2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

Is it beyond the realms of possibility as well that he’s said no to us and will look at other options? I think we all just assumed that if he left it was likely to us when maybe we just aren’t where he wants to be if he leaves…
It’s entirely possible that King has already ruled us out.

A lot of supporters seem to assume that if King leaves the Suns, Collingwood would automatically be his preferred destination because of our obvious need for a key forward. But that’s really just an assumption rather than something based on concrete information.

Hawthorn’s ball movement and young list could be and just as equally Geelong. Both clubs also play with the kind of open forward line that has suits him so well.

We’ve seen similar situations before with Lynch and Cameron. For years, both were linked to Collingwood because it made sense on paper, yet the reality was that we were never as close to securing either player as the media narrative suggested. It’s entirely possible the same thing is happening here, and that Collingwood sits much lower on King’s list of preferred destinations than many supporters assume.

“Collingwood’s interest in dual Brownlow medallist Lachie Neale has ramped up since North Melbourne re-signed George Wardlaw last week, such is their need for a big-bodied midfielder to complement Nick Daicos.

Neale’s future is linked with that of fellow premiership Lion Zac Bailey, who is a restricted free agent waiting on the club to show what they are prepared to pay to keep him at the ‘Gabba.

Bailey has interest from both South Australian clubs, with competition sources saying the Crows would be prepared to offer him $1.4 million a year to make the move.
The Lions would not necessarily have to match that figure to retain him, but have a difficult decision to make as they have an emerging group of young players who are attractive to other clubs if they show any willingness to leave.

The Bailey decision could influence what the club could offer free agent Neale if he decided to remain in Brisbane. The Magpies were one of a number of clubs interested in Wardlaw, but family will dictate Neale’s decision which is not likely until much later in the season.

Neale’s children are based in Perth with his ex-wife, Jules. Both clubs are possible destinations for the 33-year-old. From Collingwood’s perspective, Neale’s status as a free agent means they would not have to give up draft capital to secure him.

Exciting forward Logan Morris is already on the radar of Tasmania and Victorian clubs as he is due to be out of contract at the end of 2027. He is obviously a required player at the Lions, but no movement to extend him is likely while the season is in progress.”

- PETER RYAN VIA THE AGE

Should we consider Sean Darcy from Freo? Another Darcy in the ruck and we have Darcy Pendlebury for our AFLW side in 2038

Darcy is playing for Peelmantle (Freo's WAFL side) since his injury with Jackson now their main ruck
God noooooo

I like how you continue to assert he’s a premium talent despite no evidence of such
Maybe if you got off you backside and watched him as a junior you might be better informed. If there's no evidence he can play how did he go pick 3? Also watched his last game for the Suns where he kicked three and then there are the clubs including us who are trying to get him, not bad for a guy who has provided no evidence he can play.

Maybe if you got off you backside and watched him as a junior you might be better informed. If there's no evidence he can play how did he go pick 3? Also watched his last game and he also kicked three and then there are the clubs including us who are trying to get him, not bad for a guy who has provided no evidence he can play.
Yes because no top 3 pick has ever failed to live up to expectations.

So you've come up with Cal AhChee and that's it, we're talking about a 20 yo top 3 pick key forward, the mental gymnastics to think the Suns can be levered into accepting less for a premium talent is truly impressive. We can get him for cheap isn't going to fly and neither is walking him into the draft.
And yet you can’t come up with a single player to suit your narrative. Funny that. I can also add Jack Martin and a guy Walter reminds me of a little Jackson Hately.

Maybe if you got off you backside and watched him as a junior you might be better informed. If there's no evidence he can play how did he go pick 3? Also watched his last game for the Suns where he kicked three and then there are the clubs including us who are trying to get him, not bad for a guy who has provided no evidence he can play.
Believe it or not, not a lot of footy fans want to spend time watching literal kids play football at junior level. They prefer to watch the professional level of the sport. I would not describe watching kids play junior footy as getting off of one's "backside".

Since being drafted, Walter has in fact not proven a whole lot. Junior level does not translate to top level the way you're suggesting. Get a grip mate.

Believe it or not, not a lot of footy fans want to spend time watching literal kids play football at junior level. They prefer to watch the professional level of the sport. I would not describe watching kids play junior footy as getting off of one's "backside".

Since being drafted, Walter has in fact not proven a whole lot. Junior level does not translate to top level the way you're suggesting. Get a grip mate.
If it did though McGuane would definitely maybe be in the system 🤷‍♂️

One could argue that if someone has enough time on their hands to watch kids play junior footy all the time they probably also aren't getting off their backside.

If it did though McGuane would definitely maybe be in the system 🤷‍♂️
By the same logic, all of those obese kids I had to defend against in juniors should be at the top level snagging goals right now. They used to do a real number on me, I could never out body them. Surely their junior form should translate accordingly!

Alarm bells when the only player we look at the front of the cue to get will be 34 next year.

Happy to get Neale for a year or 2 but if that’s our main target we have seriously dropped the ball.
Name three players you reckon we should be into and at the front of the queue for this year and I'll give you reasons why we aren't nor should be.

It’s entirely possible that King has already ruled us out.

A lot of supporters seem to assume that if King leaves the Suns, Collingwood would automatically be his preferred destination because of our obvious need for a key forward. But that’s really just an assumption rather than something based on concrete information.

Hawthorn’s ball movement and young list could be and just as equally Geelong. Both clubs also play with the kind of open forward line that has suits him so well.

We’ve seen similar situations before with Lynch and Cameron. For years, both were linked to Collingwood because it made sense on paper, yet the reality was that we were never as close to securing either player as the media narrative suggested. It’s entirely possible the same thing is happening here, and that Collingwood sits much lower on King’s list of preferred destinations than many supporters assume.

We are horrendous at landing star players we actually need.

Just like Lynch or Cameron would of been the panacea 5-6 years ago, Butters would be now..

Instead we are behind the powerhouse Bulldogs coz??

It’s ok, we will get a 34 year old Neale, and be back in the same situation in 12 months if he breaks down.

We are horrendous at landing star players we actually need.

Just like Lynch or Cameron would of been the panacea 5-6 years ago, Butters would be now..

Instead we are behind the powerhouse Bulldogs coz??

It’s ok, we will get a 34 year old Neale, and be back in the same situation in 12 months if he breaks down.

We need to keep Nick happy.

And rightly so. He is being worn like a tarocash suit every week. Get him support asap in the form of A grader players.

Neale doesn’t cost in a trade.

We need to keep Nick happy.

And rightly so. He is being worn like a tarocash suit every week. Get him support asap in the form of A grader players.

Neale doesn’t cost in a trade.

More then happy to get Neale.

But it’s a short term fix.

We need to find someone for the next 8-10 years not just the next 1-2.

-Butters:
-King:
-Bailey:
-Humphrey:
1. Port have already said they would match any offer for him, meaning we can kiss goodbye our first rounders for the foreseeable future.

2. Suns indicated the same about King.

3. Bailey is being offered 7x $1.4m by the Crows which is absolutely ludicrous money for a player that is nothing more than good - do you think someone like Nick would be happy with a player like Bailey coming to the club on that kind of deal? Riley Beveridge also reported tonight Brisbane would consider matching and forcing a trade.

4. Bailey Humphrey is contracted for two more years and the Suns are adamant they will seek to hold him to his contract, which indicates a hefty trade price is yet again required to pry him out.

The club has been upfront for the last 12 months it wants to maintain its draft hand. I can be swayed about parting ways with a single first rounder for the right player but all four of those players you have named would cost multiple in any trade.

1. Port have already said they would match any offer for him, meaning we can kiss goodbye our first rounders for the foreseeable future.

3. Bailey is being offered 7x $1.4m by the Crows which is absolutely ludicrous money for a player that is nothing more than good - do you think someone like Nick would be happy with a player like Bailey coming to the club on that kind of deal? Riley Beveridge also reported tonight Brisbane would consider matching and forcing a trade.

4. Bailey Humphrey is contracted for two more years and the Suns are adamant they will seek to hold him to his contract, which indicates a hefty trade price is yet again required to pry him out.

The club has been upfront for the last 12 months it wants to maintain its draft hand. I can be swayed about parting ways with a single first rounder for the right player but all four of those players you have named would cost multiple in any trade.
I believe Port are in a salary cap position to match any offer for Butters & force a trade. I don’t think there is any way Gold Coast can be in a similar position. I don’t think they could match all offers for King considering their list.

1. Who cares if we give away our first rounders for a 25 year old top 5 player in the league. Getting Butters would make us competitive for the next 5-6 years.

2. I don’t agree. Suns less likely to match a front ended offer. Nonetheless, Hawthorn are now frontrunners If he were to leave.

3. Salary cap is $20m next year. $1.4m is the new $1m, I would be more then comfortable offering $1.3m. But we wernt even in the picture even before the crows big offer.

4. I don’t agree. Don’t see Gold Coast holding a player to his contract 2 years in a row. Nonetheless, Hawthorn are front runners if he were to leave.

My point is, there always seems to be some innocuous reason player-after-player chooses to not play for the biggest team in the league. Lynch didn’t come because Balme put in the work 2 years ahead, Cameron because apparently he wanted to live on a farm, now with Butters it’s what? Because the bulldogs training ground is 20 min closer to Darley then ours? Give me a break…

FFS hawks are attracting players, and their base is a wind tunnel in Dingley Village.

There comes a point where you have to actually look at our list management team and how poor they have been at attracting top line talent for a long time. Some of it is down to constantly overpaying inn trades and thus having no future capital, and on the other end, giving away our players for peanuts. Other reasons include ineptitude in forward planning, which may also be due to constant turnover in footy department.

I reported here last August that Butters was down to Geelong/Bulldogs (and not Collingwood) not because he preferred to live on the beach or near Footscray, but because those were the two teams that made the most serious approaches 2 years ahead. Collingwood was yet to even speak to him or put forward their interest…

Let’s just say the person that told me is a close as you can be to Butters and works as a trade.

Wonderboy (Naicos) falling into our lap, and a player playing at a very high level despite drafted over 22 years ago (Pendlebury) have papered over very very very poor list management for a long time!