Position 2023 Midfielders

Reckon not starting Clayton Oliver round 1 is putting me behind the 8 ball? He's no doubt a must have but I'm really not wanting to cough up the money. He can easily drop after 2 sub 100 games, if it happens.
I hate just watching and waiting for must haves.

Reckon not starting Clayton Oliver round 1 is putting me behind the 8 ball? He's no doubt a must have but I'm really not wanting to cough up the money. He can easily drop after 2 sub 100 games, if it happens.
It is risky and an unnecessary risk in my opinion. If he catches fire early you are probably going to struggle finding a captain to score close to him and his price may not drop.

Then even if he starts poorly, you want him at some stage of the season and yes he may drop in value a fair bit but you still need to have the trades ready to go to get him in at the right time. Not always easy.

So yes it could well work but given the risk vs reward I think it's too big a gamble. You might start the season behind the 8 ball. If captaincy wasn't a thing, then it would be a much less risky play but I'd rather wait till later in the season to gamble like that!

I hate just watching and waiting for must haves.
I know, I always say id rather start them then try trade them in. At 699k say he scores two sub tons he will still be around 600k. Still gotta get him in, use without doubt two trades to do it. I will have to use Hopper as one of them.

That being said. I also understand that I cant have them all.

It is risky and an unnecessary risk in my opinion. If he catches fire early you are probably going to struggle finding a captain to score close to him and his price may not drop.

Then even if he starts poorly, you want him at some stage of the season and yes he may drop in value a fair bit but you still need to have the trades ready to go to get him in at the right time. Not always easy.

So yes it could well work but given the risk vs reward I think it's too big a gamble. You might start the season behind the 8 ball. If captaincy wasn't a thing, then it would be a much less risky play but I'd rather wait till later in the season to gamble like that!
I have actually not looked at his fixture.
WB
BL
SYD
WCE
ESS
RICH
NTH
GCS
HAW

Then Port, who I see as the ONLY team in that lot who will both to tag him, maybe Sydney? Either way his average wont drop below 120. WCE ESS and RICH those three weeks he will catch fire, Essendon are shit, weak and refuse to pay attention to anyone. WCE see Essendon, Richmond have never cared who dominates them.

or he can easily have the C and pop out 300...........

ive currently got titch as my m1 o_O
giphy.gif

Maybe a little gem here to cover your loss THECHIEFTON ? bargain basement HH

"While first-round picks Cam Mackenzie (pick No.7) and Josh Weddle (pick No.18) have produced impressive maiden pre-seasons, Henry Hustwaite (pick No.37) was the most striking of the draftees, standing out with his poise through the middle of the ground."

Anyone else think bailey Smith priced at 542k is priced really well? No dunkley, you'd assume he'd be getting more mid time? In only 4 percent of teams. Sure his disposal is a question mark, but he gets it so often and so easily that it almost doesn't matter.

Hm, he already averaged 29 possessions per game last year for his 98 average – realistically, how many more will he rack up? There'll potentially be a bump with a higher contested possession rate and maybe more tackles, but you can expect that DE% to go down even further with more clangers.

For the sake of keeping it simple, if you keep all the key metrics (disposals, DE%, goals, tackles, marks etc) the same, he'd need to average ~34 possessions per game to move into the keeper range. The Dogs are still well equipped with mids (Bont, Macrae, Libba, Treloar et al), so there's better options out there IMO. That being said, you could do worse.

Slaughters the footy more horrifically than Taranto does, and that's saying something.

Load up mate

1677045380088.png

My POV ....very little midfield changes at MELB .....whereas at ADEL, Schoenberg has really stood up over PS, and Rankine will go thru the midfield a lot .....could eat away at Lairds points

Also, not a friendly 6 week opening fixture .....yes, 4 at Adelaide Oval, but some very tough opponents

Whitfield is my bold prediction to have a ripper year. He'll get MID/DEF DPP. Reckon he'll play 18+ games and he'll be back to his best.

Bookmark it.

That said, not picking him until he gets DPP.

View attachment 1613412

My POV ....very little midfield changes at MELB .....whereas at ADEL, Schoenberg has really stood up over PS, and Rankine will go thru the midfield a lot .....could eat away at Lairds points

Also, not a friendly 6 week opening fixture .....yes, 4 at Adelaide Oval, but some very tough opponents
They were my thoughts too. Don’t get me wrong Laird was phenomenal last year and one of my best picks, but Clarry doesn’t have too many players coming to steal his points, which means he just gets the edge for me.

View attachment 1613412

The answer is both

How come Macrae is only at 15% ownership what am I missing? Is there concern about his role?
Not enough PS hype .....gotta be careful of the Clubs fluff media pieces this time of the year .....I always rely on history / value ....and Macrae is a value pick this year