List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
TBH, I’m intrigued to see how the two would go and how that might change the forward dynamic, but you’re not getting anywhere NEAR that next year if it doesn’t work. So they split time, Ro probably more forward than TDK, averages 10 touches a game, he’s beyond 30 and doesn’t get to show off his marking around the ground as much. That’s less than a Steele proposal now. Pick 30, maybe, at best? Still good coin, pick 40? Doesn’t mean you trade him because of that. But it’s a consideration.
What's better pick seventeen this year or pick thirty next year plus a year more of Marshall on deck for insurance? Who knows, but i'm willing to bet our LM crew think its the latter

99.9% sure we won’t be getting Walter, but pretty surprised people would be so excited around the prospect of him coming to the club for two firsts and Butler. I get he was pick 3 a few years ago and that tall fwds take a while to develop, but he hasn’t really shown much. I still feel like the midfield is our biggest weakness and would much rather use those picks trading or drafting a mid in the coming years.

airplane-quiet-too-quiet.gif
tmnt.png

Very, very rarely does a big trade come out of nowhere. So as fun as imagining a Butters, a Walters, or a whatever trade is, it's much more likely that a Mackenzie type one that has floated around abit happens than one that is truely out of the blue

What's better pick seventeen this year or pick thirty next year plus a year more of Marshall on deck for insurance? Who knows, but i'm willing to bet our LM crew think its the latter
Our crew think next year’s first. So they’re asking price is that vs waiting one year for pick 35+.

Very, very rarely does a big trade come out of nowhere. So as fun as imagining a Butters, a Walters, or a whatever trade is, it's much more likely that a Mackenzie type one that has floated around abit happens than one that is truely out of the blue
Yep, it just doesn’t! The mysteries either reveal themselves early or they don’t at all. My guess is that the wildness is confined to Butler, Marshall, Steele,
SDK (at low odds) and a slight possibility of CMAC, which I’m a tad meh about, possibly Leek, similar sentiment.

I think he is a very different player to windy.

If Marshall and Steele go and Rowbottom is available for a second based on that Cleary info.

I’d be somewhat interested. Looks like a massive glue guy who does all the shit work that lead to winning games.

Remember if Steele goes we lose 8.7 tackles a game. Which is second in the league.

Rowbottom averages 7.3. Which is 8th best.

Garcia comes in at 5.5 and Macrae at 5.4 as our next best.

Windhager is at 3.3.

Rowbottom is a 2 x BnF top 3 at Sydney at the age of 25. These players help your best players do what they do best.
I have seen Rowy's work live over 20 times in the last 3 years he is good player., very average kick, incredibly courageous, Daylrimple was responsible for drafting him.

The part two to the TDK deal was always trading Marshall.

I think we’ve had a rethink because we see the possibilities and want some cover against king not standing up with his injury history. Also Geelong are hard to deal with and have lowballed us yet again despite what they say. A late first in this draft just isn’t worth it.

He’s contracted and his contract was front loaded, add a player, add another pick, then maybe it becomes more tempting. They 100% aren’t getting Curnow, again they could make that trade work but don’t want to give up players.

We’ve done the right thing saying yeah nah click. This mobs mo is to get you talking in good faith only to refuse to shift off their original offer. Getting locked into talks with them raises the expectation of the player and they feed the media constantly. We’re dumbfounded, player x wants to come, we’ve made a fair offer Wah Wah, we’re honest as the day is long.

Get caught cheating the cap and the league just shrugs, stop helping them for goodness sake.
Yeah I'm not about giving the Cats a free ride and letting Marshall go for cheap.

I think I've been pretty clear about that in just about every post.

Sure, was just basing it on the comment I quoted about getting Butters for the next two years.

Hypothetically though;

I think Butters would give us a far better chance of retaining Naz and pushing for finals. This then puts us in a better position to keep the FAs coming in and the "destination club" perception rolling.

How many players want to come to our club and play with Pou? How many could be convinced to come play with Zak Butters?

Butters could help us land Sam Walsh or Ben King in 12 months time. If Mitch Lewis wants a fresh start, the idea of Butters feeding the ball out would have more appeal for sure.

In 2027 we are all competing with the Tassie money. Zak Butters would be a massive selling point to FAs like Serong, Rowell, Anderson, Ash, Green, Day, Georgiades, Weightman...

Could Pou get there? Sure, but if the choice was between 6-8 years of Butters & a couple of 2nd/3rd rounders or 10-12 years of Phillipou & our first rounders then based on everything we have seen Id be taking the Butters side of the deal every time.

Not sure that we can afford another player over $1.5+ million a year or whatever he's going to ask. We'd have the three highest paid players in the comp. At some point that bites and forces others out and you end up like Carlton.

Next year we will have Nas, Hall and TDK at a lot more bounces. Add Flanders and Ryan and you are doubling those players to allow a rotation rest or sure up defence/attack when needed.

If we can get Windhager, Phillipou and Garcia all stepping up we are getting serious pressure on spots and I reckon even Dow could really push for spot next season. If we get 23+ games out of Macrae as well we are looking strong around the ball.

The small forward role that we'd like Collard to play could probably be a bit thin and a really tall stopper back and a smaller accountable back look a need still. Otherwise we are starting to look quite well rounded. I reckon we almost need to see what relook like next year before knowing what holes need filling.

If Steele goes, and Macrae is in the midday show I think we’re going to need a player like Rowbottom who is happy to do the grunt work against the oppositions contested players

He seems like a Ross Lyon player. Plays naturally defensive and super disciplined footy. He's played footy that looks genuinely good at times. I'd actually like to see him get to play with a bit more freedom.

I reckon he could be like a Matt Kennedy type where his stats jump exponentially with a more prominent role. He's very low production even for a defensive run with at the moment. Must average about 15 touches a game.

I probably wouldn't spend a second rounder on him, he's one that seems a bit like he has levels to go up but he might not. It's a lot to pay for a project. We are already probably going to be leaving Phillipou or Garcia out of games if the best 22 is available.

He seems like a Ross Lyon player. Plays naturally defensive and super disciplined footy. He's played footy that looks genuinely good at times. I'd actually like to see him get to play with a bit more freedom.

I reckon he could be like a Matt Kennedy type where his stats jump exponentially with a more prominent role. He's very low production even for a defensive run with at the moment. Must average about 15 touches a game.

I probably wouldn't spend a second rounder on him, he's one that seems a bit like he has levels to go up but he might not. It's a lot to pay for a project. We are already probably going to be leaving Phillipou or Garcia out of games if the best 22 is available.
The other issue is Sydney would (and probably should) value him higher than a mid range second given his importance to their guns.

Kennedy is a good example so is Hewett at the blues IMO, even Atkins at Geelong (probably the best at this role).

Blues fans said the same for years before finally giving up and realising he's not a forward. Not even close.

In the games he played along side Pittonet this year he averaged 14 disposals, 14 hit outs and 0.16 goals a game. Every stat dropped dramatically when Pittonet came into the side.

He's also not that good of a pack mark other than taking the odd one now and then. He sits equal 80th in the comp this year for contested marks.

No idea why you think things are going be so different for him at our club than it has been at Carlton for years.

My brother and brother in law are both big Blues fans. Both say that Carlton play better with Pittonet rucking alone but TDK is the better player. Both say they both can't play in one side.

TDK is definitely from the Marshall school of rucking where he is more than just a tap ruck. The biggest positive about TDK is that ruck rules look set to change and allow a run and jump. If he gets that advantage his athleticism should make him close to the most dominant ruckman in footy.

If Marshall stays he's going to need to be reinvented in a second position. Ross used to leave McEvoy across HB as a spare and he'd mop up everything that dropped in short. I think that might be his best chance at a permanent spot. We also don't have a big stopper and he was brought in as a defender from memory.

The next 72 hours will indicate the true ambition for next year. Moving Steele and Marshall for players like Mackenzie and Walter (and even Rowbottom) is fine but make it a bit harder for us to be in contention mode as early as next year. That said, both of those types would improve us more from 2027 onward than Steele and Marshall would.

My brother and brother in law are both big Blues fans. Both say that Carlton play better with Pittonet rucking alone but TDK is the better player. Both say they both can't play in one side.
The bolded is a lie that they have told themselves this year to help deal with the loss of TDK. I don't think I've spoken to a Carlton supporter who isn't in denial about the impact that losing both TDK and Silvagni will have on them.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V