2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

I like the logic that “when there’s smoke there’s fire” with Nick, but apparently nothing to see with anyone we’re apparently hunting despite them actually being gettable within the foreseeable future
Yeah but with Collingwood there's smoke on the deck of the ****n Titanic 3000m under the Atlantic at times

I agree, i can't see anyone satisfying Port, if he wants to go to the Dogs (or any team in Victoria), picks won't get the job done, if they give them the next 3 years first rounders, (i'm unsure what picks Doggies have atm), they would be playing finals, they may even snag another flag, with the compromised draft/Tassie, those picks could end up in the 20's. I'd say they would want a player like Ed Richards as well as picks. But i could see Port digging their heels in and Butters would just stay at Port.
We could make Kochie and Eddie have a wrestle for him

I like the logic that “when there’s smoke there’s fire” with Nick, but apparently nothing to see with anyone we’re apparently hunting despite them actually being gettable within the foreseeable future

Anyone still running with "Where there's smoke there's fire." is out of touch. The new adage is "where there's smoke there's an attention seeking flog making up shite."

I'd be looking at:

Jed Busslinger (WB) KPD out of contract

Harry Rowston (GWS) M out of contract

Max Gruzewski (GWS) KPF out of contract

Straight swap Ed Allan for Elijah Tastes (ESS) M

Phoenix Gothard (GWS) SF out of contract

Will Dawson (NM) KPD 20yo 200cm out of contract

Oliver Hannaford (GWS) F

Ryan Angwin (GWS) M

Jack Ough (GWS) M 194cm

Alex Davies (GC) M 192cm out of contract

Ben Jepson (GC) - M UFA 24yo 184cm

Oscar Adams (GC) KPD UFA 22yo 198cm

Toby Pink (NM) KPD UFA 27yo 194cm

Lachlan Bramble (WB) M UFA 27yo 182cm

Lachlan McNeill (WB) F UFA 24yo 184cm

Ryan Gardner (WB) KPD UFA 28yo 197cm

Jake Kolodjashnij (GEE) KPD 30yo 193cm
I would like to add some players.

Will Graham 20yo 186cm - Contract 2027
Billy Dowling 21yo 187cm - OOC
Tom Brown 22yo 193cm - 2027
Zane Duursma 20yo 190cm - OOC
Archie Perkins 23yo 188cm - OOC
Noah Mraz 20yo 198cm - 2028
Sam Marshall 20 yo 185cm - 2027
Charlie Edwards 20yo 191cm - OOC
Mitch Edwards 20yo 206cm - 2027
Isaac Keeler 21yo 198cm - OOC

I really like Will Graham, he would be a long shot but he is obviously a mid who plays forward and attends the occasional centre bounce. You look at how many players they have in that position, you think somethings got to give.

Hope we go after Busslinger, I would feel so much more confident if Buss is at FB than Cochrane or Smit.

Most of these are speculative but I am sure would be improvements from some of the players on our list.

Pies are in for some real pain coming up.

Absolutely no way King, Butters or Humphrey pick us based on what's available and the list.

When there's smoke there's fire with Nick.

Fly I'm not sure is the coach to take us through a rebuild.
WTF? Our list leaves a lot to be desired. I think he does in incredible job with what he has been given to work with.
How do you reckon he'd do with the GC list? Or Brisbane's?
There isn't any other coach I'd rather have steering our ship moving forward. The list mangers & recruiters haven't exactly filled his boots with talent on the field & a fair bit of the talent we have got would are trending downwards due to age, not upwards. Fly is the guy.

Pies are in for some real pain coming up.

Absolutely no way King, Butters or Humphrey pick us based on what's available and the list.

When there's smoke there's fire with Nick.

Fly I'm not sure is the coach to take us through a rebuild.
So we would need a Long Re-Build Especially with Tassie coming in the League?

I 100% expect Nick to explore options at the end of his contract. All teams would give him a blank cheque.

But him approaching a coach after 4 seasons after only failing to make a prelim once seems way too far fetched.

We’ve cleared the books so we can attract talent to support. Sounds like BS.

and You are Surprised the Media is full of BS?

Might been something said but nothing as bad as Media try and make it sound

Anyone still running with "Where there's smoke there's fire." is out of touch. The new adage is "where there's smoke there's an attention seeking flog making up shite."
I knew a project finance guy whose theory was that "where there's smoke, there's fire. Or there's a smoke machine. But there's never nothing."

"there's never nothing" is a good way to put it and the whole reason this is being discussed at all, it's just worth the discussion. There are people being laughed at for just talking about it lol. I think the thought of it ever happening frightens people so we're seeing some kneejerk reactions.

Just like Pendles was off to GWS. Elliot was GC bound last off season. Some stories are total bullshit

They're only bullshit because they didn't eventuate though Pistol ;) there's still story and discussion in between. I'm only trying to say it's OK to have the discussion on a discussion board. I'm not declaring that it's the whole truth and nothing but the truth, but it's OK to acknowledge potential realities and then talk about them lol.

I'm sure people were calling the idea of GAJ moving bullshit, until it happened.

But the Suns have been in constant communication with Walter about his future and what they see as his role in their flag build, keen for him to show patience across the early seasons of his career.

While clubs will sniff around him the Suns would also put a king’s ransom on his head if he did want to leave given his huge potential as a No.3 overall draft pick.

So they will be hopeful he signs on even with a short-term contract to give himself time to find his role in the team while also giving himself options.

The Suns believe they could unlock his potential as an aggressive forward-ruck by giving him freedom to get around the ground in the back-up role to Jarrod Witts.

But they also have back-up ruck Ned Moyle in the wings, with the 24-year-old signing a four-year deal to 2028 two years ago.

He signed on aware that he might have to wait for Jarrod Witts to retire until he won serious ruck minutes but the former skipper is showing no signs of slowing down at the age of 33.

Footy’s durable iron man Jack Crisp knows it is a long-shot, but he has set himself a long-range ambition of playing until he is 40.

It comes as Crisp moves closer to a trigger that guarantees his remaining in black and white at least into the 2027 season.

The versatile Crisp won’t turn 33 until October, but he said the way the Magpies have managed his body, and that of his other veteran teammates gives him hope he can play on deep into the future - if the club wants him to.

“I would love to play on until I am 40,” Crisp told this masthead after playing his 264th consecutive game last Saturday night.

Crisp’s current deal is in its final season, but it contains a trigger clause he is likely to reach early in the season.

“I’ve only got a few more to go, which is nice,” he said.

“I would like to get that locked away early, then I don’t have to deal with Leppa (Collingwood’s list boss Justin Leppitsch) until the end of next year.”

They're only bullshit because they didn't eventuate though Pistol ;) there's still story and discussion in between. I'm only trying to say it's OK to have the discussion on a discussion board. I'm not declaring that it's the whole truth and nothing but the truth, but it's OK to acknowledge potential realities and then talk about them lol.

I'm sure people were calling the idea of GAJ moving bullshit, until it happened.
Yeah fair call. Im in the knee jerk frightened category still i guess. :tearsofjoy:

If only Salem had smoke machines. We could have wiped out witches forever.

I don’t think it’s worth the discussion. I inserted that saying as a stupid joke