Player Watch #30: Charlie Comben - signed til end '27

Our handling of this bloke arguably the biggest black mark against Noble. What was the point in playing him in the VFL this week? Don’t give me the ‘to build fitness’ shit either, he’s had a full pre season and been very good in the first four games of the VFL season. Of course his confidence is going to be dented when he doesn’t get rewarded for his good form. Poor bloke. Reckon he asks out at seasons end.

Lol
You need a nap

There were reports as early as the pre season that we had told him all he had to do was survive (with his injury history it's the right term) 5 or 6 full VFL games and then he would be in (or at least heavily considered for selection). Today was apparently the last of those games.

Thankyou for the level headed response. I personally can’t see how that benefits us or Charlie though? He would greatly improve our side, and for him playing AFL footy consistently would allow his body to become battle hardened.

He could still come in, he had an almost game but heaps of solid contests and kept going all game. No harm in bringing him in, and we all know larkey needs help. How much chom gives him I'm not sure, but he will at least command a kpd and footy with some hard leads and split packs. Liked his game, just no reward for him

Thankyou for the level headed response. I personally can’t see how that benefits us or Charlie though? He would greatly improve our side, and for him playing AFL footy consistently would allow his body to become battle hardened.
I think he has gotten through a good block unscathed so yep, let's have a look at him KR

Ye olde chalky bones. AFL is a big step up in intensity and with his injury history they wanted to condition him to the physical stuff slower than they would other prospects who were technically 'match fit'.

I don't necessarily agree with the decision, but that's my understanding of the rationale.

He could still come in, he had an almost game but heaps of solid contests and kept going all game. No harm in bringing him in, and we all know larkey needs help. How much chom gives him I'm not sure, but he will at least command a kpd and footy with some hard leads and split packs. Liked his game, just no reward for him
Didn’t he and Larkey play quite well in the last game of last year? I’m sure he even slotted one? I can only imagine his most recent injury is the reason to why they would take a cautious approach? It doesn’t make sense tbh.

I’m more inclined to believe that it’s more of a headache trying to play Larkey, Comben, Goldstein and Xerri

Then the dickhead went in to say that forwards are hard to find when asked by a Journo.

He had one ready to go and continued on with something that hasn’t worked all season.

Then the dickhead went in to say that forwards are hard to find when asked by a Journo.

He had one ready to go and continued on with something that hasn’t worked all season.
Noble isn’t a dickhead, he’s just unfortunately out of his depth. Your point about having a ready made forward (Comben) languishing in the VFL is absolutely correct though.

For a guy who admitted he didn't watch the game in full, you've posted a lot of absolute rubbish regarding the game
He smashed an opponent very late in a marking contest in the last quarter, which I also reckon he will get cited for. That is what he was referring to.

Before this stretch I’m not sure he’d strung 3 games in a row together going all the way back to juniors. The run in the VFL would be as much about some continuity for the lad as much as anything. Getting his body in the routine of weekly footy before throwing him in at the highest level seems a no brainer. Having said that a call up can’t be far away now.

After a long hiatus from big footy, due to legal reasons I don’t want to get into on here. Let’s just say, Brad Scott’s nan had made herself a very powerful enemy.

But on my return, I’ve decided to hitch my wagon to Chom. From now on my whole football life will revolve around him and will defend him until he is delisted Keira’s Harper style. The end.

So instead of just recruiting defenders, we are going to try and convert our best young CHF prospect into one?
Why not?

If he turns out to be an AA KPD, then it’s a master stroke. If not do we lose anything other than him running around for a game at VFL level, where they are kicking over his head, on his head at his feet.

It’s not like we are moving our current AFL CHF and it doesn’t seem to have hurt Noah Balta to play at both ends of the ground.

Sometimes when things are going shit, you need to try something. Doing the same thing over and over isn’t exactly going swimmingly is it?

Not the worst idea to play him CHB, we can't just have punch drunk Walker down there by himself- goodness me. Once McKay is back, Chompo, Chommie, Chomps, Choppo can go forward and assist with us kicking more than ten goals a game.

Makes sense

Not the worst idea to play him CHB, we can't just have punch drunk Walker down there by himself- goodness me. Once McKay is back, Chompo, Chommie, Chomps, Choppo can go forward and assist with us kicking more than ten goals a game.

Makes sense
If that happens, I give it about 3 days before you’re posting about how p*ssed off Chom is at Noble for not playing him forward.

This has been mentioned a number of times and I have no idea who thought of it and why they are pushing it. We have holes at both ends and he is the forward line answer.
The answer that has been overlooked for 6 weeks and will most likely be overlooked again in favour of CCJ.

We might want to actually see him line at AFL level before proclaiming he is the answer?

Can you imagine if they had left Tarrant as a forward? We would have had an average forward instead of an AA calibre KPD.

Do we lose anything by trying? He will either suck at it or give us an option going forward.

If that happens, I give it about 3 days before you’re posting about how p*ssed off Chom is at Noble for not playing him forward.
So he would rather play VFL than AFL?!?!?

So if CCJ comes in this week as a forward and grabs the opportunity, you think he would rather play VFL footy so he can just play forward?

As much as we would like it, I can’t see Noble dropping both Goldy and X, so that potentially leaves no spot for him?

I would put money on that he will be happy with the opportunity to play AFL regardless of the position.

Why not?

If he turns out to be an AA KPD, then it’s a master stroke. If not do we lose anything other than him running around for a game at VFL level, where they are kicking over his head, on his head at his feet.

It’s not like we are moving our current AFL CHF and it doesn’t seem to have hurt Noah Balta to play at both ends of the ground.

Sometimes when things are going shit, you need to try something. Doing the same thing over and over isn’t exactly going swimmingly is it?
The solution to our problems isn’t just throwing all the magnets around and seeing what sticks.

Chom is developing very well as a CHF after an extended stint on the sidelines. It’s finally all starting to click & he & the club are taking a cautious approach to ensure he doesn’t break down again.

If we were to move him to CHB, then we need a CHF & last time I checked they’re even harder to find…

The solution to our problems isn’t just throwing all the magnets around and seeing what sticks.

Chom is developing very well as a CHF after an extended stint on the sidelines. It’s finally all starting to click & he & the club are taking a cautious approach to ensure he doesn’t break down again.

If we were to move him to CHB, then we need a CHF & last time I checked they’re even harder to find…
So he is happy to play at VFL level then?

As I said if CCJ comes in this week as the second forward and grabs the opportunity, you then have a player that you are happy to rot away at VFL level?

So he would rather play VFL than AFL?!?!?

So if CCJ comes in this week as a forward and grabs the opportunity, you think he would rather play VFL footy so he can just play forward?

I would put money on that he will be happy with the opportunity to play AFL regardless of the position.
I’ll never understand why your posting is so f*kn knee jerk. How on earth could you infer from my post that he would rather play VFL than AFL?

He is clearly being developed to be our CHF for the next decade. Not a bad position for a 20 year old to be in, especially given then unknowns on his career over the last few years. Like Larkey did, he will have to do a bit of an internship in the VFL until he’s ready, but as Souv has said himself, it was well worth it.

How many games has Comben even played at VFL level in his entire time at the club? Less then 10?

I can only imagine what else you’d put money on.

Player Watch #30: Charlie Comben - signed til end '27