List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

Compensation would be band 1 which would be pick after where we finish. Aka if we have the season we think, late teens pick in an academy heavy draft
AFL then apply the Carlton tax and give us band 2 instead.

Mind you, band 1 and band 2 might turn out to be the same pick...

If our youth don't step up we are no chance to win a premiership. We are one of many sides who are close but not good enough.

We get good enough by injecting new players into the team who improve us and we will do that.

Guys like Motlop, Moir, Smith, Cowan, Lord, Hollands x2, Binns, Wilson etc they just have to come into the side, they have to or we aren't making progress.

Our cupboards have been really bare for forwards so we have recruited Moir, Motlop, E Hollands, Smith and shifted Kemp and Williams. Our recruiting has been really needs base. Our midfield has been terrible defensively, slow and immobile, no pressure when we aren't getting it so Kennedy goes out, Smith comes in, Lord comes in. They can run, chase and will run opposition players down. Our ball movement has been poor so we have added speed to the backline with Wilson, O Hollands and Cowan and done a mini-rebuild of the forward line.

I am excited by what we will look like this coming season. Smith as a forward/Mid and E Hollands as a forward mid gives us serious quality with our rotations. Smith brings us speed and elite footy IQ. Lord is one of the best pressure mids on our list and it was a blunder leaving him out for the final last season. Runs guys down and tackles like a beast but is also a good inside ball winner with an outside game. Will have a big impact if the coaches really trust him. I would call him a modern midfielder.

The rebuild of our forwardline is a big deal. The quality outside Curnow/McKay has been bloody ordinary. Because we lack talent there we have played guys on ability to run and effort but it's not good enough if you want to go to the next level. We are too easy to defend against because only two forwards are a threat and that makes us predictable to good opposition sides. In comes E Hollands and Smith rotation on a flank. Williams fitter and able to play half forward. Kemp that missing modern style third tall forward we have been looking for. Moir that talented and is a smart mid/small forward and Motlop, we have been waiting for him to mature and get fit but reports are good, he's got talent but needs to mature and he will. Then we turn those getting regular games into depth and that means out depth is really strong.

Depth is a keyword. Guys like Binns will be playing a bit next season. The Camporealy boys will be close I feel. Defence, we have some good depth there. I expect Wilson will play games and Boyd who I really rate is likely to become depth. Midfield depth easily comes from reshuffling. Docherty, E Hollands etc can easily go to a more midfield role if needed. Cottrell, Fogarty, Fantasia, Durdin are most likely going to be depth players and good quality ones at that.

A few injuries aren't going to hurt this year like they have in the past, especially with a lot of injury prone players off the list. The young players are AFL ready. Even Lemmy should be able to come in and as for ruck depth, we have 3 good options there so I think we are fine.

I am hoping that better management comes from all of this. Better quality players to rotate through the middle means we look after the midfielders more. Docherty, E Hollands, O Hollands and Smith are likely to rotate through the midfield rather than play there full time so that's excellent rotation quality.

We should be a good side, there really is no excuse this season, we should be up there.

Must remember there were 2 games where he was subbed out early bring down those averages.

He also averaged 1.4 goal assists per game - the 3rd highest in the league (Would be number 1 if you scrap the injury subbed games)
And 5.1 Score Involvements per game - Considerably higher than any of our other small forwards and 7th on our list in general (once again, would be considerably higher if he wasn't subbed out injured twice)

Fog brings a lot to the table in terms of creating scores for others. May not do any flashy stuff or kick heaps of goals himself but at his best he sets up our scoring chains as well as anyone on our list.

Imo he's close to a lock for our side until Motlop and Durdin improve dramatically - Which im hopeful will be this year
When Fog plays we win 3 out of 4 times. The only stat that's required.

On SM-F946B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I agree. But if there are 700,000 reasons per year, I wouldn't blame anyone.

Still, I think Tom is going to stay. I bloody hope so.

This will really be a conundrum for Tom when it comes to making his decision- if (and of course it’s a huge hypothetical, if - but entirely possible) we win a flag this year - then it’s not beyond the realms of possibility that he takes the offer, however if we don’t win a flag there is more likelihood that he will stay with his mates to finish the job.

Cripps absolutely has mongrel. He loves to push opposition players into the turf. Cowan has it. SOS will fly the flag. Reckon Lij will go. Weiters is learning how strong he is now. Pitto will stand up. Cincotta has it. Cottrell has a bit.

I really want to see more from Charlie and Harry, and the other midfielders who seem like nice guys.
Charlie is like a big puppy.

And H, as much as I love him as a player, I won't forget that time Walsh was decked in our f50 and H looked down and saw Walsh on the ground at H's feet grabbing his gut and just jogged past really put a dent in my respect for him. It was a few years ago and he's improved since then but not sure it's enough to expect mongrel from him consistently.

On SM-F946B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I’d be happy to say after seeing match sim Friday he’s 100% in vossys best 23
I suspect Orazio might be in Vossy's best 23 even if he hasn't touched the ball for weeks... ;)

St Kilda think this is a sport like baseball where the worst team can table the biggest offer to the best FA, and end up signing the player. The worst team can’t do that in AFL. The player will always take way less to sign for a contender.

My suggestion to St Kilda would be to stop sucking year after year after year after year (for dramatic effect) after year and only then they can be in with a very good chance to sign the very best OOC players.
Good point, but nah,
Hope they keep on sucking forever…

I agree. But if there are 700,000 reasons per year, I wouldn't blame anyone.

Still, I think Tom is going to stay. I bloody hope so.

Not going to get too caught up in the 'TDK-will-he-or-won't-he' however, IF the reports prove correct and near enough to $12m over 7 years is tabled then he is as good as gone. There is no way he could knock back that sort of coin relevant to what we could offer.

Cripps absolutely has mongrel. He loves to push opposition players into the turf. Cowan has it. SOS will fly the flag. Reckon Lij will go. Weiters is learning how strong he is now. Pitto will stand up. Cincotta has it. Cottrell has a bit.

I really want to see more from Charlie and Harry, and the other midfielders who seem like nice guys.
My tip would be for Newy to pass on The Main Mongrel mantle to Moir in the near future.

Not going to get too caught up in the 'TDK-will-he-or-won't-he' however, IF the reports prove correct and near enough to $12m over 7 years is tabled then he is as good as gone. There is no way he could knock back that sort of coin relevant to what we could offer.
Weiters did....he knocked back a reported $12m over 8 years from the Shitstains last year.

1, St Kilda publicly denied that offer (we'll never know I guess...)

2, Weiters is more of a priority and our offer would have been pretty strong also.

3, I don't see how we can pay Cripps, Charlie, Harry, Weiters, TDK & Walsh all an average of seven figures plus.

4, We've got Walsh to lock away on a long term deal and i suspect he's the priority over TDK. I could be wrong.

5, I desperately hope TDK stays - he's like another gun midfielder for us - but other clubs aren't silly. They know how tight our cap is and we have Walsh unsigned heading into end of next year. They're gonna try make it impossible for us & I just don't see how we fit them all in.

Lastly, maybe our senior boys have been more generous than we know (in terms of taking unders) and Austin has the TPP in a position that we can lock those last two puzzle pieces in.

Trusting the club is doing everything it can do provide other legit sources of income to these boys.

If our youth don't step up we are no chance to win a premiership. We are one of many sides who are close but not good enough.

We get good enough by injecting new players into the team who improve us and we will do that.

Guys like Motlop, Moir, Smith, Cowan, Lord, Hollands x2, Binns, Wilson etc they just have to come into the side, they have to or we aren't making progress.

Our cupboards have been really bare for forwards so we have recruited Moir, Motlop, E Hollands, Smith and shifted Kemp and Williams. Our recruiting has been really needs base. Our midfield has been terrible defensively, slow and immobile, no pressure when we aren't getting it so Kennedy goes out, Smith comes in, Lord comes in. They can run, chase and will run opposition players down. Our ball movement has been poor so we have added speed to the backline with Wilson, O Hollands and Cowan and done a mini-rebuild of the forward line.

I am excited by what we will look like this coming season. Smith as a forward/Mid and E Hollands as a forward mid gives us serious quality with our rotations. Smith brings us speed and elite footy IQ. Lord is one of the best pressure mids on our list and it was a blunder leaving him out for the final last season. Runs guys down and tackles like a beast but is also a good inside ball winner with an outside game. Will have a big impact if the coaches really trust him. I would call him a modern midfielder.

The rebuild of our forwardline is a big deal. The quality outside Curnow/McKay has been bloody ordinary. Because we lack talent there we have played guys on ability to run and effort but it's not good enough if you want to go to the next level. We are too easy to defend against because only two forwards are a threat and that makes us predictable to good opposition sides. In comes E Hollands and Smith rotation on a flank. Williams fitter and able to play half forward. Kemp that missing modern style third tall forward we have been looking for. Moir that talented and is a smart mid/small forward and Motlop, we have been waiting for him to mature and get fit but reports are good, he's got talent but needs to mature and he will. Then we turn those getting regular games into depth and that means out depth is really strong.

Depth is a keyword. Guys like Binns will be playing a bit next season. The Camporealy boys will be close I feel. Defence, we have some good depth there. I expect Wilson will play games and Boyd who I really rate is likely to become depth. Midfield depth easily comes from reshuffling. Docherty, E Hollands etc can easily go to a more midfield role if needed. Cottrell, Fogarty, Fantasia, Durdin are most likely going to be depth players and good quality ones at that.

A few injuries aren't going to hurt this year like they have in the past, especially with a lot of injury prone players off the list. The young players are AFL ready. Even Lemmy should be able to come in and as for ruck depth, we have 3 good options there so I think we are fine.

I am hoping that better management comes from all of this. Better quality players to rotate through the middle means we look after the midfielders more. Docherty, E Hollands, O Hollands and Smith are likely to rotate through the midfield rather than play there full time so that's excellent rotation quality.

We should be a good side, there really is no excuse this season, we should be up there.

Not sure about us not being able to compete at the point end, unless the youth step up.

I believe there are other a number of other factors around gameplan and ball movement that would be of greater priority

Small sample size, but you are on the money regarding Lord. Per minute, he rated 1st for pressure acts, 3rd for defensive half pressure and 2nd for tackles

Not sure about us not being able to compete at the point end, unless the youth step up.

I believe there are other a number of other factors around gameplan and ball movement that would be of greater priority

Small sample size, but you are on the money regarding Lord. Per minute, he rated 1st for pressure acts, 3rd for defensive half pressure and 2nd for tackles
We aren't and haven't been good enough, so something has to change. We need new and better players to come in and step up. We've recruited for that so lets hope it works out.

If nothing changes, nothing changes. I know the sides we have been going with the last few seasons aren't quite good enough. We've recruited to fill those holes. It's a matter of whether these new and young players can come in and elevate us.

I'm quietly confident. I like the youth we have recruited and I like Haynes.

Lord from what I have seen in the VFL and AFL is miles and miles ahead of anyone else we have in the side for pressure act quality. I also like that he can win the contested ball and that he spreads and runs both ways at a really good pace. I thought it was down right dumb when we didn't select him for finals. He would have given us a hell of a lot when Brisbane were pantsing us out of the middle. I think Lord has an enormous amount of value to add to our side and brings something our midfield is weak in. He could be a player that elevates us and I think he is one of many who can do that.

If his endurance has improved as much as I am hearing then I think we will see him in the side over Hewett although I think there may be room for both, but we will see.

SOS is loose but he’s not a fool!
TDK would be the number 1 hit piece for the media outlets every poor game too. Best way to destroy someone confidence before they have even reached their full potential.
That type of money sounds nice but would be a poison chalice just ask Tom Boyd.

We aren't and haven't been good enough, so something has to change. We need new and better players to come in and step up. We've recruited for that so lets hope it works out.

If nothing changes, nothing changes. I know the sides we have been going with the last few seasons aren't quite good enough. We've recruited to fill those holes. It's a matter of whether these new and young players can come in and elevate us.

Lord from what I have seen in the VFL and AFL is miles and miles ahead of anyone else we have in the side for pressure act quality. I also like that he can win the contested ball and that he spreads and runs both ways at a really good pace. I thought it was down right dumb when we didn't select him for finals. He would have given us a hell of a lot when Brisbane were pantsing us out of the middle. I think Lord has an enormous amount of value to add to our side and brings something our midfield is weak in. He could be a player that elevates us and I think he is one of many who can do that.

If his endurance has improved as much as I am hearing then I think we will see him in the side over Hewett although I think there may be room for both, but we will see.

We have been good enough for chunks of two seasons but have been ground down by injuries and then our style also grinds us by season end as it is significantly stoppage and pack mark based.

I think everything plays second fiddle to improvement in goal efficiency which is effectively improved transition resulting in easier overlap goals. We need these easier goals to lessen the physical impact on bodies by finals.

For mine, this is on Voss and the MC. That's where we get our best injection of improvement.

Generally every club rejuvenate, its standard list management. Playing youth isn't the priority strategy to go to another level

If nothing changes, nothing changes.
The only changes you mention is playing youth, there is way more many aspects to improve as a whole

I know the sides we have been going with the last few seasons aren't quite good enough.
Last few seasons is irrelevent, clubs make around 9 changes a year, essentially a full list in 5 years

We've recruited to fill those holes. It's a matter of whether these new and young players can come in and elevate us.
Many of the "youth" you mention haven't even found consistency at VFL, unless thier output has improved dramatically in 1 off season, they aren't playing ahead of established players

I like the list changes too, especially moving on injury prone types

Lord from what I have seen in the VFL and AFL is miles and miles ahead of anyone else we have in the side for pressure act quality.
That's a stretch, he isn't miles ahead, but the signs have been extremely encouraging

I also like that he can win the contested ball and that he spreads and runs both ways at a really good pace.
I wouldn't call him a spread player, I see him as a young Hewett

I thought it was down right dumb when we didn't select him for finals.
On the back of no real preseason, and only finding consistency late in tge VFL season, he wasn't a lock, nor would 1 player be the difference in that final

It's why other factors are more important, such as continuity, gameplan, tactics, etc

He would have given us a hell of a lot when Brisbane were pantsing us out of the middle.
Doubt it, I was at the game and 1 player wasn't changing that result

I think Lord has an enormous amount of value to add to our side and brings something our midfield is weak in. He could be a player that elevates us and I think he is one of many who can do that.
Don't think he is a difference maker, it will take a whole team approach

I've seen this all preseason, it's a fallacy, just like Wilson jumping ahead of other established players, on the back of inconsistent VFL form, and a preseason of non combative match sims

I think they both Hewett and Lord play in the same side and or based on early season form, but I'd be shocked if Hewett didn't start the season

1, St Kilda publicly denied that offer (we'll never know I guess...)

2, Weiters is more of a priority and our offer would have been pretty strong also.

3, I don't see how we can pay Cripps, Charlie, Harry, Weiters, TDK & Walsh all an average of seven figures plus.

4, We've got Walsh to lock away on a long term deal and i suspect he's the priority over TDK. I could be wrong.

5, I desperately hope TDK stays - he's like another gun midfielder for us - but other clubs aren't silly. They know how tight our cap is and we have Walsh unsigned heading into end of next year. They're gonna try make it impossible for us & I just don't see how we fit them all in.

Lastly, maybe our senior boys have been more generous than we know (in terms of taking unders) and Austin has the TPP in a position that we can lock those last two puzzle pieces in.

Trusting the club is doing everything it can do provide other legit sources of income to these boys.

Other clubs don’t know our cap and have their own cap to worry about.
It is common knowledge our big sign ons in recent years have taken less to stick together.
What’s in the media is pure and utter fantasy.

If TDK gets a grandfather offer and takes it so be it, but it’s not because saints know how much room we have, it’s because they are desperate to be relevant.

SOS is loose but he’s not a fool!
TDK would be the number 1 hit piece for the media outlets every poor game too. Best way to destroy someone confidence before they have even reached their full potential.
That type of money sounds nice but would be a poison chalice just ask Tom Boyd.
Sos is an idiot. To offer that sort of money got one player when there are so many holes in that St Kilda list is Ridiculous.

He had also got to be the laziest list manager in history. He just goes after players he’s recruited before when he had a slew of high picks.