List Mgmt. 2021 List Management

I can't understand why our mob could not see this predicament appearing. It could have been considered to approach Ben's management in an effort to entice him to play with his twin brother at Carlton, rather than visa versa.. Too late now. The horse has bolted.:rolleyes:

Remember reading on here, Big H's brother has no interest in playing with him, don't know if there's any truth to that and I'd say we would have tried, like other clubs to bring over Ben.

I'm not at all worried at prospect of North somehow enticing Harry to leave Carlton and come play with them, pretty ridiculous.

He's going to leave us to go rot at the bottom of the ladder for 3-4 years bare minimum, so 27-28? Just for potentially more $$$$.

(Our ladder position isn't too spectacular either I know, but you'd assume there will be a noticeable improvement this year/next in lieu of our current position)

Of course North etc are going to try, they'd be remiss not to.

Imo Big H will sign for 2 years for 800,000+ with incentives and when free agency comes, he'll sign for 5 with the big bucks.

I'm more worried about the coaching panel next year and the development of our players.

Remember reading on here, Big H's brother has no interest in playing with him, don't know if there's any truth to that and I'd say we would have tried, like other clubs to bring over Ben.

I'm not at all worried at prospect of North somehow enticing Harry to leave Carlton and come play with them, pretty ridiculous.

He's going to leave us to go rot at the bottom of the ladder for 3-4 years bare minimum, so 27-28? Just for potentially more $$$$.

(Our ladder position isn't too spectacular either I know, but you'd assume there will be a noticeable improvement this year/next in lieu of our current position)

Of course North etc are going to try, they'd be remiss not to.

Imo Big H will sign for 2 years for 800,000+ with incentives and when free agency comes, he'll sign for 5 with the big bucks.

I'm more worried about the coaching panel next year and the development of our players.

If I was him I’d be in the anywhere but Norf market.

Though if North has a clue they’ll offer him a Buddy like deal, unlike free agency they can’t be held to it. North would be worst outcome for us as they can threaten to walk him to the PSD.

He can look forward to moving to Tassie in few years if he takes up that offer!

Why do you think he would want to play with his twin brother?
They’re twins. They finish each other’s sentences. They have a divine bond that goes beyond any earthly understanding.
Of course they’ll want to play together. And I expect Norf is a more enjoyable workplace right now that Princes Park. And I reckon there is a debate about who would achieve success first…it is not a fact that Carlton represents a better place to be

They’re twins. They finish each other’s sentences. They have a divine bond that goes beyond any earthly understanding.
Of course they’ll want to play together. And I expect Norf is a more enjoyable workplace right now that Princes Park. And I reckon there is a debate about who would achieve success first…it is not a fact that Carlton represents a better place to be
They have said before they don't want to play together....why would that have changed?

On CPH1877 using BigFooty.com mobile app

If Charlie ever plays again he will be a shadow of his former self. Hope I am wrong, but the type of injury he has will be difficult to overcome.
Cunningham has been around for a while and been unable to cement a spot and too inconsistent.
McGovern has to reinvent himself as a defender or be moved on, even if we pay his salary. No impact on a game or in the forward line. No problem at all scoring since he has been out.

Martin has been outdone by Owies who is pocket terrier. Eddie teaching him how to move up the ground. Once he develops an engine, he could become a huge X factor. Martin has been underwhelming since joining and frankly would struggle to make the best 22 we have, as would McGovern.
Not a fan of Williams, as he is plays unaccountable footy and will not take one for the team. Opposition teams would be zeroing in on him and Saad, and how they leave the defence exposed.

We desperately need to grab Mitchell from Hawthorn. He is the final piece in the midfield puzzle.
The classic "hope I am wrong" get out clause. Say whatever garbage you like but then add "hope I am wrong". If you hope you're wrong, why say anything? You have zero knowledge of Charlie, his complex injury or his chances of getting back to pre-injury levels.

Talking about brothers..

Carlton should look at offering Geelong our 2021 first round pick (likely top 6) for Sam De Koning..

Think this kid will be a star can play KPD, KPF and Ruck..
May even play next few week, if/when Henderson gets suspended FFS MRP

Talking about brothers..

Carlton should be offering Geelong our 2021 first round pick (likely top 6) for Sam De Koning..

Think this kid will be a star can play KPD, KPF and Ruck..
May even play next few week, if/when Henderson gets suspended

When the Cats just drafted him? :think:

Is he really that good though? Lot of people (not directed at you specifically) seem to think the sibling is just as good as the first.

Could be similar to the Big H + Ben situation where they don't have an interest in playing together.

North with Harry are far from the basket case many are making out, add in the #1 pick and they all of a sudden become an exciting prospect… At least enough that a kid like Harry would seriously consider a n offer that was considerably more than we would be prepared to offer.

I also believe that we shouldn’t be paying Harry much more than $800k, at least without seeing how our fwd 50 functions with both Harry & Charlie.

North with Harry are far from the basket case many are making out, add in the #1 pick and they all of a sudden become an exciting prospect…

They’ve won one game and have a percentage of 57.

Harry and the #1 pick are nice pieces but neither are Jesus. They need a lot more than that.

Wouldn't we be looking for said #1 pick if harry wanted to leave at a minimum (n.b. hypothetical only as harry won't be going anywhere)?

Of course, but apparently because he has no contract we have no say and will have to accept North’s future picks and scraps.

Seriously the excuses by the same few on here regarding why LOB, SPS, Dow etc are not getting a game is laughable. The club aren't developing them, they are being playing out of position etc are just poor excuses. Maybe these players should look at their deficiencies and what the club are telling them to work on and work harder no matter if it's in the VFL or a position they don't like and force the club to pick them in the seniors. If they don't then its their own fault not the clubs that they stay in the VFL or end up getting moved on at seasons end.
Do you think its the players or the coaching thats bought the review on?

If Talia come back well in the back half of season do we make a play for him as an UFA -- at 29-30 he still has some football left and would be better anchor than Jones maybe Jones can play third tall or VFL ..

I’m very worried by North. He has a completely unimpeded path to play with his twin brother. He is at the start of his career so can build with the young players they are drafting and be part of their next tilt.
If they offer him a tonne of money, I’d think it would be hard to stop him going

I can inform folks that North have offered Harry a place at Arden Street & essedon have made a bigger financial offer than North.

I still reckon he's a 1000-1 shot to end up anywhere else, because I could see the Blues matching whatever he was offered if it came down to a strict financial issue. The blues just can't afford to let a player like him slip away.

The only reason he would leave is if he absolutely does not any longer want to be at Carlton, and there has been no evidence to support that whatsoever.

He's staying.

Identical approach we applied to try and snare Brodie Grundy, its a common tactic in footy. Opposition teams are forced to pony up larger remuneration & perks to retain their gun players.

Highly doubt Harry would go down the PSD road, seems to have integrity..
Id like to think, if he did want to leave, he would want us to get adequate compensation, like Judd did with West Coast
Didn't do Judd's chances of winning a premiership any good - losing Kennedy and draft
Capital was costly for the list for where it was at ( sliding doors I suppose with Steven's neck and bombing a pick on McLean and and and 🥴) -- but don't begrudge watching Judd running around in blue.

North with Harry are far from the basket case many are making out, add in the #1 pick and they all of a sudden become an exciting prospect… At least enough that a kid like Harry would seriously consider a n offer that was considerably more than we would be prepared to offer.

I also believe that we shouldn’t be paying Harry much more than $800k, at least without seeing how our fwd 50 functions with both Harry & Charlie.
Don’t you mean pick 3, pies and dogs are going to get pick 1 & 2

Highly doubt Harry would go down the PSD road, seems to have integrity..
Id like to think, if he did want to leave, he would want us to get adequate compensation, like Judd did with West Coast

"We'll walk XXXX to the PSD draft" is THE single biggest moronic claim on the D&T board, but it does have "leverage" in actual trade negotiations. It can force an originating clubs hand.

There's 4 hypothetical scenarios here, and 2 opposition clubs in the market.

1) He re-signs with Carlton for a good contract. IMO, this is 99.999% what will happen.
2) Harry asks for a trade to essedon because they offer a very big contract. Carlton will match.
3) Harry still insists on joining them. Carlton asks for Zac Merrett, 1st & 2nd round draft picks and Dick Reynolds 3 Brownlow Medals. In other words they can demand what would not be paid.
4) Harry insists on joining North who have finished last (play with brother, or whatever). This is the worst scenario for the blues, because the reality of the PSD. If North offered a "reasonable" trade (example: 2022 1st round and 2021 2nd round), then do Carlton play Russian Roulette with the PSD? Common sense tells me they wouldn't.

Again, it's all just mental gymnastics, as unless things completely break down between Harry & Carlton, then he's not going anywhere.

IMO, the real danger for the Blues is if he signs on for only a couple of years, and they're still stuttering the next time negotiations come along.

"We'll walk XXXX to the PSD draft" is THE single biggest moronic claim on the D&T board, but it does have "leverage" in actual trade negotiations. It can force an originating clubs hand.

There's 4 hypothetical scenarios here, and 2 opposition clubs in the market.

1) He re-signs with Carlton for a good contract. IMO, this is 99.999% what will happen.
2) Harry asks for a trade to essedon because they offer a very big contract. Carlton will match.
3) Harry still insists on joining them. Carlton asks for Zac Merrett, 1st & 2nd round draft picks and Dick Reynolds 3 Brownlow Medals. In other words they can demand what would not be paid.
4) Harry insists on joining North who have finished last (play with brother, or whatever). This is the worst scenario for the blues, because the reality of the PSD. If North offered a "reasonable" trade (example: 2022 1st round and 2021 2nd round), then do Carlton play Russian Roulette with the PSD? Common sense tells me they wouldn't.

Again, it's all just mental gymnastics, as unless things completely break down between Harry & Carlton, then he's not going anywhere.

IMO, the real danger for the Blues is if he signs on for only a couple of years, and they're still stuttering the next time negotiations come along.

Carlton did it with Martin

I have no idea why it's not used more

List Mgmt. 2021 List Management