Player Watch #30: Reece Conca

Conca is quicker than Lambert. And younger.

Lambert is a shittruck. Should not get a game this year.

For six weeks, in 2009. Take away his disposal average of 21.5 playing unaccountable back pocket that year and he averaged 13 touches a game for the rest of his career. 108 games at Richmond, 88 of them gifted.
Is he ? Where is your data? As I said we are comparing two c-D graders except one can get on the park while the other can't.
I would be happier if they both were not on our list.

Lambert played a variety of very poor games
What's a variety of poor games? A poor game is a poor game.
Conca has played his fair share. As I've said we are comparing a rusty Holden ute with a shit truck. They're both not best 22 so let's move on.

I'd pick Lambert over Conca, but I guess the selectors know better, either way both would be border 22 ATM.

Lambert can play 22 H&A games if selected. Conca can't play 22 H&A if selected.
Makes no sense. I could play 22 games if selected.

Lambert is a better player than Conca, works harder and doesnt make dumb decisions.
Lambert is 4 foot 2 and can't pick the ball up off the ground. He's shithouse.

Lambert is worse then conca
Much worse.

Is he ? Where is your data? As I said we are comparing two c-D graders except one can get on the park while the other can't.
I would be happier if they both were not on our list.
I have eyes.

Agree. Just not with your first round draft pick

It doesn't matter now where he was picked. All that matters is he is on the list.

Going into the draft you wouldn't aim for a mid-best 22 player with a top 10 pick, but just cos that's how he ends up doesn't mean you cut him because a pick 6 should be better. If he is best 22 (and I believe a fit Conca to be somewhere around the 10-18 mark as well) then he is best 22, draft position is irrelevant.

I am loather to say news as that will stir up the masses.
I can say people "inside our four walls" have indicated he does not work hard enough and has been lazy in recovery!

I find this somewhat hard to believe just because (despite years of poor decisions) surely the club wouldn't give two years to an injury prone player who is lazy with his recovery/rehab.

If the club knows about it then it makes the decision that much more baffling. Everything points to giving him a year to get his body right and then see if he justifies an extension.

I find this somewhat hard to believe just because (despite years of poor decisions) surely the club wouldn't give two years to an injury prone player who is lazy with his recovery/rehab.

If the club knows about it then it makes the decision that much more baffling. Everything points to giving him a year to get his body right and then see if he justifies an extension.
How long did Andrew Krakouer stay on the list; continental drift was faster and he only performed when the game was played on a mud bog.

It doesn't matter now where he was picked. All that matters is he is on the list.

Going into the draft you wouldn't aim for a mid-best 22 player with a top 10 pick, but just cos that's how he ends up doesn't mean you cut him because a pick 6 should be better. If he is best 22 (and I believe a fit Conca to be somewhere around the 10-18 mark as well) then he is best 22, draft position is irrelevant.

It's not irrelevant at all. Every club goes into their first round picks expecting more than what Conca has delivered. Otherwise you wouldn't take that player with your first pick.

Agree the horse has bolted now. And hasn't just been injuries with Conca. He's never had a "break out" game and shown us that he can play at this level. He has been ok at times at best.

I'm not expecting anymore than what he has delivered to date. Guys his age rarely improve. He'll be playing more in the magoos than the seniors and will be injury cover only. Good luck to him but expectations shouldn't be high.

Every team has average players .... most AFL experts agree that we have had five elite players in recent years - Cotchin, Deledio, Martin, Rance and Riewoldt.
Coincidence that some of them have been average to poor in those three finals and we've lost .. me thinks not!
We do haqve more than five good to excellent players, but we do have a lot of ordinary ones.
Was discussed on another thread re Richard Tam,bling.
A mere two picks in the draft separate Tambling and Conca and I can tell you the guy at number four, who has copped by far and away the most criticism of anyone at Tigerland in the last decade outside Terry Wallace has far outplayed the bloke currently wearing #30.

So your view is that we made finals 3 times running because we had 5 players so incredibly awesome that they carried the other 17 *AND* the coaches.

Yeah, sure, that makes sense. :rolleyes:

So your view is that we made finals 3 times running because we had 5 players so incredibly awesome that they carried the other 17 *AND* the coaches.

Yeah, sure, that makes sense. :rolleyes:

Largely yes.
We had other good contributors in Houli and Grigg (who most want to get rid of and have for the last two years) and Grimes who is dependable as they come, we had a very good ruckman in Maric (who is not even a shadow of his former self) and a bloke called Brandon Ellis, who showed amazing promise and has been found out and turned into a plodder, but YES, largely our fortunes rested with Cotchin, Deledio, Riewoldt, Rance and Martin. And when two or more had ordinary days in the fnnals we were exposed. Are you kidding yourself tht other clubs didn't know that we didn't have enough talent other than at the top end to go far in finals. They all knew you shut down Cotchin, martin or Lids and you are half way there!

I would say it does matter where you are picked, but for the purposes of this exercise, I would suggest - given our club's woeful strike rate with first and second round picks - we probably adopt the approach that 'as long he's in the best 22' it's okay, we'll pick him.
I'll let you in on a secret, I was fortunate to be present at a presentation given by Damien Hardwick four years ago where he outlines - among other things - the club's draft strategy and their free agent strategy and the actual process they used to arrive at the fact that player A (say Houli), player B (say Grigg) and player C (say Petterd) was wanted at Tigerland.
Make no mistake - Hardwick's message (which was repeated several times in the talk) was the club "trades for NEED, but drafts for STARS". If you are deluded into thinking that this club is not using it's number one pick in particular in the draft to secure a star well there's no hope for you. The club drafts Conca, BEllis, Lennon, Vlastuin and Rioli expecting them to be the next Deledio, Cotchin, Rance, Martin or Riewoldt, no the next Tambling, Edwards or Griffiths who hang on for 100-200 games because we have no one better. As Hradwick said we draft for STARS. Reece is not a star and if you were to trawl through every best 22 published on te appropriate thread on the Tigers board the majority don't even rate him in the best 22 six years into his career. It's a massive fail!

I would say it does matter where you are picked, but for the purposes of this exercise, I would suggest - given our club's woeful strike rate with first and second round picks - we probably adopt the approach that 'as long he's in the best 22' it's okay, we'll pick him.
I'll let you in on a secret, I was fortunate to be present at a presentation given by Damien Hardwick four years ago where he outlines - among other things - the club's draft strategy and their free agent strategy and the actual process they used to arrive at the fact that player A (say Houli), player B (say Grigg) and player C (say Petterd) was wanted at Tigerland.
Make no mistake - Hardwick's message (which was repeated several times in the talk) was the club "trades for NEED, but drafts for STARS". If you are deluded into thinking that this club is not using it's number one pick in particular in the draft to secure a star well there's no hope for you. The club drafts Conca, BEllis, Lennon, Vlastuin and Rioli expecting them to be the next Deledio, Cotchin, Rance, Martin or Riewoldt, no the next Tambling, Edwards or Griffiths who hang on for 100-200 games because we have no one better. As Hradwick said we draft for STARS. Reece is not a star and if you were to trawl through every best 22 published on te appropriate thread on the Tigers board the majority don't even rate him in the best 22 six years into his career. It's a massive fail!
clapping-minions-gif.gif

Makes no sense. I could play 22 games if selected.

You missed the point mate. Conca's limitations of playing consistently is due to injury. Whether he is better than Lambert is a mute point because he plays six games then misses four, has to be eased back etc. Lamberts C grade 22 game efforts win everyday

It's pretty simple, if he can stay fit he's more than capable of being a solid member of our best 22. And yeh some people aren't going to be happy with that considering he was a pick 6, but you need those B-grade types and it's in that 10-18 range where we have sorely lacked depth, if he can get fit and add to that we are much better for it.
If he was a consistent B grade player there would be few complaints..We are still waiting for it to happen what 7 yrs on.
What really needs to happen is we firstly find enough good players and they then push him out which should not be too hard based on his performances.
Personally i think we should be in a rebuild phase of sorts a large amount of development goes with that. we should be looking at types whose attributes best fit the roles the roles and importantly potential upside. Imo conca is not a certain best 22 starter, though in the mix for sure.

Lets look at the roles people are saying he can play and look at the competition for his spot.
So far for us imo he he has very much been an outside mid. People may disagree but that is my opinion, and i would agree with people if they were to say he has had some good inside games but going by key stats and what ive seen this is what he primarily is imo. Personally i dont think he has the right attributes for this role which is why i think he could play H/B pretty well if played there enough.
Anyway here is what he is up against in each role imo of course.

Outside Mid - McIntosh, B Ellis, Grigg, Edwards,Lambert, Hunt, Menadue, Markov, Drummond, Butler, Rioli, Bolton, C Ellis, Lennon Houli.

I think the first 4 have him covered and Lambert would be on par with him Hunt should only play as a run with type if at all. It is imo a pretty poor lot of established players. You could see him getting a game in front of the mature blokes.Personally i would play him in front of B Ellis and Edwards, if fit and going well those two have some attributes i just can not tolerate . The rest are younger players who really need to be slotted into the side when possible.If im looking for outside attributes i think McIntosh, Menadue, Markov and Rioli are the best credentialled of them all and i still have some hope for Butler.

Inside Mid - Cotchin, Martin, Prestia, Miles, Caddy, Vlastuin, Graham, C Ellis, Townsend.

Imo first 5 have him covered. I agree with most people when they say it is time to broaden Vlastuins game i also think blokes like C Ellis and Graham need to be slotted in for games and experience when possible.Unless there is a lot of injuries i dont think there is an inside spot for him.

Half Back - Houli, B Ellis, McIntosh, Markov, Short, Castagna, Vlastuin, Menadue, Batchelor Hunt, Broad, Drummond.

I think maybe there is a spot here for him.I also think this role best suits his game and attributes/weaknesses. I think he is a better option than Drummond, Broad, Hunt, B Ellis and i have little time for Houli defensively.I am yet to be sold on Jayden Short maybe a bit harsh.
I think Menadue will play on a wing and if Vlastuin does go thru the midfield he could be an option to take Nicks spot.
I could live with McIntosh, Markov and one of Castagna/ Conca as our sml/med defenders.

Any way just some thoughts i think for us to improve we need significant improvement/consistency out of Conca failing that younger blokes making him redundant.
Personally i think it correct to question this blokes overall performances and ceiling at this stage of his career.

Lambert is more resilient. Conca = depth at best and never going to be a B+ player.

As we draft and recruit each year it's guys like these two that will find VFL is there regular gig.
That is it though over the yrs and especially under dimwit ordinary performed blokes are getting 50 70 100 games and we look back after 5 or 7 yrs and continually wonder what has happened.
People think it is a slight on the players but it has constantly been more of a critique of our footy club and the way it has gone about things.

Some of us are hoping one day they will actually recognise what has been lousy and learn from it.

That is it though over the yrs and especially under dimwit ordinary performed blokes are getting 50 70 100 games and we look back after 5 or 7 yrs and continually wonder what has happened.
People think it is a slight on the players but it has constantly been more of a critique of our footy club and the way it has gone about things.

Some of us are hoping one day they will actually recognise what has been lousy and learn from it.
Nah the penny has yet to drop with this club.

The coach has one plan and that revolves around role players. He loves guys like Grigg, Houli, Hunt, Morris etc that he knows will give there 100%. Good honest battlers. 2015 he added two more with Townsend & Moore. Lambert same, another battler. Unfortunately though Lamberts 100% isnt enough. Thats where fitness comes in. For years we could blame poor facilities for sub standard fitness but the last period with the ME centre there is no excuse. Our guys are still light framed and we continue to get run over late in games, we can't tackle as not enough gas in the tank. Guys like Conca have been failed the opportunity they would be afforded at most other clubs. You watch all the photos come through next week of our training camp in sunny qld. Blokes smiling having a blast. Then we have a guy like Vlastuin who should be playing midfield but can only play HBF and go in bursts. Bloody poor!

Nah the penny has yet to drop with this club.

The coach has one plan and that revolves around role players. He loves guys like Grigg, Houli, Hunt, Morris etc that he knows will give there 100%. Good honest battlers. 2015 he added two more with Townsend & Moore. Lambert same, another battler. Unfortunately though Lamberts 100% isnt enough. Thats where fitness comes in. For years we could blame poor facilities for sub standard fitness but the last period with the ME centre there is no excuse. Our guys are still light framed and we continue to get run over late in games, we can't tackle as not enough gas in the tank. Guys like Conca have been failed the opportunity they would be afforded at most other clubs. You watch all the photos come through next week of our training camp in sunny qld. Blokes smiling having a blast. Then we have a guy like Vlastuin who should be playing midfield but can only play HBF and go in bursts. Bloody poor!

They have actually gained a lot of size this preseason.. You don't need a gorilla sized team to play good football

All teams do those photos of the team smiling and having a little fun (in probably the very few times they actually do)

They have actually gained a lot of size this preseason.. You don't need a gorilla sized team to play good football

All teams do those photos of the team smiling and having a little fun (in probably the very few times they actually do)
I want to see a few photos of our guys having a crack. Even if it is fighting like the norf dudes.

He's never had a "break out" game and shown us that he can play at this level. He has been ok at times at best.

That's so unfair to Reece. He's had a 29 disposal (84% eff), 2 goal, 5 tackle game, and another 29 disposal, 3 goal game. And he tackles properly.

2012 he was one of our best, most consistent players. Since then it's injury. You naysayers are your most blinkered when it comes to Conca.

That's so unfair to Reece. He's had a 29 disposal (84% eff), 2 goal, 5 tackle game, and another 29 disposal, 3 goal game. And he tackles properly.

2012 he was one of our best, most consistent players. Since then it's injury. You naysayers are your most blinkered when it comes to Conca.

Oh yeah. Well that's simply not true. He didn't even make it into the top 10 in our B&F that year. So not sure how you pull "he was one of our best, most consistent players". Just a myth people like you continue to perpetuate.