• 3rd South Australia Team

Votes: 60 9.4%
  • 3rd Western Australia Team

Votes: 205 32.3%
  • Other

Votes: 29 4.6%

I honestly don't know what goes through the heads of those 15% of people suggesting Darwin should get the 20th team. It's child-like logic of "oooh look here is a capital city that doesn't have one, let me pin the tail on this donkey there". Rocks in the head of anyone suggesting Darwin.
Well if you dumped 500,000 Victorians there, it could work

Still think Adelaide could manage a 3rd club.

Footy mad culture.
Well located for the travel factor. Easy to get in and out of
AUKUS money
Population growth
Decent climate over winter for footy.

I'm from Adelaide and I just don't think it's got the capacity.

I remember the dark days of tarps, and while Adelaide Oval has alleviated that, I worry similar days might follow a third team.

Population growth is better than when it stagnated (late 90s), but still below Perth, Brisbane, Canberra. And economically, it's still playing catch up. Aukus money will just get it towards where its economy should be for a city that size.

But if it does get an Aukus tie-in: The Destroyers

Melbourne media is so clueless it's embarrassing.

"Ralphy" just mentioned Geraldton as a possible 20th.

Absolutely ridiculous.

Joondalup maybe. Geraldton no chance.

Bloke wouldn't have the first clue where Geraldton even is.
You can say Joondalup could work.... But the team has to be based North of the river near Perth side.

South of the river is Freo dockers territory. And when it comes to WAFL clubs, the dockers fans follow east Fremantle and south Fremantle for obvious reasons. Peel thunder is dockers ressies in the WAFL. There's a Claremont link with inaugural coach Gerard Neesham and those Claremont players back in 1995.

So it's Perth....

Probably will take some eagles fans. Saying that, there are some WAFL clubs you can have the Perth team to link with.

West Perth, East Perth, then Perth demons and Swan districts.

There's 2.7 million in WA. But the end of this decade, it will reach 3 million.
Still think Adelaide could manage a 3rd club.

Footy mad culture.
Well located for the travel factor. Easy to get in and out of
AUKUS money
Population growth
Decent climate over winter for footy.
As for SA..... You could make a case for the western suburbs. Port Adelaide, west Adelaide, Woodville west torrens and Glenelg are western suburbs based.

Actually Glenelg is south west based.

Northern suburbs you only got North Adelaide and central's to draw from. But Central Districts heart land ranges from Elizabeth and Salisbury. Then goes all tje way up to Gawler.

My choice is southern suburbs. You can draw SANFL club support from South Adelaide, Sturt and Glenelg.

The Southern suburb side can train in Glenelg oval which is 5-6 KMs from the Adelaide CBD or Sturts Unley oval which is like 2 or 3 KMs away from the Adelaide oval.

Merge two Victorian sides.

Then Canberra and Perth 3 come into existence around 2035 & 2037.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

hear hear

one step closer to the AFL actually being an AFL

Northern Territory team be fun to watch.
Not sure there's enough resources and who would wanna play in 40 degree temperature every week but just imagine the best NT talent you could possibly comprise.
I reckon a "Northern" team that is based somewhere North of Perth (not really North I know) and plays 2 home games in Darwin and 2 in North Queensland.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I reckon a "Northern" team that is based somewhere North of Perth (not really North I know) and plays 2 home games in Darwin and 2 in North Queensland.

Nah.... If North Perth has a side whether it's kangaroos going there or a new side. That team plays all home games in WA.

North Perth would gain links with some WAFL clubs

if WA gets a third side, I would prefer they were based in Bunbury Busselton area servicing the south west. but that's 20 years away at least

Top 5 bidding options in order of most likely to least likely:

Canberra:

It's a no-brainer for me Canberra has a population that could definitely support an AFL team with a strong membership base. The ACT/ Riverina region is a football heartland and an AFL player breeding ground. A Manuka Stadium upgrade is needed anyways and will benefit the city immensely. There is plenty of local talent in the area and this team will allow for GWS to focus on growing the game in the rapidly growing Western Sydney Hub.

Adelaide/ South Australia:

South Australians love their footy and a third team would definitely be reasonable. South Australians still heavily follow the state league, so promoting a state league team to the AFL is the way to go for me. Norwood has already expressed their interest and which would be a suitable option as they already have a strong fan base, a rivalry with Port Adelaide and a great suburban ground that would need upgrading but would bring back the suburban feel from the old VFL days. Other options would be South Adelaide which could play games in Mt Gambier or a merger between Woodville/West Adelaide which could also represent the west of the state. There is plenty of local talent available as well.

Perth/ Western Australia:

The footy-mad state is definitely ready for a third team. A WAFL side could come into the league with the top runners being Subiaco or West Perth who could play games at the WACA. A new team could be made with a brand-new stadium. The team could be based in Joondalup or Mandurah areas, with plenty of fans on waiting lists for WCE membership. However, the club may struggle to fit into the strong WCE and FREO rivalry. There is however plenty of local talent in the state.

Darwin/ NT:

A highly talked about option which could work. The team would obviously be based in Darwin and play at an upgraded TIO stadium and play a handful of home games at an upgraded Traeger Park in Alice Springs. However, the NT government simply doesn't have the funds for this and the locals would be furious as these funds could be spent elsewhere considering the social challenges in the NT right now. There is some local talent and a pathways program can be set up to get the most out of local talent.

Far North Queensland:

The AFL would want to compete in this NRL-dominated region. The Cowboys I believe are based in Townsville so this team could be based in Cairns. Two new stadiums would have to be built in both cities to cater for this with a game or two being played in Mackay. However, history tells us that sporting franchises don't work up there hence why the A-League and NBL are no longer.

Other options:

Newcastle (NSW)

Wollongong/Illawarra (NSW)

New Zealand

Ballarat (VIC)

Papua New Guinea

Top 5 bidding options in order of most likely to least likely:

Canberra:

It's a no-brainer for me Canberra has a population that could definitely support an AFL team with a strong membership base. The ACT/ Riverina region is a football heartland and an AFL player breeding ground. A Manuka Stadium upgrade is needed anyways and will benefit the city immensely. There is plenty of local talent in the area and this team will allow for GWS to focus on growing the game in the rapidly growing Western Sydney Hub.

Adelaide/ South Australia:

South Australians love their footy and a third team would definitely be reasonable. South Australians still heavily follow the state league, so promoting a state league team to the AFL is the way to go for me. Norwood has already expressed their interest and which would be a suitable option as they already have a strong fan base, a rivalry with Port Adelaide and a great suburban ground that would need upgrading but would bring back the suburban feel from the old VFL days. Other options would be South Adelaide which could play games in Mt Gambier or a merger between Woodville/West Adelaide which could also represent the west of the state. There is plenty of local talent available as well.

Perth/ Western Australia:

The footy-mad state is definitely ready for a third team. A WAFL side could come into the league with the top runners being Subiaco or West Perth who could play games at the WACA. A new team could be made with a brand-new stadium. The team could be based in Joondalup or Mandurah areas, with plenty of fans on waiting lists for WCE membership. However, the club may struggle to fit into the strong WCE and FREO rivalry. There is however plenty of local talent in the state.

Darwin/ NT:

A highly talked about option which could work. The team would obviously be based in Darwin and play at an upgraded TIO stadium and play a handful of home games at an upgraded Traeger Park in Alice Springs. However, the NT government simply doesn't have the funds for this and the locals would be furious as these funds could be spent elsewhere considering the social challenges in the NT right now. There is some local talent and a pathways program can be set up to get the most out of local talent.

Far North Queensland:

The AFL would want to compete in this NRL-dominated region. The Cowboys I believe are based in Townsville so this team could be based in Cairns. Two new stadiums would have to be built in both cities to cater for this with a game or two being played in Mackay. However, history tells us that sporting franchises don't work up there hence why the A-League and NBL are no longer.

Other options:

Newcastle (NSW)

Wollongong/Illawarra (NSW)

New Zealand

Ballarat (VIC)

Papua New Guinea
DAD... there's a bloke on the phone says we could have an AFL team based out of Port Moresbey.......
Screenshot_2023-05-01-20-20-59-34_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

If there was to be a third WA team I'd like them to be called 'Perth'. It's always felt odd to me that all the other capital city names are in use except Perth. I understand West Coast was named that to broaden the appeal across WA. I just reckon it would be nice to have a team named Perth in the competition.

Thursday night every week means $$ and losing the crossover Saturday arvo game
So normal week will be (EST)
Thur 720
Fri 720 (or 740 or 810)
Sat 140, 440, two x 730
Sun 110, 320, 440
Keep the Thursday night every week and ditch one of the Saturday arvo 2:10 games.
Have a Friday twilight every week starting at 5:10 as the tenth game leading into the main night game at 8:10. The 5:10 game is a curtain raiser (Tassie home game or Gold Coast, GWS) then 8:10 game can be played in Perth or Adelaide
EST Times 20 teams (10 matches)
Thur 7:20
Fri 5:10, 8:10
Sat 1:45, 4:40, 7:25 x2
Sun 1:10, 3:20, 4:40

Territorians - play ACT (5 Canberra) and NT (5 Darwin) and one in the red centre as home games. That way you covered everywhere except the external territories. Go Heard Island for a regional game!

Give it to Canberra and GWS will never become established. They need to be the official second team for NSW.
Western Sydney is the fastest-growing part of the country, a new airport plus massive global companies are basing themselves in Western Sydney. Parramatta will become the new CBD and the population will continue to grow rapidly. GWS could use Newcastle as their secondary market, it has a population of over 300,000 and the AFL would love to compete with the NRL in that region.

You can say Joondalup could work.... But the team has to be based North of the river near Perth side.

South of the river is Freo dockers territory. And when it comes to WAFL clubs, the dockers fans follow east Fremantle and south Fremantle for obvious reasons. Peel thunder is dockers ressies in the WAFL. There's a Claremont link with inaugural coach Gerard Neesham and those Claremont players back in 1995.

So it's Perth....
Joondalup is 26km north of Perth CBD.

Expansion 20th AFL team location