List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

Right decision.
Agree, right move for list balance reasons. But it's a black mark on list management. Not a good look to have to pay out contrats twice in 3 years (and probably another to come, but not really a list management issue for EH).

Would have delisted Boyd and or Fogarty before Binns. Felt we could have gotten more from him. Whereas the other 2 will give us nothing more. Shame really. But i would like to keep Young if we could.

I think Boyd has shown a lot more, prior to this year. Who knows what happened to him in 25?

Agree about Fog, but splitting hairs really.

Agree, right move for list balance reasons. But it's a black mark on list management. Not a good look to have to pay out contrats twice in 3 years (and probably another to come, but not really a list management issue for EH).
Agreed, but it is good to see that we're ruthless enough to cut early rather than chasing the sunk cost like we used to.

Binns has been delisted according to Cleary, year left on his contract.

He never played again after being yelled at by Vossy during that (three?)quarter time break.

This is the cost of re-signing Gov. He certainly would be gone at the end of next season, and he would realise that. A blow for the kid, but gives him a chance to fight for his career somewhere.

Hope it was relatively amicable, and very much hope there is no lingering animosity among the playing group resulting from it.

Surely Austin has to be held accountable for some of these contracts he gave out. We would also delist Fogarty if he wasn’t contracted and were lucky to offload a contracted Durdin.

Edit - Jordan Boyd another who shouldn’t have ever had more than a one year contract.

Wonder how much of it was dictated by the Head of Footy as compared to purely Austin.
Anyway, there’s surely going be to be fewer of these contracts going forward.

I think Boyd was a bit of a different case.
Had been one of our best in the prelim, was locked in our best team and provided a point of difference for us when he signed the contract extension, which wasn’t huge. Later suffered an injury which really affected his form and kicking, and then who knows what happened this year.

Binns has been delisted according to Cleary, year left on his contract.

He never played again after being yelled at by Vossy during that (three?)quarter time break.

As I posted over a month ago. 1-2 contracted players will likely be cut as Wright fixes list issues

Looks to be Elijah & Binns so far

This is the cost of re-signing Gov. He certainly would be gone at the end of next season, and he would realise that. A blow for the kid, but gives him a chance to fight for his career somewhere.

Hope it was relatively amicable, and very much hope there is no lingering animosity among the playing group resulting from it.
Think they'd have done it anyway. If Buku had been traded, we'd have cut Gov. And still been in the same situation.

Feel for him because he's clearly a top VFL player but hasn't really translated to AFL. Still young so has a chance to make it elsewhere. With Chesser coming in and Lucas Camporeale seemingly jumping ahead of him last year it was always going to be tough for him to get any sort of run in the AFL.

It's what I would have done.

Binns, Lij and White adds three more list spots (to four). I'd also pay out Fogarty, but they probably won't do it.

I want them to keep Flynn Young.

3 draft picks (Dean, Lindsay, Ison), and maybe Phillips as a Free Agent.
Thats harsh on Will White. He has done everything asked of him in a very difficult position and has shown more than players that have been here for years. I know sometimes the numbers fall badly for you when outta contract but I'd keep him ahead of Fogarty

Pretty sure he was told to explore his options, and was doing so. No takers unfort with a link to WCE.

Wonder how much of it was dictated by the Head of Footy as compared to purely Austin.

Had been one of our best in the prelim, was locked in our best team and provided a point of difference for us when he signed the contract extension, which wasn’t huge. Later suffered an injury which really affected his form and kicking, and then who knows what happened this year.
Boyd wasn’t in good physical shape this year, for whatever reason

Wiz made a comment about a month ago passing on the view of another recruiter who found it odd that we offered long contracts to fringe players

I guess that is changing now

Feel for him because he's clearly a top VFL player but hasn't really translated to AFL. Still young so has a chance to make it elsewhere. With Chesser coming in and Lucas Camporeale seemingly jumping ahead of him last year it was always going to be tough for him to get any sort of run in the AFL.
The wing has become one of the most influential positions on the ground. Whilst Acres kicking wasn't flash last season he was fantastic at covering at both ends of the ground. He is also very handy in the air. Bins would have got by in a different era with run and carry alone, he is a little limited in todays game. And more Important than that he was Voss' whipping boy and was never getting picked.

McGovern.

Been a lazy half hearted bludger most of his career here and Adelaide while hes had contracts behind him. Now that he's in later stages of his career he seems to be in better shape, but because of sustained injuries, he can only play at 75% in order to chug a reasonable amount of games in a year. If he played at 100% he would break down.

His career has been about a pay check with very little performance drive.

So be it, not everyone is driven or motivated. But as a supporter, he's a big Meh.

No Silvagni, no O'Farrell, no Khamis....means reluctantly another year of Mitch.

He knows it, he doesn't really care what i or others think. Its another paycheck.

Good onya Mitch, he might be a ripper fella off the field for all i know.

Spot on TW
Saved me typing it 👍
I’ll say 2 things about McGovern.
He’s the most conditional player I’ve ever seen at Carlton.
And now, due to circumstances, he’s the luckiest player to be at Carlton.
I’m certain GW had him gone and will probably sack him the moment the siren sounds to end our 2026 season …

The wing has become one of the most influential positions on the ground. Whilst Acres kicking wasn't flash last season he was fantastic at covering at both ends of the ground. He is also very handy in the air. Bins would have got by in a different era with run and carry alone, he is a little limited in todays game. And more Important than that he was Voss' whipping boy and was never getting picked.
Acres had a disappointing year but his major point of differential from our other wingers is his work as an aerial threat. He has massively influenced games at Carlton with that alone in both arcs.

However we’ve dished out 2yrs to Motlop, which seems much of the same to the others, when only 1yr MAX was required (lucky at all in my book).

As I have said before, we will need 4 primary list spots to take 4 picks to the draft for matching, trading etc.

Therefore 2 must go off the primary list.

Cavanagh even saying in the article we want to make 4 selections in the ND.
We can take three picks and then live trade extra picks if needed. 43 may actually be enough for Ison. It depends how prickish the other clubs are. Sounds like Weagles want to start playing hard ball.