• Thread starter Thread starter syphon

syphon

2nd biggest NRL crowd in sydney all year. (biggest being 27,132)

still not able to match the swans crowd at the scg though... infact, not able to match the swans average home crowd either.

Originally posted by syphon
2nd biggest NRL crowd in sydney all year. (biggest being 27,132)

still not able to match the swans crowd at the scg though... infact, not able to match the swans average home crowd either.

Was that for the Bulldogs game?

Well from the original pot it is obvious that AFL is taking Sydney by storm, rugby league is dying. I mean we can't compete with the AFL team in Sydney and how about their local competition, it is thriving with a total of 9 teams in the entire Sydney metro area.

If you haven't noticed I was being sarcastic. What a stupid post!

In all seriousness though it was a good crowd.
I expected a few more but you can't complain with 26,000 fans at the game.
;

Originally posted by Tutaki
I mean we can't compete with the AFL team in Sydney and how about their local competition, it is thriving with a total of 9 teams in the entire Sydney metro area.

Firstly - Yes, Syphon was trolling....

But excuse me? Nine Aussie Rules teams in Sydney?

Lemme see - the Sydney AFL has eight clubs alone, then about another twelve clubs in the Sydney AFA.

Add to this that all of those field at least two senior grades with quite a few playing a third senior grade in the SAFA divvy 2.....

Then there are three separate junior Aussie Rules leagues (not counting Auskick) - with about 30 strong junior clubs fielding multiple teams in multiple age groups.

Check your sources mate - I don't want to be a troll, but I will stick up for the code.

i've always found this little fact peculiar regarding NRL matches.

sydney teams seem to draw roughly equal crowds for games involving 2 sydney clubs as they do if they are playing an interstate club. i've always wondered about this. that game was against newcastle, so you'd have to think 90% of the fans hadn't made the trip down (and thus were bulldogs fans). the thing is though, if this game was v the panthers, dragons, sea eagles etc.. there would have still been a similar crowd, despite a much greater portion of the crowd being from the second sydney teams catchment area.

Originally posted by nicko18
i've always found this little fact peculiar regarding NRL matches.

sydney teams seem to draw roughly equal crowds for games involving 2 sydney clubs as they do if they are playing an interstate club. i've always wondered about this. that game was against newcastle, so you'd have to think 90% of the fans hadn't made the trip down (and thus were bulldogs fans). the thing is though, if this game was v the panthers, dragons, sea eagles etc.. there would have still been a similar crowd, despite a much greater portion of the crowd being from the second sydney teams catchment area.

So mate what do you put this down to?

It's actually got me pretty intrigued, do you think that a lot of league fans just go to watch games even if it's not there club involved or what?

The fact that they're getting the same crowd even without a second Sydney club's supporters being there is very interesting.

In Melbourne it's generally pretty easy to guess the crowds - Essendon, Collingwood, Carlton and Richmond (if the Tigers are winning) will draw about 30-40k on their own. If two of those clubs are playing you're guaranteed about 60-80k depending where the clubs are on the ladder, what else in on in town etc.

Whereas Essendon vs West Coast in Melbourne you'd be lucky to get more than 35k, even if both sides are having good years.

crowd averages

sydney team v sydney team: 14310
sydney team v non-sydney team: 12782

i included both double headers, which bumped up the sydney v sydney figure which slightly disproves my observation, but still, the difference is not great. how come sydney fans are not prepared to travel between suburbs to watch their club play?

compare that to what happens in aussie rules.

melbourne v melbourne clubs: 39749
melbourne v non-melbourne club: 27929

makes a big difference on the crowds whether the away side has to travel.

Originally posted by DIPPER
So mate what do you put this down to?

It's actually got me pretty intrigued, do you think that a lot of league fans just go to watch games even if it's not there club involved or what?

yeah, there probably were a few neutrals at this game, but it intrigues me as well. it's not only this game, but a lot of other games v interstate sides get big crowds, yet when two sydney clubs play, there is virtually no difference between the crowd figure.

Newcastle easily have the best travelling fans in the competition.

For sydney games they take 10 busloads of fans on average.

What about Panthers crowds? 22,000 vs the Bulldogs and 15,000 vs the Storm. Mostly better crowds for two sydney teams, except for when the Broncos or an in-form Auckland play.

Sydney really only has one known AFL team, the Swans. That Sydney comp is only attended by friends and loved ones, much like park rugby league is. Saw a bit of a local Sydney AFL game on fox footy the other day and really admired the healthy green grass in the background. Looks as though it has never been touched!!

9 NRL clubs to 1 sydney. If you want to count metro cup teams and lower grade teams like the Jets we can do that too.

League isn't as big in Sydney as AFL is in melbourne of course, but it's sooo far in front it's not funny.

love me footy.

crooked

Of course rugby league is bigger than the Swans in Sydney. But the Swans are probably the biggest football club in Sydney all up, yes?

The Waratahs probably get more... but with only 5-6 home games... is it any wonder? The Aussie cricket team will play as many matches in Sydney as that this year! With twice the number of games to draw fans to... I'm willing to call the Swans bigger than the Waratahs.

The Swans have their moments, but they are not the biggest club every year. They are more a fashion in Sydney, they can be cool sometimes and othertimes, uncool. You can sprout on about club members, but that is just an AFL thing - BE A MEMBER. I know a few people who signed up to members around 96/97 but haven't been members for 3 or four years. (my girlfriend is one of them). They'll be back all excited when it's cool again. They will have to learn the names of a whole new bunch of players though.

Not much under the surface.

crooked

Originally posted by Richoagain
Firstly - Yes, Syphon was trolling....

But excuse me? Nine Aussie Rules teams in Sydney?

Lemme see - the Sydney AFL has eight clubs alone, then about another twelve clubs in the Sydney AFA.

Add to this that all of those field at least two senior grades with quite a few playing a third senior grade in the SAFA divvy 2.....

Then there are three separate junior Aussie Rules leagues (not counting Auskick) - with about 30 strong junior clubs fielding multiple teams in multiple age groups.

Check your sources mate - I don't want to be a troll, but I will stick up for the code.

Richo,
Tatuki made a mistake...I am sure he meant 9 NRL clubs in NSW.

Crooked - you're paying extra to watch country AFL games? That's impressive...

Piece of trivia: -

The Swans actually won a survey as to the most widely supported sports club in the country, mostly because half of the NSWelsh who answers said 'AFL, yeah, follow it a bit I spose, the Swans I guess'.

Which meant they actually finished better than Collingwood, Essendon or Carlton... Much to Eddie's disgust.

Likewise, the Storm did alrightish as Victorians when asked their favourite RL side generally would say the Storm regardless of whether or not they gave a rat's about the NRL.

Man U remains Australia's favourite soccer team, miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiles ahead of anyone in the NSL.

Not that a survey like this proves too much. Or anything really.

Originally posted by Ms.Storm
Richo,
Tatuki made a mistake...I am sure he meant 9 NRL clubs in NSW.

You reckon? I went back and read his post again, it still looks like he was saying there were only 9 Australian Rules footy clubs in Sydney....

I apologise if I misunderstood your post, Tutaki.

Originally posted by CharlieG
Of course rugby league is bigger than the Swans in Sydney. But the Swans are probably the biggest football club in Sydney all up, yes?

The Waratahs probably get more... but with only 5-6 home games... is it any wonder? The Aussie cricket team will play as many matches in Sydney as that this year! With twice the number of games to draw fans to... I'm willing to call the Swans bigger than the Waratahs.

But aren't the SCG members part of the cricket club? Are they true afl supporters and just rock up for games to be part of the latte set?:D I imagine some of them would be.....but not all.

Can someone pls. explain to me what the set up is at the SCG....where do NORMAL Sydney Swans supporters usually sit....and is there a separate membership for them...

I simply have no idea.

Anyway, I would imagine that the Newcastle Knights, given the chance of having a bigger stadium and support from the local government/NRL, would potentially be the biggest football club in NSW....they always fill their ground and supporters are screaming for a bigger stadium.

The Swans have their own membership and to sit in the SCG Members you either have to be a SCG Member or have to take up the Guest Pass option on the Swans Membership.

So no the Swans don't included SCG Members in our membership totals.