List Mgmt. 2023 List Management

JSOS and Dow are probably the toughest calls the club will have had to have made in a long time. No doubt they would want to keep them but at what price? Realistically both of them should be looking for ~$1.2mil over three years, we should not be looking to pay that imo.
Dow is still our 6th mid and we look at our best playing with 3-4.
JSOS was arguably not a best 22 player then played 3 ripping games, is that sustainable?
It’s really going to be interesting how the club see it and what those two fellas will accept.
If we keep those two then imo we should be looking to help find someone like Carroll a new home
Based on our injury history over the last two years, Jsos & Dow are very much capable alot of playing alot footy each year going forward.

X
If Dow keeps playing the way he’s playing then I’m not sure Kennedy finds a way back.. both clearance/front of stoppage types. Not sure we can fit them in with Walsh and Cripps. Cerra and Hewett are back of stoppage/defensive mids so they aren’t comparable. Kennedy will probably end up the sub in my opinion.
Kennedy is built for finals footy. Hard at the footy, tackles to hurt, can take a mark forward and kicks goals.
Definitely think he plays ahead of Dow - and agree he would be a good option as sub if both Cripps and Hewett are in the 22.

It was funny listening to Buckley talk about how well we are playing without Harry and how it’ll be hard to fit him in before finally acknowledging that in Harry’s last 3 games (not including against Port) we averaged 110pts.
Harry will improve us more then Cerra and Walsh will.
This from the bloke that persisted with Mason Cox as a forward despite him never getting near it.

If Dow keeps playing the way he’s playing then I’m not sure Kennedy finds a way back.. both clearance/front of stoppage types. Not sure we can fit them in with Walsh and Cripps. Cerra and Hewett are back of stoppage/defensive mids so they aren’t comparable. Kennedy will probably end up the sub in my opinion.
Tend to agree, currently Dow holds his spot if its Kennedy replacing him.. Cerra or Walsh is a different story.

X

Kennedy is built for finals footy. Hard at the footy, tackles to hurt, can take a mark forward and kicks goals.
Definitely think he plays ahead of Dow - and agree he would be a good option as sub if both Cripps and Hewett are in the 22.
Kennedy has versatility and has shown he can make an impact as a sub.. It comes down to him v Hewett and i think Bam Bam is the better sub option

Was going to make this it's own thread but thought maybe here might be better (feel free to move if so).

Harry (per people in the media) is not a required player for us, and messes up our structure so we should consider trading him.

Proven athletic KPF who can do things on the field that most cannot. Has had the yips a little of late but this can be fixed and has shown that he can kick straight. Has won the Coleman, was an All Australian and is just getting into the peek of his career. He has shown that he has the ability to be in the top 5 or so best key forwards in the comp, because he was a couple of years ago, so in theory the only things that can stop him from getting there again is injury, his work ethic (FWIW i think this has never been in question) or a fundamentally flawed team structure.

I want to go on the record to say, I don't even want to consider him leaving, I think he offers a lot to the team even with his current yips, let alone when he is kicking straight, but lets play this out. What players from another team could we expect to get in a trade for H, and does it make us a better team.

Looking at most trades for big name players, it is typically draft picks that you get, and I would say that H would have to be similar in value as Jeremy Cameron especially given his age. That being said, I would want a ready made player or two now that can make us better. So, with that being said, who (realistically, because we wont be able to get Bont) would you want or could we expect to get to even start to consider negotiating a deal for H?
Harry is coming into his prime, he will be 26 at Christmas. HE will make us better. And if he's had the yips as you say, we'll have to pay to move him on. A big NO from me.

I think we are on the verge of something special, we just need to be able to sign up these guys. Need 30+ really good players to win a flag, particularly us who carry a few injury prone players.

Marchbank, Cuningham, Silvagni, Dow, Fogarty and McGovern. I'd also be looking to sign Durdin up again as well.

Cap could be tight so bigger money is probably off the cards so players will be looking at contract length instead. If you are injury prone or older or fringe length is valuable. So that should suit Marchbank, McGovern, Cuningham and Fogarty. Probably also Dow. I think a deal that is worth 3 years or more for them out-weights a the money. Sign them for less and for longer. It's always a risk but I think the bigger risk is losing them.

Marchbank - Injury prone by still only 26, he's shown that his quality as a player is excellent. These tall guys who have talent, can take a mark it, read the play and can really run are rare. He will want contract length, hasn't played enough to earn size but with his body a 3 year deal with a clause for a 4th season on minimum money is worth gold. You'd offer 2 years with a clause of a 3rd but to do it on really low money maybe more has to be offered.

McGovern - Looking at his brother and his own history he could crack up again at any time. Again, talent wise these guys are super rare. His kicking is specual, he's a zone breaker. His height and speed profile is super rare. He's a quality footballer. We overpaid him for his output on his last contract so he does owe us. He's 28. I think we offer him a 2 year deal with a clause for a 3rd. Don't think any other club will be looking to beat that.

Cuningham - He's become valuable, his injury prone days are hopefully behind him, he's a player who we have not seen the best of yet. a 26 year old, you offer him a 2 or 3 year contract with a clause for another season on low dollars and go for it.

Silvagni - Not sure where Silvagni is at. He's a regular player, he's on the better side of fringe, fringe in a good side is no insult. He's 25, he's not really injury prone, he's valuable, he's a good player. He's another who may be interested in a long contract, offer him 4 years on less money back ended and it might fit in.

Fogarty is a player who probably get the minimal contract. He will really go for duration but I don't see him as someone who will be poached and if he is we have cover there.

Dow - Hope we don't go trading Dow. Think he is super important to the makeup of our side. Our midfield has enough inside bulls but we need that extra burst runner. Cerra, Walsh, Dow and Docherty bring that. Docherty is getting older, players get injured. Without Dow on our list we do not win those crucial games against St Kilda and Melbourne, it's that simple. Whether in the team or not, that is how valuable he is to us. He did not want to be traded last year, he wants to make it as a player here, he's someone who IMO will play here for love over money and that is the sort you want, that's good culture.

There is a potential Carlton dynasty appearing that will not happen if we lose guys like the above. Time to win flags is now, we just have to keep our group together.

Minimal list changes.

Pick 1, our two 4th round picks come in. Honey, Plowman, Ed Curnow go out.

Try trade O'Brien. Maybe a late pick then gets used on someone like Cahill from the reserves.

As for Fisher, I had him as out the door, but now I am no so sure. He's the closest thing we have to Saad and the closes available player there is to Saad. Saad at 29, we need cover for him and the ability to give him a rest from time to time. I see huge potential in Fisher at half back, reckon he at 25 is the ideal player to have working into that dashing half back role.

Love that we are thinking about keeping everyone and not getting rid of everyone, times are good and depth will keep them good for years to come.

I think we are on the verge of something special, we just need to be able to sign up these guys. Need 30+ really good players to win a flag, particularly us who carry a few injury prone players.

Marchbank, Cuningham, Silvagni, Dow, Fogarty and McGovern. I'd also be looking to sign Durdin up again as well.

Cap could be tight so bigger money is probably off the cards so players will be looking at contract length instead. If you are injury prone or older or fringe length is valuable. So that should suit Marchbank, McGovern, Cuningham and Fogarty. Probably also Dow. I think a deal that is worth 3 years or more for them out-weights a the money. Sign them for less and for longer. It's always a risk but I think the bigger risk is losing them.

Marchbank - Injury prone by still only 26, he's shown that his quality as a player is excellent. These tall guys who have talent, can take a mark it, read the play and can really run are rare. He will want contract length, hasn't played enough to earn size but with his body a 3 year deal with a clause for a 4th season on minimum money is worth gold. You'd offer 2 years with a clause of a 3rd but to do it on really low money maybe more has to be offered.

McGovern - Looking at his brother and his own history he could crack up again at any time. Again, talent wise these guys are super rare. His kicking is specual, he's a zone breaker. His height and speed profile is super rare. He's a quality footballer. We overpaid him for his output on his last contract so he does owe us. He's 28. I think we offer him a 2 year deal with a clause for a 3rd. Don't think any other club will be looking to beat that.

Cuningham - He's become valuable, his injury prone days are hopefully behind him, he's a player who we have not seen the best of yet. a 26 year old, you offer him a 2 or 3 year contract with a clause for another season on low dollars and go for it.

Silvagni - Not sure where Silvagni is at. He's a regular player, he's on the better side of fringe, fringe in a good side is no insult. He's 25, he's not really injury prone, he's valuable, he's a good player. He's another who may be interested in a long contract, offer him 4 years on less money back ended and it might fit in.

Fogarty is a player who probably get the minimal contract. He will really go for duration but I don't see him as someone who will be poached and if he is we have cover there.

Dow - Hope we don't go trading Dow. Think he is super important to the makeup of our side. Our midfield has enough inside bulls but we need that extra burst runner. Cerra, Walsh, Dow and Docherty bring that. Docherty is getting older, players get injured. Without Dow on our list we do not win those crucial games against St Kilda and Melbourne, it's that simple. Whether in the team or not, that is how valuable he is to us. He did not want to be traded last year, he wants to make it as a player here, he's someone who IMO will play here for love over money and that is the sort you want, that's good culture.

There is a potential Carlton dynasty appearing that will not happen if we lose guys like the above. Time to win flags is now, we just have to keep our group together.

Minimal list changes.

Try trade O'Brien. Maybe a late pick then gets used on someone like Cahill from the reserves.

As for Fisher, I had him as out the door, but now I am no so sure. He's the closest thing we have to Saad and the closes available player there is to Saad. Saad at 29, we need cover for him and the ability to give him a rest from time to time. I see huge potential in Fisher at half back, reckon he at 25 is the ideal player to have working into that dashing half back role.

Love that we are thinking about keeping everyone and not getting rid of everyone, times are good and depth will keep them good for years to come.
think your brief stay in the dungeon has really straightened you up..........:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:............

X

Not sure we can afford to play so many players that has missed a fair amount of footy.
Walsh & Cerra will walk straight in, not sure Kennedy is going to get back, still believe the mid field has looked better recently without the three big bodied mids all together.

Minimal list changes.

Sam Durdin has to go. With Cincotta and O'Keefe already re-signed, and all other rookies signed beyond this year, Durdin and Ed Curnow have to make way on the rookie list to keep Cincotta and O'Keefe beyond the SSP period. Unless one or both go on the senior list, but then you're cutting the likes of Marchbank, Cuningham, Silvagni, Dow, Fogarty or McGovern.

Kennedy has versatility and has shown he can make an impact as a sub.. It comes down to him v Hewett and i think Bam Bam is the better sub option
There is no way a fit George Hewett is ever in the discussion for being the sub. Takes the opposition's best midfielder, beats them and contributes heaps on the offence. A great player and a great bit of business to get him over.

For mine the current rankings are;

Inside mid- 1,) Cripps
2) Hewett
3) Kennedy
4) Ed Curnow

Running mids - 1/2) Cerra/Walsh.
3) Dow
4) Carroll

Utility mid/wing - 1) Doc

We would generally look to play 5 of these and Doc gives us so much flexibility he is always one of these. So take 2 inside mids and 2 running mids and that's our midfield. A few pinch hits from Cuners, Fog etc.

Sub comes from the highest ranked non player.

It must be said that Paddy Dow was tailed off about 6 weeks, 20 lengths behind on the home turn. Stuck to the rails and has made steady ground since and is only a couple of lengths off.

That's my take on it anyway. Might not matter if we never get the whole lot available at the same time.

I'm thinking if I was Carroll, I'd be talking to West Coast about the likelyhood of AFL games next year,(does this extend my dungeon sentence?)
you've been out for some time - there will be ongoing monitoring obviously but this post seems reasonable.............

I'm much happier with the ankle bracelet, it's cold in that place, and the chef is cruel.

Sam Durdin has to go. With Cincotta and O'Keefe already re-signed, and all other rookies signed beyond this year, Durdin and Ed Curnow have to make way on the rookie list to keep Cincotta and O'Keefe beyond the SSP period. Unless one or both go on the senior list, but then you're cutting the likes of Marchbank, Cuningham, Silvagni, Dow, Fogarty or McGovern.

May have to wait another season until Lemmy or someone develops. We have been awfully lucky Weitering has not gone down, the only depth there is Young and Durdin. But yeah, if we need the space he likely will.

I'm much happier with the ankle bracelet, it's cold in that place, and the chef is cruel.

always with the complaints..........

May have to wait another season until Lemmy or someone develops. We have been awfully lucky Weitering has not gone down, the only depth there is Young and Durdin. But yeah, if we need the space he likely will.
Marchbank is our depth KPD, sign him to a 1 year deal.

If we don’t see Young as a best 22 player I think we should be trying to move him, North, West Cost or Essendon seem the best fits.

Based on our injury history over the last two years, Jsos & Dow are very much capable alot of playing alot footy each year going forward.

Exactly. Let's not make the mistake of assuming these guys are surplus to needs because they aren't starting 22. Both would get a game most weeks in 2024 if our injury form keeps up.

It's a question of whether they want to stay for the right money. But if they do, I see no reason to not retain both.

There is no way a fit George Hewett is ever in the discussion for being the sub. Takes the opposition's best midfielder, beats them and contributes heaps on the offence. A great player and a great bit of business to get him over.

For mine the current rankings are;

Inside mid- 1,) Cripps
2) Hewett
3) Kennedy
4) Ed Curnow

Running mids - 1/2) Cerra/Walsh.
3) Dow
4) Carroll

Utility mid/wing - 1) Doc

We would generally look to play 5 of these and Doc gives us so much flexibility he is always one of these. So take 2 inside mids and 2 running mids and that's our midfield. A few pinch hits from Cuners, Fog etc.

Sub comes from the highest ranked non player.

It must be said that Paddy Dow was tailed off about 6 weeks, 20 lengths behind on the home turn. Stuck to the rails and has made steady ground since and is only a couple of lengths off.

That's my take on it anyway. Might not matter if we never get the whole lot available at the same time.
I'd have Dow in the inside mid role. He's got burst pace sure, but he doesn't have the aerobic capacity to be compared to Doch/Walsh.

With that in mind, as others have said, he's up against Hewett and Kennedy for a spot in the team. Given how much their form has varied over the year, any 2 of them could be in our best 23.

Hewett is in the best form of the 3 right now, but he was quite poor earlier in the season.

Dow had previously been way back but is improving rapidly and does add a point of difference with his burst pace.

Kennedy is injured and seems to be forgotten, but he was playing fantastic football earlier in the season before his injury. Another guy with a point of difference with his ability to float forward and kick goals.

Two well-placed sources familiar with the Blues’ plans but not authorised to speak publicly confirmed they had settled on 194-centimetre running machine Matt Duffy, who plays for Longford, and highly rated Kerry under-20 footballer Rob Monahan.

Duffy, one of Ireland’s rising stars, won the two-kilometre time trial as part of the testing the Irish players conducted and his height and endurance mean he projects as a versatile option. Monahan, who is 189 centimetres, is also an excellent athlete and has already performed well in Gaelic football, hurling and rugby.

Tough call with our key defender depth the way it is. relying heavily on Young again to pick up the pieces if Weitering goes down.

Is he really depth though given he hasn't played a game for 2 years. Injury and opportunity have meant that when we needed him he has been injured and when we have reached for depth he hasn't been in the equation. I think its a cut. Put the time into the younger brigade and we have Young as well.