Votes: 0 0.0%
  • X.Taylor&

Votes: 1 0.6%
  • Farrow & Grlj

Votes: 1 0.6%

Unfortunately too many seem to overlook this and only seem to focus on how our draft picks this week will impact the next 1-2 years. The kids we're picking are going to be the core of our side from 2028 on and by then there will be a lot of changes between how our list looks now and how it will look then.

Just looking at our out of contract list for next year and I can easily see all of:

Prestia
Trezise
Clarke
Smith
Fawcett
Lefau
Broad
Sonsie

Departing the club at the end of next season, while the likes of Maurice & Lynch could go either way.

That's 10 changes in just 1 year

Don’t throw Judson in there.

I hear you.

I have said all along that Taylor (and Grill for that matter) were better gets if we split our pick, and would still prefer 2 of Sharp, Robey and Cumming). We didn't win our premierships because of Vlastuin, we won because we had two brownlow medallist onballers and all our other guns who rotated through the square.

If they want to pencil in back flank onto our upcoming premiership side then that's all well and good but not what I think is most pressing. But at the end of the day, I back these guys to know what the hell they are doing. I won't melt if we end up with Robey and Taylor. There are worse ways to squander picks.

I’m not sure you remember Richmond’s game plan… we based it off defensive fifty turnovers. If we had a shit defence we never would have won a single premiership no matter how great our midfield was.
We had Rance, Grimes, Astruby, Houli, etc gun backmen

Just saw that Cumming only averaged 17 touches in the national championships. Is that a worry or any context behind it?

He played a 50/50 split forward/on ball.

He was good without being great in champs. Would say he was SAs 5th or 6th best player behind Sharp, Schubert, and Marsh and maybe Kellaway, Barker, Leray and cook. Certainly somewhere in that 2nd group

They would be picking him as they see him as being a big part in the team that will challenge for the big prize. Would you be unhappy if he ends up playing like the great Nick Vlastuin?
No, but I also think we don't need to jump on it right now. I trust the recruiting team though. It is what it is, we all have different preferences, I just would pull the trigger on him in the top 5 open draft picks.

I watched Rhy's interview on Gettable and here are my objective views on it.
Robey - he was very matter of fact, not much emotive language. Didn't really give much away.

Xavier Taylor - pretty much the opposite to how he responded to Robey. Emotive language, the recounting of a phrase said to him by XT

Cumming - this was tougher to interpret. The joking about Blair's food preferences throughout made it difficult to get a read. Rhy came across as slightly more guarded when speaking about the Cumming meeting. Claimed it was routine (props to Rusty Beam who broke it first). Quick subjective point - I don't think it was routine in the way he was alluding to, I think it's routine in the way where we visit players we are likely going to pick to let them know accordingly but still not saying it's 100%. Similar to Lalor last year, but as we had pick 1 last year, we were able to tell him he was being taken.

If I was putting my own hard earned on who we pick it would be;
3 - Xavier Taylor
4 - Sam Cumming

FWIW - I still can't shake this gut feeling about Sharp. I feel like if we go with Cumming, it makes a whole lot of sense to pair him with Sharp. Go home factor is real and anything you can do as a club to temper that feeling early is going to be beneficial later on.

I always take alleged inside info with a grain of salt (as should everyone btw) but there's been a consistency with the info this year. It's predominantly all been linked to the SA boys in Sharp and Cumming. Pair that with Jevan Phillipou saying we have spoken to him the most out of any other clubs who is also based in SA.

Very tough to call this year.

No problem mate.

For what it’s worth I think Cumming would be incredible for you guys. I see him as your Cotchin replacement off field and onfield.

He is a natural leader, and all things going well, could easily be your captain in 5 years.

Draft Whispers: Hint revealed as Tigers meet mid;​

A hint has been revealed over which direction Richmond could go with one of its opening two picks in Wednesday’s draft.

Meanwhile, West Coast boss has shed some light on the club’s possible pick-trade planning.

The Tigers have met with North Adelaide midfielder-forward Sam Cumming as intrigue grows over what the club opts to do with Picks 3 and 4.

AFL Media’s Cal Twomey believes four players are firmly in the Tigers’ mix: Sam Cumming, Sam Grlj, Sullivan Robey and Xavier Taylor.

But a last-minute visit to rural Victoria has given the indication that Cumming might be the frontrunner from that crop.

“Interestingly, though, on Friday, Richmond flew up to Mildura to see Sam Cumming,” Twomey said on AFL Media show Gettable.

“That’s only a few days out from the draft. We know they did that a few days out from last year’s draft to go and tell Sam Lalor he was the number one pick.

“They didn’t tell Sam Cumming that he’s going to be drafted, but it does show the interest in Sam Cumming.”

Fox Footy’s draft expert Ben Waterworth earlier today predictedthe Tigers would swoop on Cumming with its second selection.

Richmond recruiting boss Rhy Gieschen confirmed that club representatives had made the trip to visit Cumming.

“He’s obviously been boarding (in Adelaide), and we haven’t had the opportunity to go and meet his family yet, so it was a pretty routine visit,” Gieschen said.

“Quality family, good person and someone that we’ve been watching again since the 16s, so he’s another one who’s in our mix.”

Essendon and Melbourne are also said to be interested in the 186-centimetre prospect whose footy idol is Isaac Heeney.

The Prince Alfred College product kicked four goals and averaged 17.0 disposals in South Australia’s championship-winning campaign this year to earn All-Australian honours.

A tweener back pocket defender with pick three FFS. This is where you find Marcus Bontempelli, Dustin Martin or Christian Petracca, etc. Not Lewis Melican, Tom Doedee or Aidan Corr.

Xavier Taylor would have to be the most underwhelming top three draft pick of all time. Lachie Plowman had more about him coming through the system.
Better fire up the AI for a new avatar

I’m not sure you remember Richmond’s game plan… we based it off defensive fifty turnovers. If we had a shit defence we never would have won a single premiership no matter how great our midfield was.
We had Rance, Grimes, Astruby, Houli, etc gun backmen
up the field
we had 2 gun KPFs, 3 goal kicking smalls. hard running Lambert/Graham ~ who could hit the scoreboard.

Good/average ruck and a " role playing " wing.

2025 5 wins with the worst attack.

we are so far of flags........we need talent across the field.

so if we are assuming XT is a lock, which I am completely fine with, and just on him, I wouldn't get too caught up on XT the defender, the kid could play anywhere such are his talents.

But if the other pick is between Robey and Cumming that is a really tough decision.

Both play forward / mid, however Robey's extra height and could still be growing makes him more of a forward 50 marking target threat.

Cumming probably has him for speed and agility. Robey has the strength / power battle.

Both have played against men and handled themselves well, albeit different competitions.

Is there maybe more of a view on Cummings ceiling because we have more info to go off? or does not knowing Robeys full ceiling add more reason to pick him?

If both are available come our pick, I reckon we spin the wheel of names to let it decide.
Could be where the XT connection at Eastern Ranges edges Robey in front

List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - Draft Analysis