Opinion 2023 AFL Draft Prospects

• Thread starter Thread starter Dav1d

Who do you want for our first pick at the AFL Draft?

Was recently in the bigfooty phantom draft and finally got to doing the writeps

So I basically missed out on Croft because someone bid on him at pick 9 and I chose not to match. Lual went at pick 31 as well and I have to say I wasn't disappointed I missed out on both because there's still some very good players at pick 35. Small forwards in Callinan, Anasastopoulos and Sanchez I rate all above Smith, but chose not to take them because I do think we need a developing inside mid with a good defensive mindset.

Anyway it was an interesting exercise.

So what's everyone's thoughts? Am I sacked?

Joel Freijah
191cm, 86kg
Winger/Midfielder

Freijah is a wingman first with very good decision making and composure skills that regularly delivers well by hand and foot to his team mates advantage.
He's quite a good all round athlete as well, with a good burst of speed and can duck and weave his way through traffic showing good agility. He can also play as an onballer where he is quite clean and has good vision inside the contest. He will need to improve the physical side of his game and be a bit quicker by hand to be a full time mid though. It is possible, as this year he's shown quite a good level of improvement particularly in the physicality side of things and is now having a big impact in games. In the last three games he's played he's kicked 6 goals, had 26 disposals and laid 7 tackles in what was a complete performance. In the next game he had 35 disposals in a Vic Country trial game. Then in the Young guns game, whilst he had much quieter game, the quality of his disposal particularly by hand really stood out. Some of his taps to teammates also showed his footy smarts and awareness.

With a latish birthday, it looks like there's plenty more upside to come and it will be interesting to see the heights he reaches this year. I dare say he won't be available at this pick, but if he was, he would be a great pick up for the dogs especially with the lack of wing options we have on our list.

Logan Evans
188cm, 78kg
Medium Defender

Evans is an intercept defender that reads the play well and is a good overhead mark. His ability to turn defence into attack is first rate with his speed, agility, penetrating foot skills and intercept ability all impressive. Defensively he's more then capable one on one and has good closing speed. He's also been able to stand up physically to bigger bodies, already playing 4 senior games for his SANFL side Norwood and averaging over 4 tackles a game.
To be a bit nit picky, while he has shown he's more then capable defensively, sometimes the balance is not always right and he can play a bit too loose although that can be coached in time. Another one, whilst his disposal is good, to take his game to the next level I would like to see him pull off some more riskier options. His disposal is very good though going at 92% at U18 level last year and at 80% at senior level.

From a needs perspective he's not really a big need for the dogs, but thought he was too good to pass up. That said, I think this could release Richards or Dale to play further up the ground. I had Richards in mind in particular as has the capabilities to move into the midfield.

Jake Smith
185cm, 79kg
Midfielder

Primarily an inside mid at this stage, Jake is a very clean and composed player inside the contest with a good physical presence. He's building pretty well into this season increasing his disposal numbers and getting more outside ball which is good to see. He's also been very good defensively averaging 7 tackles a game. In terms of foot skills, he has a nice penetrating left foot which can really break the play open and it's nice to see him use it a bit more often as he can handball a lot. Some of the knocks I have is I'm not sure what other position he can play. Lacks a bit of goal sense, so probably not a forward and probably needs to improve his aerial game to be a backman.

With the loss of Dunkley and our other mids getting older, the dogs really do need to find replacements to develop into the future. This is probably a bit high for Smith, but we do have a need for defensive mids and I thought he was the best one available.

Coby James
176cm, 72kg
Utility

Primarily playing as a midfielder this season, where he can dart in and out of congestion. James can play in a number of different roles for a side with his defensive game and his combination of speed, agility and endurance also a feature. He's also quite a confident and creative player taking the game on when he can. Perhaps he could use it better at times, although he's someone that generally takes the riskier option and can pull it off.

It will be interesting to see where he develops. For the dogs, I'd be attempting to develop him as a lock down small defender as he is ok overhead or use him as a pressure forward that could take turns in the midfield.

Tom Beaumont
186cm
Midfielder/Forward

Strong, big bodied inside midfielder, that can push forward and kick goals. Very clean player and a bull at the clearances. Also has good endurance and a good leap making him a threat when up forward along with his one on one work.

Clay Tucker
204cm, 99kg
Ruckman

Has really improved from last season and caught my in the last young guns game. Starting to impose himself a bit more around the ground and in the ruck contests. He is pretty mobile with good agility and is starting to improve his forward game with his marking and is getting into better positions to receive the ball.

The dogs could do with another developing ruckman with Sweet as the only backup option.

13 freijah is good

17 I'd go kane mcauliffe

So I basically missed out on Croft because someone bid on him at pick 9 and I chose not to match. Lual went at pick 31 as well and I have to say I wasn't disappointed I missed out on both because there's still some very good players at pick 35. Small forwards in Callinan, Anasastopoulos and Sanchez I rate all above Smith, but chose not to take them because I do think we need a developing inside mid with a good defensive mindset.

Joel Freijah
191cm, 86kg
Winger/Midfielder

Freijah is a wingman first with very good decision making and composure skills that regularly delivers well by hand and foot to his team mates advantage.
He's quite a good all round athlete as well, with a good burst of speed and can duck and weave his way through traffic showing good agility. He can also play as an onballer where he is quite clean and has good vision inside the contest. He will need to improve the physical side of his game and be a bit quicker by hand to be a full time mid though. It is possible, as this year he's shown quite a good level of improvement particularly in the physicality side of things and is now having a big impact in games. In the last three games he's played he's kicked 6 goals, had 26 disposals and laid 7 tackles in what was a complete performance. In the next game he had 35 disposals in a Vic Country trial game. Then in the Young guns game, whilst he had much quieter game, the quality of his disposal particularly by hand really stood out. Some of his taps to teammates also showed his footy smarts and awareness.

With a latish birthday, it looks like there's plenty more upside to come and it will be interesting to see the heights he reaches this year. I dare say he won't be available at this pick, but if he was, he would be a great pick up for the dogs especially with the lack of wing options we have on our list.

Logan Evans
188cm, 78kg
Medium Defender

Evans is an intercept defender that reads the play well and is a good overhead mark. His ability to turn defence into attack is first rate with his speed, agility, penetrating foot skills and intercept ability all impressive. Defensively he's more then capable one on one and has good closing speed. He's also been able to stand up physically to bigger bodies, already playing 4 senior games for his SANFL side Norwood and averaging over 4 tackles a game.
To be a bit nit picky, while he has shown he's more then capable defensively, sometimes the balance is not always right and he can play a bit too loose although that can be coached in time. Another one, whilst his disposal is good, to take his game to the next level I would like to see him pull off some more riskier options. His disposal is very good though going at 92% at U18 level last year and at 80% at senior level.

From a needs perspective he's not really a big need for the dogs, but thought he was too good to pass up. That said, I think this could release Richards or Dale to play further up the ground. I had Richards in mind in particular as has the capabilities to move into the midfield.

Jake Smith
185cm, 79kg
Midfielder

Primarily an inside mid at this stage, Jake is a very clean and composed player inside the contest with a good physical presence. He's building pretty well into this season increasing his disposal numbers and getting more outside ball which is good to see. He's also been very good defensively averaging 7 tackles a game. In terms of foot skills, he has a nice penetrating left foot which can really break the play open and it's nice to see him use it a bit more often as he can handball a lot. Some of the knocks I have is I'm not sure what other position he can play. Lacks a bit of goal sense, so probably not a forward and probably needs to improve his aerial game to be a backman.

With the loss of Dunkley and our other mids getting older, the dogs really do need to find replacements to develop into the future. This is probably a bit high for Smith, but we do have a need for defensive mids and I thought he was the best one available.

Coby James
176cm, 72kg
Utility

Primarily playing as a midfielder this season, where he can dart in and out of congestion. James can play in a number of different roles for a side with his defensive game and his combination of speed, agility and endurance also a feature. He's also quite a confident and creative player taking the game on when he can. Perhaps he could use it better at times, although he's someone that generally takes the riskier option and can pull it off.

It will be interesting to see where he develops. For the dogs, I'd be attempting to develop him as a lock down small defender as he is ok overhead or use him as a pressure forward that could take turns in the midfield.

Tom Beaumont
186cm
Midfielder/Forward

Strong, big bodied inside midfielder, that can push forward and kick goals. Very clean player and a bull at the clearances. Also has good endurance and a good leap making him a threat when up forward along with his one on one work.

Clay Tucker
204cm, 99kg
Ruckman

Has really improved from last season and caught my in the last young guns game. Starting to impose himself a bit more around the ground and in the ruck contests. He is pretty mobile with good agility and is starting to improve his forward game with his marking and is getting into better positions to receive the ball.

The dogs could do with another developing ruckman with Sweet as the only backup option.

Freijah was a decent pick, but Moir has so much raw talent, I'd back us in to get him performing at his best. 17 possibly Cooper Simpson, possibly Kane McAuliffe, possibly Will Lorenz.

Do we have room in our forward line for someone like Moir though? Naughton, Jamarra, Darcy and we may even be adding Croft to that. I think I saw someone in the thread label Moir as a bit like a shorter version of Jamarra and I don't think that comment is that far off the mark. I'm also not that comfortable giving another high pick for another forward. We've spent very big on this area with Jamarra, Darcy, Naughton and Weightmen all first round picks.

As for pick 17, I've talked about the other two, but I agree that Lorenz is worth considering here and he's someone I thought about. He's had an indifferent start to the year, maybe carrying an injury?

Do we have room in our forward line for someone like Moir though? Naughton, Jamarra, Darcy and we may even be adding Croft to that. I think I saw someone in the thread label Moir as a bit like a shorter version of Jamarra and I don't think that comment is that far off the mark. I'm also not that comfortable giving another high pick for another forward. We've spent very big on this area with Jamarra, Darcy, Naughton and Weightmen all first round picks.

As for pick 17, I've talked about the other two, but I agree that Lorenz is worth considering here and he's someone I thought about. He's had an indifferent start to the year, maybe carrying an injury?

Lorenz seems to have been played a bit off half back, which just isn't his position. At his best, he can be a silky skilled balanced mid who can find the goals, and I reckon would be in our side from round 1 on a wing or flank.

Was very annoyed that Sam Frangalas went just before our second rounder. Classic bull.

Joel Freijah
191cm, 86kg
Winger/Midfielder

Logan Evans
188cm, 78kg
Medium Defender

Interestingly your first two picks sound somewhat like players we were linked to last year: Freijah as that tall outside type (Ed Allen) and Evans as that mid-sized defender (Max Michalanney)

Lorenz seems to have been played a bit off half back, which just isn't his position. At his best, he can be a silky skilled balanced mid who can find the goals, and I reckon would be in our side from round 1 on a wing or flank.

Was very annoyed that Sam Frangalas went just before our second rounder. Classic bull.

I like Frangalas and would've picked him if he was there.

The disappointing thing with Lorenz this year, is his ball use has been a bit off. I was at the last academy game and he certainly spent a bit of time onball and looked very rushed with it. Even at Coates level he hasn't looked as composed compared to last year, something is a bit off with him.

One of our first picks will probably go on late bloomer with a late birthday who is hardly on any radars yet

Interestingly your first two picks sound somewhat like players we were linked to last year: Freijah as that tall outside type (Ed Allen) and Evans as that mid-sized defender (Max Michalanney)

I didn't realise we were linked to Max Michalanney last year, but I do think we could use someone like that in our back line. He's someone I rated highly last year as well.

I think we'll be lucky if we get Freija. If he has a good champs, he could move into the top 5 such is his talent.

North will have pick 2, Port’s first (~12-16) and maybe pick 3 or 20 if Ben McKay leaves. They’d be in the box seat to trade for it.
On picks they would be but North doesn't need another mid. They really need to invest in some quality KPP , they don't have a lot and Mackay could depart.
Not that I am advocating that we should trade up just think that Norf"s priorities might be different

On picks they would be but North doesn't need another mid. They really need to invest in some quality KPP , they don't have a lot and Mackay could depart.
Not that I am advocating that we should trade up just think that Norf"s priorities might be different

They need gun players everywhere.

Watching some Joel Freijah footage I highly doubt we’ll take him with a first rounder.

Reminds me a lot of JJ. Great on the outside with good speed, ok decision making and good ball use, but seems to have a complete lack of inside game and goes to water with strong opposition contact.

Probably a wing or even half back player at AFL level, can’t see a player like that being a starting 10+ year midfielder though. And considering we’re desperate for Libba, Macrae, Bont replacements, I can’t see us taking Freijah.

Probably better suited to a team that’s already set in the young midfield department and now looking for a little outside dash.

Saying that, wouldn’t be too upset if we looked at him with a later pick after we’ve taken a couple of genuine mids with our first two.

Watching some Joel Freijah footage I highly doubt we’ll take him with a first rounder.

Reminds me a lot of JJ. Great on the outside with good speed, ok decision making and good ball use, but seems to have a complete lack of inside game and goes to water with strong opposition contact.

Probably a wing or even half back player at AFL level, can’t see a player like that being a starting 10+ year midfielder though. And considering we’re desperate for Libba, Macrae, Bont replacements, I can’t see us taking Freijah.

Probably better suited to a team that’s already set in the young midfield department and now looking for a little outside dash.

Saying that, wouldn’t be too upset if we looked at him with a later pick after we’ve taken a couple of genuine mids with our first two.
If he projects a a gun wingman at AFL level I don't think that would put us off too much. We do tend to go for best available anyway.

Even then, so desperate are we for long term midfield talent I reckon we might pass on general best availables with our first two picks, unless a genuine midfielder.

Baz is the only genuine young midfield talent on our list. We’ve gone 8+ years with he being our only AFL level mid brought in through the draft. We are starved of young mids at the moment and need to bring in a couple this year.

The club may see it differently. Who knows! He may even develop more of an inside game by seasons end.

I think this years draft is the most important in a long time. We can’t go another season with no young midfield talent coming through. Need them up and running asap to make the most of the gun KPP’s on the list.

Even then, so desperate are we for long term midfield talent I reckon we might pass on general best availables with our first two picks, unless a genuine midfielder.

Baz is the only genuine young midfield talent on our list. We’ve gone 8+ years with he being our only AFL level mid brought in through the draft. We are starved of young mids at the moment and need to bring in a couple this year.

The club may see it differently. Who knows! He may even develop more of an inside game by seasons end.

I think this years draft is the most important in a long time. We can’t go another season with no young midfield talent coming through. Need them up and running asap to make the most of the gun KPP’s on the list.
Baz sees himself as an inside/outside mid, mentioned it this week. I certainly don't want him on the bottom of packs.

I'm tracking Kane McAuliffe pretty closely this year, projects as a big bodied extractor from SA with a neat sidestep and has hit the scoreboard. Most draft watchers have him as a late first round prospect. Personally, I'd be more than happy to take a pure outside mid/wingman and an inside mid with our first two picks as I still think wing depth is an issue, especially if Bailey Williams exercises his FA rights.

Colby McKercher looks a gun but as a Tassie kid some clubs may pass - we might get lucky

I'm very cautious about Tassie players, but McKercher would be hard to pass by if he slid to our pick. He's just about ideal.

Baz sees himself as an inside/outside mid, mentioned it this week. I certainly don't want him on the bottom of packs.

I'm tracking Kane McAuliffe pretty closely this year, projects as a big bodied extractor from SA with a neat sidestep and has hit the scoreboard. Most draft watchers have him as a late first round prospect. Personally, I'd be more than happy to take a pure outside mid/wingman and an inside mid with our first two picks as I still think wing depth is an issue, especially if Bailey Williams exercises his FA rights.

Agreee re Baz. That’s why i’m not too keen to bring in an outside mid/winger in Freijah. Not going to win too many finals with those types filling the Centre bounce roles.

McAuliffe’s one I’ve taken note of too for the same reason. Looks like he’ll possibly be available at our pick. Don’t know too much about him though. Not a lot of footage out there.

There’s a lot of top end KPP/small fwd players in this draft so assuming/hoping we get a decent few mids to pick from.