Training 2025 Training - reports, pics etc

Absolutely!!! I was there today, the trick is to take a set of headphones to cancel out the ****ing spice girls!!!

You were spot on in your earlier post - no Voss, Cripps, Docherty, Jagga, Cottrell, Elijah and Kemp.

Just a few other points/observations without going into any great depth cos it aint preseason, just an open session designed for public consumption.

- JSOS and Cow out there early to do some light work. Both looked to be moving okay. Big H came out not long after - did the drills but not the match sim. Left the ground early, but no signs of injury - no idea, but hopefully nothing to worry about.

- Newy was moving freely (sorry Jim). Joined in the drills but wore the yellow cap. Haynes also wearing a yellow cap so may have a little niggle.

- I hate to say it, but our basic kicking skills are awful. They were doing one on one kicking during the warmups of about 25-30 metres - it was fairly casual, but there were way too many balls hitting the ground. I also don't care what the stats say, B.Campo's kicking is terrible - missing 25m passes under no pressure to a stationery target. Still reckon the kid will be a ripper, but badly needs to work on that part of his game. The good news is that the kicking efficiency overall seemed to improve during match sim.

- better news for Jim, I thought Billy looked great - clean hands and his disposal really stood out. Reckon we may see a debut at some stage soon - god knows we need the run. I also liked Charleson across half back during match sim - looks lively.

- our new boy Flynn didn't look out of place at all. I reckon we may need to be a little patient before he gets his chance, but his kicking was sublime, didn't miss a target. Not a lot of him, but looking forward to seeing him initially with the VFL boys and hopefully getting a call up at some stage.

Point well made on our kicking.

In the match sim it was shocking.

After watching how slick the Coll-Haw game was the night before and then seeing our ball movement and skill level in basic match sim it was a real facepalm moment.

Weekend observations relating to this week's availability:

Zac Williams certain to be available.
Jack Silvagni likely to be available (didn't compete in match sim)
Lachie Cowan likely to be available (didn't do everything)
Matt Cottrell not sighted - would say unlikely.
Elijah Hollands not sighted - would say highly unlikely.
Nic Newman - Not available but don't be surprised if he's playing a half of VFL footy by the end of this month / early July.

I reckon we need a running coach on staff for a couple of years to fix up all these issues coming up, and get a focus on sprint technique as well as economical running when going slower while minimising laps/steps midweek.

Easily the most effective bit of football department spend we could add, alongside talent scouts outside of Vic and Ireland...

I reckon we need a running coach on staff for a couple of years to fix up all these issues coming up, and get a focus on sprint technique as well as economical running when going slower while minimising laps/steps midweek.

Easily the most effective bit of football department spend we could add, alongside talent scouts outside of Vic and Ireland...
A running coach would be useful.

So would coaches that could improve player skills like hitting targets, kicking to advantage, making position etc. - something that could improve ball movement and transition between the arcs…and also goal scoring efficiency from i50s as well.

GWS have 2!!

One of them is exceptional…

The back end staff at that club is amazing, most are part time, so they get the benefit of more coaches!

GWS have 2!!

One of them is exceptional…

The back end staff at that club is amazing, most are part time, so they get the benefit of more coaches!
We can definitely afford to trim down our development academy in favour of fundamental skills coaches.

Not any skilled players???

Of course I want skilled players, but

1) We already have a lot of skilled players on our list
2) It's not so easy to just magically get a lot more skilled players on the list
3) Easier/cheaper/simpler to turn over coaches vs playing list (maybe?)
4) Better skills coaching will improve player skill level
5) Better coaching will significantly improve player skill level (yes, coaches can't magically make players kick the ball better, but better gameplan, less mental and physical exhaustion from gameplan, better training etc can help players make the most of what they have)

6) I didn't want to see TOO greedy
7) Not sure if you wanted a serious answer or not

Of course I want skilled players, but

1) We already have a lot of skilled players on our list
2) It's not so easy to just magically get a lot more skilled players on the list
3) Easier/cheaper/simpler to turn over coaches vs playing list (maybe?)
4) Better skills coaching will improve player skill level
5) Better coaching will significantly improve player skill level (yes, coaches can't magically make players kick the ball better, but better gameplan, less mental and physical exhaustion from gameplan, better training etc can help players make the most of what they have)

6) I didn't want to see TOO greedy
7) Not sure if you wanted a serious answer or not
Kick your goals and we’re back to coal face where it all begins & where we like to excel.
Being able to hit our targets in the forward line (would) help too. Just imagine…sublime football.
Nailing your kicks gains improved confidence in your greater game & teammates.

Look at MFC and all the b/s that gets floated about them/game style etc. They kick straight (over many years) and they’re back at the top of the tree minus all these perceived issues - probably multiple premiers. Bad kicking is bad football.

I just want two things

1) Skills coaches
2) Skilled coaches

You are chasing a ghost.

There is no world that exists where full time professional players are not practising their skills in every training session under the watch of coaches.

Every time the teak goes out to train unless it is just pre-season physical running - the players have to execute skills to actually train.

This is a BF Carlton forum MYTH based on ZERO information and positing an absolutely nonsensical scenario- where Carlton coaches do not care about skills and do not train skills ...

it is very funny and naive.

You are chasing a ghost.

There is no world that exists where full time professional players are not practising their skills in every training session under the watch of coaches.

Every time the teak goes out to train unless it is just pre-season physical running - the players have to execute skills to actually train.

This is a BF Carlton forum MYTH based on ZERO information and positing an absolutely nonsensical scenario- where Carlton coaches do not care about skills and do not train skills ...

it is very funny and naive.
I think there is one key perspective that influences the outcomes that training achieves.
If the focus is on, "train the way you play" i.e. don't flower up the drill with poor execution of skills. Then players will choose to dispose with their dominant side every time, with their natural kick trajectory etc.

If the focus is, "train to improve your capacities when the game arrives", then you are encouraging players to dispose with both sides of the body, practice drilling kicks or looping them as appropriate etc. It will be frustrating to watch in the moment but over time the players will get better, which will eventually shine through on game day.

I think there is evidence that the former is the predominant approach, as we have so many one-sided players which limits their options on game day.

My other bugbear, which isn't as evident this year but I've seen in training footage over the years, is when players "have fun" in competitive drills at training. Once they realise they're going to get beaten in a marking contest, they just scrag their opponent to stop them taking a mark and have a laugh about it. This creates horrible habits on the weekend, in giving away indiscriminate free kicks. Thankfully, I don't think we do this as often now.

I think there is one key perspective that influences the outcomes that training achieves.
If the focus is on, "train the way you play" i.e. don't flower up the drill with poor execution of skills. Then players will choose to dispose with their dominant side every time, with their natural kick trajectory etc.

If the focus is, "train to improve your capacities when the game arrives", then you are encouraging players to dispose with both sides of the body, practice drilling kicks or looping them as appropriate etc. It will be frustrating to watch in the moment but over time the players will get better, which will eventually shine through on game day.

I think there is evidence that the former is the predominant approach, as we have so many one-sided players which limits their options on game day.

My other bugbear, which isn't as evident this year but I've seen in training footage over the years, is when players "have fun" in competitive drills at training. Once they realise they're going to get beaten in a marking contest, they just scrag their opponent to stop them taking a mark and have a laugh about it. This creates horrible habits on the weekend, in giving away indiscriminate free kicks. Thankfully, I don't think we do this as often now.
You mean like Acres running into an open goal and skimming the post from 2m out and laughing about it?

Funniest part about that, its not like its the first time he has nearly done it. He was SO SO lucky he didn't do the same against Melb in the Semi Final two years ago....

"Train the way we play" and "train to improve your skills" are not mutually exclusive are they?

The train we play idea is certainly ( as it should be) the main focus but we have seen evolution in the game style albeit with mixed results coming into the team - just trying to control tempo is a relatively new phenomenon.

Against WC- the team even tried switching across field - between the arcs whilst attempting to keep possession- something that a few of us have been calling for for a while now - clearly this has been trained before being attempted in a real game.

Regarding one sided players - that is typical of most AFL players - irrespective of status - it is just a fact of life. Being able to kick off either foot with equal or near equal effectiveness in game conditions under pressure isn't something too many players from any Club demonstrate.

As for having fun in competitive drills- I agree- that isn't training the way you are supposed to play- but then again- Carlton isnt full of deep competition for spots either. The last bloke that was happy to make Cripps earn a possession in training has been moved on -to be a "plodder" at the bulldogs.

The tail at Carlton has far far too much say in the Club - sans having earned the right imo - Cripps referencing Harry McKay as one of Carlton stars made me cough my coffee out in laughter.

Genuine 'stars' are consistent match winners - not as in at Carlton, just a group of lucky to be there and paid on potential types who self declare as stars and decide wether they are in the mood to play or not.

"Train the way we play" and "train to improve your skills" are not mutually exclusive are they?

The train we play idea is certainly ( as it should be) the main focus but we have seen evolution in the game style albeit with mixed results coming into the team - just trying to control tempo is a relatively new phenomenon.

Against WC- the team even tried switching across field - between the arcs whilst attempting to keep possession- something that a few of us have been calling for for a while now - clearly this has been trained before being attempted in a real game.

Regarding one sided players - that is typical of most AFL players - irrespective of status - it is just a fact of life. Being able to kick off either foot with equal or near equal effectiveness in game conditions under pressure isn't something too many players from any Club demonstrate.

As for having fun in competitive drills- I agree- that isn't training the way you are supposed to play- but then again- Carlton isnt full of deep competition for spots either. The last bloke that was happy to make Cripps earn a possession in training has been moved on -to be a "plodder" at the bulldogs.

The tail at Carlton has far far too much say in the Club - sans having earned the right imo - Cripps referencing Harry McKay as one of Carlton stars made me cough my coffee out in laughter.

Genuine 'stars' are consistent match winners - not as in at Carlton, just a group of lucky to be there and paid on potential types who self declare as stars and decide wether they are in the mood to play or not.
Yeah, ideally you have a bit of both modes as part of the training plan. I just think the emphasis can be too much on performance mode and not enough of improvement mode, which inevitably ends up undermining performance. As someone who played a lot of cricket, there was definitely a long-standing school of thought to practice "valuing your wicket" at training, which results in players having a limited array of shots to draw upon in match situations. One of the great things about T20 cricket is that it has given permission to batsmen to explore what they're capable of, which has resulted in more aggressive batting in test matches and one-day games.

I just think if you're a professional footballer, you don't just accept that you can't kick as well on your left, you chip away on a daily basis and eventually develop a basic level of proficiency. The reason Cerra and Hewett are two of our primary clearance players is that they can move in any direction upon winning the ball, making them hard to tackle, which helps us to exit stoppages purposefully. Dow was quick but you knew he was only ever going to his dominant side so he was fundamentally undermined against teams who matched him athletically.

I agree that it was evident we trained our ball movement patterns and the players looked committed to taking the first option, which encouraged players to continue to present different options. It's not a simple game so you're not going to play on your terms for four quarters but it's frustrating that we seem incapable of sustaining that intent for extended periods.

I also agree that our stars are a major part of our problem. When you build a game plan around players who are fundamentally unreliable, you are going to get inconsistent results at best. You need your leaders to be high-floor players, not low-floor, high-ceiling types. I'd like to see Cerra and JSOS part of the leadership group. To me, they embody that all round, consistent effort both with and without the ball.

I'd like to see Cerra and JSOS part of the leadership group. To me, they embody that all round, consistent effort both with and without the ball.
Agree on JSOS but Cerra is too meek to be in the leadership group I reckon.
He is fairly consistent but I cannot see him demanding better standards of others.

Cripps has improved his kicking, ie. Left foot. Can occur as long as the time, effort and application is applied.
Mate, Cripps believes he’s improved his left foot kicking, and he may have ….in his world.
But realistically he’s a shocking left foot kick and should never attempt it.
The amount of times he’s screwed up a passage of play due to confusing ability with reality is depressing.

Agree on JSOS but Cerra is too meek to be in the leadership group I reckon.
He is fairly consistent but I cannot see him demanding better standards of others.
Cerra’s had his best year to date, IMHO.

He quietly assured, communicates well & seems well liked amongst the group.

Elevating him to the leadership group could be the very thing he needs to reach a new level in his game.

I think it’s worth a try next year.

JSOS is a no-brainer.

Training 2025 Training - reports, pics etc