List Mgmt. 2021 List Management

Both different players with different roles IMO.
Gov was recruited as a 3rd tall who is an aerial threat. Played it well at Crows with Walker and Jenkins. Was expected to do it here alongside Charlie and Harry. How many times have all 3 been on the park together? He's supposed to taking the 3rd best defender and stretching a team's defence, which will help Charlie and Harry to no get double teamed. He's not the type of player to kick 3 goals a game as 1st or 2nd fiddle with one of the best defenders on him.
SOS is more of a utility. Can float from arc to arc, play some midfield time. High pressure player. Room for both.
HF: SOS, Harry, Gov
FF: Owies, Charlie, Fisher
Then Fog as fwd/mid who can rotate with SOS.

100% agree.

Especially when back at the crows, there was also Lynch who played the role more akin to sos.

I think Teague is trying to emulate/improve on what he had at Adelaide, which also made their attack the most potent in the competition.

Cameron - Walker - Lynch
Betts - Jenkins - McGovern

Martin - McKay - sos
Betts - Curnow - McGovern
(owies)

100% agree.

Especially when back at the crows, there was also Lynch who played the role more akin to sos.

I think Teague is trying to emulate/improve on what he had at Adelaide, which also made their attack the most potent in the competition.

Cameron - Walker - Lynch
Betts - Jenkins - McGovern

Martin - McKay - sos
Betts - Curnow - McGovern
(owies)

I reckon Fish gets in before Eddie or Owies

I think the players like to see former players they can look up to who have got the job done on the big stage.. If your a player looking at our coaches -

- Teague, Very average AFL player even if he did win a BNF with us
- Stanton, I might be biased because i hate Essendon so much but he was a soft, front running ordinary footballer
- Barker - Okay player, but was too old by the time Hawthorn were any good
- Amos - Hasnt played AFL.

How good a player was Clarkson?
Also bloody hard for many to look up to him.

I agree and having a good mix would be ideal, however i think there simply must be a correlation to playing in a successful team to having coaching success.

If you look at Richmonds list,

Hardwick - Played in 2 premierships
McQualter - undecorated player, but played in a GF
Kingsley - 1 x Premiership
Xavier Clarke - Didnt play in the GF because of injury but was part of the Ross Lyon Saints
Sam Lonergan - injuries stopped him playing in the Geelong flags, but was part of the squad.
and prior to that
Justin Leppitsch - 3 x flags
Blake Carracella - Flag with both Essendon & Brisbane.

But on the other hand, how many Brisbane coaches have even played at AFL level?

What is going with sps. has he been playing reserves, I don’t seem to recall him playing in the reserves from what i have seen. I thought he would be as dropped from seniors
Samo has been named in the midfield for the VFL game on Sunday. The ball is in his court, he has the opportunity to have a huge game and prove all the coaches (and many fans like yourself!) wrong.

I've tried to do some more research into possible trade target for those out of contract this year.

KPD - McKay, Tom McCartin

KPF - Weideman, Riccardi,

Ruck - Flynn (gws), Coleman-Jones, Stanley

KPF/ruck - McLean (syd), De Koning (gee)

Wing/Mid - Kelly (gws), Green (gws), Cerra, Billings, Weller

Mid/small forward - Rohan, Bolton

I've tried to do some more research into possible trade target for those out of contract this year.

Instead of paying the reported rumour, Merrett 6 x $1m (Ridiculous)
Much rather spend the same draft capital and currency on the x 3 players below..

KPF/ KPD (Swingman) - Riccardi (GWS)
KPF/ KPD /Ruck (Swingman) - De Koning (GEE)
Mid - Green (GWS) or Cerra (FRE)

Instead of paying the reported rumour, Merrett 6 x $1m (Ridiculous)
Much rather spend the same draft capital and currency on the x 3 players below..

KPF/ KPD (Swingman) - Riccardi (GWS)
KPF/ KPD /Ruck (Swingman) - De Koning (GEE)
Mid - Green (GWS) or Cerra (FRE)

Go for Tom Green junior from GWS in the MSD. Trained with Richmond as a potential supp player.

SDK contracted end 2023.

Would love to get Ben McKay. Highly unlikely unless we give up our first or a couple of players. Clearly KPD first, but can play
forward and ruck chop out too. If we can’t get a ready to go long term prospect, surely we make do with Oscar McDonald and hopefully Caleb Marchbank and draft a kid at he end of the season.

Looks like we have young developing ruck covered with Mirkov. A forward/ruck type is very much a need. TDK should be ready to assume the mantle next year and we are lacking that Levi replacement to step in if we suddenly find ourselves “in the window”. Harry deemed too valuable and prone to “niggles”, a fit Charlie would have been willing, but know way we expose him to knee collision, McGovern has the game, but not the durability, Kemp not in consideration after knee, JSOS doesn’t have the standing leap. Best current chop out option would be Cripps, but his body cops enough already. I rate Pitto, but is a solid performer, and we can balance better with a more versatile option.

Coleman-Jones is an ideal type for a 50/50 ruck/forward role, but still has to get past Nankervis and Soldo, while they have projects in Colina and Samson Ryan with Mabior Chol pushing to improve on his 21 games. Not sure about CCJ’s indiscretion in Briscoe, thought he was leader material as an underage. Thinking CCJ going to have plenty of suitors at season’s end.

A player not mentioned in despatches out of contract is Darcy Cameron. Currently chosen before Cox as primarily forward and Grundy chop out. Getting better with age after being a draft “favourite” for years before rookied by Swans. Has improved his tank and mobility to almost look genuine KPF. Will Kelly and Liam McMahon are rated highly internally at the Maggie’s and they still have Max Lynch pushing for games in the ruck. They are also linked with Sam Weideman with family ties to the club, with Mihocek the key forward staple. Their crazy recruiters may not value him highly enough to pay him decent $’s. I see him as a classic moneyball type.

I see Merrett and Cam Guthrie as the only free agents worth significant money, and would support a measured bid. The Geelong board reckon Guthrie signing is dependent on retention of his younger brother though so may come with a proviso for two list spots. I watched Guthrie closely last week and he is a brilliant two way runner and would replace and upgrade Ed C. Won Cats B&F last year and easy to see why. Cerra is under rated by so many on here. Has been nurtured beautifully by Freo. Fyfe, Mundy, Bradshaw and Serong getting plenty of midfield minutes. Cerra is prolific when played in the guts and has elite disposal. Happy to overpay a little for him (wanted him ahead of Dow and still do). Will conservatively be a top 50 player for the next decade. Midfielder first, but can also be effective at either end of the ground.

I still reckon the draft is our friend, but can see our mob chasing names to appease power brokers and impatient fans.

Let's put off hanging it on the hawks until after we beat them eh? They have a sequioa like amount of wood on us. More than happy to go in hard once we deliver!
points for the crack at "sequoia".......

I don’t think it will be enough, Charlie Curnow going off media reports at the time is on that, Zac Williams is supposedly on that or very close and we are supposedly offering Cerra $700-$750,000.

It would be great for us to get him at that, but I can imagine a club or two offering quite a bit more and we will have to at least get close.
Other clubs are going to offer heaps more , apparently * are offering over a million but if he wants to keep the band together so to speak he will take 800k to stay . Hopefully anyway .

If we can get cerra we should take and make sure get it done .. his age is correct he about to go up would not be surprised if he isn't banging close to 30 a game regularly by years end -- cripps Walsh cerra setterfield will set out midfield up for a longtime -- dow SPS are might come good - we still have Phelp stocker kemp Ramsay Phillips untried while hanging onto Cunningham so better to take cerra and clean out that middle rung of dow O'Brien SPS and if they come good at another club all the best to them ..

If Williams predominately remains at HB, are people content with the salary he is reportedly on?

If he replicates his game yesterday more often than not, I don't think I would mind. He and Saad are serious quality rebounding players working in tandem. I think he'll prove his value in finals as well.

I still think he can play his best footy in the midfield, but perhaps a year at HB to gel with the team and another pre season training mid, with stints this year, is the likely progress toward this.

List Mgmt. 2021 List Management