List Mgmt. 2025 List Management

From a relevant source Teakle hasn’t been formally offered a a train on yet. So you may well be right but we might as well select them in the rookie draft if that is the case.

The Jeremy Sharp route and Dev Robertson / Fin MacRae route is not really required for Teakle, Boyd, Cox.

I reckon we will decide on our train ons after the drafts and just a feeling but one of them could be Milan Murdoch.
Wouldn't be surprised if we draft Murdock if we use a live Rookie Draft pick tbh.

Can't see us passing all three picks in the Rookie Draft tbh (assuming we take two in the National Draft). We've always drafted one even if that wasn't the plan last year.

Also I don't think there was any reason to pre-list Narkle last year but we still did it.

Reckon Cox is plan A and Teakle and someone else training on is plan B. Think they'll be 4-5 SSPs join clubs straight away league wide but the rest probably only formally get offered train on spots after they're overlooked in all drafts.

Wonder if Sweid is going to be poachable if the Dons trade their picks out

Likely they have some later picks lined up somehow for points but surely its doubtful they'd want a deficit on a likely top 3 pick?

Also pretty funny Dons have loaded up on top 10s in 2020 and 2025, both low rated drafts, talk about bad timing

Wonder if Sweid is going to be poachable if the Dons trade their picks out

Likely they have some later picks lined up somehow for points but surely its doubtful they'd want a deficit on a likely top 3 pick?

Also pretty funny Dons have loaded up on top 10s in 2020 and 2025, both low rated drafts, talk about bad timing
Pretty sure the rumoured trades could do two things from an Essendon perspective:

1. I think they let one of the two NGA players they have go back into the general pool.

2. They probably end up taking four selections instead of five.

Twomey has been saying for a while that they might not take both NGA players.

Also found it interesting they said they'd consider Setterfield for a train on spot but only had five list spots available. They could promote a rookie post draft and there is that rookie list position that doesn't currently exist.

I think Cox has scope to be a valuable contributor even if he doesn’t play a game. His capacity to support greater resilience within a playing group is immense. In terms of aid having to commit to a vision and endure ongoing questions as to whether he will make it very few will have faced the challenges he has. Yes he got that brash American nature that we love to hate but up until 12 years he had pretty much never kicked a footy - and he was in his 20’s. Now he’s played 138 games, won a premiership and played a strong role in some other memorable wins.

Lots of things have to click to win a flag, particularly if you travel as much as the WA teams do. Having Cox instil your list with what must be incredible resilience and positivity must be worth a fair bit I reckon.

Regards

S. Pete

No point having another developing raw ruck. We have seen how well this has worked for WCE the past few years. They end up just cutting most of them. Riddle is our developing ruck who can also pinch up forward.

Yes that's what I should have said. A ruckman like Riddle who is a season or so in the AFL system ahead of Riddle. There's not one of those uncontracted. Maybe Mitchell Edwards in a year or two...someone like that.

Cox is only going to get worse, and he was already pretty bad this year. Better off using that spot on someone who still has time and development left in them.

I think people don’t realise just how ass he was this year.
Reality Tv Love After Lockup GIF by WE tv

Don’t want that idiot American anywhere near the squad. Keep him so far away.
Don’t do it JLo. Get someone out of the WAFL instead.
Man, why is he an idiot?

Bloke seems genuine when they interview him and has genuine passion for wanting the game to grow.

(He’s rightfully pointed out, the AFL missed a trick not giving away international rights for free during the international COVID sport shutdown).

Considering he’s got to be made of tough stuff to move to another country and play this sport at the highest level (and win a premiership) - I’d say he’d plenty to offer than a back up in the WAFL we’d never play anyway.

Man, why is he an idiot?

Bloke seems genuine when they interview him and has genuine passion for wanting the game to grow.

(He’s rightfully pointed out, the AFL missed a trick not giving away international rights for free during the international COVID sport shutdown).

Considering he’s got to be made of tough stuff to move to another country and play this sport at the highest level (and win a premiership) - I’d say he’d plenty to offer than a back up in the WAFL we’d never play anyway.
Dude from all accounts is a stand up bloke, not sure what old mate is going on about there.

Don’t want that idiot American anywhere near the squad. Keep him so far away.
Don’t do it JLo. Get someone out of the WAFL instead.
Have to disagree on this one. Cox is a mentally tough dude at the very least.
He’s a proven big game AFL player too, more than nearly every player on the freo list if we are being brutally honest.
If some of that alone, rubbed off on a few of our boys, it would be worth having him around.

Yes idiot is an unnecessary and unwarranted call.

My issue is purely age. I think we can do better by pulling out someone younger with potential for longer retention. I also really don’t like the reports of 2 years. I hope that is wrong.

I see no reason to offer anything more than 1 year and then see where things are at with him and Riddle. Riddle could well be ready and then we have a 36 year old list clogger for 2027 season.

My issue is purely age. I think we can do better by pulling out someone younger with potential for longer retention. I also really don’t like the reports of 2 years. I hope that is wrong.

I see no reason to offer anything more than 1 year and then see where things are at with him and Riddle. Riddle could well be ready and then we have a 36 year old list clogger for 2027 season.

Tom Campbell is still on a list.
We need a mature back up.

On the list of possible list **** ups this doesn’t even make a blip, and Cox could possibly pull things out of the fire for us. Cheap insurance

Cox isn't coming to WA to play for Peel. He will want guaranteed minutes from JLo.

Cox, Voss, Treacy, Jackson, Darcy, Amiss is just crazy enough that it might just work.

Cox isn't coming to WA to play for Peel. He will want guaranteed minutes from JLo.

Cox, Voss, Treacy, Jackson, Darcy, Amiss is just crazy enough that it might just work.

Cox wants a guaranteed pay day and to extend his career
150-200k plus say 5-10 match fees a year is decent money to finish your career

There's absolutely zero chance that works.

The days of Mason Cox as a best 23 player anywhere in the league are finished.

He's probably smart enough to know that two years earning say 200k in the real world isn't going to happen straight out of the AFL.

Whatever - he can chase that somewhere else. Whole host of clubs chasing after him it seems.

Freo are chasing ruck depth not dissimilar to McDonald (as KPD). Not another starting ruck.

Thinking a forward line of LMac, Amiss, Treacy, Voss and Cox would work is craziness. Cox a back-up for injury to either LJ or Darcy. We also have Voss who can back-up in ruck.

A delisted player demanding game time? Yeh nah. I went through the Collingwood 2025 games he played most of the year VFL. 10 AFL games subbed out in about 4 of them. Got the two finals games because Dan McStay got injured in round 24. I didn’t see any games with more than around 6-8 possessions.

I can understand the big fella’s management wanting 2 years to make the trip West but he isn’t in a position to make demands.

Cox would be the second 211cm player at Freo and a big body to play at Peel, thrown in as forward/ruck depth at AFL level. But he is old and wasn't ever quick, or a leaping player.

I guess I ask myself, would I have wanted to keep Sandilands on the list playing until 40 if he was able to play at the same standard all game and not suffer injury.

Probably.

Mason Cox isn't Sandi, but what what he offers isn't nothing and his athletic ability wasn't great to begin with so how much can he lose.

Big tall guy at the bounce, apologies, ball up, and he should get first hand on it always when the opposition don't have a leaping option.

Maybe bring him into the bounce against the likes of Reidy and play our burst players in the square, tap wide and clear it.

Riddle isn’t ready by 2027-2028 at least. He’s still so raw.

Reidy out and there’s nothing for back up. Cox isn’t a big idea. He would spread the Fremantle love and name. He knows how to win, and is a very intelligent guy off the field. Not a bad idea

Riddle needs to pack on about 12-15 kg before you can even judge if he can be a viable ruck option at all

Jury is completely out as to his ruck credibility

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management