List Mgmt. 2021 List Management

Only 13 were taken in 2019. If you don't actively need help at a position, or view someone as a longer term prospect (ala Mirkov), there's not really much point in taking someone for the sake of it.

The only rider on this is the COVID wasted year for some draftees that may not have got their chance to fully show their wares (or injured).

List reductions last season may have reduced draft numbers & then the talk of them going up next season could give a further buffering to the MSD picks (while evaluating those currently on the list though not likely to be continuing).

All that aside, sounds like there’s going to be limited picks.

COVID B/S may also put some clubs off adding to their lists.

pretty sure he has half of weiterings b and f medal from last season. jones is great and many media think we have one of the best back duos

Jones is really good most of the time, it's just when he makes some errors they're really bad ones that often cost goals.

A player you just gotta take the good with the bad I think cause he goes for his kicks and some of them are bullets into the corridor that set up a good attack but there are times he completely shanks it and it costs us a goal.

Also he's a good intercept marker and spoiler and it often works, but when it doesn't his opponent is 20m clear out the back and they get an easy goal.

I don't see why he doesn't position himself back shoulder like Weitering does though...it just seems a better way to go. I'm assuming he's instructed to position himself more aggressively so he can run off his man and impact other aerial contests...but it's very risky when he plays on one of the oppositions best key forwards every week.

screw Mitchell who spurned us twice:

There's an old saying in Tennessee—I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee—that says, 'Fool me once, shame on... shame on you. Fool me—you can't get fooled again.

keep the draft pick for a talented damaging player who hurts the opposition.

There's no way we'd cough up for Mitchell...we already have a lot of slowish inside mids on our list.

Confident the MC and list team know that, hence they brought in some speed with Williams & Saad in the off season.

screw Mitchell who spurned us twice:

There's an old saying in Tennessee—I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee—that says, 'Fool me once, shame on... shame on you. Fool me—you can't get fooled again.

keep the draft pick for a talented damaging player who hurts the opposition.
poty

There's no way we'd cough up for Mitchell...we already have a lot of slowish inside mids on our list.

Confident the MC and list team know that, hence they brought in some speed with Williams & Saad in the off season.
Even if we went after Mitchell obviously the earliest he plays is next year , if you watched any of the reserves game on the weekend you would have seen number 17 , Kemp has absolutely got what it takes to be a genuine star and by next year will be pushing for a midfield spot . And he is going to absolutely smash it . 😍

Been looking to do some research into OOC mids this season. Apart from the obvious Kelly/Merrett/Cerra, who else is available?

Edit: I've got Tom Green, Billings and Weller as well. Are there any others?
Kane Farrel, Lipinski, Baker. Weller would be a great get but very doubtful he'd be looking at moving after what the suns gave up to get him

If Williams predominately remains at HB, are people content with the salary he is reportedly on?

If he replicates his game yesterday more often than not, I don't think I would mind. He and Saad are serious quality rebounding players working in tandem. I think he'll prove his value in finals as well.

I still think he can play his best footy in the midfield, but perhaps a year at HB to gel with the team and another pre season training mid, with stints this year, is the likely progress toward this.
If they drive a standard and are accountable like the last half and rebound like they did I am happy -- what he did Saturday probably worth more than what he can do as a mid -- if your losing clearance and contested ball up the field you need a plan B-- there our plan B rebound and link through the wings .. even if he mid break glass style I'm content

Been looking to do some research into OOC mids this season. Apart from the obvious Kelly/Merrett/Cerra, who else is available?

Edit: I've got Tom Green, Billings and Weller as well. Are there any others?

Wonder how sound a strategy going big for a mid would be...we'd have to be sure it's the right player to cough up big $$$ and a long contract.

We've invested heavily in young mids and would have hoped one or a few took the jump this year but unfortunately that hasn't really happened.

I'm looking at guys like Setterfield, Dow, LOB, SPS...a lot of talent and high draft picks there. Cunners but he got injured. Fisher & Martin returning who could play at least some minutes in the middle. Then there's Kemp, Philp, Ramsay, Carroll etc...

That's a lot of young mids on our list, our development team and coaches need to do their job and develop these guys.

I still think SPS could be a gun mid and if there's a spot I'd love for him to get an extended run.

Wonder how sound a strategy going big for a mid would be...we'd have to be sure it's the right player to cough up big $$$ and a long contract.

We've invested heavily in young mids and would have hoped one or a few took the jump this year but unfortunately that hasn't really happened.

I'm looking at guys like Setterfield, Dow, LOB, SPS...a lot of talent and high draft picks there. Cunners but he got injured. Fisher & Martin returning who could play at least some minutes in the middle. Then there's Kemp, Philp, Ramsay, Carroll etc...

That's a lot of young mids on our list, our development team and coaches need to do their job and develop these guys.

I still think SPS could be a gun mid and if there's a spot I'd love for him to get an extended run.

Not to nitpick because i agree with everything here, but you missed stocker

This groups looks great on paper but the reality is that maybe SPS only if he is motivated would make it, the others are plodders Setterfield, Dow, LOB, are young and high draft picks certainly, but after 4 years haven’t shown much AFL level constancy.
A decision will have to be made end year we can’t carry so many no contributors.
Out of this group Kemp, Philp, Ramsay, Carroll , maybe Kemp & Ramsay could be part time midfielders, jury still out on others, still young so long way to go, we may get lucky.
Potential in a youngster is apparent very early especially, footy IQ , kicking skills , character & determination. Keep our fingers crossed.

This groups looks great on paper but the reality is that maybe SPS only if he is motivated would make it, the others are plodders Setterfield, Dow, LOB, are young and high draft picks certainly, but after 4 years haven’t shown much AFL level constancy.
A decision will have to be made end year we can’t carry so many no contributors.
Out of this group Kemp, Philp, Ramsay, Carroll , maybe Kemp & Ramsay could be part time midfielders, jury still out on others, still young so long way to go, we may get lucky.
Potential in a youngster is apparent very early especially, footy IQ , kicking skills , character & determination. Keep our fingers crossed.

The only thing I would like to add is that wingmen seem to take longer to develop than other mids - which is why I think LOB may eventually make it. He has the gut running and he has sublime foot skills but his limitation may just be in the head and as he gets used to kicking under pressure he will show off his kicking skills. I would give him a bit longer than say Dow or SPS.

LOB doesn't appear to have a kicking under pressure issue. In the VFL game on the weekend, he was under pressure on the boundary line, took one quick look, dropped the ball on his foot, kicking across his body, and hit his team mate on the chest laces out. His issue is that when he is motoring along the wing, no one is coming towards him or making space for him to dish off to, so he goes that bit extra and gets caught out.

As for Dow and SPS, they were both recruited to the club as mids/HFF's, the club has never used them right. Maybe when Ed and Murphy retire... we can see them move into their preferred positions. Dow in the couple of games where we saw him in the middle looked a class above. The game where Pittonet cleaned up Dow, Dow was flying. And then when we subbed him for SPS, SPS came out firing in the middle.

LOB doesn't appear to have a kicking under pressure issue. In the VFL game on the weekend, he was under pressure on the boundary line, took one quick look, dropped the ball on his foot, kicking across his body, and hit his team mate on the chest laces out. His issue is that when he is motoring along the wing, no one is coming towards him or making space for him to dish off to, so he goes that bit extra and gets caught out.

As for Dow and SPS, they were both recruited to the club as mids/HFF's, the club has never used them right. Maybe when Ed and Murphy retire... we can see them move into their preferred positions. Dow in the couple of games where we saw him in the middle looked a class above. The game where Pittonet cleaned up Dow, Dow was flying. And then when we subbed him for SPS, SPS came out firing in the middle.
I agree with everything you have written. I strongly believe (still) that Dow has it and will make it as a quality midfielder for us.

The only rider on this is the COVID wasted year for some draftees that may not have got their chance to fully show their wares (or injured).

List reductions last season may have reduced draft numbers & then the talk of them going up next season could give a further buffering to the MSD picks (while evaluating those currently on the list though not likely to be continuing).

All that aside, sounds like there’s going to be limited picks.
How many picks are we having?

I just seen three I read on a mock draft.
Have no idea if this writer has any more idea than some random person on street but they have 3 picks in this mock draft listed for us.
I count Sam Philp, Marchbank and Cuningham as outs for our season so it not impossible we could have this many picks.

Pick 7 Carlton – Zavier Maher
The 2020 draft slider landed in Carlton’s newly minted VFL squad and has played himself into being picked with a winning performance for Murray Bushrangers against Nick Daicos’ Chargers.

Pick 22 Carlton – Toby Wooller
The former Lions NEAFL captain was starring for Carlton’s VFL side when a back injury disrupted his season, having booted seven goals in three games and taking 26 marks. He fulfils the list needs at the Blues and has shown he is at home at Princes Park.

Pick 27 Carlton – Eli Templeton
The former Saint has been one of the revelations of the 2021 VFL season, leading Port Melbourne in disposals and marks to be among the best in the competition.

Some ex-listed players I noted in the player pool for Wednesday night:
Jordan Galluci
Jesse Glass-McCasker
Dan Gorringe
Billy Gowers
Pat Kerr
Kym LeBois
Harrison Macreadie
Fraser Phillips
Cam Polson
Ben Silvagni

I think there is some restrictions for an AFL club if you de-listed a player in previous off season. I think some of them you barred from re-drafting straight up.

Others that had some association either via training or VFL team are Ben Crocker, Cody Hirst, Alex Mirkov and possible the Samuel Fisher I saw listed, also played in our Northern Blues team 2 or 3 years ago. Not sure if it the same Fisher I thinking of.
There bound to be others like some on our VFL reserves team this year like Wooler and North.

How many picks are we having?

I just seen three I read on a mock draft.
Have no idea if this writer has any more idea than some random person on street but they have 3 picks in this mock draft listed for us.
I count Sam Philp, Marchbank and Cuningham as outs for our season so it not impossible we could have this many picks.

Pick 7 Carlton – Zavier Maher
The 2020 draft slider landed in Carlton’s newly minted VFL squad and has played himself into being picked with a winning performance for Murray Bushrangers against Nick Daicos’ Chargers.

Pick 22 Carlton – Toby Wooller
The former Lions NEAFL captain was starring for Carlton’s VFL side when a back injury disrupted his season, having booted seven goals in three games and taking 26 marks. He fulfils the list needs at the Blues and has shown he is at home at Princes Park.

Pick 27 Carlton – Eli Templeton
The former Saint has been one of the revelations of the 2021 VFL season, leading Port Melbourne in disposals and marks to be among the best in the competition.

At this stage we only have 2 but have until Tuesday to confirm the Inactive spots, which Philp could be the 3rd contender.

Salary Cap would need to also be taken into consideration you’d think.

Pat Kerr, couldve been a handy third tall at a percentage of the price as Mcgovern.
I saw the game where he kicked one on the boundary line, I think he got a couple of snags in that game. Couldnt understand him getting shuffled out the door so quickly.
Even Watson, at least he could stay on the park. Perhaps lower ceilings than Mcgovern but he is just never right to go.

Before anyone rushes on guys like setterfield, Dow, SPS and a few others take a look at Salem at Melbourne. For a pick 9 it's fair to say his first 8 years weren't great especially when you consider what they traded (Josh Kelly pick). Compare the pair now. Same age. Kelly on huge money just going. Salem in AA for in the first quarter of the season.

The guys that we can put lines through are guys like casboult who wouldn't be on any other list. Should have moved him on when he couldn't sort that kicking out.

The other big fu** up was going into the year with 2 ruckman with less than 50 games between them. Seriously?
We are performing roughly according to his we should be IMO.
Did anyone really expect us to jump to top 4? Not many if any.
Top 8 yes.

Atm we are 1 game outside the 8 in a very even competition.
Our losses, which haven't been floggings, have been at the hands of the most consistent teams of the past few years- port the 2020 minor premiers, Richmond the reigning premiers, and the 3 form sides atm - dogs,dees,Lions.
So Collingwood are the only outlier defeat.

We have some key players out and a very young ruck division.

We have AA'S on every line
Wals, Cripps, weitering, Harry.

I would say that we are doing the expected.
Today's match against swans us a big test.

Sent from my Mi 9T using Tapatalk

List Mgmt. 2021 List Management