List Mgmt. 2025 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

“I'd be filthy of I was Melbourne about Judd McVee.

Yes.

Like, I'd prefer what Gazey said, off the top. The thing about Judd McVee does hold, if Judd McVee is happy to end up in WA, or he wants to go to Fremantle, but if he's just happy to get back to WA and play his footy, well, West Coast has got the first pick in the pre-season draft. So he can just walk.

They can just say, listen, don't worry about it. Melbourne can't get a deal on with Frio. So he's basically got Melbourne completely over a barrel.

100% yes.

If he's happy just to go home and play the next chapter of his footy career there.

Provided West Coast, because you still have to come to terms with your conditions.

Sure they'll be able to meet his demands. They're not going to be exorbitant.

Well, that's an issue though.

I'm sure they'll be able to meet his demands.

Well, it depends on what his demands are. Freo might be valuing him a whole lot higher.

Yeah, but if they want him, they have to get a deal done. That's the whole point.

No, but if he slips through and he's got a figure that he wants to get and West Coast says no, then there is a very small, small risk.

There's a lot of clubs between West Coast and Fremantle, and I absolutely guarantee you one of those would use their pick to pick up Jud McVie.

Yeah, but what I'm saying, he won't be going where he wants to go.

No, that's right. That's what I said. If he's happy to just get home, because he's a WA boy.

If he's happy just to get home, and it doesn't worry him ultimately, whether it's Fremantle or West Coast, then he's in a wonderful position. But that's when you're filthy. When you pick a kid up, what is he picked, like late first round, picking the rookie draft in his year, he comes in, hardly misses a beat since he played for you, and then he gets a little bit, well, the public comment is that he's a bit upset about the lack of offensive football he's playing.

He wants to be used more of an offensive weapon rather than a sort of lockdown defender type. I'm sure we can come to terms with that. If that's what your biggest gripe is, Judd, we can have a chat about that if you're Stephen King.

Of course you can.

I'll play you up on a wing mate for a little while.

And speaking of Stephen King, that's what it was referring to when I read out that comment. I'm not Stephen.

There you go. A lot of Stephens.

That's my throat.

Well, that's why it would have been good if you had told us who the Stephen in your story was.

Just jumping around a little bit.

Richard's in Campbell. He wants to have a chat about Judd. It's that time of the year, folks.

If you just want to jump on the blower and start talking trade turkey with us, the bloke opposite me is the guru. Absolute guru when it comes to this stuff.

Richard's in Campbell.

Come on, Keith.

It is the tradies out for Port West. And Max Lyon of Inch Academy. G'day, Dicky.

G'day, boys, how are you going?

Yeah, good, Rich.

“Good. A friend of a friend of a, you know, that sort of thing.

Yeah.

My understanding is that the demands put into the Melbourne Football Club by Jud McBee were such that had Melbourne acquiesced, Melbourne couldn't acquiesce. It would have sent a precedent that they could not have held up with any other club.

As in the financial compensation.

Along those lines.

So he was asking for an absolute mozza.

I'm not sure about the money. There are other things as well.

Well, do you know what the other things are, Richard?

Yes, but I'm not telling you.

Could it be a role? Has it got to do with a on-field role, maybe? Like Andy was alluding to.

No, nothing to do with that.

We've run out of things. What could it be then?”

From The Run Home with Andy & Gazey: Full Show September 30, 30 Sep 2025
🤣
I wish I hadn’t asked

I’m so tired of playing this game every year.

“If [player] wants to play in [state] we should be able to trade them to whichever club in [state] has the best offer”

“[decent offer] is insulting we should just send him to the PSD to prove a point!”
Think some of the trade valuation come close tbh.

He's worth a first rounder and he's contracted for another season so the trade will be two first rounders.

He's worth a first rounder and he's uncontracted so the trade will be a third rounder.

Honestly the difference in those two trade scenarios is what steak knives change hands and/or who gets them.

When players are on massive deals and their club wants to keep it's a bit different. Some of the prices paid for those players is crazy.

Thank god we sold Cerra, Lobb, Hill, Langdon, et al. to the highest bidder not the club they requested. And they had 10 choices so we got great deals on them right! Market forces baby:'(
Good luck finding a club that would've paid more for Brad Hill or Rory Lobb lol.

And for Rory Lobb don't say us. He was 25 when we brought him in and 29 when traded him out.

Good luck finding a club that would've paid more for Brad Hill or Rory Lobb lol.

And for Rory Lobb don't say us. He was 25 when we brought him in and 29 when traded him out.
Don't forget Cerra, he notably picked Carlton when he actually preferred the Dees to help us out

It sucked that it was in a Covid consolidation year where teams didn't have list room and there was alot of uncertainty with cap space (so the market was fairly small anyway) but thankfully that 2021 draft was elite so it didn't matter

Thank god we sold Cerra, Lobb, Hill, Langdon, et al. to the highest bidder not the club they requested. And they had 10 choices so we got great deals on them right! Market forces baby:'(

Didn’t Cerra actually go to Carlton because he did want to do the right thing by Freo and Carlton had best offer?

🤣
I wish I hadn’t asked
Wait. You're telling me fully grown adults actually listen to a podcast with Andy Maher on it?

Wow
Not this one.
Apple has automatically transcribed transcripts. I’m sure other platforms would as well. Saves a lot of listening.

TLDR: a caller made claims that McVee’s demands were over the top, but wouldn’t say what they were.
A lot of filler.

“I'd be filthy of I was Melbourne about Judd McVee.

Yes.

Like, I'd prefer what Gazey said, off the top. The thing about Judd McVee does hold, if Judd McVee is happy to end up in WA, or he wants to go to Fremantle, but if he's just happy to get back to WA and play his footy, well, West Coast has got the first pick in the pre-season draft. So he can just walk.

They can just say, listen, don't worry about it. Melbourne can't get a deal on with Frio. So he's basically got Melbourne completely over a barrel.

100% yes.

If he's happy just to go home and play the next chapter of his footy career there.

Provided West Coast, because you still have to come to terms with your conditions.

Sure they'll be able to meet his demands. They're not going to be exorbitant.

Well, that's an issue though.

I'm sure they'll be able to meet his demands.

Well, it depends on what his demands are. Freo might be valuing him a whole lot higher.

Yeah, but if they want him, they have to get a deal done. That's the whole point.

No, but if he slips through and he's got a figure that he wants to get and West Coast says no, then there is a very small, small risk.

There's a lot of clubs between West Coast and Fremantle, and I absolutely guarantee you one of those would use their pick to pick up Jud McVie.

Yeah, but what I'm saying, he won't be going where he wants to go.

No, that's right. That's what I said. If he's happy to just get home, because he's a WA boy.

If he's happy just to get home, and it doesn't worry him ultimately, whether it's Fremantle or West Coast, then he's in a wonderful position. But that's when you're filthy. When you pick a kid up, what is he picked, like late first round, picking the rookie draft in his year, he comes in, hardly misses a beat since he played for you, and then he gets a little bit, well, the public comment is that he's a bit upset about the lack of offensive football he's playing.

He wants to be used more of an offensive weapon rather than a sort of lockdown defender type. I'm sure we can come to terms with that. If that's what your biggest gripe is, Judd, we can have a chat about that if you're Stephen King.

Of course you can.

I'll play you up on a wing mate for a little while.

And speaking of Stephen King, that's what it was referring to when I read out that comment. I'm not Stephen.

There you go. A lot of Stephens.

That's my throat.

Well, that's why it would have been good if you had told us who the Stephen in your story was.

Just jumping around a little bit.

Richard's in Campbell. He wants to have a chat about Judd. It's that time of the year, folks.

If you just want to jump on the blower and start talking trade turkey with us, the bloke opposite me is the guru. Absolute guru when it comes to this stuff.

Richard's in Campbell.

Come on, Keith.

It is the tradies out for Port West. And Max Lyon of Inch Academy. G'day, Dicky.

G'day, boys, how are you going?

Yeah, good, Rich.

“Good. A friend of a friend of a, you know, that sort of thing.

Yeah.

My understanding is that the demands put into the Melbourne Football Club by Jud McBee were such that had Melbourne acquiesced, Melbourne couldn't acquiesce. It would have sent a precedent that they could not have held up with any other club.

As in the financial compensation.

Along those lines.

So he was asking for an absolute mozza.

I'm not sure about the money. There are other things as well.

Well, do you know what the other things are, Richard?

Yes, but I'm not telling you.

Could it be a role? Has it got to do with a on-field role, maybe? Like Andy was alluding to.

No, nothing to do with that.

We've run out of things. What could it be then?”

From The Run Home with Andy & Gazey: Full Show September 30, 30 Sep 2025
What makes this particular one so hilarious tho is , you’ve got one of the most “scandalous” trade periods coming up involving some of the biggest names in the game , including a couple of club captains Who are all victorians and also happen to be some of their current sides most “treasured “ (certainly by supporters anyway) players..

-theres Merrett going nuclear at Essendon .. despite less than 12 mths ago signing a very hefty pay increasd extension..

-Melbournes best player and only norm smith medallist in their only flag for 60 years wanting out , most likely interstate…despite having still 4 yrs at 1mill++ on his current deal

-norths captain on 900k And without even any suitors declaring he wants to explore his options all coz he simply wants to play “on ball” instead of wing (lol)

-Annnnd my fav and best of all…

-from mahers own club ..Charlie curnow -who also only 2 yrs ago signed a massive 5 yr odd extension on over 1mill++ (and after professing his absolute love and admiration for the navy blues) … is now so desperate to get out of Carlton he approached Geelong back in may and is also prepared to leave Victoria , AND take a pay cut all at the same time!!!

Oh but no no no listeners!!

-its that grubby little ungrateful 22 yr old west Aussie back pocket player from Melbournes rookie list no less!…. Judd mcvee!
…..who UNLIKE all of the above ,is actually OUT OF CONTRACT and simply looking to get paid and play in a role he thinks he can play his best football in ,for his career moving fwd…
- Yerop it’s HIM who should be the object of all our anger and outrage my fellow Victorians!!!

I heard some of Don Pyke being interviewed on ABC radio tonight. He was talking like he thought they had a chance with getting McVee.

Yeah, the AFL just gifted those caaarnnnts the pick to get him…
Ken rigged, as soon as they get the compo out they come spruiking a quick turnaround….
Talking about the cash they have to spend and how they will pay overs to get a quick result
They are putrid.

Just got that Screaming Jets song - FRC smashing in my brain now !!!!

Oh no ****ing doubt

Pykes an absolute grub.
He’s a temu Steve silvagni

Few things to remember here are tho

1 - already nominated us and by doing so he’s then obviously already knocked back an offer from WC (of course they can up it still)

2- he’s OOC , so whilst Melb can pressure him(I’m sure they will) to look towards WC they cant give him an ultimatum of “it’s either the eagles or us”

Oh no ****ing doubt

Pykes an absolute grub.
He’s a temu Steve silvagni

Few things to remember here are tho

1 - already nominated us and by doing so he’s then obviously already knocked back an offer from WC (of course they can up it still)

2- he’s OOC , so whilst Melb can pressure him(I’m sure they will) to look towards WC they cant give him an ultimatum of “it’s either the eagles or us”
WC should be offering less than us in reality as they have the psd to leverage with, although WC so pick 15 probably on the table.

Didn’t Cerra actually go to Carlton because he did want to do the right thing by Freo and Carlton had best offer?
Melbourne had no first rounder and had just won the flag, they had no chance of getting him without moving on a player which they didn’t want to do. Probably wish they moved on May or Clarry in hindsight.

I mean we always pretend we can get Baker and Kelly and they always pretend they can get Bolton and Jackson
I get it when the player hasn't officially nominated a club. But once you get the Cal Twomey here we go, idk why clubs bother to say anything other than "hopefully the club he's nominated choke so we can get a deal done".

WC should be offering less than us in reality as they have the psd to leverage with, although WC so pick 15 probably on the table.
Exactly. Due to the PSD, it's hard to see how WCE's involvement significantly increases the value of an ooc player. (You'd rather no other clubs in the convo, admittedly.)

West Coast trying to trade out their early picks for the sugar hit of experienced recruits instead of rebuilding via the draft, yet again. It's as if rewarding them for irresponsible choices didn't create better incentive structures.

Exactly. Due to the PSD, it's hard to see how WCE's involvement significantly increases the value of an ooc player. (You'd rather no other clubs in the convo, admittedly.)

West Coast trying to trade out their early picks for the sugar hit of experienced recruits instead of rebuilding via the draft, yet again. It's as if rewarding them for irresponsible choices didn't create better incentive structures.
FWIW think West Coast just puts pick 20 on the table.

Pick 25 or whatever it ends up being after FA compensation isn't an unreasonable price for McVee.

All it does is ensure we need to upgrade or add something extra to our second rounder and as I've said heaps of time already I've got no issue with it given:
  • I think McVee is worth it.
  • I don't think we're taking anymore than three picks and don't think Whan is truly in the conversation to go before our third rounders.

In an ideal world we can do third round pick swaps with Carlton and Port (only 3-4 upgrade each) and keep Richmond's third rounder. I fear Carlton might have too much else going on though and as they'd be the first pick swap that probably puts Port Adelaide's third rounder out of reach.

Pick 25 or whatever it ends up being after FA compensation isn't an unreasonable price for McVee.

All it does is ensure we need to upgrade or add something extra to our second rounder and as I've said heaps of time already I've got no issue with it given:
  • I don't think we're taking anymore than three picks and don't think Whan is truly in the conversation to go before our third rounders.

In an ideal world we can do third round pick swaps with Carlton and Port (only 3-4 upgrade each) and keep Richmond's third rounder. I fear Carlton might have too much else going on though and as they'd be the first pick swap that probably puts Port Adelaide's third rounder out of reach.

We offered more for Kelly, and it had no impact.

If McVee does not want to go to Eagles, then it doesn't matter what they offer.

We simply need to offer Pick 29 and leave it. It is fair offer.

WC can’t really do shit if McVee doesn’t want to play for them though. Every other player come to us has nominated WA but he’s specifically nominated Freo.

I have nothing to back it up but I don’t get the idea that he necessarily really wants to move home, more so that we really want him and have sold him a vision to convince him to come back. Completely different to Bolton and Jackson

In an ideal world we can do third round pick swaps with Carlton and Port (only 3-4 upgrade each) and keep Richmond's third rounder.
The reality is that there is one WA player in the top 25, Farrow.
That’s an absolute disgrace and hopefully on the night that changes.
Most of the WA kids will be available later.

WC can’t really do shit if McVee doesn’t want to play for them though. Every other player come to us has nominated WA but he’s specifically nominated Freo.

I have nothing to back it up but I don’t get the idea that he necessarily really wants to move home, more so that we really want him and have sold him a vision to convince him to come back. Completely different to Bolton and Jackson
He wants to come home.

We offered more for Kelly, and it had no impact.

If McVee does not want to go to Eagles, then it doesn't matter what they offer.

We simply need to offer Pick 29 and leave it. It is fair offer.
100% how it works.

Pick will be 35 after free agent compo and Weagles welfare pick.

We may need to do an upgrade on a later pick.

He wants to come home.
Not sure he does tbh. Sounds like it's very role driven. The club has talked about a kicker off HBF for a few years now and have identified McVee as a player that can play that role. For some reason he's not playing that role at Melbourne.

As I said the West Coast interest will keep us honest from a trade perspective but there's no way he's at West Coast in 2026.

Just another thought - If Adelaide trade their F1 to Melbourne what would people's thoughts be on Picks 11 and 29 for McVee and Adelaide's F1.

If the draft is that weak I wouldn't be surprised if we go for it.