List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - Champs Edition

Should We Look To Win Next 2 Games

Ruck mids are the future the game is evolving. He's got a deft touch with both his hands and his foot skills, they're seriously good, marking ability, poise and agility of a midfielder, clean below his knees, plays like a mid with overhead ability outside of the ruck contests, athleticism and endurance due to his elite athletic/basketball background.

Ruck craft takes years and you can teach it unlike the stuff he has.
The worry with under age rucks it takes 4yrs too complete against mature Rucks that they're up against. (Yes there are exceptions).
Rather we hunt the next Nank.

Ruck mids are the future the game is evolving. He's got a deft touch with both his hands and his foot skills, they're seriously good, marking ability, poise and agility of a midfielder, clean below his knees, plays like a mid with overhead ability outside of the ruck contests, athleticism and endurance due to his elite athletic/basketball background.

Ruck craft takes years and you can teach it unlike the stuff he has.

If was everything you said he’d be the clear the no.1 pick.

His kicking action is fluid but he miss kicks an awful lot (40, 44, 61 and 75% de at champs), he has problems over hitting and under hitting them. By hand he’s better but still has a tendency to give really floaty handballs.

He was a non factor in 2 champs games, okay in first half of 3rd then had 2 touches after ht. Awesome in 1st half vs VC and then had 3 touches after HT when VC moved Dean onto him who blanketed him.

he’s still got a long way to go before I’d say he’s good overhead, 1st half vc was by miles his best marking game and I’d take Sharp, Duursma, Greeves, Schubert, Dean, Curtin, as much better marks from this class off top of my head.

He needs to be way better in transition too if you want to say he’s a ruck/mid. He excels around stoppage.

On top of all that I don’t think he has anywhere near enough campaigner in him.

Ruck/mids have always been how the game is “evolving” from John Barnes, Dean Cox, Troy Simmonds, Kruezer NicNat, Grundy, English, Jackson… I’m sure older blokes could cite guys like Poly Farmer. I’m not saying cdt can’t be these guys just pointing out rucks who act as mids have long been a thing and it’s really only Jackson from a top 4 side who is that kind of ruck.

He’s actually showed a fair bit of promise going forward in the last couple of carnival games.
So he is very much in the unicorn category and I just can’t see us passing on him with two picks if west coast pass on him.

I agree. Just I probably mark him harder for some reason. His ceiling is stratospheric I agree.

Given our list if CDT is there at our pick then I reckon we should take him. Ruck is our biggest hole.

But if other clubs go nuts then maybe we just trade/FA a decent ruck and get multiple high end players instead. All depends on any offers if it comes.

Saying all that I have Sharp 1, Duursma 2 and CDT 3. Then a heap of talented guys who offer run and carry that I put a blanket over (Draft guru that I am :straining:). We'd need an amazing deal to not take players who fill our very real needs.

Agree,

We don't need a ruck unless its going to be some generational player who falls into our lap.

Rather we just start looking at improving our genuine midfielder options.

What if we do think he is that unicorn?

If was everything you said he’d be the clear the no.1 pick.

His kicking action is fluid but he miss kicks an awful lot (40, 44, 61 and 75% de at champs), he has problems over hitting and under hitting them. By hand he’s better but still has a tendency to give really floaty handballs.

He was a non factor in 2 champs games, okay in first half of 3rd then had 2 touches after ht. Awesome in 1st half vs VC and then had 3 touches after HT when VC moved Dean onto him who blanketed him.

he’s still got a long way to go before I’d say he’s good overhead, 1st half vc was by miles his best marking game and I’d take Sharp, Duursma, Greeves, Schubert, Dean, Curtin, as much better marks from this class off top of my head.

He needs to be way better in transition too if you want to say he’s a ruck/mid. He excels around stoppage.

On top of all that I don’t think he has anywhere near enough campaigner in him.

Ruck/mids have always been how the game is “evolving” from John Barnes, Dean Cox, Troy Simmonds, Kruezer NicNat, Grundy, English, Jackson… I’m sure older blokes could cite guys like Poly Farmer. I’m not saying cdt can’t be these guys just pointing out rucks who act as mids have long been a thing and it’s really only Jackson from a top 4 side who is that kind of ruck.

I’d think the fact he was productive in those champs games with as many times the magnet moved and the disjointed nature of the stints he played in each spot is the sign of the talent. Evaluating talls is different, mainly eye test stuff and athletic attributes, they take time and you develop them as a club. He’s got intangibles that make him most likely the #1 pick so pretty close to what you’re saying.

His CTL form has been better and whilst it’s a lower standard, he’s looked way better in a defined role as you’d expect from a kid. Can string form together

Transition stuff has looked great for Calder when he’s been rucking, he moves well if you watch him off the ball, obvious athlete, and playing a role that promotes that stuff

I think the combine will answer alot of questions about CDT
If he was 5-6cm taller i would be more confident of him being a long term Ruck but at 200cm he would need to have some great athletic assets. Speen , Leap , Agility , Tank and needs to have a fair amount of campaigner in him

I’d think the fact he was productive in those champs games with as many times the magnet moved and the disjointed nature of the stints he played in each spot is the sign of the talent. Evaluating talls is different, mainly eye test stuff and athletic attributes, they take time and you develop them as a club. He’s got intangibles that make him most likely the #1 pick so pretty close to what you’re saying.

His CTL form has been better and whilst it’s a lower standard, he’s looked way better in a defined role as you’d expect from a kid. Can string form together

Transition stuff has looked great for Calder when he’s been rucking, he moves well if you watch him off the ball, obvious athlete, and playing a role that promotes that stuff

I’m not sure how you can say he was productive in champs? He rucked by himself vs SA and was beaten by Ainsworth, he was awful that day (so was the whole team bar Greeves). He had zero impact on game 2. He was okay for a half in game 3 and awesome as a full time forward for a half vs VC and than completely shut out of the game by Dean. Everyone compares him to Jackson but he dominated his national champs and was runner up in Larke medal. Meanwhile cdt has 2 min of champs highlights by noob, half of which are ruck taps, compared to sharp/Duursma etc who have 4 min. He’s champs were poor and you can blame a little on squeezing 3 rucks into team, but he was poor/non existent in 6/8 halves it can’t all be blamed on the ruck squeeze sometimes your ability and your desire have to come out.

As for CTL, I’ve watched those games, his transition stuff is solid but it’s not close to what’s being made out. Find me a play when he gets multiple possessions in a chain.

I’m not saying the potential isn’t there, I’m honestly not fussed if we pick him at 3, but he wouldn’t be my first choice or probably in my top 4. The draft after sharp and Duursma imo is just throw a blanket over them, any of Marsh, Cumming, Grlj, CDT, Greeves, Schubert, Farrow… hell even Barker Leray or XTaylor is bet on upside but all are inconsistent and flawed players. Also we desperately need a warm body for the ruck spot next year, but he is going to require huge amounts of development, he doesn’t have much campaigner about him, he doesn’t exude leadership and can often feel very passive in a game.

He has huge bust potential for a position that can be found much cheaper and usually equally effective later in draft. The top 8 is all just role playing ruckmen, bar Jackson who is played as a mid utility ruck and is an actual unicorn.

Yet the 3 other rucks looking at the AA spot Gawn, Xerri and Grundy all not in finals.

I do hope he has a big finals series though and makes himself the guy we want at 3, but also that probably makes him the no.1 pick.

Yeah I was watching Greeves earlier in season and Oskars pace stood out. But game vs power was when I really took notice. Been watching all eastern since to watch him.

Genuine pace, a raking left foot and he has force in his tackles.

Do you have connections to Ranges? The other one I really like (well top age anyway got some great bottom age talent, Gillian, Lawerence, Chapman, Devers etc.) is Sullivan Robey. Obviously come a bit from nowhere as he is a supp player, but has serious power and athleticism, and kicks some eye catching goals.
I’m not closely involved with the club, but a mate of mine is and we talk about his boys. So like you, I keep an eye on them. They are pretty happy with the talent at the club and a few have been going under the radar until recently. They all love Greeves, but have high hopes for the two Taylors. Dovaston obviously.

Gillan as an under ager is really impressive off half back. Smart and clean. One to watch next year.
My mate hasn’t said anything about Robey. He has only played a few games. Solid kid, not full size tall, but highly mobile. Noticed him in a game a few weeks ago snatch the ball out of congestion and kick sharp snap goals twice, off both sides if a remember correctly.

He’s actually showed a fair bit of promise going forward in the last couple of carnival games.
So he is very much in the unicorn category and I just can’t see us passing on him with two picks if west coast pass on him.
Reckon the free girls pass on him. Reason being rucks take 4-6 years to really blossom and it takes inordinate patience for club and player to wait that long.
When that player hails from another state it’s 100% that he’ll be targeted just as he’s coming into his prime by the hometown clubs

Another to add to the growing list of small and medium sized rebounding defenders that seem to make up half the 2025 draft pool. This was a huge game from Sutherland who's been putting together some outstanding performances in the Colts post Champs. Compared to others of his type in this pool, Sutherland is more disruptive defensively and has a better balance with his game. He's quick and athletic, excellent in the air for his size, and with ball in hand he backs himself to take on the game, break tackles and gain territory with run and solid kicking skills.

Isn’t Smillie an unicorn?

Possibly.

The problem with hunting unicorns is that they are mythical, or at least very very very rare. Which is why they are called unciorn.

Smillie is 195+cm genuine quality mid. If he does what his junior performance showed in the AFL he will be a match winner. And very difficult to match up on.

CDT is a decent ruck who is also a decent KP, and potentially a decent mid. His unicorn status is that he might be able to create a genuine outnumber in the midfield every week. Virtually impossible to match up on because other rucks don't have his athleticism.

But the big problem with unicorn hunting is that often they often end up more of a goat with a single horn than a legendary beast.

1755222577848.png

Possibly.

The problem with hunting unicorns is that they are mythical, or at least very very very rare. Which is why they are called unciorn.

Smillie is 195+cm genuine quality mid. If he does what his junior performance showed in the AFL he will be a match winner. And very difficult to match up on.

CDT is a decent ruck who is also a decent KP, and potentially a decent mid. His unicorn status is that he might be able to create a genuine outnumber in the midfield every week. Virtually impossible to match up on because other rucks don't have his athleticism.

But the big problem with unicorn hunting is that often they often end up more of a goat with a single horn than a legendary beast.

View attachment 2395648

Instead of a Unicorn just look for who could be a GOAT, like Dusty !!!

He would be raved about by everyone like Harley was a few years ago, so i doubt it.

yeah, gotta say I like him, but I don't see that super elite thing others do.

But then I just watch Noobers videos. ... So I am really a full on expert on junior footy

Dog What GIF by MOODMAN

Ball magnet’s massive statement in senior footy as young stars boost draft stocks — Draft Watch

www.foxsports.com.au

SAM GRLJ

The Oakleigh Chargers on-baller had skyrocketed into top 10 calculations earlier in the season, but he hasn’t quite shot the lights out in recent times. Having said that, his performances at VFL level for Richmond recently have done his first round chances no harm.

On debut against the Suns’ VFL side a fortnight ago, Grlj was on fire early, racking up eight touches in the first term. His speed, burst and power was exciting and he managed to finish with 18 touches, six marks and seven rebound 50s. Last week, he backed it up with a 15-disposal outing against Sandringham side.

Grlj played three matches for the Chargers at the start of the year, averaging 21 touches and five tackles a game. Throughout the National Championships with Vic Metro, the exciting midfielder went at 17 touches per game. He’s a likely first round prospect and will be eyeing off a strong end to the year with the Chargers.