List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - The Final Countdown

What Is Your Preferred Combination At Picks 3 & 4?

The way I see it is Duursma is the standout player, with the highest upside in the draft. WC take him at number 1 and take Sharp at Number 2 as a proven leader and prospect that will drive standards and cover for a Reid who can get aggressive at stoppages.

We then have the option draft CDT which I don’t think we would be that keen on, therefore hope Essendon fall over themselves for him and offer pick 5, 21 and F2, Essendon then draft CDT.

PICK 4 is where is gets interesting, do we rate someone like Sullivan Robey or do we think it is more hype. My hope is someone like Melbourne come for him and offer pick 7 and future first for pick 4 and Essendon F2, Melbourne then draft Robey.

At pick 5 I think we draft Xavier Taylor.

At pick 7 we look at drafting Sam Grjl/Cumming

At pick 21 we aim for Dovaston/NHH/O Taylor/Barker/Rodriguez/Emmett

Match F/S Kellaway

We go into 2026 Draft:
Our own 1 (range 1 - 4)
Melbourne 1 (Range 2 - 6)
Our own 2 (range 19 - 25)

I hope out hope of bidding on Walker and Carlton not being able to match. But a fall back being Cochrane, the think walker fits our needs more then Cochrane but both look to be absolute stars. Then go Van Dyke, then match a bid for Armstrong, then match bid for Leys and Daffy.

Summary of 2025 and 2026:
  • X Taylor
  • S Grjl
  • Dovaston/NHH/O Taylor/Barker/Rodriguez/Emmett
  • Kellaway
  • Walker/Cochrane
  • Van Dyke
  • Armstrong
  • Leys
  • Daffy
Our aim for free agency in 2026 would be top level mids and a ruckman.

I’m keen on van dyke and daffy in the fwd line sheesh with little Mauricio

Dan Annable and Zeke Uwland I believe have become extremely overrated by so called experts out there.

Annable in particular is actually pretty poor by foot and has shown very little in the way of versatility. He’s a pretty low-damage accumulator with low end speed. If he were to be in the open draft I would doubt teams would be rating his as high. Great character etc etc but as a match winner/high ceiling type of player he’s pretty low end.

Zeke Uwland is a very nice left footed kick, but is very undersized and another one who doesn’t have much in terms of speed. I also think he isn’t the best kick in the draft.
Could see Essendon bidding on Annable. Would be surprised if bids come before then for him.

It was pretty clear we were down to Lalor and FOS by end of September. Only Jagga fanbois thought he was a show at 1. The question was would we trade up for 2 to get Lalor and FOS.

I really haven’t seen any “info” outside the high upside comment by Giesch than says there’s a group of 15. Oh I keep reading people heard we’re all into CDT but I’m like 90% certain that’s come from Ghost knowing a family friend who said we’re interest based on the family saying so and the family want us over Essendon (which personally I’m skeptical about he’s done all he is development at Essendon including playing with their vfl and training at the bombers). But from there it just seems like wce fans regurgitating and Chinese whispering that into Richmond want cdt to convince themselves that we will overpay for pick 2.

Going back now id have traded up

I wouldn't say worst case Rioli. Rioli's a known gun. Grlj also isnt as good of a kick.
I mean style mate, heck if we was a Butters ceiling or Rioli floor, he would pick 1 haha

The way I see it is Duursma is the standout player, with the highest upside in the draft. WC take him at number 1 and take Sharp at Number 2 as a proven leader and prospect that will drive standards and cover for a Reid who can get aggressive at stoppages.

We then have the option draft CDT which I don’t think we would be that keen on, therefore hope Essendon fall over themselves for him and offer pick 5, 21 and F2, Essendon then draft CDT.

PICK 4 is where is gets interesting, do we rate someone like Sullivan Robey or do we think it is more hype. My hope is someone like Melbourne come for him and offer pick 7 and future first for pick 4 and Essendon F2, Melbourne then draft Robey.

At pick 5 I think we draft Xavier Taylor.

At pick 7 we look at drafting Sam Grjl/Cumming

At pick 21 we aim for Dovaston/NHH/O Taylor/Barker/Rodriguez/Emmett

Match F/S Kellaway

We go into 2026 Draft:
Our own 1 (range 1 - 4)
Melbourne 1 (Range 2 - 6)
Our own 2 (range 19 - 25)

I hope out hope of bidding on Walker and Carlton not being able to match. But a fall back being Cochrane, the think walker fits our needs more then Cochrane but both look to be absolute stars. Then go Van Dyke, then match a bid for Armstrong, then match bid for Leys and Daffy.

Summary of 2025 and 2026:
  • X Taylor
  • S Grjl
  • Dovaston/NHH/O Taylor/Barker/Rodriguez/Emmett
  • Kellaway
  • Walker/Cochrane
  • Van Dyke
  • Armstrong
  • Leys
  • Daffy
Our aim for free agency in 2026 would be top level mids and a ruckman.
If we went into the draft with 3 & 4, and walked out with Taylor and 21... this board would melt down.

no bid on Kellaway..........Pick 38 we could draft

Jack Dalton - Sandringham Dragons
No one finished the Coates Talent League season in hotter form than Jack Dalton. Played in Sandringham Dragons' midfield and, despite playing just half a season, took out the club's best and fairest, underlining his consistency and star power. A running machine, Dalton ran the quickest two-kilometre time trial of any player at the National AFL Draft Combine with a time of 5:53 minutes.

Tom Burton - Western Jets
The Vic Metro co-captain's run-and-gun ways make him effective on counterattack, and he proved his high-end speed, endurance and vertical leap at the National AFL Draft Combine. Spent plenty of time in Western Jets' engine room this year but has also spent time off halfback where he can gain metres with his drive and willingness to get overlap possession.

Talor Byrne - GWV Rebels
The crowning moment of Byrne's season was a five-goal ‘draft me' game in Vic Country's clash with Vic Metro, where he provided recruiters with a synopsis of his full package. Is strong over the footy, deceptively hard to beat in the air, clean at the foot of marking contests and has good speed off the mark which enables him to power away from stoppages. A complete front-and-centre forward who also proved energetic when injected into the midfield.

Rory Wright - Sandringham Dragons
Has drawn comparisons across the industry to Luke Hodge since his move from the midfield to half-back. Caught the eye early in the year as an aggressive midfielder, and his courage, intercepting and kicking penetration off half-back to finish the season has further strengthened his draft case.

Sam Swadling - West Perth
Clean, hard-working and strong in the contest, the West Perth talent will offer clubs a balanced midfielder likely to be available at some stage of the second round of the AFL Draft. Earned All-Australian honours after a consistent carnival for the Black Swans. Will start his career as a forward but does his best work higher up the ground where his hard running and ball-winning come to the fore.

Fred Rodriguez - South Fremantle
A big-bodied midfielder who does his best work at centre stoppages, Rodriguez came into 2025 as one of Western Australia's most hyped prospects and an MVP-winning National Championships and some strong footy for South Fremantle underlined his talent. Hard to pin down and capable of getting forward and hitting the scoreboard.
200 (3).gif

Anyone tried to work out if pick 38 comes in at all once all the players are matched?

I've got it at about pick 34 atm.

Anyone else got better?
Yeah I think about the same and about 7 bids, so looking at about 27th best from open pool.

Looking in the realm of Dalton, Byrne, Hetherton, Burton, Kondogiannis types.

Yeah I think about the same and about 7 bids, so looking at about 27th best from open pool.

Looking in the realm of Dalton, Byrne, Hetherton, Burton, Kondogiannis types.

Thanks Tigs, knew i could count on you.

Reckon that pick will come before Kellaway. Do we have a list spot? Maybe the club is looking to get a F2 out of it?

Seems like sitting at pick 3 and letting whoever falls to us is the play. Duursma, CDT or Robey will be there.

If the Don's have a hard on for any of them you make them pay up on the night.
What do people think of
Pick 3 & f2 for
Pick 5 & f1?

Thanks Tigs, knew i could count on you.

Reckon that pick will come before Kellaway. Do we have a list spot? Maybe the club is looking to get a F2 out of it?
Depends what they want to do with the list. Think we could run 4 rookies and have 38 main list. We've been going 36 & 6 I believe. We've lost 3 main list I think, plus the 2 extra spots if we want minus 1 to promote Campbell.

Would give us the option to pick 4 in MD & 1 in rookie or 3 & 2 or 2 & 3.

I think Kellaway will be a rookie tbh. Only about 55 picks will be used and haven't seen him in any lists, top 30, 40, 45 & 50 I've seen on various sites and he's never on them.

What would be harder to swallow:
  • Eagles (or a team trading up for one of the Eagles picks) takes Robey before we have a chance, OR
  • He’s on the board but we don’t take him with either 3 or 4, leaving him for the Bombers (poor kid!)

I know we’ve heard reference to “high ceiling” players out of the club, but a lot of other little pieces of info that indicate we like Robey, but not a pick 3/4 level of like.

I’m preparing myself mentally.
We got 38 for a reason

I could kind of see us taking X Taylor as a swingman

I love XT but he’s not a swingman and hasn’t really shown midfield chops and nothing as a forward.

He’s basically a better faster broad who might become a midfielder.

I’m still happy with him at 4, but only if it’s paired with Robey as he was clearly Ranges best prospect and outplayed XT in the majority of ranges game 2nd half of year.

Would love to turn the Young pick into Harley Barker somehow on draft night, sounds like he could still be there in the 20s.

Plus the melts on here recruiting another guy off an ACL would be great fun.
Love to get Barker.
F2 for pick 15ish?

Going back now id have traded up

Im the opposite. Would have done the trade last year, but now prefer having Smillie and Trainor.

no bid on Kellaway..........Pick 38 we could draft

Jack Dalton - Sandringham Dragons
No one finished the Coates Talent League season in hotter form than Jack Dalton. Played in Sandringham Dragons' midfield and, despite playing just half a season, took out the club's best and fairest, underlining his consistency and star power. A running machine, Dalton ran the quickest two-kilometre time trial of any player at the National AFL Draft Combine with a time of 5:53 minutes.

Tom Burton - Western Jets
The Vic Metro co-captain's run-and-gun ways make him effective on counterattack, and he proved his high-end speed, endurance and vertical leap at the National AFL Draft Combine. Spent plenty of time in Western Jets' engine room this year but has also spent time off halfback where he can gain metres with his drive and willingness to get overlap possession.

Talor Byrne - GWV Rebels
The crowning moment of Byrne's season was a five-goal ‘draft me' game in Vic Country's clash with Vic Metro, where he provided recruiters with a synopsis of his full package. Is strong over the footy, deceptively hard to beat in the air, clean at the foot of marking contests and has good speed off the mark which enables him to power away from stoppages. A complete front-and-centre forward who also proved energetic when injected into the midfield.

Rory Wright - Sandringham Dragons
Has drawn comparisons across the industry to Luke Hodge since his move from the midfield to half-back. Caught the eye early in the year as an aggressive midfielder, and his courage, intercepting and kicking penetration off half-back to finish the season has further strengthened his draft case.

Sam Swadling - West Perth
Clean, hard-working and strong in the contest, the West Perth talent will offer clubs a balanced midfielder likely to be available at some stage of the second round of the AFL Draft. Earned All-Australian honours after a consistent carnival for the Black Swans. Will start his career as a forward but does his best work higher up the ground where his hard running and ball-winning come to the fore.

Fred Rodriguez - South Fremantle
A big-bodied midfielder who does his best work at centre stoppages, Rodriguez came into 2025 as one of Western Australia's most hyped prospects and an MVP-winning National Championships and some strong footy for South Fremantle underlined his talent. Hard to pin down and capable of getting forward and hitting the scoreboard.
View attachment 2454646

Good list but outside Byrne and Burton wouldn’t say it’s a fast list.

What do people think of
Pick 3 & f2 for
Pick 5 & f1?

I think my dreams about Robey are less fanciful than this.