List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

And rightly so IMO. Fincher gets good numbers but he isn’t damaging enough to be a first rounder. Plenty of others who get less touches but are more impactful

As I said before, I need to see Fincher in the midfield at Champs level for him to really push up
He reminds me of Darcy Tucker at North, tidy but not damaging at anything.

One of those is from the saints write-up?
I hope tobie has thicker skin than yourself.
Lol this isn’t about having thick skin. It’s about categorising players correctly. I watched those games. He was t starting on a flank.
So im not fussed, I’m trying to give people a proper idea of the player he is.

This time last year a couple journos had Elwood Peckett as a potential first rounder. He didnt even get drafted

IMO Fincher is at best a mid-second rounder atm but he could easily climb if he gets mid minutes for Metro
I don’t recall him being touted a first, but I remember the hype as the season wore on.
All the same, if Fincher continues to tick the boxes then he’ll put himself in first-second round calculations.

36 OOC by end of next season!

This means only a few players are signed for the 2nd year of TDK's 7 year offer. They have huge flexibility for years 2 through to 7.

Over 7 years, Carlton could offer much more. That's indisputable.

The question we should be asking ourselves is:

Why aren't they?
because they are not st.kilda,sure they got beat for houston/shiel,but have far less issues attracting oppo players,i dont see it as a reflection on TDK,as some would love to run with

credit to us,we keep getting knocked back,but we keep trying and now it looks like weve hooked one,not the ideal position on the field,but beggars cant be choosers and im going to be selfish,i havent got till 2055 to wait to hook our first big free agent since brad hill/crouch,after 35 years of trying

while we are bending over and taking it up the axx re marquee game slots and shxt fixtures,we are beggars,so we have to do things a different way,carlton are not there(yet)

36 OOC by end of next season!

This means only a few players are signed for the 2nd year of TDK's 7 year offer. They have huge flexibility for years 2 through to 7.

Over 7 years, Carlton could offer much more. That's indisputable.

The question we should be asking ourselves is:

Why aren't they?
Really? Stop trying to get the circumstances to fit your predetermined narrative.

This is not enormous flexibility, it's bad list management! They are reported to have 5 players on 7-figure salaries and have almost the entire list out of contract in a little over a year! What flexibility? Are they going to start low-balling their entire list? Are they not going to re-sign all of these players and sign a bunch of new rookies? They need to re-sign most of these players - do you reckon Cripps wants to take a massive haircut to accommodate TDK? Do you believe Weitering is happy to have his wage slashed to accommodate TDK?

They are probably going to have to shed a couple of good players just to get their house in order in terms of salary cap....

This is in essence why a ‘war chest’ has been accumulated - so we can afford to pay over the market price to bring high end talent through the door, as opposed to over paying the talent we already have on our list.

Essentially, it’s not surprising that we’re paying overs in contrast to the market or Carlton’s evaluation, as this is the strategy.
You've hit the nail on the head, Little Creatures. This is exactly our strategy.

To lure a genuinely good players from another club you simply have to pay well above the market rate.

We have the cap space so we are offering it to TDK. The alternatives are to either give a bunch of B+ players an extra 100K each or go out and recruit a few more B+ players from other clubs. (Or give the excess back to the AFL unspent.)

None of the draft pundits have him in the top 40 yet...
So some are popping their kegs over a good mid second rounder but it will be used by the AFL shills to show how equal the AFL NGA's system is while the fake northern clubs pick up top 5 picks for nothing.

You've hit the nail on the head, Little Creatures. This is exactly our strategy.

To lure a genuinely good players from another club you simply have to pay well above the market rate.

We have the cap space so we are offering it to TDK. The alternatives are to either give a bunch of B+ players an extra 100K each or go out and recruit a few more B+ players from other clubs. (Or give the excess back to the AFL unspent.)
💯
The debate about the player is a different argument.
From what we are told the strategy is build a huge war chest, shake the tree and see what falls out and go for it, while at the same time keep draft capital. The posters here who argue we should be always hitting the draft as we have for 5 years should be comfortable with this strategy.

That's what they are aiming at. Now only really two FA's worth going after, TDK and Bont.
Obviously everyone here would take Bont, but he just won't leave the Dogs.
So we are left with TDK who is not worth the reported 1.7 mill a year but this is what the AFL has created for us. It is not TDK's fault it is the idiocy and short sightedness of the AFL morons.

Really? Stop trying to get the circumstances to fit your predetermined narrative.

This is not enormous flexibility, it's bad list management! They are reported to have 5 players on 7-figure salaries and have almost the entire list out of contract in a little over a year! What flexibility? Are they going to start low-balling their entire list? Are they not going to re-sign all of these players and sign a bunch of new rookies? They need to re-sign most of these players - do you reckon Cripps wants to take a massive haircut to accommodate TDK? Do you believe Weitering is happy to have his wage slashed to accommodate TDK?

They are probably going to have to shed a couple of good players just to get their house in order in terms of salary cap....

Actually probably a very similar situation to us in that 2009 2010 period where we had an elite top end taking huge amounts of cap space and it limited our ability to add quality talent in behind them.

💯
The debate about the player is a different argument.
From what we are told the strategy is build a huge war chest, shake the tree and see what falls out and go for it, while at the same time keep draft capital. The posters here who argue we should be always hitting the draft as we have for 5 years should be comfortable with this strategy.

That's what they are aiming at. Now only really two FA's worth going after, TDK and Bont.
Obviously everyone here would take Bont, but he just won't leave the Dogs.
So we are left with TDK who is not worth the reported 1.7 mill a year but this is what the AFL has created for us. It is not TDK's fault it is the idiocy and short sightedness of the AFL morons.

I'm not comfortable in spending a big money on a ruck, not really comfortable with the length or figure offered. If you do a disciplined and effective build you get players wanting in without huge offers.

In 8 years he's probably still on $900k a year and if we ever build a list that demands it we could end up hamstrung by our own desperation for acceptance.

I'd have looked at a few lower profile higher needs types myself. Worpol, Fiorini, chuck an offer to Toby Pink who has come on heaps this year etc.

Even Brandon Starcevich if we want to get hold of a player like Bergman for no draft capital.

Lol this isn’t about having thick skin. It’s about categorising players correctly. I watched those games. He was t starting on a flank.
So im not fussed, I’m trying to give people a proper idea of the player he is.
His draft profiles all talk about him being a half back & his profile on the saints website says he is a defender so… I wouldn't get too worked up about posters casting him in the defender category.

It was a good sign that Ross threw him into the midfield mix from the very beginning.

Any reason not to compare Travaglia's attributes with Noah Anderson?

This was part of Anderson's draft profile:

STRENGTHS:

Scoreboard impact
Power
Strength/size
Kick penetration
Contested ball winning
Leadership

IMPROVEMENTS:

Kicking consistency
Lowering the eyes

Why can't we compare zak Jones attributes to Chris Judd

What is an ideal upcoming draft for people this year? Let's say it stays what it is currently at picks #4 #40 & #60?

Also include any trades/NGA/FatherSon

I'm not comfortable in spending a big money on a ruck, not really comfortable with the length or figure offered. If you do a disciplined and effective build you get players wanting in without huge offers.

In 8 years he's probably still on $900k a year and if we ever build a list that demands it we could end up hamstrung by our own desperation for acceptance.

I'd have looked at a few lower profile higher needs types myself. Worpol, Fiorini, chuck an offer to Toby Pink who has come on heaps this year etc.

Even Brandon Starcevich if we want to get hold of a player like Bergman for no draft capital.
And as I said that is a different argument. I am not comfortable we are forced to offer this because the AFL ties one hand behind our back.
Just think if we got a couple of big drawing games, Xerri may have taken our offer. Now we are forced to offer something so high just to get a good but not great ruck who just got well beaten by Xerri.
Your points are a fair argument but aren't those players you mentioned (all are fair enough BTW, would rather Worpel) but going to cost draft capital aren't they?

We have been hitting the draft for 5 years, we need to keep going before Tassie compromises the draft.

None of us know what the structure of TDK's contract will be, but 900k in 7 years will be around average.

I am not doing cartwheels about TDK, but I feel we have been forced into this situation. We need to draft a generational player. NAZ is closest but was pick 13, we don't get to have a go at all these northern players who are top ten.
Since King we have missed one frdp in Allison.
NAZ
Pou
Wilson
Don't know yet but Trav and Tauru seem pretty good
Not one lower than pick 8.
Also in that time some good lower round picks as well.
Think we need to get at least two more high frdps before the compromised drafts occur.
If we spend our draft capital on Bergman, won't be pleased.

What is an ideal upcoming draft for people this year? Let's say it stays what it is currently at picks #4 #40 & #60?

Pick 4: Sam Grlj

Other picks aren't worth guessing yet since it'll almost 100% change given we will be active at the trade table and we still don't know where exactly Fincher might land in the order

#4: Best available midfielder
#40 and #60: split it into draft picks so that we can match the Fincher bid
#'whatever is leftover': let Dalrymple do his thing !

We may also have additional picks if we decide to move on Steele and/or Marshall.