Coach 2022 Coaching

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

So 5 forwards and our second best forward back. It would be unbelievably negative to start with 7 backs. I’m pretty certain membery went back for about 5 minutes. That’s perfect to me
Got us back in the game when we were six goals down.

Yeah but they are still our best players. Apart from king what gun kids do we have coming through. Coff and Clarke will be good but don’t look think being absolute guns.
If Coff, Clark, King, Bytel, Pato, Gresh amd Snags can hit %90 of their potential then we'll have a very good team.
I also think we'll need last year's dreftees pushing a few out.
People are always looking for the quick fix but we should already have enough talent so we've just got to grind it out now.

Was he not roughly in the region of a 7th defender in the 15 minutes we went from 35 down to arguably should have been infront at the end of the third?

Plenty of premiership sides use this model. We can’t improve our midfield. This is the next best option.
I reckon it was closer to 5 minutes than 15. Had 3 possessions that quarter kicked a goal. One possession back one forward and one on the wing. And yes he was the 7th defender after we were getting smashed. I’m pretty sure most sides these days usually don’t play spares unless getting dominated against and the reason for that is they now have 2 extra onballers. One defensive one attacking

Melbourne set up with 7 defenders.

We can’t fix our midfield overnight. We can fix other facets of our game.

You count 3 touches. Go rewatch the game and commentators comment about how Membrey being in the hole is making collingwood play stagnant. Trying to go around him etc.

It got us back in the game and he is the best mark in the side and we are arguably the worst intercept marking side under highballs.

You count 3 touches. Go rewatch the game and commentators comment about how Membrey being in the hole is making collingwood play stagnant. Trying to go around him etc.

It got us back in the game and he is the best mark in the side and we are arguably the worst intercept marking side under highballs.
Yep he kicked 3 goals and 2 behinds. Had the equal most shots at goal and as you say which not so sure got us back in the game yet you want to move him to a different role. It makes no sense. Melbourne certainly do not use 7 defenders. No club does now with the 2 extra mids. They certainly do at times. By the way we do have an opposition. They will not let him be a spare if he playing well

We are a side that wants to run our smalls back to goal into space. Surely this helps!?!

If you think rats is the problem you overrate our list. That’s where I’m confused because you say and recruiting is crap. If it’s both the list and the coach I’m shocked we can score. Did you actually notice who was out of the side Friday. Nearly starting mids. Did actually see the best players from all winning side. Mainly mids. The loss had zero to do with rats. As for one great recruiter I’d say every club has many recruiters. Our problem may not be the head man. It could easily be the spotters.

Except for our guy in SA - he seems to be doing a sterling job 😊

It's a really interesting discussion in here at the moment. The reality is our midfield doesn't bat deep. So when you're missing Jones, Clark, Bytel, Hannebery and Billings (who can play outside mid/HF) it will make it very hard to win. Especially when the guys that come in and fill those roles (Byrnes, Owens, Kent) play so poorly.

The challenge facing the coaches over the next few weeks is how they can re-jig the midfield to make it more competitive. Bytel back will help a bit but not a lot, Ryder will help, but they're probably going to have to shift the magnets a bit. Sincs the obvious one.
We need to have a coach smart to realise that what this team needs is a game plan that it's players are actually able to follow, and build on success from that. Stop trying to execute something that has a very low probability of success.
What the team needs is a game plan that focuses on a slow and bruise free midfield, dull witted, ageing and ordinarily gifted players.

I still don’t agree it’s our first option. Our problem is slow mids means slow ball movement so every forward is covered. When do occasionally get a quick clearance we miss moving forward targets because of skill or lack there of.

So maybe Sincs needs to stay in there till at least Zak gets back, because he certainly helped things turn around when he was put there.
At least Ratts did change some stuff up.

I’m starting to worry that David king is right. Got no kids developing and the cliff might be coming
I think we've probably got the most exciting group of kids developing atm than we've had in 15-20 years. Coff, Clark, Higgins, Paton, Bytel, King, NWM, Windhager, Owens, Heath all have potential to be good / very good players. Whether they will or not is another story, but all have special attributes without flaws that prevent them being a very good player.

I have some sort of not well formed theory on this, but essentially things like if your slow and can't kick, you'll never be a very good player even if you can get it heaps. If your slow, but can kick and get it you can still be a very good player

Too me. Smart coaching would have Membrey back and when we are well on top. Swinging back forward.

Sharman Hayes King Higgins Butler Gresham is surely enough fire power.

This makes total sense.

This is correct, if you are winning clearance and breaking lines it's easy to start pinpointing passes. If you are starting every play from a defensive position then bombing becomes more common.

The key to us not bombing the ball is to start winning the midfield battle.
There's no reason you can't break lines and create overlap run from a defensive position.

If you think rats is the problem you overrate our list. That’s where I’m confused because you say and recruiting is crap. If it’s both the list and the coach I’m shocked we can score. Did you actually notice who was out of the side Friday. Nearly starting mids. Did actually see the best players from all winning side. Mainly mids. The loss had zero to do with rats. As for one great recruiter I’d say every club has many recruiters. Our problem may not be the head man. It could easily be the spotters.

We haven't got many draftees on the list. We made him a patchwork list with older better pieces than Richo had but we haven't got a premiership list. We have a 6th to 10th type list and he's over complicating it for them.

I remember saying throwing Dunny away for free without replacement was rash because of just this reason. We have less mids than most successful sides. If Ratts was dumb enough to think that burning that bridge to rely on Bytel and Byrnes was a good idea that's on him too.

Disagree mate. Both are/were very good players. In form and fitness both make good contributions.
Dispute the negativity on here that would be universally accepted views.
It’s in the myopic supporters view that they are no good

Hanners had been broken down since 2016 and Sydney were so desperate to unload his wage on a long term contract that they gave him away for a second round pick despite being a star when he was younger. He also came with off field question marks around lifestyle choices.

Hill was not the player I would have taken. An elite wingman is a cherry on top piece, not the piece you need when you can't even win your own ball. Stuv, Armo and Ross were still our best mids at the point he came on and Steele was still a plain-Jane tagger. Stuv already struggling and Armo had the back of a 90 year old. When I look at that list I don't think the missing piece is B Hill.

We went for publicity over list management IMO. Sell the fans positivity when they had already forced Stuv to honour a contract that he didn't want and things looked dire.

Agree don’t think Owens should just get one game , give him a block of 3 to 5 games

I don't think that we can afford to lose this one. I reckon preservation will kick in and we'll play experienced players.

It would make sense to keep him in till we get a couple of Jones, Clark, Bytel back playing. I thought the kid gave it a good crack and didn't look out of place most of the time. Probably just the pace of AFL he needs to get used to.

Bytel almost certain to replace him if fit IMO.

The big worry for me is the team- not so much certain players, but the team isn't looking switched on the the first bounce, and this is getting a bit of a trademark start. It happened a lot last season and I just wonder if there's some of communication issue between Ratts and the team.

Our oldest players are 28. What cliff??

I'm more worried about the plateau, not bringing in high end kids and relying on semi developed mature talent can mean your scope for drastic improvement is a lot lower. Clubs like Carlton and Gold Coast who have stockpiled young talent have a much better chance of a really big boost in performance. If all our kids are winners we might too but we have less tickets in the lottery.

Their defenders are also wings though.

"Why not us?". Cos midfield, Ratts, midfield.

Not the best sales pitch for 2022.

At least give us something attainable.

Anyway, “why not us” was Bevo’s mantra.
Find something original.