Coach 2022 Coaching

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

How much defending does a loose man do? Which btw we throw Membrey back in the role on numerous occasions to stop run ons.

The best we have looked across 3 games now is when he is patrolling that half back line.
The still need to be capable of one-on-one defending. It's easy to run back for a few minutes late in a quarter but even starting as the loose means the opposition will be aware and try to put someone on his to prevent him intercepting.

I disagree - Membrey was forward during our dominant parts of the Collingwood game. He went back for a few minutes but it wasnt him in the backline who turned the momentum back onto our side. But he did contribute massively up forward during that period of the game.

The injuries must just kill Ratts. I mean look at Jones, since he's come to us when he has played he has looked A grade and is clearly our second best midfielder. Honestly if he played every game last year we probably make finals. But he has missed so much.

Losing Clark this year just as he's primed to go into the midfield. sh*t even Hannebery must hurt because the fact is we are better when he's out there. And Ryder obviously who makes us so much better.

I feel for him as a coach because he cops it but he's basically had to deal with a decimated lineup for the past year and a bit and constantly chopping and changing things.

Richo got sacked after injury to Armo and Stuv sitting out. He had Ross and a more shit Steele as his prime movers. A developing Gresham and Newnes and Acres on the wing. Pumped games into Clarke, Battle, Paton and Coffield.

I'm not sure Ratts has moved us forward, more sideways and his list is better in a way but we still have a lot of the same issues with mediocrity and lack of stars.

Richo got sacked after injury to Armo and Stuv sitting out. He had Ross and a more sh*t Steele as his prime movers. A developing Gresham and Newnes and Acres on the wing. Pumped games into Clarke, Battle, Paton and Coffield.

I'm not sure Ratts has moved us forward, more sideways and his list is better in a way but we still have a lot of the same issues with mediocrity and lack of stars.

Seems like it. It might be worth going through our list and noting who has actually improved or declined. I have a hunch which way it's gone...

Richo got sacked after injury to Armo and Stuv sitting out. He had Ross and a more sh*t Steele as his prime movers. A developing Gresham and Newnes and Acres on the wing. Pumped games into Clarke, Battle, Paton and Coffield.

It's hard to say that about Ratts yet because he's had one good season and one bad. We lost the first round game but that doesn't mean we're terrible just yet.

I'm not sure the lack of stars is a reflection on Ratts. It was thanks to him that we have a star at all because he decided to move Steele off the tagging role to do his own thing.

If Ratts can find a way for us to start winning games with the cattle we're missing now then I think he'll be proven. Richonhad five years and we never made finals Ratts has had two and we made finals once so I think he's been better.

I'm just making the point that with our list being what it is these injuries hurt so bad. Imagine Owens coming on along a full bunch of mids. Instead he was thrown to the lions and it didn't work.

Injuries can kill coaches and right now I fear for Ratts.

The still need to be capable of one-on-one defending. It's easy to run back for a few minutes late in a quarter but even starting as the loose means the opposition will be aware and try to put someone on his to prevent him intercepting.

I disagree - Membrey was forward during our dominant parts of the Collingwood game. He went back for a few minutes but it wasnt him in the backline who turned the momentum back onto our side. But he did contribute massively up forward during that period of the game.
Membrey helped change the momentum of the game and give us more control from the back half but I disagree with having him back there anymore than he is now. Scary to think how much worse we'd be with King the only marking target up forward.

According to many on here he was part of the problem. The real problem is thinking sacking coaches will make ordinary players good players. We have a ver ordinary list especially the midfield
I agree with you but why do coaches get paid so much. If they can’t make ordinary players good then what is their value?

According to many on here he was part of the problem. The real problem is thinking sacking coaches will make ordinary players good players. We have a ver ordinary list especially the midfield
with the lack of development across the entire team, how can that be seen as anything other than a failure of the coaching staff - ultimately Ratten is in charge.

I'm not panning the club for missing out on multiple A graders over this period, but some of these guys have seemingly peaked at age 21 or 22 and aren't developing any further than that.
Is that a result of shit development (which Richo was also accused of), or is it seriously bad luck?

I'm not at the stage where it wouldn't surprise me if Petracca would have been seen as a dud if we'd picked him. I think if we had Bontempelli and Petracca neither would have developed into the players they are today.

That's on the coach. Sure, players need to do more to get the most out of themselves, but if the head coach doesn't recognise the players that need to find the next level and help them get there - it's a problem. It's poor development by the club.

Totally disagree with starting with a lose man, especially Membrey playing lose in defence.

Richo did that shit in his dying days as coach and its an absolute momentum killer. If you start the game with the momentum but you're only playing 5 forwards then you start the game kicking to an outnumber.

By playing with an extra defender you manufacture an extra defender for the opposition but on top of that they get to play an extra defender without impacting their forward structures because you've given it to them.

Throw him back when we're getting thrashed but absolutely don't start with him there.

I'm more worried about the plateau, not bringing in high end kids and relying on semi developed mature talent can mean your scope for drastic improvement is a lot lower. Clubs like Carlton and Gold Coast who have stockpiled young talent have a much better chance of a really big boost in performance. If all our kids are winners we might too but we have less tickets in the lottery.
Yes that may be an issue but by comparison Lethers has turned over the whole footy dpt in that space of time. All we really need is another top line mid and some of the maybes to improve a bit and we'll be there abouts. 4 years is a long time in footy.

That’s all we have needed for the last ten years. Problem is we can’t attract stars and if we do the go backwards here. And none of our players ever improve enough. I hope I’m wrong

People will say it’s BS because it’s David King but he is spot on. We have to many running ahead of the ball before we have won the ball. We have so many that won’t work hard both ways

with the lack of development across the entire team, how can that be seen as anything other than a failure of the coaching staff - ultimately Ratten is in charge.

I'm not panning the club for missing out on multiple A graders over this period, but some of these guys have seemingly peaked at age 21 or 22 and aren't developing any further than that.
Is that a result of sh*t development (which Richo was also accused of), or is it seriously bad luck?

I'm not at the stage where it wouldn't surprise me if Petracca would have been seen as a dud if we'd picked him. I think if we had Bontempelli and Petracca neither would have developed into the players they are today.

That's on the coach. Sure, players need to do more to get the most out of themselves, but if the head coach doesn't recognise the players that need to find the next level and help them get there - it's a problem. It's poor development by the club.
Who are those he hasn’t developed. And secondly I disagree that the senior coach has anything to do with development. Whilst he might be in charge of those who do developing he isn’t hands on even slightly with it. No coach is. I’m not sure you can blame him considering to just got a new development coach. Who knows maybe that instigated by rats because he saw the problem. It was only at the end of his second year that happened. I’m not sure he could have made that happen any earlier as we made finals in his first year so development probably looked ok at that stage. I think people get confused at the actual coaches role. They are managers of players and staff. They devise a game plan but things like development fitness injury etc aren’t their roles. They are the manager of those whose roles do though things though and after his second year some where changed in those roles. As I said that wasn’t going to happen after making finals in his first year considering it was our first finals in nearly 10 years. All those involved deserved another year after that.

It makes a lot more sense just to bring in Highmore for the role as the 7th defender rather than take away Membrey from the forward line

It gets Sharman back in at least.

A gun small forward, a more accountable full back, probably need about 3 midfield rotations to compete without a dominant ruck too.

Hey mate I think Hanners has been a complete bust. That’s not what I first posted. Somehow this has turned into me saying they were good recruiting decisions.
There would have been the for and against arguments at the point of first recruiting them but that’s all opinion.
I said the reality was very different to what we thought they’d be.
I’m still of the opinion Hill is and will be a good addition despite some poor showings.
Maybe I shouldn't have stuck my nose in. It was a convo between you and mowman and I read to me that you were having a go at the negativity towards them both. Maybe lost a bit in translation.

BTW agree with your above post. All good :thumbsu:

A gun small forward, a more accountable full back, probably need about 3 midfield rotations to compete without a dominant ruck too.
The small forward is probably Snags.

Bytel, Clark, Owens, Windy, Sincs bolster the midfield albeit a mature A grader is highly desirable.

Agree we need an old fashioned KPD, I'd like to see Joyce given a go to just to see the overall effect, not that he's the answer going forward.

People will say it’s BS because it’s David King but he is spot on. We have to many running ahead of the ball before we have won the ball. We have so many that won’t work hard both ways
Roo showed it at halftime on the telecast. Had it stopped at a stoppage just forward of the centre with three Saints running forward of the ball. The contest was lost and the backline was exposed.

All well and good to do that when you are winning the contest, but we were getting pantsed in the first half. They pulled this shit early on last year against Richmond and Essendon and got hammered in pathetic displays. So bad that the trainee receptionist had to step into the fray :D .

King is a dropkick but his analysis is spot on. We are the McLaren of the AFL, give our supporters hope with a shiny new product only to get beaten by back markers.

The small forward is probably Snags.

Bytel, Clark, Owens, Windy, Sincs bolster the midfield albeit a mature A grader is highly desirable.

Agree we need an old fashioned KPD, I'd like to see Joyce given a go to just to see the overall effect, not that he's the answer going forward.
You have been super positive lately and your posts have been well thought out.

However I wouldn’t be using Owens or Windy in any conversation about improving our midfield - they need 12 months in the 2s. The gym and the track.

Realistically there are 2 boys who can improve us. Potentially the sky is the limit. It’s up to them.

Bytel and Clark.

I have no doubt if they became 22-25 disposal midfielders with 3-5 clearances. Not only would we be top 4. We would be calling Gresham elite for the type of game he gave us on Friday. Because we wouldn’t need him to be in the coal face. He would be the cream he is supposed to be. Ala prime Robbie Gray.

Roo showed it at halftime on the telecast. Had it stopped at a stoppage just forward of the centre with three Saints running forward of the ball. The contest was lost and the backline was exposed.

All well and good to do that when you are winning the contest, but we were getting pantsed in the first half. They pulled this sh*t early on last year against Richmond and Essendon and got hammered in pathetic displays. So bad that the trainee receptionist had to step into the fray :D .

King is a dropkick but his analysis is spot on. We are the McLaren of the AFL, give our supporters hope with a shiny new product only to get beaten by back markers.
Any chance he paused on our centre square set ups? No idea how the ball was walked out of there time and time again and we didn’t or couldn’t make the necessary changes

Can't see on TV, but it seemed our wingers weren't coming in off the square or running to where they thought we would win it. Every time they won the ball they fed it out to an extra that had come from outside the square.
When we did win it in the second half, our outside runners were under much more pressure.

You have been super positive lately and your posts have been well thought out.

However I wouldn’t be using Owens or Windy in any conversation about improving our midfield - they need 12 months in the 2s. The gym and the track.

Realistically there are 2 boys who can improve us. Potentially the sky is the limit. It’s up to them.

Bytel and Clark.

I have no doubt if they became 22-25 disposal midfielders with 3-5 clearances. Not only would we be top 4. We would be calling Gresham elite for the type of game he gave us on Friday. Because we wouldn’t need him to be in the coal face. He would be the cream he is supposed to be. Ala prime Robbie Gray.
The context was within the next 2-4 years.
I think Nas, Owens and Windy look good prospects that can have a positive effect within that timeframe and l don't see scope for wholesale changes to the list again. That would be suicide for the club and isn't necessary anyway.
My biggest concern right now is the coaching. We just don't look like a professional outfit on the field and rarely have.