- #5,203

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Yes i do wonder if this is just a result of the academies developing these kids in QLD, by basically putting them in a professional environment from an early age v Vic kids in the Coates/APS system, and if it will just even out once they are in the AFL system and the Vic kids get access to a professional environment. The development is working so perhaps the AFL just need to take over the academies and have them as AFLQ Elite pathway academies rather than funded and run by the clubs.but taking top 10 father sons and 1st round academies is too much - i watched the suns and lions academies teams beat the hell out of the vic metro under 16 girls team this year. the work is done in qld - footy is entrenched
The best outcome for Cowan is to make sure he is contracted and not a free agent so that Tassie are forced to trade for him, they will be throwing out high end draft picks to lure talent so is an opportunity to use this to our advantage, as much as we would like to keep Lachie.Arli we hide from now knowing what the deal is.
Moo we have to get better as a team. BUT as a young bloke moving back to Tassie from Melbourne would be hard. Unless they pay him crazy money.
6 games, come on that is setting the bar low.. If this is where the club think we are at we may as well factor in losing Walsh to FA next year because there is little doubt that if we are not playing finals next year he will be looking elsewhere.I don't think it'll get to that stage.
Unlike back then, we actually already have a solid young crop coming through:
Cowan, Jagga, HOK, HOF, Ollie, Moir
Then there's Cody, Dean, Ison all coming through this year and next.
Tassie and West Coast will be walkovers, we will win minimum 6 games in 2027 but likely more.
I suppose, like almost everything we speculate about on here, time will tell...
Academies should continue but they need to be taken over by the AFL (costs & some marketing paid to the players for promoting the gospel but that should be for every club). GCFC & GWS get more involvement due to their infancy.The academies are great and the proof is in the pudding that they actually work in creating elite talent and is a huge advantage to the AFL in a growing market, they will never give that up. AFL in Brisbane is booming, helped by the fact so many Victorians have relocated to QLD post Covid and that it is now established in the school system. If your looking at the greater good of the game and expanding its market then they are a good thing for the competition.
He already is re-contracted til 2028The best outcome for Cowan is to make sure he is contracted and not a free agent so that Tassie are forced to trade for him, they will be throwing out high end draft picks to lure talent so is an opportunity to use this to our advantage, as much as we would like to keep Lachie.
Great for 2027, but Tassie also have access to all uncontracted players as free agents in 27 & 28 if i heard it correctly.He already is re-contracted til 2028
6 games, come on that is setting the bar low.. If this is where the club think we are at we may as well factor in losing Walsh to FA next year because there is little doubt that if we are not playing finals next year he will be looking elsewhere.
I am not so glum.. This year was a disaster and JSOS barely played, Charlie was horrendous and had zero impact on us competing. TDK will be a loss no doubt but on the flip side Newman back, Jagga should add something, Chesser should add some depth and class, I am hopeful that Elijah after not getting any interest will put his head down. I can't see us being worse than we were this year, and i dont see any massive gains coming from those clubs around us. The club are clearly expecting to play finals otherwise they would not have retained Voss.Well I'm not setting the bar to 14 wins when it's obvious we're resetting the list. Won't turn overnight.
Walsh could very well leave next year, Cripps and Hewett will be too old to impact at their best consistently. Charlie gone, Harry not the most consistent player either...
Just being realistic, 2027 I see us winning 6-8 games.
I am not so glum.. This year was a disaster and JSOS barely played, Charlie was horrendous and had zero impact on us competing. TDK will be a loss no doubt but on the flip side Newman back, Jagga should add something, Chesser should add some depth and class, I am hopeful that Elijah after not getting any interest will put his head down. I can't see us being worse than we were this year, and i dont see any massive gains coming from those clubs around us. The club are clearly expecting to play finals otherwise they would not have retained Voss.
So what would be an acceptable outcome in 2026 for Voss to retain his job and would need to get a 3-year extension, or we are wasting everyone's time. IMO anything less than playing finals and he can't possibly be renewed.I see your point for most of what you said...
But retaining Voss had nothing to do with expecting finals.
- didn't want the optics and drama around sacking another coach
- no one suitable was available to replace him
- still has a year on the contract, no hurry, we make changes re assistants and if it's still a poor season, then don't renew his contract.
So what would be an acceptable outcome in 2026 for Voss to retain his job and would need to get a 3-year extension, or we are wasting everyone's time. IMO anything less than playing finals and he can't possibly be renewed.
No suitable replacement is a stretch, with Longmire, Buckley, Hinkley, Simpson all available.
I think if we trade curnow finals doesn't need to be the bench mark. I'd want to see him implement a clear game plan with significantly better ball movement. I'd also want him prioritise youth and lots of improvement at an individual level, including our highly paid stars back close to their best.So what would be an acceptable outcome in 2026 for Voss to retain his job and would need to get a 3-year extension, or we are wasting everyone's time. IMO anything less than playing finals and he can't possibly be renewed.
No suitable replacement is a stretch, with Longmire, Buckley, Hinkley, Simpson all available.
Hey mate,we have a tall intercepting defender in our VFL team. However, I believe that Haynes is doing a very good job at present.
point 4 - They genuinely think he is the way forward.I see your point for most of what you said...
But retaining Voss had nothing to do with expecting finals.
- didn't want the optics and drama around sacking another coach
- no one suitable was available to replace him
- still has a year on the contract, no hurry, we make changes re assistants and if it's still a poor season, then don't renew his contract.
point 4 - They genuinely think he is the way forward.
Not saying i agree or disagree, but that is definitely an option
Yeah I very much agree with the boldedIt's an option, but I would've thought if that were the case, they'd offer an extension by now.
I really think we're in a wait and see phase with him now. It's clear, he made some very poor decisions, but it's also clear his assistants were no good and there are quite a few players with shit attitudes as well...
New assistants, clean slate - let's see what happens.
I'm interested in seeing how it affects forward/rucks. Does it mean two genuine/good rucks are played over a player who is an ok forward and an ok ruck?Be interesting to see the impact of a 5 person bench on list management approaches; reckon two ruckman will become a bit of a norm now you can rest one on the bench without gutting rotations.
Don’t like that. McCartin is one concussion away from retirement, Papley older than Charlie and has a decent injury history, plus we’re not in the market for Flanders (at 900+) or CP (1m+)Sydney are now the only main option for curnow if a trade does happen
Hopefully there pick 9 future first , Papley and mccartin.
That allows us to keep TDK pick in this years draft could package 9 & 10 and move up or trade for some good players. Flanders, trac etc.
The answer is always more runningBe interesting to see the impact of a 5 person bench on list management approaches; reckon two ruckman will become a bit of a norm now you can rest one on the bench without gutting rotations.
Looks like he will stay which is a great option to thenDon’t like that. McCartin is one concussion away from retirement, Papley older than Charlie and has a decent injury history, plus we’re not in the market for Flanders (at 900+) or CP (1m+)
The interesting thing is they aren't increasing the rotations - players will spend more time on the benchThe answer is always more running
Yep so they go harder when on the groundThe interesting thing is they aren't increasing the rotations - players will spend more time on the bench
I reckon different clubs will use it differently. Those with strong depth probably use it as a genuine 5th interchange, lowering the load on the rest of their players. Some will use it to manage older or younger players specifically or players coming back from injury. Some probably keep it as a genuine sub (ie. sit out the 1st half) but with more flexibility to come on and off the ground if required.The interesting thing is they aren't increasing the rotations - players will spend more time on the bench
There is a limitYep so they go harder when on the ground