List Mgmt. 2021 List Management

If Brander, Cerra & Hewett do eventuate, It's hard to pick a team some good depth...

FB: Plowman ... Weitering ... Jones
HB: Williams... Brander... Saad
7th: Newman
Docherty - Not included due to illness

C: Walsh ... Cripps ... Cerra
Fol: Pittonet ... Stocker ... Hewett
7th: Dow
8th: Kennedy

HF: Martin ... Silvagni ... Fisher
FF: Durdin ... Mckay ... C. Curnow
7th: De Koning

Unlucky: E.Curnow, Kemp, McGovern, Owies,
I can’t see Kemp missing a game
He’s so versatile & we would want to get games into him

I don't believe we need another ruck.

All this Ladhams waffle is boring and people need to stop with the sheep mentality of spruiking a name purely because they've read it somewhere in the thread.

TDK and Pitto are ok (TDK is better than OK) and I've got belief that Mirkov will be a gun.

Suggest to draft another prospect if you think we're that desperate but don't bandwagon for peripheral potatoes to sound fashionably knowledgeable.

Thanks. I had to get that off my chest. I'll go now.

If Brander, Cerra & Hewett do eventuate, It's hard to pick a team some good depth...

FB: Plowman ... Weitering ... Jones
HB: Williams... Brander... Saad
7th: Newman
Docherty - Not included due to illness

C: Walsh ... Cripps ... Cerra
Fol: Pittonet ... Stocker ... Hewett
7th: Dow
8th: Kennedy

HF: Martin ... Silvagni ... Fisher
FF: Durdin ... Mckay ... C. Curnow
7th: De Koning

Unlucky: E.Curnow, Kemp, McGovern, Owies,
Brander aint best 22 mate.

Fisher has a few tricks, but is a very limited footballer due to him weighing 70 kilos, not big enough to play midfield, not fast enough to play pressure forward.

Cerra and a 3rd for Fisher and 6 is fair.
I 100% agree with your assessment of Fisher... I’ve said a few times I think Fisher isn’t going to make it.
Some on this board seem to think he’s a potential gun - which they are entitled to - but I’d be cashing him in now because I think it’s more likely his value drops further next year.

Forward pocket won’t need to kick very far more importantly Voss would love how he tackles , could reinvigorate him
I just don’t think he’s going to impact the scoreboard enough to make that small pressure forward role work.
My assessment of him is he is a midfielder, I’m just not sure he is AFL level.
Suffice to say he needs a big year in 2022 otherwise he’ll be close to the scrap heap.

Fog just got continuity this year been out for two years. I like him - I like the pitbull hard chasing and hard tackling types like Ed Curnow.

My point was aside from Josh Kennedy (who we reluctantly traded to get Chris Judd) nobody that we have let go has significantly improved after leaving Carlton in the way Jarrad Lyons and Ben Keays, for example, improved after changing clubs....yes there are other examples indeed Liam Jones improved after coming to Carlton and Nick Hind (although I’m not convinced it’s sustainable in his case).
Shaun grigg

I don't understand the hate for Fisher

He didn't have a good year, and has regressed instead of progress - but, he has just had a bad year
The whole team had a bad year, apart from Walsh and Weitering - so, I'm willing to cut Fisher some slack

He's the type of player who would excel in a stronger team
Let's see what he can do under Voss and then we can reassess.

It is relevant if pick 6 will deliver a top player or if Petrucelle is not a true gut running wingman and is another unplayable, soft outside type who takes 6 seasons to play 50 games. I am over recruiting names, I want strategy behind all this. Also, are the same people who criticised Sumner, Gartlett, Pickett now supporting Petrucelle?---I am not against these players as long as the Club are thinking through the reasons for recruitment. eg if Petrucelle is a gut running wingman it is a tick but if he is just another high half forward-well then martin, Honey, JSOS play that role in various forms.
Notwithstanding all the talk about Petrucelle being the making of a fictitious tweet from Ralph, I’d actually prefer keeping Newnes as a wingman or giving chances to Philp, Ramsay and Carroll to play on the wing ahead of any thought of getting Petrucelle to play on a wing.
I think people have forgotten that the wing is a really important position where you need players with footy smarts (to know when to get back, go forward or hold your position) so putting blokes on the wing just because they are fast (eg Petrucelle, Hartung) or trying to find a spot for an extra mid who’s not used to playing there (eg Setterfield, Kennedy) is a really risky move because if they get their positioning wrong then the potential exposure and damage is massive.

Fogs got tenacity his as hard as a cats head
We can improve his skills but you can’t teach hardness which he has in spades .
We need these types going forward as role players

But where, this is my issue with Fog. The pre Blues highlights reel seemed to be as a hard tackling HFF but he's a chip-kick and not a good shot for goal. Do we need to sacrifice our HFF for these types or actually play someone who can hit the scoreboard?

I fear we have Fog / Gibbons / Owies playing for 1 spot. With Eddie gone Honey will play the whole season and hopefully penetrate; add 2-3 talls and then we have JSOS and Martin as marking HFFs.... I can't see another spot for him.

Brander 196cm and 82kgs, a decent size for a key position defender, might just need to put on a bit of muscle.
To give a comparison, Steven May is 193cm but 100kgs.
Lever 195cm and 85kgs.
The big thing that seperates the really good defenders and players in general is great one on one body work, out working/spoiling, out marking your opponent altogether or halving the contest is a essential trait for a good defender to have…
Atm Brander hasn’t shown he is strong enough or capable enough on the top KPF’s in the contested one on one department as a defender, whether that can or will improve with adding more strength & size along with more development/experience is still a little unknown…

I don't understand the hate for Fisher

He didn't have a good year, and has regressed instead of progress - but, he has just had a bad year
The whole team had a bad year, apart from Walsh and Weitering - so, I'm willing to cut Fisher some slack

He's the type of player who would excel in a stronger team
Let's see what he can do under Voss and then we can reassess.
5 years in the system and hasn’t really done much
- one top 10 B&F finish
- can’t think of a game where he would have ever been in the conversation for best on ground honours (maybe vs Bulldogs in 2019?)
- less than 1/4 career games of more than 20 disposals in a game
He’s just too light and lacking stamina to succeed in the midfield and not consistent with his pressure, positioning or goal kicking to succeed in the small forward role (also I’d imagine he’s never played in the backline before so that’s not an option)....so I really don’t know what role he will succeed in.
I really want to be proven wrong so it’s not hate just my opinion formed on evidence over a period of time.

List Mgmt. 2021 List Management