List Mgmt. 2025 List Management šŸ“ƒ

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

And how many 'A-Grade' free agents switched clubs purely because of money?

Personally I think he'll re-sign....although the figures being thrown around could push his price up. He seems to be pretty settled at the club, and we've built a bloody impressive midfield that I'm not sure he'd want to leave behind. Saints midfield is possibly the worse in the AFL at the moment.
Why would anyone say they are leaving purely because of money?
Look at nearly everyone who went to GC and GWS who still had a career ahead of them. Scully, Ablett, Ward, Bock etc. This is the type of offer we are talking about. It’s not an extra $200k who hundreds of players have knocked back.

Why would anyone say they are leaving purely because of money?
Look at nearly everyone who went to GC and GWS who still had a career ahead of them. Scully, Ablett, Ward, Bock etc. This is the type of offer we are talking about. It’s not an extra $200k who hundreds of players have knocked back.
All those players moved interstate.
Ablett was the only one who left a good club, where he’d already won 2 flags but had been underpaid because of the contract he signed before he became a gun.
Money was surely a factor for them.

But none of the players on the FA list in the article fits the same criteria as TDK.

Controversial opinion:

He’s not quick. He’s not slow….but he’s not quick.
That definitely is a cottreversial opinion.

Following on from my witty wordplay, I don't disagree, however his sustained cruising speed into top line speed and back repeatedly is pretty unmatched.
What he lacks for in football he makes up for in endurance, although his football has improved significantly over the last few years.
Keen to see what he brings this year. Has a few runs on the board so will be in the starting 22 initially one would think then his to try and keep.

Not worried about TDK leaving. Reckon he stays on circa $1m - $1.2m per season which is around the mark in the new salary cap environment.

He proved his loyalty only 18 months ago and will be looked after post-footy by the blues better than the Saints ever could.

This story is SOS trying to put pressure on our cap so he can continue chasing our depth players (maybe kemp).

Only way I could see TDK leave is if we fall off massively this year and sack Voss. Even if TDK did decide to leave he’d have to pay 50% of the wage increase to the ATO. Plus we’d make sure to match the Free agency money forcing a trade for 2-3 first round picks like GWS did with Jeremy Cameron.

All those players moved interstate.
Ablett was the only one who left a good club, where he’d already won 2 flags but had been underpaid because of the contract he signed before he became a gun.
Money was surely a factor for them.

But none of the players on the FA list in the article fits the same criteria as TDK.
How many players have turned down an offer worth ~$5-700k pa more over 7 years?

This vision doesn't do this moment justice but watching it live, Cottrell comes from the clouds to win the footy and makes a great decision. He's then on his bike again and his opponent just can't keep up.

I agree he might not be the quickest from a standing start in the team, but accelerating from a jog to top speed and maintaining it is something he does so well.
You are underrating Cotts. Watch the 2023 final v swans.

He’s actually quick and can kick on both sides of the body. Can also jump and kick goals.

Fogarty also kicks both sides of body. Can’t be underestimated how important this skill is forward of the ball.

And how many 'A-Grade' free agents switched clubs purely because of money?

Personally I think he'll re-sign....although the figures being thrown around could push his price up. He seems to be pretty settled at the club, and we've built a bloody impressive midfield that I'm not sure he'd want to leave behind. Saints midfield is possibly the worse in the AFL at the moment.

What am I missing? Dangerfield & Cameron both free agents went to Cats, not on GuesSENs list??šŸ¤·ā€ā™‚ļø

IMO, Cottrell does 'ok - good' at best when we are dominant and will win the game anyway. Almost invisible in the bad losses and when the game requires people to stand up and turn the tide.

I can think of one game exception to the above.

Maybe that is normal for a lot of the list though. I'm just mediocre on him. I'm not a fan of these one minor minor strength players. Cottrell can run. Fogarty can tackle...then what!

won 20 of our last 26 games with him in the side. dont be naive to his importance because he "doesn't kick goals"
I understand his role and undoubtedly is one of our better tacklers.
However we are giving the opposition an extra player to sag off in defence every time he plays.

For the record I like Cotts. I think his hard running up and down the ground covers a lot of gaps. It’s easier to appreciate him at the ground.

Acres runs almost as hard. Ollie too.

Great having them in the side.

Although I have SOME question marks about Ollie in the backline after watching match sim the other day. Is not a slam dunk there yet.

This vision doesn't do this moment justice but watching it live, Cottrell comes from the clouds to win the footy and makes a great decision. He's then on his bike again and his opponent just can't keep up.

I agree he might not be the quickest from a standing start in the team, but accelerating from a jog to top speed and maintaining it is something he does so well.

It’s a big strength of his but like other players we have had in the past, he doesnt have the capability to get on the end of enough balls, someone with his running ability and endurance needs to find more of the ball. I dont see him improving if he can’t get his numbers up

no one that has ever been reported on. Every chance TDK would have to walk away from the most money ever.
This isn’t a normal situation.
This isn't a normal situation?
Players are head-hunted all the time, Saints have had a crack at De Goey & Brayshaw & Davies Uniacke to name a few similarly TDK two years ago all offered big $ without success.

Saints are hardly one of the most attractive clubs to move to.

Good clubs don't divulge their recruitment strategies, pretty sure end result is TDK receives a extra $200-300k to stay at Carlton.

Out of interest who do people see stepping up to fill the toughness and grit that we lose with Kennedy gone and now Newman injured?

I know JSOS can as can the Skipper, hoping that Chez and maybe Walsh could develop this further, it would be remiss of me to not mention Docherty, who is already arguably like this.

Who else do you see? I feel like Elijah has the right swagger for this, but maybe a couple of years away.

Fogarty is a real strange one, he’s not young, turns 26 in April, does not get much of the footy and his numbers aren’t improving, people point to his pressure, his tackling numbers also aren’t improving and his highest ever goal tally for a season is 9.

He needs a huge season or he will be delisted.

11 possessions a game, 3 tackles and 0.6 goals isn’t AFL standard

Out of interest who do people see stepping up to fill the toughness and grit that we lose with Kennedy gone and now Newman injured?

I know JSOS can as can the Skipper, hoping that Chez and maybe Walsh could develop this further, it would be remiss of me to not mention Docherty, who is already arguably like this.

Who else do you see? I feel like Elijah has the right swagger for this, but maybe a couple of years away.

Lord looks a likely type in the middle alongside Cripps.
Cowan already plays with a ā€œtake no prisonersā€ edge to his game in defence.
These guys are the now and the future …

Fogarty is a real strange one, he’s not young, turns 26 in April, does not get much of the footy and his numbers aren’t improving, people point to his pressure, his tackling numbers also aren’t improving and his highest ever goal tally for a season is 9.

Must remember there were 2 games where he was subbed out early bring down those averages.

He also averaged 1.4 goal assists per game - the 3rd highest in the league (Would be number 1 if you scrap the injury subbed games)
And 5.1 Score Involvements per game - Considerably higher than any of our other small forwards and 7th on our list in general (once again, would be considerably higher if he wasn't subbed out injured twice)

Fog brings a lot to the table in terms of creating scores for others. May not do any flashy stuff or kick heaps of goals himself but at his best he sets up our scoring chains as well as anyone on our list.

Imo he's close to a lock for our side until Motlop and Durdin improve dramatically - Which im hopeful will be this year

Must remember there were 2 games where he was subbed out early bring down those averages.

He also averaged 1.4 goal assists per game - the 3rd highest in the league (Would be number 1 if you scrap the injury subbed games)
And 5.1 Score Involvements per game - Considerably higher than any of our other small forwards and 7th on our list in general (once again, would be considerably higher if he wasn't subbed out injured twice)

Fog brings a lot to the table in terms of creating scores for others. May not do any flashy stuff or kick heaps of goals himself but at his best he sets up our scoring chains as well as anyone on our list.

Imo he's close to a lock for our side until Motlop and Durdin improve dramatically - Which im hopeful will be this year

Also was it coincidental that our turnaround in form in 2023 was related to his return to the side.

šŸ¤”

The likelihood of us cutting him with a year to go on his contract is infinitesimal.

He brings a lot more to the team than what you are acknowledging, although he needs to improve his kicking (which was good when he first came to the club).