Preview 2026 MSD Draft Prospects

I've liked most of our recent MSD work:

RHJ
Teakle
Banch
Trembath

Didn't understand Payne then slightly warmed to the selection only for him to be cut anyway.

But hopefully our list management and recruiting are maturing and we are picking up less Edwards/Hams and more Trembaths.

Will back us in.

Funny had a feeling about Port-Bamert before reading it.

The shift to taking players with exposed footy at senior level has worked, taking players who are playing an extra year at Coates level isn't that appealing to me.

If their list was healthy, no but how many of them are injured?
That's true, but in their state of development should be taking a long term view to a balanced list build.....maybe they are dunno, but I reckon they could do with more midfield talent.

Hey North
My best mate is a fan of you'se, so l come in peace.
And we dont have an MSD thread
So, noticed that you have & wondering who your'e interested in.
Think you were into Annand but looks like the Tigers will take him now.
That probably means you will take Barnett from our grasp now.
Is Brodie Holland connected to your club? He has given high wraps to Barnett.
Maybe coached him at the Calder Cannons.
And congrats on the win last game, looking like your on the up again.
Which is good for the game
Cheers
Darcy Wilson, hehe sorry!....Dunno, Annand would suit, key backs would be the focus. Bamert though (who's not a key back) has impressed in our VFL team, wouldn't be a surprise. Ironically I actually think he'd be a good pick up for the tiges long term list build!

I love that the same people here shouting from the rooftops that we don't need to be picking another mid-forward are the same people who were complaining not long ago about how we never get a pick right in the MSD after going on a needs basis with a forward-ruck in Jacob Edwards over midfielder Jai Newcombe and Key defender in Kallan Dawson over half-back/wing Massimo D'Ambrosio.

They'll complain about talent ID history at the MSD and then moan on here when we select talent over need.

The MSD is not the draft you want to be prioritising need over talent.

Genuinely funny stuff - some people spend their time looking for things to whinge about.

We've got the sixth pick in the MSD.

We'll be lucky to get quality.
I disagree. I think it's the perfect spot. Top picks often go to speculative failures from last year's draft who have been bullying the u18s just through size.
We are around the point you grab a 22 year old who is ready to go.

I love that the same people here shouting from the rooftops that we don't need to be picking another mid-forward are the same people who were complaining not long ago about how we never get a pick right in the MSD after going on a needs basis with a forward-ruck in Jacob Edwards over midfielder Jai Newcombe and Key defender in Kallan Dawson over half-back/wing Massimo D'Ambrosio.

They'll complain about talent ID history at the MSD and then moan on here when we select talent over need.

Genuinely funny stuff - some people spend their time looking for things to whinge about.
Who would you take mate?

I'm not in the recruiting game as much as I once was so I've deliberately not put forward too much in recent times.

I'm extremely underwhelmed with Ollie Griffin purely from his athletic profile. Mid 70's vertical, 3.20 20m sprint, 8.8 agility and a 280 yo-yo is embarrassing.

That is from last year's pre-season and it's worth noting that he may have been hampered by an injury/injuries. If he was, it would make more sense to sit out from testing like many others do.

The other thing with Griffin is that watching his game, I really don't see many AFL-level traits.

Xavier Bamert - I see a lot of Angus Anderson from Collingwood about him. Hard-nosed, great endurance base, no frills. He's not going to be a world-beater but he'll provide good versatility and depth and be the type of player you can give a role to and know he'll buy-in. I think he'll end up being a player that falls in that 25-30th player on a list.

I like Jake Smith from Werribee VFL in terms of talent but his name is not really getting thrown around at all. Super versatile, classy, can play inside or outside, I think he should have been taken in his drafted year. Other guys from Werribee I like are Ajang Kuol Mun who is a 204cm ruckman who is getting better with each game and fits the modern type of ruck. Other one I've mentioned a few times is Jack Riding.

Any chance Jaidyn Stephenson gets a chance with another club?

cat face GIF

Tend to agree. Whilst I'd like us to look at a defender from a list point of view, I'm not going to lose it over an MSD pick.
If Ollie Griffin is the best prospect that is the better talent and more ilkely to make it at AFL level and has the traits we want (sounds like he's worked hard cutting his time trial down, is a competitior, takes the ball at the highest point, kicks a couple goals per game and tackles hard), then you take him.
Spargo will need to be replaced and there's still some question marks on Banch, JK, Harvey, R Stevens, B George and Hansen Jnr sticking around as forwards. Some may get cut this year as well.
Looks like he's got a basketball background as well which should mean he knows how to defend in transition, which is something we've been moaning about with our small/medium forwards.
My preference would be Bamert over him though.

I disagree. I think it's the perfect spot. Top picks often go to speculative failures from last year's draft who have been bullying the u18s just through size.
We are around the point you grab a 22 year old who is ready to go.
Firstly- you’re a sight for sore eyes mate! Missed you around these parts.

On the MSD, if the past five years are anything to go by, I reckon there’s a 50/50 chance there’s an ok role player available, and less than 1/5 chance it’s someone of genuine quality.

Year
Pick 6
Pick 7
Pick 8
Pick 9
Pick 10
2025Archie May, EssendonOscar Adams, Gold CoastRoan Steele, CollingwoodJacob Newton, West CoastCooper Trembath, North Melbourne
2024Will McLachlan, BrisbaneToby Murray, AdelaideKelsey Rypstra, Western BulldogsCooper Lord, CarltonIliro Smit, Collingwood
2023Harry Arnold, SydneyMitch Hardie, GeelongEthan Stanley, FremantleJaiden Hunter, EssendonCaleb Poulter, Western Bulldogs
2022Max Ramsden, HawthornOskar Faulkhead, Gold CoastBrynn Teakle, Port AdelaideJosh Carmichael, CollingwoodJacob Bauer, Richmond
2021Alex Mirkov, CarltonMax Heath, St KildaJames Peatling, GWSSam Durham, EssendonMatthew Parker, Richmond

What could possibly be the thinking behind Griffin? Done 0 at VFL level and hardly lighting it up as a 19 year old at TAC.

Doesn’t help us this year either…

Probably the same blueprint that saw them take Trembath.

It’s either a young player braining the VFL (Blamires). Bamert is good, but certainly not Fothergill good..

Or

A 19 year kid who might have been uncommitted, unfit etc who’s shown massive improvement to their physical/fitness in 6-9 months of their top age year, but has some AFL attributes. Cooper was this, as is Griffin.

It’s glimpses not total output for these guys. It might have simply been his last fortnight for footy, like it might have been Trembaths grand final performance last year..etc

For all we know Thursfield wants Griffin as an intercepting medium defender.

Firstly- you’re a sight for sore eyes mate! Missed you around these parts.

On the MSD, if the past five years are anything to go by, I reckon there’s a 50/50 chance there’s an ok role player available, and less than 1/5 chance it’s someone of genuine quality.

Year
Pick 6
Pick 7
Pick 8
Pick 9
Pick 10
2025Archie May, EssendonOscar Adams, Gold CoastRoan Steele, CollingwoodJacob Newton, West CoastCooper Trembath, North Melbourne
2024Will McLachlan, BrisbaneToby Murray, AdelaideKelsey Rypstra, Western BulldogsCooper Lord, CarltonIliro Smit, Collingwood
2023Harry Arnold, SydneyMitch Hardie, GeelongEthan Stanley, FremantleJaiden Hunter, EssendonCaleb Poulter, Western Bulldogs
2022Max Ramsden, HawthornOskar Faulkhead, Gold CoastBrynn Teakle, Port AdelaideJosh Carmichael, CollingwoodJacob Bauer, Richmond
2021Alex Mirkov, CarltonMax Heath, St KildaJames Peatling, GWSSam Durham, EssendonMatthew Parker, Richmond
I think 19 year olds in the msd are for the most part traps.
If you get one they are always 6 months development behind the guys you took in their draft.
If they were good enough they would be on a list.
Taking someone 20, 21 or 22 they are full grown men and you don't have to send them to the weights room to try and catch up with their contemporaries who have been doing it 6 months.