Draft 2021 AFLW Draft discussion

Hi guys,

the live Draft thread is now open here.

I have no insider knowledge, just information from publicly available sources. It's not an insult to tell somebody they're wrong, but go ahead and take it that way if you wish.
It's how you go about telling some one.
Played footy in one of those years, too. It takes either tremendous ignorance or brazen insincerity to claim her situation was anything like a typical rookie signing.
When you insult some one by saying they are either ignorant or lying, that will get some one offside.

If you had presented the information in a much more neutral or even a helpful way, would have been a much friendlier conversation. As it is, you just come across as rude, hence my response.

Her situation appeared exactly like one of our male rookie signings, Tom Fullerton. Played in our academy and QLD team until 16, then went off and played basketball for Australia U18 and Brisbane Bullets, then came back to footy at 19 and signed as a Cat B cross code rookie.

It's how you go about telling some one.

When you insult some one by saying they are either ignorant or lying, that will get some one offside.

If you had presented the information in a much more neutral or even a helpful way, would have been a much friendlier conversation. As it is, you just come across as rude, hence my response.

Her situation appeared exactly like one of our male rookie signings, Tom Fullerton. Played in our academy and QLD team until 16, then went off and played basketball for Australia U18 and Brisbane Bullets, then came back to footy at 19 and signed as a Cat B cross code rookie.
This was perfectly helpful:
If that's the case, Brisbane wouldn't have bothered to apply for special approval to sign Courtney Hodder as a rookie.

She would have just nominated for the draft, selecting the Queensland zone. And the Suns would have opted against drafting the 3-time U18 All-Australian, out of consideration for the Lions' feelings.
Should have been the end of the exchange, but you had to carry on arguing the point (your response was "she signed as a cross code rookie," as if I didn't already know that). So let it go, please, nobody cares.

Interesting article with Shifters' observations so far, some interesting calls (Calder lost to Eastern and it wasn't a Round 2 Fixture) I'd expected Slender to be mentioned given her high level performances when she's been in

Do you think he's actually watched any Pios games? He specifically mentioned watching Calder in round 2. The article gave the impression he'd seen Tassie v Oakleigh and Eastern v Geelong in round 4 and some of the Northern Academy games. There's plenty of omissions. No mention of the GWV girls either.

I hadn't realised that Campbell is a FD prospect. Cloke had mentioned that Livingstone is a Richmond FD prospect, I think, in one of the Draft Central preview articles, but I hadn't heard about Campbell until now. Melbourne and the Dogs aren't exactly the two teams that I would say need a tall like that, although she might prefer the certainty of one of those to just taking her chances with the Vic pool.

On a separate note, I don't suppose you've heard anything about Dojiok's injury?

I hadn't realised that Campbell is a FD prospect. Cloke had mentioned that Livingstone is a Richmond FD prospect, I think, in one of the Draft Central preview articles, but I hadn't heard about Campbell until now. Melbourne and the Dogs aren't exactly the two teams that I would say need a tall like that, although she might prefer the certainty of one of those to just taking her chances with the Vic pool.
Shows how much attention I pay, I didn't even notice that paragraph or the rules around F/D, so i didnt realise that Livingstone qualified tbh, that sort of changes a few things.

I don't think either club turns down an athletic prospect like Campbell though, how early a bid comes may determine if/who matches. A team like Collingwood i could see using a first round on her tbh, so I'm not sure either would give up that sort of price. Livingstone I imagine gets through to Richmond should they want her.

Do you think he's actually watched any Pios games? He specifically mentioned watching Calder in round 2. The article gave the impression he'd seen Tassie v Oakleigh and Eastern v Geelong in round 4 and some of the Northern Academy games. There's plenty of omissions. No mention of the GWV girls either
I choose to not answer this to avoid getting in trouble 😂. I imagine he went to Pios v Tassie given his involvement with Allies selection

On a separate note, I don't suppose you've heard anything about Dojiok's injury?
I didnt realise she was injured, so no help sorry

I don't think either club turns down an athletic prospect like Campbell though, how early a bid comes may determine if/who matches. A team like Collingwood i could see using a first round on her tbh, so I'm not sure either would give up that sort of price..
It's next available selection to match, so I imagine whichever one she nominates will clear out all their picks around where they expect her to go, similar to what the Dogs did with Issy Grant. A Campbell bid probably comes in after the Dogs first pick, if they keep it, but I wouldn't be confident of it coming in after Melbourne's first pick.

I didnt realise she was injured, so no help sorry
Dojiok left the game with assistance from the trainers in the 4th of their game against Oakleigh. Very late bump caught her at a bad time. Had her right boot off as she left the field, so maybe something lower leg.

It's next available selection to match, so I imagine whichever one she nominates will clear out all their picks around where they expect her to go, similar to what the Dogs did with Issy Grant. A Campbell bid probably comes in after the Dogs first pick, if they keep it, but I wouldn't be confident of it coming in after Melbourne's first pick.
hmm I thought it was matching the round if you had a pick there and then next available if you had cleared out picks, that makes it a bit more interesting. As it stands I highly rate her, higher than most I expect, to the point where she's in that 4-10 for me without a doubt. The Collingwood call was sort of a stab in the dark, given they'd be looking for a potential number 1 ruck for when Norder calls it quits Campbell is certainly a suitable replacement, possibly Gillard is looked at if she's available too. I can see both teams matching for her with a second rounder without a doubt though, if Melbourne had to use their first they'd hesitate you'd assume

Dojiok left the game with assistance from the trainers in the 4th of their game against Oakleigh. Very late bump caught her at a bad time. Had her right boot off as she left the field, so maybe something lower leg.
hmmm, I didn't watch it so I didn't know, I'll certainly look into it, but given what's happened with Hipwell and Shepherd this season these lower leg injuries are certainly scary, especially so close to champs

hmm I thought it was matching the round if you had a pick there and then next available if you had cleared out picks, that makes it a bit more interesting. As it stands I highly rate her, higher than most I expect, to the point where she's in that 4-10 for me without a doubt. The Collingwood call was sort of a stab in the dark, given they'd be looking for a potential number 1 ruck for when Norder calls it quits Campbell is certainly a suitable replacement, possibly Gillard is looked at if she's available too. I can see both teams matching for her with a second rounder without a doubt though, if Melbourne had to use their first they'd hesitate you'd assume
If Campbell nominates Melbourne, I'd assume they'll emulate Collingwood last year and pick swap until they've got a few picks in the right range. The Dogs, I think, are going to try and bring in somebody established. It'd be a huge bonus for them if they could trade out picks and still draft somebody as good as Campbell.

Yeah I think it wouldn't be an overs offer for sure, but it'd still require first rounder and a player if i had to guess, so theyre still giving up something of value, but it's still a little unfair with some teams knocked out if contention purely because they don't have players that want to go up
Thanks for the response.
Another random question that I don't know if anyone has the answer for - can you trade future picks in the AFLW draft?
Or is the competition still too tumultuous to allow for that kind of future commitment?

Thanks for the response.
Another random question that I don't know if anyone has the answer for - can you trade future picks in the AFLW draft?
Or is the competition still too tumultuous to allow for that kind of future commitment?
No future pick trading as far as I'm aware, makes it a fair bit more difficult

Eastern v Sandringham

Pretty much the expected result with some surprise performers, Georgia Wilson (does a segment on the Eastern insta story every training session called "Wandering Willow", pretty funny actually) with 4 goals in her best game in NAB League, Pisano with 3 goals while playing a half of the game on the wing as well, just insane. Sherar's athleticism really impresses me, and will likely get her drafted, not many others have that type of acceleration with only 3-4 steps. Her kicking is very awkward though, left footer but seems to question what foot she kicks with everytime, so pretty slow in the actual execution of it. Livingstone as well I liked, doesn't have the greatest speed but you can't doubt how hard she works up and down the wing, kicked a pretty good goal from the boundary as well in the last.
Sandy didn't really have a lot, Emma Stuber probably their best, if she had some more penetration on her kick she'd be a really good player, I wonder if a club takes the chance given her natural ball winning ability. Staltari again exciting when she had it, Hurley around it all the time, Angelopoulos missed 4 or 5 shots on goal, so she's getting the ball even as an undersized marking target, just not converting

Falcons v Chargers was a very good watch, Lily Hart (2022 draft) has been building really well and this game was a really impressive display, with Rowbottom, Reid and to a lesser extent Ling being in and out of it she was their most consistent mid, even managed to spoil a few marking attempts from taller players which was surprising. Charlotte Taylor as well was good for them on the Wing and Erin Woodford in defense did well to negate Tierney for most of the game, there was a 5 minute period in the 4th where Tierney just got off the leash and put the nail in the coffin though. Elizabeth Dowling was superb, genuinely think she'd be an elite midfielder with the way she moves and wins the ball, Craven unsurprisingly good as well. Gabbi Featherston returned from injury and was really lively down forward, really good athleticism that saw her being the relieving ruck and winning most hitouts she was involved in

Dandenong v Bushies was about as expected, Dandenong just classier with it when they could break free and Em Shepherd decided to have a casual dominant display in her return. Dande will be at this level for a long time I imagine, so many of their best today (missing Clarke, Eardley, Jordan, Richards, Anthony) were '04ers and even an '05 debutant, what they're doing down there is unbelievable. We had Jordan in for some special comments on commentary today and she was saying that everyone learns how to play everywhere on ground which makes them super flexible obviously. Skepper and Morphett two standouts for Bushies with a lot of even contribution after that

Pioneers have last a second consecutive game by 1 point which is heart breaking for them, but on the brightside (if you aren't a devout Pios fan) Power have gotten their first win after a hard season, they were just absolutely wrapped after the game and it was awesome to see. Duursma is super impressive, just knows what to do with it pretty much all the time, stressed a little in pressure situations but handled it well outside of that, huge game from Matilda Van Berkel as well. I think Pios have a good squad, but there was just that lack of polish and structure without Slender, Snelling and Finning, so they need to sort that out heading into next season.

Just thought I'd mention that Devils v Knights yesterday was a ripper of a contest - probably the best NAB League game I've seen all year. Tassie came back from a couple of goals down to win. Ball movement was really good by both teams. I thought it was the best game I'd ever seen Appleby play. She really demonstrated both running and kicking ability. Really liked Jemma Blair and Jemma Webster's games for Tassie as well. Tassie also had a really impressive 15-year old debutant in Tunisha Kikoak, a tall forward who moves very well. Worth keeping an eye out for her in the future.

For me, Tassie turning into a really good team is the most pleasant surprise of this season. I'll be really curious to see if more than just Perri King can get picked up this year. Ella Maurer has been a pretty consistent performer for them. Looking forward to seeing how the Eastern Allies do at the Champs.

A couple of weeks off coming up (from the girls side of things at least) with the Champs coming up, SA beating WA by a kick today and Metro v Country coming on Friday which should be a really good watch. Coming into it without seeing the squad, I'm gonna back in Metro over Country, just, given the depth of their midfield and the quality of their forward line, especially with Prespakis and Rowbottom both able to rest down there to really good effect. I'll do some sort of 'key math ups' piece in this thread before friday, along with hopefully something for the U17s clash as well

Just thought I'd mention that Devils v Knights yesterday was a ripper of a contest - probably the best NAB League game I've seen all year. Tassie came back from a couple of goals down to win. Ball movement was really good by both teams. I thought it was the best game I'd ever seen Appleby play. She really demonstrated both running and kicking ability. Really liked Jemma Blair and Jemma Webster's games for Tassie as well. Tassie also had a really impressive 15-year old debutant in Tunisha Kikoak, a tall forward who moves very well. Worth keeping an eye out for her in the future.

For me, Tassie turning into a really good team is the most pleasant surprise of this season. I'll be really curious to see if more than just Perri King can get picked up this year. Ella Maurer has been a pretty consistent performer for them. Looking forward to seeing how the Eastern Allies do at the Champs.
I know Pie 4 Life had pretty high wraps for Tassie in the pre-season, maybe not "Making finals" good but better than most would've tipped

They're a quality side from the brief exposure I've had of them (Just the Western game) so my thoughts should be taken with a grain of salt, I'm a really big fan of Blair, Webster and Brazendale as draft age girls that I think are worth a shot on a list, but I doubt North pick all up, given all tassie girls have to move interstate regardless I wonder if some just nominate nationally to give themselves the best chance possible

Now the bottom half of the ladder is decided anyone got a prediction on the top 8 picks this year?
1. Gold Coast - Teagan Levi
2. Geelong - Georgie Prespakis (Tara Slender if they keep going Country girls though)
3. West Coast - Courtney Rowley
4. St Kilda - Tara Slender
5. Richmond - Charlie Rowbottom
6. GWS - Ally Morphett
7. Western Bulldogs - Emelia Yassir
8. Carlton - Stella Reid

If I had to guess at this stage, the interstate club picks are essentially locked in, not a massive amount of options between them except for West Coast who could go Franklin (doubtful)

Prespakis, Slender and Rowbottom could go in any order but will almost certainly be the top 3 from Vic unless something drastically changes

1. Gold Coast - Teagan Levi
2. Geelong - Georgie Prespakis (Tara Slender if they keep going Country girls though)
3. West Coast - Courtney Rowley
4. St Kilda - Tara Slender
5. Richmond - Charlie Rowbottom
6. GWS - Ally Morphett
7. Western Bulldogs - Emelia Yassir
8. Carlton - Stella Reid

If I had to guess at this stage, the interstate club picks are essentially locked in, not a massive amount of options between them except for West Coast who could go Franklin (doubtful)

Prespakis, Slender and Rowbottom could go in any order but will almost certainly be the top 3 from Vic unless something drastically changes

West coast lack quality talls, but are more stocked with youngish smallish mids/forwards.

Would that sway them.

Personally I haven't seen Franklin really dominate a game, so I also have my doubts, but I'm thinking a young fast tallish player with upside may be hard to go past

On moto g(6) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app

West coast lack quality talls, but are more stocked with youngish smallish mids/forwards.

Would that sway them.

Personally I haven't seen Franklin really dominate a game, so I also have my doubts, but I'm thinking a young fast tallish player with upside may be hard to go past

On moto g(6) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app
To be completely honest I haven't seen either, just from what I've heard Rowley is the safer option and I assume that's what Eagles would settle with happily (I'll be going up to Queensland to see the champs if the COVID lockdown doesnt effect it, so will know more then) but the need for a tall might out weigh the want for reliability I guess, it'll depend where they feel Freo will go with their pick as well

When are the Champs again? I have two weeks off. Not that I’m allowed to leave Brisbane, or my house really. Though we are planning to ride down to the GC next weekend.

April 12th and April 15th