List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
Mitch has been in the system for 4 years now, he's done his apprenticeship...time is now!
In racing terms... the apprentice claim has now ended. That isn't just Mitch BTW. His good mate that asked us to pony up is the same

Mitch has been in the system for 4 years now, he's done his apprenticeship...time is now!
Mitch has small hands. I've been saying this for a while, his hands is what is holding back from being a absolute star, still a very good player. Its the reason he has struggled kicking set shots and it the reason he double grabs the ball. He will never make it as a midfielder, a higher end Max Rooke is his ceiling, and that's his current output.

Please stop with the club 'apologist role' its becoming tiresome and not doing you any favours!
unfair - he's telling it as it actually is and you're implying otherwise by unfairly chastising him

Looking at the list as it sits currently, this is how I'd select round one teams if everyone is fit:

B: Stocker, Howard, Wilkie
HB: Sinclair, Silvagni, Flanders
C: Windhager, Macrae, Wilson
HF: Hall, Marshall, Sharman
F: Higgins, King, Owens

Foll: TDK, Nas, Phillipou
Int: Garcia, Tauru, Ryan, Boxshall, Wood

B: Travaglia, Barrat, ***
HB: Armstrong, O'Connell, Hastie
C: Hill, Carroll, Byrnes
HF: Said, Caminiti, Henry
F: Butler, Keeler, Collard

Foll: Dodson, Dow, Clark

Of the reserves squad, I'd say Hastie, Hill, Henry, Butler and Clark all have a real chance of making the round one team if they put together a strong pre season. Maybe even Hammer could hold his spot in defence ahead of Howard if he hones his defensive craft, though it seems Ross likes him as a forward and he'll be stuck behind other if everyone there is fit.

O'Connell could be an outside chance to take Webster's spot as well but you'd think he'll have to earn it through VFL form. Next year is a big one for Stocker - we sorely lack a lockdown small defender now and we need him to step up. Maybe we try to develop Travaglia into that role, or add more of a defensive focus to Hastie's. Clark is probably too slow for that role but could slot in at half back if we want to use Ned as a full-time mid.

Stocker, Howard and everyone on the bench wouldn't be a certainty to get picked so they'll all need to put in a strong pre season.

Looking at the list as it sits currently, this is how I'd select round one teams if everyone is fit:

B: Stocker, Howard, Wilkie
HB: Sinclair, Silvagni, Flanders
C: Windhager, Macrae, Wilson
HF: Hall, Marshall, Sharman
F: Higgins, King, Owens

Foll: TDK, Nas, Phillipou
Int: Garcia, Tauru, Ryan, Boxshall, Wood

B: Travaglia, Barrat, ***
HB: Armstrong, O'Connell, Hastie
C: Hill, Carroll, Byrnes
HF: Said, Caminiti, Henry
F: Butler, Keeler, Collard

Foll: Dodson, Dow, Clark

Of the reserves squad, I'd say Hastie, Hill, Henry, Butler and Clark all have a real chance of making the round one team if they put together a strong pre season. Maybe even Hammer could hold his spot in defence ahead of Howard if he hones his defensive craft, though it seems Ross likes him as a forward and he'll be stuck behind other if everyone there is fit.

O'Connell could be an outside chance to take Webster's spot as well but you'd think he'll have to earn it through VFL form. Next year is a big one for Stocker - we sorely lack a lockdown small defender now and we need him to step up. Maybe we try to develop Travaglia into that role, or add more of a defensive focus to Hastie's. Clark is probably too slow for that role but could slot in at half back if we want to use Ned as a full-time mid.

Stocker, Howard and everyone on the bench wouldn't be a certainty to get picked so they'll all need to put in a strong pre season.
I think Flanders is expected to have considerable ball up attendance especially Centre ball ups

In fairness I think we ended up doing the move to help Steele. It wasn’t about extracting everything we could for him.. it was about letting a guy that gave us incredible service the opportunity to go elsewhere to play high level footy and extend his career, not potentially play twos or sit at half forward etc
Marshall also lost his preferred position and actually wanted to leave to continue playing as a solo ruck. we were offered far better compensation. why wasn't he afforded the same grace?

moving on Steele was a ruthless decision, not a compassionate one. and that is completely fine, however much it hurts

Didn't you hear, they are more of a destination club than us.
Personally think they recovered well from the two FA's and Curnow wanting out

got back in two first 23 players and a heap of picks to start their rebuild before Tassie comes in.

Pity for them we take Walsh as another FA next year :)

unfair - he's telling it as it actually is and you're implying otherwise by unfairly chastising him
To be fair the pure optics of it, trading your well loved and respected captain for a third round pick AND also copping some of his coin when all the reports indicated he wanted to stay and the Melbourne thing was a last day "weve done **** all" set up do play to the story we kicked him out.

Its pretty hard to argue that it "looks" respectful and mutual whether it was or not.

Why?
Seriously. Why would he?
There was the rumor that he didnt wanna get dropped and then that he was shitty Ross publically said he asked to be dropped (all hearsay i would note).

Otherwise money... North and Essendon would offer him good coin if he keeps the form of round 23 into next year and we wont be able to match it.

One of Dilena’s more interesting comments was how the club has closely observed and is looking to emulate a US sports model of concentrating cash on the elite talent on the list, meaning paying very modest amounts to the role players and depth players.

Will be interesting to see the implications. Will this place us in a stronger position to target big fish?
Will it make it harder for us to recruit? Or retain depth players?
How good is it that the Club is at the forefront of an alternative way to manage a list. If we follow the status quo, we have historically never been successful. So rocking the boat and trying something new is so refreshing.

As far as I'm concerned, the club has never been better run. My only concern is that the S&C Team are not as elite!

How good is it that the Club is at the forefront of an alternative way to manage a list. If we follow the status quo, we have historically never been successful. So rocking the boat and trying something new is so refreshing.

As far as I'm concerned, the club has never been better run. My only concern is that the S&C Team are not as elite!
This is make or break for the S&C team this year, especially in regards to King and Pou. If those 2 aren't playing 75% of the season as a result of non-contact or non-game related injuries then we gotta start looking elsewhere.

Also hope that we can stop looking like schoolkids next to teams such as GWS, sick of it

Personally think they recovered well from the two FA's and Curnow wanting out

got back in two first 23 players and a heap of picks to start their rebuild before Tassie comes in.

Pity for them we take Walsh as another FA next year :)
I take exception to the narrative that Carlton had a say in things and did something clever.

1. Players wanted to leave because they’re going no where, so they got given free agency compensation. It wasn’t some planned strategic move.
2. They got a decent bounty for Charlie Curnow. Fact is they have a poor coach and a terrible culture and thus a top 20 player in the afl wanted to get as far away as possible. They had multiple clubs in the market driving up the price. And frankly blind Freddy could have extracted that deal for Curnow.
3. They’re getting first rounder father sons across this and next years draft. Again luck. Not good list management.

Carlton’s list should be poised to contend and yet they’ll go backwards for atleast a couple of years.

Please stop with the club 'apologist role' its becoming tiresome and not doing you any favours!

I will say, though, I've never seen the club better run than it is at the moment. Of course, nothing is perfect and everything is seamless with 20/20 vision, but I think the club on the whole is making all the right moves. This is just my opinion.

This is make or break for the S&C team this year, especially in regards to King and Pou. If those 2 aren't playing 75% of the season as a result of non-contact or non-game related injuries then we gotta start looking elsewhere.

Also hope that we can stop looking like schoolkids next to teams such as GWS, sick of it
Wilson got the weights memo, hopefully starts a trend! Clark missed that memo year on year! 💪💪

I take exception to the narrative that Carlton had a say in things and did something clever.

1. Players wanted to leave because they’re going no where, so they got given free agency compensation. It wasn’t some planned strategic move.
2. They got a decent bounty for Charlie Curnow. Fact is they have a poor coach and a terrible culture and thus a top 20 player in the afl wanted to get as far away as possible. They had multiple clubs in the market driving up the price. And frankly blind Freddy could have extracted that deal for Curnow.
3. They’re getting first rounder father sons across this and next years draft. Again luck. Not good list management.

Carlton’s list should be poised to contend and yet they’ll go backwards for atleast a couple of years.
I agree with most of this but i would note i think they made the most of their actual exodus.

I still think it assures them of nothing.

Yeah bit of a sad end for Jack at the Saints, everything has mostly already been said. However one thing I haven't seen mentioned is imagine how much worse it will be for him next year when we win the flag

200 (65).gif

I, for one, am really, really bullish on Darcy Wilson. I know he had a bit of a down year, but he is a second year player, and that just happens.

He ticks so many boxes, in that he has elite endurance, a good if not spectacular kick, can rack up the ball, and has a great game sense. But most importantly, he knows where the goals are and he is an absolute competitive beast.

I reckon having a down year, and being in and out of the team will really give him the shits. I would not be surprised if he's come out firing in preseason, and hits round one chomping at the bit. Best case for Darcy, and I think a realistic case, is an explosive, hard running centre square mid in the Max Holmes vein. And if he makes it to that level, watch out because we will have a deadly centre square if we can get him, Nas, and Flanders hitting their potential ceiling.

He did ask who are the best small defenders , not who intercepts the best

Who do we have that could play on Charlie Cameron , Stengle , Rankine ect as it sure isn't JSOS or Tauru , I like Stocker but he is not quick or agile.
I guess my point is that the best teams don't really have a single player who plays that role. Ideally you have a very agile tagger who can take the mid-forward hybrid types like Greene and Rankine and try work them out of the game all day whilst your defence works a solid zone to stop crumbling forwards from having chances. Stocker can't do either, and I think we need Windhager to be much more than a run with player.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V