News 2022 Injuries, Suspensions, Protocols

The thing is you'll never really know the best approach until after the season, I think being aggressive at the start still gives the best odds of a high placed finish.

Keeping players like Ridley, Whitfield this year instead of turfing them has set me back for sure, especially when I ended up needing to trade them anyway. Opportunity cost is a real thing, not being able to upgrade in say R7/8 because an underperforming guy gets injured and you're forced to sideways whilst other people grab rookies and upgrade.

The only way you can really make up that ground now is if players get injured/miss games with covid which is just really relying on luck and things you can't control.
Sometimes you have to make your own luck

1655776686320.gif

Things I have learnt that will improve my game for next year:

Use the extra trades early on to correct keepers/mid-pricers, this sets you up early and if you do the corrections with an eye on the byes, so much the better. Be prepared to swallow some bitter medicine or risk being tailed off early.
Get your rookies right; this year I pretty much achieved getting my Rd 1 rookies spot on. This gave me the wiggle room for aforesaid keeper/cash cow midprice corrections.
Easy to say, but all the pointers were there for PMac, SDK, Martin, J Hayes, NOD for all to see. If you took those 5, your bench was off to a flyer.

Back yourself on what your eyes tell you in preference to previous performance - coaches are apt to recruit with specific roles in mind and also to identify role-switches midstream.

I second guessed myself out of Sicily, Hewett, Brodie and Witts leading up to round one, even though every instinct was screaming 'include'.

They were those corrective trades I went early on. If that had not occurred, I'd still have 7 trades and feel very competitive.

After next week, I'll have Jed A, PMac, Wehr, Hough and MRJ as bench/swing cover everywhere. That is the best bench I have ever put together and don't foresee the need to trade any of them out as I have enough cash set aside to trade Owens to a premo if I need to or want to sideways to better prems. This would not have occurred if I hadn't been looking for ways each week to improve my points and being prepared to slightly upgrade dollar wise for a large points return/dollar spent ratio. I only traded rookies as their position and cash became impossible to ignore.

So I think it was worth being aggressive, but you need to have a plan for the byes in mind, as well as nail it as much as possible early.

Pick resilient players instead of crocks or the age-weary warriors whenever possible. I have been pretty lucky this year on the carnage front, went with the approach that while anyone can get injured or ill, some can find an injury in the most benign circumstances while others just front up regardless.

English will never get a guernsey in my team again for this reason, scoring power be buggered. I did trade him as soon as the hammy pinged, but then brought him back last w/end. Lesson duly learned, he gets into the wrong places with great dexterity and regularity.

Underrated rule back ya guts..

Guts over head.

Things I have learnt that will improve my game for next year:

Use the extra trades early on to correct keepers/mid-pricers, this sets you up early and if you do the corrections with an eye on the byes, so much the better. Be prepared to swallow some bitter medicine or risk being tailed off early.
Get your rookies right; this year I pretty much achieved getting my Rd 1 rookies spot on. This gave me the wiggle room for aforesaid keeper/cash cow midprice corrections.
Easy to say, but all the pointers were there for PMac, SDK, Martin, J Hayes, NOD for all to see. If you took those 5, your bench was off to a flyer.

Back yourself on what your eyes tell you in preference to previous performance - coaches are apt to recruit with specific roles in mind and also to identify role-switches midstream.

I second guessed myself out of Sicily, Hewett, Brodie and Witts leading up to round one, even though every instinct was screaming 'include'.

They were those corrective trades I went early on. If that had not occurred, I'd still have 7 trades and feel very competitive.

After next week, I'll have Jed A, PMac, Wehr, Hough and MRJ as bench/swing cover everywhere. That is the best bench I have ever put together and don't foresee the need to trade any of them out as I have enough cash set aside to trade Owens to a premo if I need to or want to sideways to better prems. This would not have occurred if I hadn't been looking for ways each week to improve my points and being prepared to slightly upgrade dollar wise for a large points return/dollar spent ratio. I only traded rookies as their position and cash became impossible to ignore.

So I think it was worth being aggressive, but you need to have a plan for the byes in mind, as well as nail it as much as possible early.

Pick resilient players instead of crocks or the age-weary warriors whenever possible. I have been pretty lucky this year on the carnage front, went with the approach that while anyone can get injured or ill, some can find an injury in the most benign circumstances while others just front up regardless.

English will never get a guernsey in my team again for this reason, scoring power be buggered. I did trade him as soon as the hammy pinged, but then brought him back last w/end. Lesson duly learned, he gets into the wrong places with great dexterity and regularity.
The 1 thing that has improved my game this year is doing my own thing and trusting my gut, haven't quite got that balance right, but it is a step in the right direction.

Will be great value next year. 🤫

Jerry Seinfeld Agree GIF
Will Do You Got It GIF by MASTERPIECE | PBS

A lot of different points being raised here - all very valid...

But, with injuries it's all about luck, in particular their timing of the injuries and how many players you cop at the same time.
e.g. Preuss is a prick, not only did he hurt my byes - when he was not in the team and even worst when he was injured in the team with 17
Now he is sitting out injured/ suspended with other rucks being out, then you include English and Butters and your stretched on two lines FWD and RUC

But, with injuries it's all about luck, in particular their timing of the injuries and how many players you cop at the same time.
e.g. Preuss is a prick, not only did he hurt my byes - when he was not in the team and even worst when he was injured in the team with 17
Now he is sitting out injured/ suspended with other rucks being out, then you include English and Butters and your stretched on two lines FWD and RUC
Of course some of it’s luck but I think Preuss is the worse example you could give for this. Everyone knew what they were getting into when they selected him. He was a get in and get out after making a few bucks. Even Butters and English are known paper cut merchants. You have to consider injury history when selecting players. Same reason I didn’t go for Parish as he’s had that calf niggle and why I’m hesitant on Bont right now. It’s more an estimated guess then luck, and if you are going riskier you need to consider having decent cover.

Agree with you mostly, however having Preuss up to rnd 9, was a plus which would have got you a points advantage over other teams without him, overall have you gained more than you lost ?

100% agree. I had this thought in the PS but got sucked into trying to upgrade too quickly. Those extra trades disappear quickly when going 2 down 1 up each week. And its diminishing returns as you are trading in any rookie rather than the best ones, so the they make less money so you keep burning the trades.

Will definitely take a different approach next season.
I'm happy with how my boost season worked out.
15 trades over 5 weeks pretty much finished my team. r6-r11.
Went from rank 28k round 6 to 3.6k now.
I think if anything I wasted too many trades before upgrade season started.
Next year I need to pick a better starting team to begin with conserve trades until upgrade season begins.
Every trade I used from round 1-6 is one less I have now.

This interests me. I started the first two as they seemed underpriced.

Brodie I put my hand up - I never thought he could do what he's done. I do think Fyfe being out longer than expected has been a win there though.

Witts though, why was your instinct screaming "include"? He was 29 years old, coming off an ACL, no PS games, was 50/50 to even make round 1 and had never averaged over 100? To me that is just a massive luckbot selection if you started Witts.

I'm happy with how my boost season worked out.
15 trades over 5 weeks pretty much finished my team. r6-r11.
Went from rank 28k round 6 to 3.6k now.
I think if anything I wasted too many trades before upgrade season started.
Next year I need to pick a better starting team to begin with conserve trades until upgrade season begins.
Every trade I used from round 1-6 is one less I have now.
Yeah I agree. It's the early shuffling that wastes trades. I wasted about 6-7 this year.

Brodie I put my hand up - I never thought he could do what he's done. I do think Fyfe being out longer than expected has been a win there though.

Witts though, why was your instinct screaming "include"? He was 29 years old, coming off an ACL, no PS games, was 50/50 to even make round 1 and had never averaged over 100? To me that is just a massive luckbot selection if you started Witts.
Reckon 90% of people who started Witts just panic traded him in after Darcy round 1 miss. Lucky bastards.

His last full season before he got injured, he finished close to, if not the best ruck in the last 6ish rounds.
I started him as price wise he was worth a punt

It was primarily because; I had a pot on Grundy, I was worried about the impact Jackson would have on Gawn, Hodor had 19 different niggles, Goldy's role was widely acknowledged to be mid-handover to Xerri, Nanks wasn't even in my thoughts at all and Preuss worried me from the get-go - Mr buttox referred to his 7 years/4 games max. history and so it has proven to be. There really were no others if you wanted to pick English as a forward like me.
Witts was verging on elite in 2019/20, having notably improved his HTA/tackling/contested possession numbers thru those years. I actually ran him in 2019.
So the 380K, bearing all of the above in mind, seemed at the very least a great stepping stone while the elite rucks sorted themselves out.

You are right in that until he got picked for round one, it was far from certain that he'd be right to go, but once he was picked, all the boxes were ticked for me and yet I still waited to watch him play a match before then bringing him straight in. Amusingly, he scored 81 in his first match for me after the 131 in Rd 1.

Of course some of it’s luck but I think Preuss is the worse example you could give for this. Everyone knew what they were getting into when they selected him. He was a get in and get out after making a few bucks. Even Butters and English are known paper cut merchants. You have to consider injury history when selecting players. Same reason I didn’t go for Parish as he’s had that calf niggle and why I’m hesitant on Bont right now. It’s more an estimated guess then luck, and if you are going riskier you need to consider having decent cover.
That's just an example, as I had plenty of cover for Preuss - English, Jackson and Teakle
But, the injuries is compounded when you move a RUC from FWD line to RUC, then get exposed on the FWD line when both English and Butters are injured

So no matter how much planning - how do you cater for 4 injuries over two lines?
Preuss, English, Butters and Teakle - if that's not luck (bad) - what is it?

That's just an example, as I had plenty of cover for Preuss - English, Jackson and Teakle
But, the injuries is compounded when you move a RUC from FWD line to RUC, then get exposed on the FWD line when both English and Butters are injured

So no matter how much planning - how do you cater for 4 injuries over two lines?
Preuss, English, Butters and Teakle - if that's not luck (bad) - what is it?
I find that coaches that do well at SC tend to minimise the luck aspect. (Not having a go at anyone in this thread).

It's not all luck, I have Preuss and am not surprised he's got injured/suspended. I knew the risk and made my choices. It's more the volume of injuries that is the issue.

Started Witts and Brodie .✅.
Didn't start sic or Hewett ...🤐.

Win some .
Loose some.

Lloyd out R1 was a blessing .
Hello Stewart.

This was his finish to 2020, which was with crazy scaling remember. Looks pretty typical of his career.

View attachment 1429191
87 ave via that snapshot, priced at 71...

Here is the BUT, mate; the eye test is equally as important as raw numbers.

I have had the benefit of watching JW since he started at Collingwood. I was dirty, very dirty on them when they let him go to GC, dirtier still that there was little respect they gave him away for a 3rd round pick. Consequently, I have watched a lot of GC footy since he went there, being the footy masochist that I am, just for the feeling of schadenfreude as I watched him grow to be what he was always going to be.

The eye test ain't worth peanuts without knowledge of the game, of course.

Agree with you mostly, however having Preuss up to rnd 9, was a plus which would have got you a points advantage over other teams without him, overall have you gained more than you lost ?
You are right, I should have jumped off Preuss when he was first out of the team - but, I didn't want to waste a trade and had other issues to deal with. Anyway, that's hindsight now :'(