List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread III

I for one, watching us win that last game, felt so much better heading into an off season. Yes it has cost us Pick 1, but from a psychological point of view, at last winning a game again, was so much more important.

Sure it was against the Gold Coast, a terribly disappointing outfit if ever there was one (should never have been created in the first place) but winning any game of football, creates hope for the future and we as a football club need every ounce of hope we can get.

Following on from that the girls started winning games, which was so wonderful to see, and I, at least, felt we have some things to look forward to again.
It’s done now, I went the most nuts when we won it but was good for the fans and I am sure Clarko will use it as a point of reference in the preseason to drive belief.

Imagine the desolate vibe if we went into round 1 carrying a 20 something loss streak, for us in the stands and the players. 1 game win streak isn't anything to celebrate but the alternative option was ****ing dire, just imagine we got scheduled against a couple of good teams to start the season off, every week we're back to breaking that winless streak record and the media just starts hammering on everyone while constantly pointing to the tally.

**** that. **** that so hard. I am so glad we won and that the pressure valve got released.

Indeed mate (as a father of 13 and 11yr olds) and at that age the friends in other club colours are becoming lippy, echoing the “povo club should just relocate to Tassie” crap they hear from their equally mouthy family members.

The final round win was worth it’s weight in gold for the next gen of North nuts.

Furthermore, as all parents of school kids know, footy colours day is held around GF time. This year was the first one my son had some reluctance to wear any footy colours.

“Why?” I demanded to know. After a half hour of early morning silence he sheepishly said “Ned and the others make fun of me in front of everyone and there’s only one other North supporter!”

“Hey, this is the thing that makes us unique. There’s less of us but we take on all comers. Hell, it’s what our actual club does. I get it, it’s draining, but mark my words they’re just jumping on the bandwagon now their dad’s club is up and about yet we didn’t hear a peep from them when they were losing, right? Stand loud and proud in your North colours mate and if push comes to shove, tell them your dad will love to hear what they’re saying.”

Once he’s big enough this will all just be banter but at 11 he’s ill equipped to handle it and I felt sorry for him for the first time this year.

I cannot wait for that to change once we’re back atop the bloody ladder.

Couple things:
  • They’re contending
  • They have a couple academy boys next year
  • Every draft is approximately the same (+/- 10%) regardless of noise
  • List spots are tight and as a result, clubs have had to draft less
Yes... and there's a generational talent every year

Furthermore, as all parents of school kids know, footy colours day is held around GF time. This year was the first one my son had some reluctance to wear any footy colours.

“Why?” I demanded to know. After a half hour of early morning silence he sheepishly said “Ned and the others make fun of me in front of everyone and there’s only one other North supporter!”

“Hey, this is the thing that makes us unique. There’s less of us but we take on all comers. Hell, it’s what our actual club does. I get it, it’s draining, but mark my words they’re just jumping on the bandwagon now their dad’s club is up and about yet we didn’t hear a peep from them when they were losing, right? Stand loud and proud in your North colours mate and if push comes to shove, tell them your dad will love to hear what they’re saying.”

Once he’s big enough this will all just be banter but at 11 he’s ill equipped to handle it and I felt sorry for him for the first time this year.

Had the same situation with my 10 year old. He came home pretty upset after copping lip all day as the only roos supporter in the school.

On the flip side, my North supporter brother is a principal and footy colours day helps him decide who gets the awards in assembly.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

With the temporary pick swap deadline in 10 days on nov 10th

You’d assume we’d schedule a call or meeting on the final day or just before it with west coast to hash it out once and for all
I disagree.

We shouldn't even be talking to those cashed up fifo bogans.
Take what we are given which is a lot. And build from that.

Imagine the desolate vibe if we went into round 1 carrying a 20 something loss streak, for us in the stands and the players. 1 game win streak isn't anything to celebrate but the alternative option was ******* dire, just imagine we got scheduled against a couple of good teams to start the season off, every week we're back to breaking that winless streak record and the media just starts hammering on everyone while constantly pointing to the tally.

* that. * that so hard. I am so glad we won and that the pressure valve got released.
Not least of which we avoided three spoons in a row.

Have to go back more than 90 years when that last happened.

I remember how crap I felt when WC knocked off the Dogs.

Each to their own.

Yes... and there's a generational talent every year

When you take a step back an look at the mental gymnastics around the draft it is pretty funny.

In Harley Reid there is meant to be this absolute consensus pick 1 who is, as you say a generational talent, except he is only a consensus pick 1 because the other bloke is tied to an academy and not available within the open draft pool. So this generational talent consensus pick 1 is only that from a certain point of view. A view that excludes other players.

It is vacuous.

I have little doubt Reid will be a splendid player for whoever he plays for, us or otherwise. If it was an open pool I strongly believe Walter would go pick 1. Because typically when they are rated that high KPF >Mid/utility.

Agree with others re the importance of breaking the losing streak. I watched the GC game with my 14yr old daughter who's endured several years of home game losses at Marvel... we'd almost forgotten the feeling.

In any case I was never really bothered about pick 1, think it's a bit of a curse tbh. Almost every year the media build a generational-talent -must-have narrative about #1 and almost every year, they're not the best of the crop.

Naismith has signed with Richmond and Oscar McDonald has signed with Freo as DFAs.

Had the same situation with my 10 year old. He came home pretty upset after copping lip all day as the only roos supporter in the school.

On the flip side, my North supporter brother is a principal and footy colours day helps him decide who gets the awards in assembly.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Kids just want to fit in. That’s the bit that makes it tough for them. It’s alright when we are all older and can tell them all to jam it. When I was a kid I was the only North supporter in the entire school let alone year level haha. Which is why we are so bloody minded now. Support your kids Dads. Let them have a rest for a bit if they want from supporting but an absolute ban on buying any other teams gear ! Patience is a bloody virtue.

Bloody Ned, always hated that kid, little turd.

Kids just want to fit in. That’s the bit that makes it tough for them. It’s alright when we are all older and can tell them all to jam it. When I was a kid I was the only North supporter in the entire school let alone year level haha. Which is why we are so bloody minded now. Support your kids Dads. Let them have a rest for a bit if they want from supporting but an absolute ban on buying any other teams gear ! Patience is a bloody virtue.
I was a kid during the halcyon days of the 70's early 80's and I reckon I was the only North supporter.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

I was a kid during the halcyon days of the 70's early 80's and I reckon I was the only North supporter.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
I knew a few Roos supporters in my school, late 90’s early 00’s when were at our peak
A friend is a teacher at a school near where I grew up and I asked him how many there were now, he didn’t know any
:(

Is this what you think?

I notice on the trade board an * supporter is touring inside word that a deal has been agreed on.

If you do believe this, what do you think the deal is?
No deal has been agreed to. Nothing. Nada. Nix. Zero. Zip. Zilch. Diddly Squat.

List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread III