the conversation with player managers since the arrival of Satan.

On a seperate note, what are you thoughts on QuenTIM TARANTinO films?

Do you like them this year? Nudge nudge

If Dunkley is open to leaving, surely we pitch a contract to him.

I’d be happy with Brayshaw as well.

With Crouch and the possibility of another mid I would be testing Ross’s value on the trade table to get back into the draft and free up cap space for next year to upgrade current players contracts that need and/ or lure someone else.

with smaller lists I don’t thinkyou can afford to enter the draft late for consecutive years and risk having 5-6 players not up to AFL standard. Itytakes rolling the dice with late picks to an untenable level.

I want to keep Seb but if we get Crouch and another in, how does that affect his role in the team? The thing being the other, if we get Brayshaw there's all of a sudden a lot more talent to squeeze into the team.

His poor disposal and the improvement in Clark & Bytel, a fit Jones and Hanners, the ability of Gresh, Billings, Steele and Sinclair to play alternate roles could see Seb out of the best 22.

He's too good a footballer to play VFL for extended periods and if he did it would hurt his trade and contract value horribly, it may be best for him and the club to be traded this year.

On a seperate note, what are you thoughts on QuenTIM TARANTinO films?

Do you like them this year? Nudge nudge

Well if you look at the 5 we got last year, Crouch, a backup forward, and a mid, our recruits will be known as the Hateful 8 ;)

So i rarely get any news but just happened to play golf with a relative of aaron hall. I'm sure it will cause spews but saints and lions are speaking to him. Said north are an absolute rabble which we all know. Hall wants to play mid, Shaw wanted him to play fwd pocket. Polec and Hall both not told by coach when they were dumped from squad. Got dumped for questioning being played out of position. Higgins gone to cats on 2 year deal, Brown gone. The 2 interesting ones though were Tarrant has been told he's welcome to look elsewhere as is Cunnington. They are going full rebuild. Those 2 interest me. And i don't hate Hall as a wing, but sure i will be on my own on that one!

Tough to judge form this year. So many possible factors at play with the hubs, the in-season break etc.

I have no doubt Seb's form improved when the families joined at the hub. And in Carlisle's interview with Paddy just before they both left, he mentioned he saw his family for a week but that's it - so perhaps his couple of weeks out of the side late in the year was because he was struggling, left the "bubble" to reset, and needed to re-isolate??

Being too hasty in showing these guys the door, who we know are quality players, might bite us.

Roberton
webster
Lonie
Dunstan

The only one I can see merit in keeping is Roberton. I cant see any club being that interested in him due to the heart issue. And he at least provides value with his aspirations to go into coaching. With the soft cap cuts, having someone on the list who can assist with coaching and development is a plus.

But if another club has a spot for him in their best 22, then it will be great to see him play again even if it is somewhere else.