PurpleReign
- Reaction score
https://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/1051257/gallery-match-sim-24-january
Connor is looking very trim in these photos

Soccer Notice Image
Champions League - FINAL - PSG v Arsenal ⚽ Europa Semis ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - SEMIS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ FA Cup - Man City Win
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 11
SuperCoach Rd 11 Rd 11 Talk - Trades - VC/C - Pendlebury Comp – Win A Badge - Fight MND Comp Returns ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 11 Rd 11 Talk - Trades - The VC/C Thread
Darcy, Lobb, Clark are all new and Johnson, Valente are recent additions. Great start to the season!I think all of them were known anyway, the only important part in that article is that STURT IS BACK IN MAIN TRAINING!!!!
I am guessing here, but I would consider that most mentioned not participating are suffering from a big week last week. Four session including what must have been a torturous session at Kings Park Saturday.Dockers training notes: Limping Rory Lobb, Nat Fyfe misses match sim and David Mundy still in rehab group
![]()
Jordan McArdleThe West Australian
Mon, 24 January 2022 12:12PM
Jordan McArdle
![]()
Fremantle's David Mundy was restricted to laps, while ruck-forward Rory Lobb appeared to hurt his ankle. Credit: The West Australian Sport
Limping Lobb
Fremantle forward-ruck Rory Lobb appeared to hurt his ankle during match simulation.
Lobb, who has had a history of ankle issues, looked in serious discomfort when it happened and limped around for a bit, but still managed to complete the session.
![]()
Rory Lobb was in pain after appearing to hurt his ankle. Credit: Iain Gillespie/The West Australian
Midfielder Connor Blakely copped a hit around the same time but continued on after taking a bit of time get up.
On a positive note, a bulked-up Sam Sturt completed his first match sim of the summer as the classy forward looks to put a horror run of injuries behind him.
Missing in action
Nat Fyfe started and finished the session but didn’t take part in match sim as he builds fitness after post-season surgery.
![]()
Nat Fyfe and Caleb Serong have a chat at training. Credit: Iain Gillespie/The West Australian
The dual Brownlow medallist went over to the rehab group, which consisted of top-10 pick Jye Amiss, veteran David Mundy and second-year forward Josh Treacy, when match sim started.
Mundy mainly ran laps as he recovers from an ankle injury sustained in the final pre-Christmas session.
The West Australian understands East Perth product Amiss is being managed after a bit of soreness following a return to full load post-Christmas and nothing to do with last year’s knee injury.
![]()
David Mundy was restricted to running laps. Credit: Iain Gillespie/The West Australian
Reigning Doig medallist Sean Darcy looked sore and didn’t do a massive amount, taking part in the warm up before disappearing inside the club’s Cockburn headquarters.
Darcy then came back out and did various leg stretches away from the main group with his left knee heavily strapped.
Recruit Jordan Clark and injury-prone midfielder Luke Valente also weren’t sighted after the warm ups, while draftee Matt Johnson didn’t take part due to a suspected foot injury.
Defender Joel Hamling joined in the first half of the session before doing some sprints on his own.
The number of players missing is still a lot lower than it usually is this time of year for the Dockers.
Learning from Lecca
Josh Treacy was making the most of West Coast great Mark Lecras’ return to Fremantle, spending plenty of time with him during the session.
Treacy and Lecras did various drills together before the hulking forward joined the rehab group.
![]()
Former West Coast spearhead Mark LeCras helps out Fremantle forward Josh Treacy.Credit: Iain Gillespie/The West Australian
Lecras is back for his second coaching stint at the Dockers, in a part-time forward role, after returning to his old club West Coast for a bit.
COVID scare
Fremantle’s Next Generation Academy presentation morning, due to be held inside Cockburn ARC in a meeting room, was cancelled because the venue was a possible COVID-19 exposure site.
No Dockers players were affected by the COVID scare.
DRAGONS FFC 
If he’s doing drills with LeCras though, shouldn’t be too far away. They’d more than just straight line running that he’s been restricted to previouslyWouldn’t be a week without butter Lobb being injured!
Thinking Treacy over did things with the personal training… groin injury doesn’t sound good
Thanks mate, you are a gem to us full time workers.Without preamble...
Training Report
Today's training was really enjoyable to watch despite the windy conditions making it tricky to hit targets.
Most of training involved 10 minute match simulation with some half court drills in-between sims.
Before detailing the sims and rehab group I feel embarrassed by a few spectators (including some BF posters) ignoring Freo Dockers club orders to not enter areas that have been fenced and sign posted as no public access. They ignore these signs even when officials ask them to clear the area. Once the officials left they walked back in and one of them pulled the finger as they re entered. The club are only following state protocols due to covid regulations.
Rant finished.
Switta looks the quickest and most dangerous small forward today. He adds real x factor in front of goal.
Young is still the best kick out of defence and looks really strong. He's maturing quickly.
On a real positive Tabs, Fyfe and Walker are upping their training. Fyfe doing some skills training with others. Tabs and Walker involved in some full match sim drills. Walker looks terrific. Both he and Tabs don't look to be carrying any injuries and not sure why they aren't in full training.
Mundy is running strongly. Amiss, I'm not sure will take part in training. Maybe there has been some regression in his rehabilitation.
Tracey is on light duties.
The West report on training but paint a very negative picture to get people to react to it. I watch them watch on. They hardly even pay attention.
I feel like I'm repeating myself from previous training sessions so I'll leave it at that. I'm back to work on Thursday so this will be my last report. Cesoir can lock me away until next year. And yes WaywardSonSon I listen to Non Phixion.
Peace
Jedi Mind Tricks aka Lord G.O.A.T
Darcy, Lobb and Clark are all through the training gallery despite The West saying Clark 'wasn't sighted' and Darcy 'took part in the warm-up before disappearing'. Also highlights Lobb completed the session so his 'injury' can't be bad.Darcy, Lobb, Clark are all new and Johnson, Valente are recent additions. Great start to the season!
That “article” in the worst is the most negative thing I’ve read in a long time. Nothing about the actual training going on in front of them and couldn’t “sight” Clark despite him clearly being very involved. Just gutter journalists trying to make out we are down to 10 fit playersDarcy, Lobb and Clark are all through the training gallery despite The West saying Clark 'wasn't sighted' and Darcy 'took part in the warm-up before disappearing'. Also highlights Lobb completed the session so his 'injury' can't be bad.
DRAGONS FFC 

Obviously doesn't take much notice as Darcy has had a bandage on his knee all season so far.That “article” in the worst is the most negative thing I’ve read in a long time. Nothing about the actual training going on in front of them and couldn’t “sight” Clark despite him clearly being very involved. Just gutter journalists trying to make out we are down to 10 fit players
Since it was from McArdle and included the throwaway line "the rehab group is actually pretty good for Freo", I reckon it almost definitively a directive from above to make it sound as dire as humanely possible, including that ridiculous title/bi-line.That “article” in the worst is the most negative thing I’ve read in a long time. Nothing about the actual training going on in front of them and couldn’t “sight” Clark despite him clearly being very involved. Just gutter journalists trying to make out we are down to 10 fit players
Reports have been pretty glowing since day 1.How has Erasmus been tracking. He was my favourite player leading up to the draft (alongside Callaghan and Ward). I think he will develop into a star.
Someone needs to tell that young fella in the bucket hat keep his feet in the contest.
View attachment 1315588
I'm low key worried he will pull an Ablett at GC if he still wants out. Sounds like he is committed at training though so unlikelyLobb limping away from a marking contest looking like he’s broken his leg ….. he’s in great form already by the sounds of it … save some for the real stuff big fella
Beach muscles Darcy Tucker ripping it up in half intensity training match sims ……. Never skips a beat
Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com
Drafted in 2018 so this would be his fourth preseason, although it seems like they've all been interrupted by injury so far. 2018/19 he missed some due to being drafted, and pretty sure he was injured at times in both 19/20 and 20/21 preseasons (and coming back from injury this preseason). Hopefully Phil Merriman and co can really sort out his durabilityIs this Sturts first preseason?
The question is who will be the first opponent to stop him getting 3 goals and 20 possessions a game?Reports have been pretty glowing since day 1.
"Competitive beast - absolutely hates losing"
"Looks like he's been part of the team for years"
"Feels like he's kicking a goal every sim session"
We expect him to debut pretty early on and will almost definitely be the first draftee of this year to play for us before winning a Brownlow this year
Woah woah woah, you might be going a bit early on him winning the brownlowReports have been pretty glowing since day 1.
"Competitive beast - absolutely hates losing"
"Looks like he's been part of the team for years"
"Feels like he's kicking a goal every sim session"
We expect him to debut pretty early on and will almost definitely be the first draftee of this year to play for us before winning a Brownlow this year
Article on thewest about Serong. Mentions "vice captain" Brayshaw.
On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app