2026 Attendances

Is there another sport in the world so heavily invested in attendance numbers? I care too but only because it's become normal to talk about. Surely it doesn't really matter for us.

The league has always hung its hat on big average crowds and massive sell outs, it's also one of the last metrics along with membership that it has over the NRL so it makes sense why there's some alarm bells over crowds being down.

Level 4 Shane Warne Stand & Ponsford Stand closed tomorrow.

Some Level 1 GA as well.

Could be looking at sub 25k for Tigers v Suns.

Because other sporting competitions attendances in particular the NFL and EPL are based off tickets sold not people on the stadium. AFL crowds probably the most honest attendances in world sport.

nah.

The reason is that AFL crowds varies a lot more than NFL and EPL.

The other 2 leagues have a lot more full-capacity matches.

Level 4 Shane Warne Stand & Ponsford Stand closed tomorrow.

Some Level 1 GA as well.

Could be looking at sub 25k for Tigers v Suns.

Thought the same thing. Never seen the Shane Warne and the Ponsford Level 4 shut.

Does seem a little odd as most Richmond supporters would prefer to sit at Punt Road End. Often you will see them high up in the Shane Warne stand while level 1 Ponsford sits quite empty - even when GA.

If you want to get really nerdy the study of what a certain crowd looks like at the G for each club is quite interesting.

huge supporter of shutting down top decks and it will look better on TV don’t think it will go down well with the rank and file GA members.

Thought the same thing. Never seen the Shane Warne and the Ponsford Level 4 shut.

Does seem a little odd as most Richmond supporters would prefer to sit at Punt Road End. Often you will see them high up in the Shane Warne stand while level 1 Ponsford sits quite empty - even when GA.

If you want to get really nerdy the study of what a certain crowd looks like at the G for each club is quite interesting.

huge supporter of shutting down top decks and it will look better on TV don’t think it will go down well with the rank and file GA members.

I have no idea why they wouldn’t close the Olympic and leave the Southern open. 25,000 to 30,000 looks much better if 20,000 are sitting on the outer wing.

On a clear day, the top deck of the Southern has you staring directly into the sun for entire match. Top of the Olympic is a much better view.

Must be a combination of sun, and newer facilities?

Personally give me a lazy Saturday Arvo sitting in the Shane Warne Stand on a 24c day with drink in hand. 😎🧢 🍻

Packed sold-out crowd of ~11,000 at North Hobart Oval for Tassie’s first game in the VFL. Looks fantastic on TV.

It’s a shame Bellerive wasn’t available for their first game (still in cricket mode), as I reckon they would’ve sold that out too (~18,000).

Edit: Official crowd of 10,634 announced

Tigers v Suns
Attendance 30,468
Considering that level 4 was closed in the Ponsford and Warne stands, it looked more empty than those figures suggest.

Nah I was at the ground. The Olympic stand was completely full on all levels and punt Road end close to full on first 3 levels and AFL members and Ponsford end more people sitting towards the back undercover.

In the first quarter I predicted between 30K and 32K. I was pretty much bang on. Gotta say overall it was a pretty good crowd

Great crowd given the Tigers ladder position. Saturday afternoon, twilight and early Sunday are wonderful slots for crowds (especially with daylight savings).

One of the advantages of being a rebuilding club — you get these great slots and very healthy walk up crowds 👍

Great crowd. Saturday afternoon, twilight and early Sunday are wonderful slots for crowds (especially with daylight savings). One of the advantageous of being a rebuilding club.
True that..

I hope I’m wrong but I have a bit of a bad feeling for Richmond and Essendon crowds this year. Both teams have a real stench about their prospects from a very early stage. Both teams crowds could crater badly.

Agree the Saturday / Sunday afternoon crowds assist. However, if these teams are genuinely uncompetitive early as it seems (Essendon VFL beaten by 14 goals last night), it will be a long and cold Winter and their crowds will reflect this.

Tigers injuries today, Bombers players not grinding really hurts psyche of each clubs base.

Nah I was at the ground. The Olympic stand was completely full on all levels and punt Road end close to full on first 3 levels and AFL members and Ponsford end more people sitting towards the back undercover.

In the first quarter I predicted between 30K and 32K. I was pretty much bang on. Gotta say overall it was a pretty good crowd
Disrespectful to the fans by forcing them high up in the Olympic when they could be in the bottom 6 rows of the other stands

I agree. I looked up at the Olympic stand level four and it was packed all the way to the back rows.

I then looked to the Shane Warne stand and thought this should be open to spread the crowd out a bit.

Ponsford stand top level not fussed that being closed.

You cannot watch a Melbourne or Richmond game on TV which is looking at the side where the supports aren't sitting, and have any acceptable basis for what the crowd actually is.