Traded #22: Jake Carlisle - Pt.1 - Traded with some other stuff for pick 5, 24 and a Bird (cont in Part 2)

Why are we so intent on getting it? Because both teams want to get the most value from their resources.
Yeah but you would think they would atleast offer something. Im not saying 5 but atleast sit in a room all day and hash something out. No, St Kilda knew the longer it drew out the better off they were. St Kilda are trying to back door us using the player to basically shaft us ie deal only with them. I actually reckon if Carlisle told Saints privately that he'll not go to hawks then we still wont see a counter offer, which at this stage we haven't.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

I'd take 500k and the chance of winning a flag over 700k and the chance to be around the fringes of the finals for a year or two.

I know there is a lot about Jake that doesn't scream leadership, however, if he were to have some success at Hawthorn, after being part of the huge controversy at EFC, be capable of playing both ends ect ect, not to mention he may have a crack at a third club after Hawks fade and potentially want to load up in the draft he'll have a wealth of experience and be able to work in many roles of the industry long term.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I'd take 500k and the chance of winning a flag over 700k and the chance to be around the fringes of the finals for a year or two.

I know there is a lot about Jake that doesn't scream leadership, however, if he were to have some success at Hawthorn, after being part of the huge controversy at EFC, be capable of playing both ends ect ect, not to mention he may have a crack at a third club after Hawks fade and potentially want to load up in the draft he'll have a wealth of experience and be able to work in many roles of the industry long term.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Are you alright? a 200k paycut? Which over a 4 year contract is 800k

If what you are saying is true it would be GWS playing Gold Coast Suns in the Grand Final, not Hawthorn playing West Coast.

How do make that leap of logic ?

I'll ask you a question - Who is the better performed player Chad Winguard or Adam Treloar ?

That's nonsense yaco.

If you had Pick 6 you could only pray that the player you take turns into a Treloar. He may not be worth two 1st's but he's definitely worth more than one.

History of Pick 6

Dylan Smith (2000)
Ashley Sampi (2001)
Steven Salopek (2002)
Kepler Bradley (2003)
Tom Williams (2004)
Beau Dowler (2005)
Mitchell Thorp (2006)
David Myers (2007)
Chris Yarran (2008)
Gary Rohan (2009)
Reece Conca (2010)

GWS is asking for two first rounders for Treloar - So that's about pick 7 and 10 - No way is Treloar is worth this much - Who is the better player after 4 years Treloar or Wingard ?

I wouldn't give up pick 4 for Treloar ?

We are willing to give a first rounder, just not pick 5...

Somehow Geelong target players and get the deal done, even if they pay slightly overs - Hawks offer two first rounders for Carlisle - StKilda has been very unprofessional in their pursuit of carlisle.

So Saints fans are saying the ball is in Carlisles court and he is being a bit of a prick about it. Saying they have made a fair offer, which is less than what has been offered by the Hawks, and they show they are the good guys in all this buy trying to promote the PSD offer?

Sounds like its federal election time with the amounts of campaigners floating around the saints board.

The point being he doesn't just want the highest price for his commodity. It's in his best interest to ensure Jake's happiness is his top piority not his commission.

If that was the case you'd imagine he'd already be a hawk...

The main reason he isn't is the money. Secondary is the saints being flogs..

He would name a one year contract which gets re-negoatiated post-signing. The average of one year at 1.5m is 1.5m.
That's how the PSD threat is founded.

You'd have to renegotiate a deal that has already been agreed to. And thats assuming the AFL lets you do it, because what you are trying to do there is draft tamper - the AFL doesn't like that.

And I dare say Carlisle wouldn't be overly pleased with you either - you've already left him with his dick in his hand because your amateur list management team basically only half thought through their grand plan; I'm sure he's keen as mustard to bend over for you blokes - that's why he has (reportedly) already agreed to play for the Hawks to avoid the PSD if a trade can't be done.

Funny that, considering he said that through his management prior to negotiations starting; ya know, that he wouldn't be entering the PSD.

Which is why I find a decent section of your supporter base daft as ****. The player has said he won't enter the PSD, reports of a third club (the Hawks) getting involved support that statement, and yet the slovenly masses still dribble 'hur hur we'll get dem Bombers via PSD'. Idiots.

You can blame Essendon for being difficult if you like, but no amount of angst can get around the fact that St Kilda look like amateur clowns at the moment.

GWS is asking for two first rounders for Treloar - So that's about pick 7 and 10 - No way is Treloar is worth this much - Who is the better player after 4 years Treloar or Wingard ?

I wouldn't give up pick 4 for Treloar ?

I feel like I'm wasting my time here but yes I understand Wingard is a slightly better player than Treloar. But look at all the other pick 6s. We're talking about probability here mate.

Besides, we all know Wingard would have been taken at pick 1-3 if not for him telling GWS he will leave in two years time if they draft him. So your point is moot anyway.

If you have pick 6 or 7 and you can turn it into a player of Treloar's calibre, you pull the trigger.

Would you prefer Myers or Treloar?

Yeah, it's speculation based on some information from people on our board who have been spot all year (proven track record and such). Whether it's because Carlisle want's Essendon to receive at least something, or he is fearful of moving interstate, as our board's "inside info" suggests (or both), it would seem that he definitely wants out, but it HAS to be a trade.

Doubt Carlisle will get through the PSD - Carlton and Brisbane are certainties to select Carlisle.

So Saints fans are saying the ball is in Carlisles court and he is being a bit of a prick about it. Saying they have made a fair offer, which is less than what has been offered by the Hawks, and they show they are the good guys in all this buy trying to promote the PSD offer?

Sounds like its federal election time with the amounts of campaigners floating around the saints board.
If they originally just said pick 5 their fans may have been a little upset at it but if they do it now they'll riot. Saints have backed themselves into a corner, be interesting if they bite the bullet. I think theyre going to ride it out.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

I think the deal will get done ,
Still another week in trade remaining and Clubs are still shopping picks around .
Im sure everything will fall into place .

You'd have to renegotiate a deal that has already been agreed to. And thats assuming the AFL lets you do it, because what you are trying to do there is draft tamper - the AFL doesn't like that.

And I dare say Carlisle wouldn't be overly pleased with you either - you've already left him with his dick in his hand because your amateur list management team basically only half thought through their grand plan; I'm sure he's keen as mustard to bend over for you blokes - that's why he has (reportedly) already agreed to play for the Hawks to avoid the PSD if a trade can't be done.

Funny that, considering he said that through his management prior to negotiations starting; ya know, that he wouldn't be entering the PSD.

Which is why I find a decent section of your supporter base daft as ****. The player has said he won't enter the PSD, reports of a third club (the Hawks) getting involved support that statement, and yet the slovenly masses still dribble 'hur hur we'll get dem Bombers via PSD'. Idiots.

You can blame Essendon for being difficult if you like, but no amount of angst can get around the fact that St Kilda look like amateur clowns at the moment.
He also said he'd be playing for the Saints though?