List Mgmt. 2026 Trade/FA/Draft thread

It could end up a bit like Petracca in reverse where he wants out and is pragmatic about nominating the club that has the currency.
I mean to be fair he and about every other player would be derelict in their duty not to do exhaustive due diligence beforehand

He's got a previous relationship with sKing and apparently Tom Matthews is his best mate? I think we look a lot more attractive than this time last year. Could also end up just coming down to cash.
I’d get him in purely on the basis of pissing off Hawks supporters.

This may be why I haven’t been headhunted as list manager though

I also wonder if the whole Merrett fiasco damages Hawthorn a bit?
Merrett **** up balanced on the scales against Casey/Caulfield/Wavery stuff could be a fun battle to watch play out.

Why, it might make trade period interesting if list bosses were lobbing bombs at each other.

BTW, this is my 23,666th post

Merrett **** up balanced on the scales against Casey/Caulfield/Wavery stuff could be a fun battle to watch play out.
For all the very valid criticism levelled at the club during the Goodwin era, I reckon we got ourselves a few brownie points at the trade table from players and clubs alike. If we wanted a player we usually got it done - May and Lever come to mind. This lead to a lot of squealing about Lamb/Mahoney/whoever getting bent over at the trade table. But, we were pretty strategic and constructive with other players and clubs.

We’ve got a few assets in addition to that.

We’ve already marched the guy through random scrubland just off some Dandenong road. That’s ITK right there.

Hawthorn put all their chips in on a family home-baked Moussaka. Unwise. I make a great Moussaka. Confident it will prevail. If all of our recruitment was Moussaka-based we’d be blowing Geelong out of the water already.

Tbf targeting a player just to piss off another club does seem right in the Hawks wheelhouse.

Yes it felt a bit like that at the time.

Strategic advantage goes to us. Hawks are disdainful of MFC. They wouldn’t pick a fight with us on the basis of feeling themselves above doing so.

Gives us a lot of scope for manoeuvre under-the-radar. More bushwalking. Better dinners etc.

I honestly dont think this one is over yet. If it comes down to who can offer more cash, I’m sweet with someone who makes their choice on that basis so long as they go on to play well for us.

A big thing is we will need to look like an attractive team likely to rise up the ladder. It’s not even a Win/Loss equation. Its more about showing talent that we are building and that they could potentially be a part of something

Yeah we’ve been pretty good to trade with since Roos. Watts, Hogan, Lever, Langdon, May, BBB, Jackson, Grundy, McVee, ANB, Trac and Oliver deals all done with pretty minimum fuss. Even going back to Hibberd, Melksham and Tyson. Don’t think anyone would say that we tried to screw over any of the clubs we’ve traded with our held up processes to get players we’d courted or letting guys out who wanted it. If anything we’ve faulted towards taking unders or paying overs for the sake of getting it done. McAdam deal the epitome of that.

Doesn’t mean much to incoming players but that element of the organisational culture hasn’t been a roadblock to trading.

Yeah we’ve been pretty good to trade with since Roos. Watts, Hogan, Lever, Langdon, May, BBB, Jackson, Grundy, McVee, ANB, Trac and Oliver deals all done with pretty minimum fuss. Even going back to Hibberd, Melksham and Tyson. Don’t think anyone would say that we tried to screw over any of the clubs we’ve traded with our held up processes to get players we’d courted or letting guys out who wanted it. If anything we’ve faulted towards taking unders or paying overs for the sake of getting it done. McAdam deal the epitome of that.

Doesn’t mean much to incoming players but that element of the organisational culture hasn’t been a roadblock to trading.
Theoretically, given our lack of the usual assets, Tim Lamb might well have done a pretty good job

All undone by the Derk :cryv1:

And Mahoney. Is he still around?
I think so?

Not trustworthy information there - I’m a master of opinions without troubling myself too much on back up research.

Seems to me that there is a strong possibility that when people rant about individuals in our footy department they aren’t taking into account that there were issues at board level that prevent people from doing their best work