Autopsy 2025 Late flourish doesn't mask embarrassment

Who played well for the Blues in Round 15 vs the Roos?

Could that be because in D50 to F50 transition we're #1 ranked team in the AFL?
We're also top 3 in forward half intercepts.

Yet we're bottom 3 in both scoring from forward half intercepts and in scoring on transition, The efficiency (or inefficiency) stats are almost unbelievable when you see what we actually are good at.

The efficiency (or inefficiency) stats are almost unbelievable when you see what we actually are good at.
It's been appalling.

However, a reasonable amount of it can probably be attributed to the lack of availability, continuity and fitness of our forward players.

Of our 2 superstar forwards, Charlie missed the whole preseason, and is clearly not close to his usual fitness.
H has played 7/14, including Round 1 when he was hampered by the knee, and Round 6 when he went off early concussed.
Kemp started to stand up, 5 games.
Williams arguably our best small forward, subbed off twice in his 10/14 games.
Probably our 2 best half forwards for transition, Cottrell and Lij, 6 and 5 games.
Fantasia looked a lock in the preseason, missed the first 11 games.
Durdin missed the first 5 games (1 VFL game).

Let alone Jagga.

This does not excuse the way we've played. We should still have won another 4-5 games. But it hasn't helped.

The inability of Young and Weitering to exist in the same backline reflects more in the “leader” than Lewis. Time and time again Weiters picks his spot in the defence and demands others structure around him. Fluid zones rely on all parts moving in a proactive manner. Conversely Weiters loves a hand off more than he likes to accept a hand over. No place for egos in team structure.
Bang on!

The inability of Weiters and Young to work together is 100% on Weiters. Every time I hear him publicly talk about his “synergy” and “trust” of other KPD’s - Jones, Gov, Haynes, Silvagni etc - I want to scream. It’s so self-centred, arrogant, and positions himself as the untouchable one.

Young has been hot and cold of course, but he showed he was more than capable in that stretch when he had to take over from Weiters. Instead of Weiters seeing that and throwing all of his support behind him, he’s instead undermined him at every opportunity since by omission with his public commentary. It’s the exact oppposite of leadership.

It’s surely also had to have created a division in the back group between Weiters’ favourites and Young’s close mates (Boyd, Saad).

Young is a C grader trying to be a B grader ... and Weiters knows it.

Would Young get a defender game in a Top 4 team .. Top 6? Of course not ... but at Carlton - Yes, of course

This is why Carlton are where they are ... cause they believe these Guys are part of a Premiership journey.

Same goes for our forward line ... find it difficult to be able to kick more than 2 Goals in a second half of footy.
Is this acceptable on the journey to the next Flag?

Would Young get a defender game in a Top 4 team .. Top 6? Of course not ... but at Carlton - Yes, of course

This is why Carlton are where they are ... cause they believe these Guys are part of a Premiership journey.

Same goes for our forward line ... find it difficult to be able to kick more than 2 Goals in a second half of footy.
Billy Frampton played in a flag.
No team has 42 stars.

Young is a considerably better player than Billy Frampton, for example....

See ... this is the problem. Many Carlton folk accept mediocrity as being good enough ... when it obviously isn't.

I personally don't accept 10th on the ladder is good enough ... others may believe let's be patient and stay positive ... she'll be right mate. Apologies, but I'm having a bit of trouble accepting this.
Maybe I'm being too impatient ... it's only been 30 years. Richmond had to wait 36
I wish I was happier about how Carlton are traveling.

See ... this is the problem. Many Carlton folk accept mediocrity as being good enough ... when it obviously isn't.

I personally don't accept 10th on the ladder is good enough ... others may believe let's be patient and stay positive ... she'll be right mate. Apologies, but I'm having a bit of trouble accepting this.
There’s a huge difference between accepting mediocrity, and expecting the whole list to be guns in the age of the salary cap.

There are very average players in every premiership team.
The key is getting the team to play well.

Maybe I'm being too impatient ... it's only been 30 years. Richmond had to wait 36

I am last person to accept mediocrity. It is our biggest issue

However, in this case we are discussing what a player brings to the group and how we structure. Sometimes an average player can help that structure by playing a role because we can't have 23 stars. It's the collective that matters.

Where we are at the moment is not good enough.

But on this point IMO that is not medicority.

There’s a huge difference between accepting mediocrity, and expecting the whole list to be guns in the age of the salary cap.

There are very average players in every premiership team.
The key is getting the team to play well.

Your take that I am expecting Carlton's list to be full of 'Guns' is incorrect.
Feel free to quote where I have said/alluded to this?

What is correct is your last line

I think Melbourne is a team full of Guns ... and it is baffling to me that they are not performing better and winning Premierships.

I don't believe that Collingwood, Adelaide, Hawthorn or Geelong are full of Guns ... but the Coach is able to get more out of their Playing group. Brisbane are probably loaded with more Guns but they don't always fire up together.

I'd like to see every Player in Carlton being rated on their potential and score them on how close they are to reaching that potential both Individually and as a team ... and compare that to other teams that I mentioned above.

My $ is on Carlton Players (+Melb at the top) are right up there when it comes to their Players performing well below their potential ... with few Players like Hewitt achieving close to their best

Your take that I am expecting Carlton's list to be full of 'Guns' is incorrect.

What is correct is your last line

I think Melbourne is a team full of Guns ... and it is baffling to me that they are not performing better and winning Premierships.

I don't believe that Collingwood, Adelaide, Hawthorn or Geelong are full of Guns ... but the Coach is able to get more out of their Playing group. Brisbane are probably loaded with more Guns but they don't always fire up together.

I'd like to see every Player in Carlton being rated on their potential and score them on how close they are to reaching that potential both Individually and as a team ... and compare that to other teams that I mentioned above.

My $ is on Carlton Players (+Melb at the top) are right up there when it comes to their Players performing well below their potential ... with few Players like Hewitt achieving close to their best
That’s a very different point to your previous post about Young.

Autopsy 2025 Late flourish doesn't mask embarrassment