• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Player number 3 is Marc Murphy.

Our prized number 1 draft pick has done nothing but impressed this season. Looks very comfortable playing in the big league already. Looks to have the respect from all on the field and has become one of our best midfielders already. Yes, some may say that this is no feat considering those around him, but we must remember he is only 18.

The only criticizm I could put on Murphy is that some of his kicks occasionally go a bit wayward and lack penetration. This, however, will undoubtedly improve with time and experience, and I am sure that Murph will thrill us all with his pinpoint passing and great skill for many years to come. Sometimes seems to get lost when resting in the forward pocket, but, once again, I suspect this may chnge when given more time.

Really glad we got this kid-looks a quality player and kid, and am excited at the prospect of Murph leading our midfield group, and maybe eventually our playing group for many years to come.

Discuss.

Again, well put Jeremias!

Can't really fault him at this point in time. Like you said, he's only 18 and will gain much experience throughout his debut season. Basically, it's all up for him, he can only grow taller, stronger and better. Also, it appears as if he has quite an eye for goal.

I'm picturing the midfield in 07/08: Murphy, Walker, Russell, Blackwell (and Gibbs, hopefully!) :)

Always expected that he would develop into an excellent player, but for him to be playing this good so early in his career is great. Expected it might take him a year to two to play consistently in the seniors, as he is still pretty small, but has really impressed and looks comfortable at AFL level.

I was at the Port game today and Marc Murphy will be a star. He consistently ran to the right places today but on several occasions the ball was passed somewhere else to be turned over. I remember 1 occasion today when Scotland had the ball and ran it out of defence and instead of pasing it kept running then turned it over.

Murphy will Be a Star

Apparently he's already playing at about 80Kgs. He doesnt look it. What does everyone think about his optimum playing weight?

Jeremias said:
Player number 3 is Marc Murphy.

The only criticizm I could put on Murphy is that some of his kicks occasionally go a bit wayward and lack penetration. This, however, will undoubtedly improve with time and experience, and I am sure that Murph will thrill us all with his pinpoint passing and great skill for many years to come. Sometimes seems to get lost when resting in the forward pocket, but, once again, I suspect this may chnge when given more time.

Discuss.

I would say his only criticism is he sometimes holds onto the ball for a bit too long, but that could be lack of talk to him as well. I think he is our best deliverer of the ball by foot at the moment. I don't think they lack penetration at all!

Fair dinkum this young guy is the goods. He is going to be the basis of our team moving forward. Even today's game he was so impressive. I just love him! OK he still has a bit to learn however he just shows so much composure. Murp and AW in the centre. Yeah.

bluegal1983 said:
I would say his only criticism is he sometimes holds onto the ball for a bit too long, but that could be lack of talk to him as well. I think he is our best deliverer of the ball by foot at the moment. I don't think they lack penetration at all!
You will find that this is mostly due to him sometimes forgetting what level he is playing at now. By this time next year he will rarely be getting caught as he will have well and truly worked out the pace of AFL football.

One thing the draft shows us with great accuracy is that No.1 draft picks are very rarely duds.

Marc Murphy is NO exception. He already has the cleanest foot skills in the side and his delivery to the forward line so far this year has shown how important he will be to the club.

He's 179cm tall, which is small by league standards.

However, Ben Cousins is also 179cm tall.

When he bulks up he will be more dominant, punishing and have the footy smarts of a Ben cousins.

We'v drafted a future champion, and he's a joy to watch.:thumbsu:

Yeah yeah group hug.

Tell me what this guy has done wrong. Any of you noticed or is it just rose coulurd glasses, more importantantly any glimmer of hope. I want someone here to actually point out the things this guy has done that are so amazing. Game, time, moment. He has been alright. Christ for fuicks sake call it how it is.

Hes done what I would expect anyone coming into the team to have done. There is dissapointment with many who have not fullfilled their potential, ,... that dosent mean those that do are beyond question.

audas said:
Yeah yeah group hug.

Tell me what this guy has done wrong. Any of you noticed or is it just rose coulurd glasses, more importantantly any glimmer of hope. I want someone here to actually point out the things this guy has done that are so amazing. Game, time, moment. He has been alright. Christ for fuicks sake call it how it is.

Hes done what I would expect anyone coming into the team to have done. There is dissapointment with many who have not fullfilled their potential, ,... that dosent mean those that do are beyond question.
It's fair to question him, he's certainly not perfect. But the kid is 18 and in his first year of senior footy. He's still learning but he's already learnt more than some guys that have been on the list for 5 years. He has not put a foot wrong IMO

audas said:
Yeah yeah group hug.

Why don't you do those things you've mentioned?

It would be more constructive than pointing the finger at people who have stated correctly that he is a gun. The kid has class, poise, skill, good speed and is already a leader at just 18 since he hasn't put a foot wrong. He's only had one full pre-season and he will get better with each year to be a Cousins or Kerr with his work ethic and hardness.

When was the last time a small player came in and played like he has whilst averaging 18 disposals per game in a crap side? :) :thumbsu:

Cousins only had 276 disposals in 20 games in his first season and Murphy is on track to better that since he's already had 174 disposals in just ten games. :cool:

audas said:
Yeah yeah group hug.

Bit harsh on him, don't you think. He's not a gun at the moment, but I've no doubt that he will be one. As for him at the moment, he has impressed me heaps considering he is only 18 and small, very good start to his career. No one's expecting him to be playing excellent football, but at the moment he good and consintent, and one of our better players.

BLUEBOY1 said:
Once again showed why one day he will be leading this side out and hopefully to premiership glory.

if u think marc murphy will get that far then Brett Deledio should win the next 10 brownlows....:rolleyes::D

EAT'EM ALIVE TIGERS!!!!!!

TigerTuff7 said:
if u think marc murphy will get that far then Brett Deledio should win the next 10 brownlows....:rolleyes::D

EAT'EM ALIVE TIGERS!!!!!!

Where you even alive when those ratbag Tigers won their last premiership! Because it sounds like you are either a four year old or you have mental problems.

This guy is just getting better and better, once he has bulked up he will be a gun at AFL level if not already (in some people's eyes).