List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
I don’t really see moving Steele on as ruthless at all really, it’s a move that just had to be done. It’s another sign that we’re a serious football club now. There’s only one more move that needs to be made to solidify that and it’s Hill out of the best 23. I get it when we’re not really in contention and trying to keep everyone happy but whenever that happens that’s when we’ll be all in.

Genuinely have no idea why he hates Saints so much. Would have thought even being mates with spud he may have had a little love for them but no. Takes every chance he can whether we’re doing good or bad, to smash us. Tbh most of the media do the same. It’s actual incredibly refreshing to hear someone stick up for us like a Bartel.
The Saints should issue our own version of Sliding Doors. It will only require one entry.
iF.... The AFL wants to drastically improve the current landscape with one simple directive,
THEN....They should tell Purple to fk. off. out of the industry.

Meh I don't see it, I think defences zone around, and they're at the mercy of the midfield stopping ball coming in. If the ball is coming in well and the zone is failing then a small will probably kick some goals, but even having a top notch small back isn't going to stop that.

Anyway to the original question - who do you think are the best ones?

Maynard and Quaynor probably
Hardwick
Uwland and Wil Powell are pretty good for GC
Hinge
Luke Ryan maybe

I really can't come up with many.

I really rate Starcevich. He'd be my first picked out of the comp for a pure shut down small defender.

I wonder which FA, or FAs, that we are most targeting for 2026.

After this trade period's gains in players, on top of our list build through kids over about 4 seasons we are now an attractive club to rejoin.

We just need now a really positive first half of our 2026 (well hopefully the whole season) to build on this.

We have the salary cap.......we just need to keep building our attractiveness, and that now means being seen as club who are playing finals, and yes who look like contending.

The only way to shut the muppets like Purple up is to win a flag. Anything we do until then will be spun as a negative aimed to destabilise us and bring us down
Haha, yeah right. You think if we become successful Barrett will stop being bitter about us?!

People like him spend alm their negative energy being bitter at those more successful than them

On Steele, its been a couple of days, Im still of the same mindset about it.

Im fine with trading him, i can live with it for a shitful 3rd rounder but if were holding his salary (any of it) then its a poor decision.

I get hes probably depth, i understand all the reasons for trading him (noting i was never against it) but if were gonna offload him for a half eaten sanga and a warm fanta then we needed all his salary gone, otherwise id rather we kept him.
I understand the frustration, but why would Melbourne want to take on all of his salary if it's 900k?

Unfortunately that's the norm these days. Jack looks a long way past his best but is still getting paid an All Australian calibre players wage.

Jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesus, as if I didn't already feel bad, he has to answer Alan Richardson phone calls...
No offense to Jack, but I reckon Ratts and Richo were more his type of bloke, he'd have probably loved that call. Played some of his best footy under that potato

I understand the frustration, but why would Melbourne want to take on all of his salary if it's 900k?

Unfortunately that's the norm these days. Jack looks a long way past his best but is still getting paid an All Australian calibre players wage.
Then keep him or if we’re taking some of his salary we should have gotten a better draft pick.

It’s generally accepted that if you’re offloading a salary dump player you take shit but you don’t then also keep said players money.

So Byrnes is still in contract limbo. What is the go there? Would they delist and take as a rookie, if they still want him around?

I wonder which FA, or FAs, that we are most targeting for 2026.

After this trade period's gains in players, on top of our list build through kids over about 4 seasons we are now an attractive club to rejoin.

We just need now a really positive first half of our 2026 (well hopefully the whole season) to build on this.

We have the salary cap.......we just need to keep building our attractiveness, and that now means being seen as club who are playing finals, and yes who look like contending.

Can't see much on the list on FAs - only Bailey, Walsh, Butters who are really good but will be huge competition if any of those leave.

Purple's sliding doors is a lol. He can't help himself by laying the boot into the Saints.

Also did anyone notice in his Geelong one he says:

"the Cats have historically been the trade masters - remember the recruiting of Danger, Gaz jnr, Jez and Baz, as well as the exit of Tim Kelly for beyond-top dollar ..."

Gaz Junior was drafted as a father son, not recruited?

There was the rumor that he didnt wanna get dropped and then that he was shitty Ross publically said he asked to be dropped (all hearsay i would note).

Otherwise money... North and Essendon would offer him good coin if he keeps the form of round 23 into next year and we wont be able to match it.
One time little - as you say - rumour. If he can’t get over the fact that he was dropped then he needs to grow up. Ross was probably (although a bit fumbly) protecting him by saying that.

Pretty sure the club would’ve planned for all the contracts coming up. He needs to be re-contracted next year. Not sure what he’s on, but the next contract is hardly going to jump by a huge fortune. He’s played two years.

Not saying he is entitled, but these kids need to be more self-aware as they’re going to be getting a wake up call.

With our list these days, no youngsters are going to be getting walk up starts like they did in the past when we were so bad. They are going to have to earn their stripes - like the kids in the better teams do - without sooking it up.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V