Autopsy 2025 Round 18: Swans swindle slow Saints

We might if...

• NWM stays
  • Hall keeps playing like he has for the last few weeks
  • Phillipou gets his body right
  • Tauru becomes the player we all think he will

Adding King and TDK into the mix, that could be 6 huge contracts on the books in 2 or 3 years time. Higgins wouldn't be on pennies either.

Even if 2 of those 4 things happen, it's still 4 big contracts.

Salary cap issues are never far away. It's just how the system works.

This idea that "we can't get players and our cap is low now, so it's fine to sign someone for 7 years, money is almost irrelevant to St Kilda" is so absurd that I almost throw my phone down in disgust every time I read somebody on here saying or implying it. Which sadly happens often.

A tired toddler talks more sense than that.
There’s something called front loading a contract.
Pretty sure with the money available now there’s a really good chance that’s what we would do.
By the time the possible big contracts of NAS ( providing he’s still with us) Pou, Tauru etc etc come up we’ll have paid a vast amount of Tdks.

So just hand it back to?
That seems financially smart at all after we’ve worked to accumulate it…
What a compelling argument.

Look we’re clearly getting and paying for TDK and obviously I hope he proves to be worth every penny so we can probably stop this pointless bickering.

So glad somebody finally said it.

I've heard it all before, Occam's razor they say, cutting all the experience from the list and focusing on youth with an eye towards the future takes time. Yeah, right! I'd like some substance for this theory. Is there any evidence ANYWHERE in the AFL that playing young players makes it harder to win? I don't think so.

Ross made the finals in his first year back, and then the list was cut to the bone. So they should have done BETTER in 2024. And losing Membrey and Battle? Who cares, it's only a couple of goals for and a couple of goals against. It shouldn't make a difference at all. You get a first-round draft pick for Battle.

And you only have to look at the Dockers list that Lyon left behind; he definitely should have done better with it. Their list was so good that they made the finals 3 years after his sacking and might even make the finals again this year!

/s
And yet he absolutely spanked Langmuir by 10 goals and almost rolled you at home
Cmon mate this supposed talented Freo list is as brittle as they come
They make finals come to Melbourne I guarantee straight sets out
Soft

See, this makes no sense to me whatsoever. Ross is already coaching a team. Said team is fourth last on the ladder, won 5 games of football and 2 in 3 months.

Would we somehow be even worse of Ross didn't grace us with his presence?

Only WC has a worse record than us the last 3 months and they beat us!

Ross has somehow managed to convince the media and the majority of Saints fans he always just doesn't have the cattle. He is always perceived to be squeezing every last drop out of a list.

Conversely, as Buckley raised during the week, is that correct or do Lyon coached teams look dour because a lot of players are asked to be "system" players?

Let me ask you this, if Lyon is coaching Pies or Hawks are they better or worse? I reckon it's fairly obvious they are substantially worse personally.
Perhaps Fly or Mitchell could've won us another match or two we will never know
But, We do know Ross can coach

We were screwed with a very hard fixture early on but it leaves us with a soft draw at the end of the season. I see it as that the afl in trying to screw us may actually work the other way because we now have a fairly soft draw to finish off and we will hopefully get some wins and maybe belt a couple and go into next season full of confidence. Our young team really need some good wins to finish off the season imo!!
Cause those late season wins last year really helped us this year

I swear nothing's more stagnant than when we the ball 80-60m from goal looking for that last mark.

They all turn into statues or decide to turn their back to the play. Its redic.

They know you can lead to the ball right.

Hunter Clark should not be playing. He's the new version of billings and Dunstan. Same shit over and over again.

Sooner dow is fit the better. Atleast he's a genuine mid.

So you think this is a 2-11 list?

You think it is fine to be the only team to lose to WC this year?

Or to lose to Carlton when they had 1 healthy person on the bench for an entire game of football?

You pretty happy with the output this coaching group is getting from the playing group are you?

You must think the list is absolute garbage of that is the case. I certainly don't.
No I think that’s not all on coaching
You do
That’s the difference

There’s always reasons.

A dead season bounce to finish 11th will no doubt inspire the Ross lovers, hell I bought into the hype last year.

It’ll count for nothing but a later draft pick in the long run though. Wins when you’re out of contention are totally ****ing pointless regardless of why we might get them.
I get all that.
And to be fair, the “Ross lovers” are smart enough to realise why we are getting all the wins at the end.

Safe to say, we’d ALL prefer the best draft pick we can which is why many on here have mixed emotions bc we want to win but know what winning pointless games will cost us.

Unfortunately that IS, literally the”luck” of the draw.

What a compelling argument.

Look we’re clearly getting and paying for TDK and obviously I hope he proves to be worth every penny so we can probably stop this pointless bickering.
And go back to Hickey vs Longer? 🤣🤣🤣

I swear nothing's more stagnant than when we the ball 80-60m from goal looking for that last mark.

They all turn into statues or decide to turn their back to the play. Its redic.

They know you can lead to the ball right.
This is right
Into 50 efficiency stats tell you today - and in other games - we struggle here
Yes we’ve missed King etc but our decision making and connection into fwd 50 is poor
Guys like Butler and Wood or Hill ….if they have it going in just wait for the butchery….
Hall epitomises the smarts you need
It’s why I’m keen to see Nas the mid on a more permanent basis …

You do
That’s the difference

Being from Swan Hill myself, I'd love to see Paddy succeed.

My gut feel though is that he's in the same boat as Clark & Jones; Solid depth.

Cause those late season wins last year really helped us this year
We started the season quite well despite our ridiculous amount of injuries. If you want High draft picks, be glad we got such a hard draw to start off with. I think it will be great to finish off the season with some good wins imo. We've lost 9 in a row ffs despite having plenty of "honourable losses"

You do
That’s the difference
Don't think it is all on coaching at all. We are clearly a long way off being a finals team in terms of talent.

Doesn't mean I don't think the coaches have been poor this year.

We play a dour boring game style that relies on flashes of individual brilliance for something to happen. I think the way we move the ball from the centre into F50 is probably up there with the worst in the league.

We refuse to use angles, we won't touch the corridor unless it is NAS and we are predictable and easy to play against, regularly just booting it down the line once our 1 wood (the switch) is blocked off.

I think this is absolutely on the coaches to improve. Cats, Pies, Hawks all have bold ball movement. They have better lists than us, but the gap is not as big as results would suggest. They play with flair and confidence because it has been drilled into them.

Next year I am expecting more than just a few extra wins, I want to see this young group produce a far more attractive brand of footy. I want to see run and carry, piercing kicks through the middle, repeat leads inside F50.

Let's see if we can evolve the game plan, I doubt it personally.

We started the season quite well despite our ridiculous amount of injuries. If you want High draft picks, be glad we got such a hard draw to start off with. I think it will be great to finish off the season with some good wins imo. We've lost 9 in a row ffs despite having plenty of "honourable losses"
I’m fine with wins that don’t move us anywhere on the ladder. North and Richmond, maybe Melbourne.

I gotta admit today’s loss stung, felt like the sort of one that might galvanize the group if we got it but ultimately you get absolutely no reward for finishing 9th opposed to 15th

I’m fine with wins that don’t move us anywhere on the ladder. North and Richmond, maybe Melbourne.

I gotta admit today’s loss stung, felt like the sort of one that might galvanize the group if we got it but ultimately you get absolutely no reward for finishing 9th opposed to 15th
It really looked like it stung the players too

Richmond, West coast, essendon, North Melbourne, Gold coast (finally coming good now).....that's just off the top of my head from the last few years....

all playing young...all can't find wins

but yes...carry on you absolute numpty...
To be fair, old mate’s still trying to figure out the factory settings to his new action figure

1752415474418.jpeg

Autopsy 2025 Round 18: Swans swindle slow Saints